-   Subject Selection (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/frequently-asked-questions/subject-selection/)
-   -   Need Guidance regarding optional subjects of CSS Exam. (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/frequently-asked-questions/subject-selection/104364-need-guidance-regarding-optional-subjects-css-exam.html)

drmahwishadil Thursday, September 24, 2015 05:20 AM

Need Guidance regarding optional subjects of CSS Exam.

i am Dr. Mahwish did my BDS and fcps part 1 too. but i want to appear in css exam. i have selected the following optional subjects i.e
1. International Relation,
2. Business administration,
3. zoology,
4. Muslim Law & Jurisprudence,
5. Psychology.

is this combination of optional subjects good or not? kindly guide me please :)

Monk Thursday, September 24, 2015 12:21 PM

How about physics instead of international Relations?

Who told you that Business Administration would be still scoring with revised syllabus and without having any BBA/MBA degree?

Muslim law as a subject has the capability to reward you and kill you at the same time, would you like to take that risk?

LovelyMano Thursday, September 24, 2015 12:38 PM

Can I ask why Muslim laws and jurisprudence is killing ?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

M also much confused in selection of optional subjects. ...kindly help me ...
Jazak Allah kher

I had selected Islamic history and culture
2) Botany
3) chemistry
4) Muslim law's nd jurisprudence
Nd
Confused for other. ...

Monk Thursday, September 24, 2015 12:41 PM

[QUOTE=LovelyMano;865961]Can I ask why Muslim laws and jurisprudence is killing ?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]

In 2013 getting through Muslim Law was as tough as getting through Essay. Some guys passed all the compulsory and optional subjects but failed in ML&J

[QUOTE=LovelyMano;865964]I had selected Islamic history and culture
2) Botany
3) chemistry
Nd
Confused for other. ...

Enlighten me with your educational background

GanXTeR Thursday, September 24, 2015 12:56 PM

[QUOTE=LovelyMano;865964]I had selected Islamic history and culture
2) Botany
3) chemistry
Nd
Confused for other. ...

Your optionals are fine. You should consult llb part 2 guide for muslim law.

LovelyMano Thursday, September 24, 2015 01:03 PM

Can you mention the book name with author name ?

drmahwishadil Thursday, September 24, 2015 01:14 PM

[QUOTE=Monk;865957]How about physics instead of international Relations?

Who told you that Business Administration would be still scoring with revised syllabus and without having any BBA/MBA degree?[/QUOTE]
then sir which optional subject combination will be good for me? which subject u suggest?

Ammar ZR Thursday, September 24, 2015 01:28 PM

[QUOTE=drmahwishadil;865932]i am Dr. Mahwish did my BDS and fcps part 1 too. but i want to appear in css exam. i have selected the following optional subjects i.e
1. International Relation,
2. Business administration,
3. zoology,
4. Muslim Law & Jurisprudence,
5. Psychology.

is this combination of optional subjects good or not? kindly guide me please :)[/QUOTE]

business ad subject could be very tricky without its background knowledge.its combination of 6 subjects and is vast in nature. but the positive point is its not dry in nature..depends upon individual interest and capability..

GanXTeR Thursday, September 24, 2015 01:33 PM

[QUOTE=LovelyMano;865979]Can you mention the book name with author name ?

Guide by mbd publishers. If you want thorough study then study nishi prohit

drmahwishadil Thursday, September 24, 2015 01:33 PM

i have a medical background (did BDS) then which subjects will be good for me acc to you sir?
let suppose i take indo pak history instead of Business administration? then ?

Monk Thursday, September 24, 2015 01:36 PM

Consider this

Group 2: Physics/Geology

Group 3: Governance/Town Planning

Group 4:US/British History.

From Group 5 choose any subject except Urdu/ English literature

Group 6: Criminology

Group 7: Any regional language i.e Punjabi Etc but if you feel more comfortable with psychology/Geography then go for it

drmahwishadil Thursday, September 24, 2015 01:42 PM

i ain't good in local languages.. so i guess in group VII psychology, geography and journalism will be good option i guess.

Monk Thursday, September 24, 2015 01:44 PM

[QUOTE=drmahwishadil;865992]i ain't good in local languages.. so i guess in group VII psychology, geography and journalism will be good option i guess.[/QUOTE]

I think psychology is a good option for doctors but you yourself can be a better judge.

drmahwishadil Thursday, September 24, 2015 01:48 PM

[QUOTE=Monk;865993]I think psychology is a good option for doctors but you yourself can be a better judge.[/QUOTE]
so what about this combination?
1. Physics
2. Town planning and urban management
3. British History
4. Zoology
5. Psychology.

Monk Thursday, September 24, 2015 01:54 PM

[QUOTE=drmahwishadil;865994]so what about this combination?
1. Physics
2. Town planning and urban management
3. British History
4. Zoology
5. Psychology.[/QUOTE]

I'll vote for above combination. It's unique and I hope it would be rewarding. You have to bear in mind that it's my personal opinion and i can be wrong so it's advisable to go through the past papers and syllabus of above subjects before finalising your combination. You know pretty well that what might work for others might not work for you.

drmahwishadil Thursday, September 24, 2015 01:57 PM

sure i will go through the past papers.. thanks btw :) thats really kind of you :D

Dr sanawar iqbal Thursday, September 24, 2015 04:53 PM

consider environmental sciences.........its easy and science subjects always give you high score :bow i m also a Dental surgeon I am opting it......... it is easy to prepare ........

you can take public administration instead of business administration ..........

khanbrw Thursday, September 24, 2015 09:48 PM

bs mechanical engineer
comfortable with those subjects that required precise answers
1physics
2History of Pakistan & India
3Agriculture & Forestry
4islamic law and jurisprudence
needed some suggestion

Monk Thursday, September 24, 2015 10:29 PM

Why people are in love with Indian History and Muslim Law?

khanbrw Thursday, September 24, 2015 10:40 PM

[QUOTE=Monk;866081]Why people are in love with Indian History and Muslim Law?[/QUOTE]

because everybody study Pakistan study from 5th class to engineering

monk brother needed your kind help

drmahwishadil Friday, September 25, 2015 04:29 AM

[QUOTE=Dr sanawar iqbal;866013]consider environmental sciences.........its easy and science subjects always give you high score :bow i m also a Dental surgeon I am opting it......... it is easy to prepare ........

you can take public administration instead of business administration ..........[/QUOTE]
which subjects you are going to select? i am really confused.. well appearing in CSS is my backup plan if incase i didn't get any paid residency seat.

drmahwishadil Friday, September 25, 2015 05:59 AM

[QUOTE=Monk;865990]Consider this

From Group 5 choose any subject except Urdu/ English literature

Group 7: Any regional language i.e Punjabi Etc but if you feel more comfortable with psychology/Geography then go for it[/QUOTE]
how many months preparation is required for CSS exam on the average?

LovelyMano Friday, September 25, 2015 01:39 PM

My Qualifications
MSc Botany Nd B.ed
Kindly give suggestions for optional subjects

Jazak Allah kher

LovelyMano Friday, September 25, 2015 02:05 PM

[QUOTE=drmahwishadil;866109]how many months preparation is required for CSS exam on the average?[/QUOTE]
It's depends upon your academic background , intelligence , Aptitude

Jazak Allah kher

GanXTeR Friday, September 25, 2015 02:35 PM

[QUOTE=drmahwishadil;866109]how many months preparation is required for CSS exam on the average?[/QUOTE]
4 to 6 months are more than enough for prep

Dr sanawar iqbal Friday, September 25, 2015 03:39 PM

my optional are 1. International relations 2. punjabi 3. environmental sciences 4. public administration 5. INTERNATIONAL LAW / Muslim law

Dr sanawar iqbal Friday, September 25, 2015 03:47 PM

muslim law or inernational law?????? :thinking which one is easy ?????

Monk Friday, September 25, 2015 03:57 PM

[QUOTE=khanbrw;866083]because everybody study Pakistan study from 5th class to engineering

monk brother needed your kind help[/QUOTE]

Skip Muslim Law and Indian History

Monk Friday, September 25, 2015 04:04 PM

4 Months for a doctor should be sufficient. Be to the point and don't stuff your head with rubbish things during preparations

Monk Friday, September 25, 2015 04:09 PM

[QUOTE=LovelyMano;866140]My Qualifications
MSc Botany Nd B.ed
Kindly give suggestions for optional subjects

Jazak Allah kher[/QUOTE]

From Group 5 Botany

Group 7: Punjabi/psychology/Geography

Marianoor96 Friday, September 25, 2015 04:29 PM

hi mehwish iam a doctor too....your optional subjects are same as mine, except law since we dont have any background in it...u can choose british history instead...

drmahwishadil Friday, September 25, 2015 06:08 PM

[QUOTE=Monk;866165]4 Months for a doctor should be sufficient. Be to the point and don't stuff your head with rubbish things during preparations[/QUOTE]
yeah you are right.. means 12 hours study/day right? :P

Monk Friday, September 25, 2015 06:09 PM

[quote=drmahwishadil;866183]yeah you are right.. Means 12 hours study/day right? :p[/quote]

12-14

GanXTeR Friday, September 25, 2015 06:18 PM

[QUOTE=Dr sanawar iqbal;866162]muslim law or inernational law?????? :thinking which one is easy ?????[/QUOTE]
In your case int. Law is the right choice

Dr sanawar iqbal Friday, September 25, 2015 08:15 PM

should I join test series of any academy???? in how many days international law can be covered ??? kindly suggest some books for it

Monk Friday, September 25, 2015 08:19 PM

People, avoid International Relations, Political Science, International law, Muslim law and Histories if you can

fizza anwer Friday, September 25, 2015 08:22 PM

Test series definitely help a lot if anyone has opportunities, one must avail

Malik Bilal Ahmad Friday, September 25, 2015 09:15 PM

why not international law?

[QUOTE=Monk;866199]People, avoid International Relations, Political Science, International law, Muslim law and Histories if you can[/QUOTE]
Any reason to avoid international law? According to latest It is high scoring subject and it syllabus is also not too much lengthy. Kindly answer my question with genuine reasons that why one should not opt international law? Also have a look at my optional's.
1. Physics
2. Gender studies
3. International law
4. Public administration
5. Sociology

your suggestion will be highly appreciated. Thanks:))

Dr sanawar iqbal Friday, September 25, 2015 09:35 PM

international relations cant be left:confused: I do not have any other option......... I have heard that PHYSICS cant be opted without having its background (i mean one should have studied physics at BSc level )............

Dr sanawar iqbal Friday, September 25, 2015 09:38 PM

which academy is best for TEST series ?????? JWT / KIPS ?

01:49 AM (GMT +5)