-   Subject Analysis (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/subject-analysis/)
-   -   The Logic Behind High & Low Scoring Subjects (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/subject-analysis/87335-logic-behind-high-low-scoring-subjects.html)

Mohammed Ali Baig Wednesday, November 13, 2013 11:50 AM

The Logic Behind High & Low Scoring Subjects

[B]ALARMING COMBINATIONS![/B]

Take a moment to read and understand this. For last many years there was a long debatable and often dependable issue under discussion while selecting the optional subjects, i.e., [U]whether a particular subject is scoring or not![/U]

I guess hardly a few people tried to know the logic behind these low and high scoring subjects. Most of the people believe in the hearsay and since the trend of score variate each year (almost) further firming the concept of such aspirants. Here are few things to know:

1. [B]Marking in CSS is relative[/B], except in Mathematics, Statistics and Accounting and Audit. It means that examiners don't mark your papers by the standard of your attempt merely, rather they mark your paper while seeing others efforts too. For instance if a series of papers are getting [COLOR="MediumTurquoise"][B]70 plus marks[/B][/COLOR], it shows that these papers are well equipped with desired answer (in both quality and quantity), and if right after these papers, your paper comes for checking and it doesn't fall near the standard of its predecessors, even if you have written everything required, [U]you won't get 70 plus marks[/U]. This makes CSS a matter of time and luck! This is also the very same reason why we curse the examiners because we simply cannot believe that we have scored such low marks
2. Second thing to bear in mind, is that any subject which is a scoring for any year is [U]because of the comparative lower strength of participants[/U]; lower participants reduce the competition, and as in CSS marking is relative, we get good marks in this case

I have been noticing here that most of us have picked [B]JOURNALISM[/B]. This is surely because of increased awareness about its high scoring attribute among the aspirants by different academies, recommendations by ex-participants and presently working CSPs. It seems in 2014, unlike the previous years, this subject might disturb us badly

[B]Lastly:[/B] Why I'm saying this all is for a reason of course. I believe everyone has taken these high scoring subjects to be on a safer side on the long tiresome journey of CSS. But if any subject is taken by the majority and so it has created enough competition too, our expectations with that subject shouldn't be high. So, what if we have already picked and locked the combination? No need to worry! Because we can still revise our strategy to cope up with this problem. Not everyone knows what the readers of this post will know after reading it. When we have the date sheet in our hands, we can easily figure out which subjects can hit us the most, by:

[B][COLOR="Red"]*[/COLOR][/B] Any subject which comes right after the compulsory series, has the maximum number of participants on board. For many decades, [U]History Group[/U] used to be right after the compulsory series because it had the maximum candidates registered. In 2013, [U]Journalism/Political Science/Sociology[/U] have replaced History Group and came right after the compulsory series. This shows how many people have registered for these subjects. Likewise, these subjects would not probably bless them with expected marks due to increased competition. So if you know what's designed to hit you, revise it well enough

[B]Secondly, [/B]such papers are generally easy. When we look at them on the exam day, we laugh on the examiners for their simplicity. We think that the subject is already high scoring and now its easy too. [B]ITS A SIGN OF DANGER[/B]. It for sure makes us fool, because its another mean to create further competition. Like in 2013, most of compulsory papers were extremely easy: that was a trap for sure!

So what I believe is that we should not believe in high or low scoring marks. Because the trend is volatile and is purely based on competition (which changes every year). Another example is of compulsory papers, [B]anyone figured why people score low in compulsory papers?[/B] Its because of the very same reason that where there is a huge strength, competition is high: and as in CSS marking is relative, its harder to get the expected marks. So whats the point of calling any subject high or low scoring? When everyone knows Journalism, Sociology and Psychology are high scoring subjects and everyone picks them, would they be scoring? No!

Summary: [U]Don't rely on any subject that so and so is high scoring and it will save me so. Don't deceive yourself. We can clearly see a huge competition ahead for Journalism and Psychology this year[/U]. [B]Be aware![/B]

[B]My Combination for 2013:[/B]
1. History of the USA (100)
2. Journalism (100)
3. Sociology (100)
4. Business Administration (100)
5. Geography (200)

[B]My Combination for 2014:[/B]
1. History of the USA (100)
2. Journalism (100)
3. Sociology (100)
4. Business Administration (100)
5. Psychology (200)

mavesh Saturday, November 16, 2013 01:34 PM

aoa:i have done ma MSC in defense and strategic studies. I am very confuse in selecting optional subjects can you please guide me in selecting subjects?

is there any lectures of compulsory subjects on your website?

Mohammed Ali Baig Sunday, November 17, 2013 04:30 PM

[B]@Mavesh[/B]

1. Indo Pak History (200)
2. Muslim Law (200)
3. Sociology (100)
4. Public Administration (100)

This combination would bless you with great marks this year
[B]Indo-Pak History:[/B] This year the trend of marks will most probably be increasing. Chose this subject only if can write in detail, don't cram! Work out on the analogies.
[B]Sociology:[/B] This one is ever high scoring. Make a smart plan. Please consult [B]Naveed Bhutto's[/B] posts on Sociology section. He has made good study plan there
[B]Public Administration:[/B] Suggested you by keeping in view your academic background. However, it also demands you an equal serious study

Tips:
1. Take it easy :))
2. Stay away from IR, and European History
3. You can replace Indo-Pak History with Psychology. Psychology is easy and scoring
4. Complete 'Optionals' first and pack these 600 Marks latest by the end of December
5. Don't panic, pray five times :))

Good Luck!

alihashmatkhoso Wednesday, November 20, 2013 12:32 AM

[QUOTE=mavesh;668646]aoa:i have done ma MSC in defense n strategic studies.m very confuse in selecting optinal subjects can u please guide me in selecting subjects?[/QUOTE]
[B]go with
Islamic History
Geography
and Arabic

beside this there are
any regional language
i. law
p. ad
c. law
sociology little bit risky one[/B]

Mohammed Ali Baig Saturday, November 23, 2013 03:47 PM

[B]AS PREDICTED IN MY ABOVE POST:[/B]

Journalism and Sociology [B]disturbed[/B] the majority, a big time!
This will repeat for the next year as well, [U][I]plus Psychology will be hitting us as well[/I][/U]

[B]MARK THIS[/B]
Good Luck :))

mavesh Tuesday, November 26, 2013 12:43 PM

combination

islamic history,arabic,international law and sociolog?/is this combination fine?

Aqib Shahzad Bhatti Tuesday, November 26, 2013 04:19 PM

Why you have replaced Geography with Psychology for 2014 attempt?
Any speific reason?

Syed Azmat Wednesday, November 27, 2013 01:45 PM

Accounting and Auditing score?

So it all always depends on your answer's effort for scoring in Acc: and Aud: irrespective of relative marking.??

Mohammed Ali Baig Thursday, November 28, 2013 12:26 AM

[B]@Mahvesh:[/B]
Yes, it seems all good. Make smart study plans, don't cram

[B]@Aqib Shahzad Bhatti:[/B]
Both are equally scoring, but geography part 1 requires in-depth study. Its however a piece of cake for the students who have already studied geography. But since the time was short, I had to chose 200 marks which I could learn quickly. Psychology was a good option therefore. I attempted geography in 2013 and got 23 marks in Geography paper 1 and 67 marks in geography paper 2. I cannot afford it in 2014. It doesn't mean that geography is low scoring or difficult. Its only about tastes. I couldn't manage it because I found it not of my taste: I misjudged and overrated my capacities after knowing the syllabus. I won't suggest you anything regarding that therefore, make your own decision. Good Luck :))

[B]@Syed Azmat:[/B]
Yes! :))

Ammara Khan88 Thursday, November 28, 2013 03:50 AM

Accounting and Auditing
British History
Journalism
Mercantile Law

What do you say about my combination? Although I believe that journalism gonna hit us again in 2014 coupled with mercantile law, i want to go with it as i have no other choice.

Mohammed Ali Baig Thursday, December 05, 2013 01:47 AM

[B]@Ammara Khan[/B]
Replace European History with either Indo-Pak history or Psychology

Good Luck

SCORPION KHAN Saturday, December 07, 2013 02:24 AM

Dear Ali Baig!

You've been forbidding candidates from European History. However, very few people opt it. Thus, there is a relative advantage of opting EU History.

Mohammed Ali Baig Saturday, December 07, 2013 02:56 AM

[B]@Scorpion Khan[/B]

European history contains 200 marks, go ahead with this subject [I][U]only if you can study it thoroughly[/U][/I]. [I]Remember[/I], comparing all History subjects available in CSS, the longest and the most detailed one is the European History. While you can get "awesome" marks in US history with a good study of two weeks, you can hardly get around [B]140/200[/B] in European History if you spend the same time and energy on it. [I]Anyway[/I], I didn't and won't say that European History is a bad option. But [B]opt it only if you are fully confident[/B] to study the long and detailed timeline based history of Europe [B](of 2000+ years)[/B]. Again, I will say, 2014 will the year of History subjects. People should focus on hard work and smart planning. [I][U]Rest is a the matter of luck and time[/U][/I]

aghaadnan Monday, December 09, 2013 04:38 PM

islamic history and culture,psychology and zoology?????????
what about this combination?:thinking:

Mohammed Ali Baig Tuesday, December 10, 2013 05:44 AM

[B]@Agha[/B]

Zoology is risky, tough and low scoring

[B]Reason for Being Tough:[/B]
Though the topics given in the syllabus are straight enough, Zoology is still one of the toughest subjects in CSS. It is because in Pakistani education system, subjects like Maths, Accounting, Botany, Zoology, Geography, Islamiat and Pakistan History are taught to almost the majority. This makes the examiners more demanding. Zoology is indeed a good subject if you possess especial expertise in beautifying your answer sheet with broad diagrams, tables and highlight the main points, plus make many headings. Also, if you use your own words and not reproduce the topics from your notes, you can for sure fetch some great marks. [B]BUT AGAIN![/B] opt it only if you can follow the above mentioned tips. I am always against the subjects which contain 200 marks, I have my own reasons so lets not talk about them. Zoology is another subject with 200 marks: without knowing your background I have presented you very handful tips, but still be very careful before opting any scientific subject [U](esp. when its of 200 marks)[/U], because unlike other [I]'generic'[/I] subjects in CSS, science requires ample time, dedication and energy

[B]Reason for Being Low Scoring:[/B]
Because of the following reasons;
1. Most of us fail to satisfy the [B]expectations of the examiner[/B]
2. A [B]huge strength[/B] picks this subject with mainly the background of BSc, most of them are experts at writing answers in good length and detail. [I][B]SINCE, [/B][/I]I discussed above, that marking in CSS is relative, your paper will be judged against the paper of other participants, which will serve as the [I]bench-mark [/I]for your performance

[B][COLOR="Blue"]Alternatives:[/COLOR][/B]
[B]1. Public Administration[/B] (100 Marks: Easy to cover all the topics, easy to get 65+marks)
[B]2. Indo-Pak History[/B] (200 Marks: Can be replaced directly with Zoology. This year Indo-Pak History, European History and US History are on good edges because of less strength, [I]please read my first post in this thread for detail[/I])
[B]3. Sociology [/B](100 Marks: Can be taken with Public Admin: Easy to cover for anyone, easiest for someone with a background of Social Science or BSc Zoology, Botany, Geography)

I will not suggest you to go for Journalism for the next two years[/COLOR][COLOR="Red"], it will be a disaster in future, we'll see

aghaadnan Friday, December 13, 2013 06:54 PM

thanks sir......ali baig
can you please suggest the major scoring optional subjects in accordance to the current trend? next 2,3 years me kon se subjects opt karne chahiye jo scoring ho?and sir, is trend really matters??

Mohammed Ali Baig Tuesday, February 11, 2014 10:02 PM

[B] 1. History of the USA (100)
2. Public Administration (100)
3. Sociology (100)[/B]
a) FOR HISTORY OF THE USA - three weeks thorough study from the book "Modern History of the USA; [I]author[/I] M Sohail Bhatti"
b) FOR Public Administration - One week study from JAHANGIR EXAM CRAM SERIES. Though I never follow such cram books for CSS, but Jahangir Series is reliable, more precise and accurate. Besides you dont need to go in detail while studying for Business or Public Administration
c) FOR SOCIOLOGY - Two weeks study from "Introduction to Sociology by Abdul Hameed Taga"
d) make bullets and memorize them
e) solve the paper by reproducing bullets: write your own words under them
[B] Marks Expected in Each:[/B] Around 75 or more

rarasham Wednesday, February 12, 2014 11:48 PM

about public administration i want to add something dear , in 2012 i scored 62 marks , i studied Sultan khan and Exporium's P.A , Same strategy i used in 2013 but could not even pass it .

Meer Naveed Ali Thursday, February 13, 2014 01:37 AM

Mohammad ali baig sahib... your score in CE13?

RHSherazi Thursday, February 13, 2014 02:08 AM

Aoa sir
My opt are
Geography
Physcology
Sociology
Journalism
Please sir comment..I will be appearing in 2015:D

Mohammed Ali Baig Thursday, February 13, 2014 03:09 PM

Eventually u made up ur mind :))
Replace Journalism with Public Administration or International Law. Journalism doesn't seem like coming back to its place anytime soon. Same is the case with Psychology, this year is decisive though, can't say anything about 2015. History subjects and a few hidden subjects like Forestry, Agriculture and Public Administration are coming back in the high scoring bracket. However your combination is good. Just replace Journalism with either Public Admin, US History or International Law. Make up your mind and start preparing

Mohammed Ali Baig Thursday, February 13, 2014 03:20 PM

[B]@Meer Naveed:[/B]
My DMC 2013
Essay 45
English 44
EDS 37
CA 29
PA 52
Islamiyat 74
Journalism 61
Sociology 77
History of the USA 51
Geography-I 19
Geography-II 73
Business Administration 84
Flunked in GK by 2 marks
Very uneven result. But I am satisfied. These marks are exactly what I was expecting as per my prep and other reasons

Abdullah khan Friday, February 14, 2014 06:36 PM

[QUOTE=Mohammed Ali Baig;694649]Eventually u made up ur mind :))
Replace Journalism with Public Administration or International Law. Journalism doesn't seem like coming back to its place anytime soon. Same is the case with Psychology, this year is decisive though, can't say anything about 2015. History subjects and a few hidden subjects like Forestry, Agriculture and Public Administration are coming back in the high scoring bracket. However your combination is good. Just replace Journalism with either Public Admin, US History or International Law. Make up your mind and start preparing

Good Luck :))[/QUOTE]

Dear Ali, whats wrong with journalism and psychology? Specially psychology have remained quite a scoring subject.

wajidraza Saturday, March 15, 2014 10:26 AM

What about Islamic history, political science, Punjabi nd I.R, kindly suggest if u urge me to change any, i have done Masters in political science

Humanist khan Saturday, March 15, 2014 12:18 PM

I done MS in Management Science, but my subject is HR, have no grif of Accounting and auditing, so what I do???:mad:

wajidraza Sunday, March 16, 2014 09:21 AM

Guys i believe one should go with one's specialized subject though if he hasno grip over that, ppreparation in css will give enough over the subject. In all types of interviews, your qualifications are seen thoroughly and questions are adked about them, so how can we score well in interviews if we has no grip over our subject, and it helps to prepare for lecturarship as well, so better opt your main subject as an obligatory option

Zoha Friday, March 28, 2014 03:14 AM

i have to choose one subject from the following three, please tell me which one is better for ce 2015:
sociology
journalism
usa history

Hideous Ahsen Wednesday, June 11, 2014 04:45 PM

It's Simple

[QUOTE=Zoha Shakir;709130]i have to choose one subject from the following three, please tell me which one is better for ce 2015:
sociology
journalism
usa history[/QUOTE]

All 3 can be considered high scoring. Comparatively, scoring trend is this way (high to low) UsaHis(88) > Socio(82) > Journalism(80).

Now its dependent upon your aptitude, interest and background WHILE seeing the syllabus and past papers of said subs.

If you are good at remembering dates with events go for USA His. If you are interested in studying 'general' things like the society and relations etc go for Sociology. If you are really interested or can atleast get a hard grip on journalism go for it.

It all depends upon your gear and grip.

Prayers
Hideous Ahsen :ninja:

Santiago Wednesday, June 11, 2014 05:51 PM

[QUOTE=Mohammed Ali Baig;673131][B]AS PREDICTED IN MY ABOVE POST:[/B]

This will repeat for the next year as well, [U][I]plus Psychology will be hitting us as well[/I][/U]

[B]MARK THIS[/B]

Vow ! If you had predicted this for 2014 , I must appreciate your foresight :-)

Saima 898 Thursday, June 12, 2014 04:56 PM

is geography a good chice for those who are reading for first time ?

RAO RAMEEZ Thursday, June 12, 2014 10:43 PM

[QUOTE=Saima 898;729513]is geography a good chice for those who are reading for first time ?[/QUOTE]
I don't know exactly...But me too started Geography as my subject for any exam,for first time...I have previos experience of teaching Geo to O-Levels, I found it easy...And now I have started to study DeBlij and Strahler...I found them more conceptual rather than a cramming material....So, If you are a man/woman of good memory and bad concepts then I think don't go for it..Yes, If you have good past experience of grabbing the concepts easily..Then Geo is Your subject...Go for it and just rock..

Maqsood Qadir Sunday, June 15, 2014 12:39 PM

Dear fellows, in my opinion journalism is easy to tackle than sociology. And one should have good knowledge of modern trends in media. As for as sociology is concerned, i think one should go through all social problems and history of social thought.

cuppigroup Friday, July 18, 2014 03:10 PM

[QUOTE=Mohammed Ali Baig;673131][B]AS PREDICTED IN MY ABOVE POST:[/B]

[B]MARK THIS[/B]

Please guide for subjects for 2015. Your logic makes sense.

Chintoo2010 Friday, July 18, 2014 07:03 PM

Misconception

You should go for the subjects in which you have strong base. Then this question of High & Low does not arise.

Yes sometimes Paper is too elementary and seems easy & would give high score if you have attempted it well.

Sometimes paper is set too much high level and difficult to attempt, which is called " Subject being Hit by FPSC" and hence gives low score.

There is no paper like easy currency of marks in CSS. Luck also plays alot.

Many serving CSPs attempted Indo-Pak, Urdu like subjects and now doing their jobs.

FPSC has started surprising candidates by unexpected papers now and has destroyed the concepts of High and Low...........many subjects thought to be of high scoring have been changed pattern wise ..........so on to curb cramming and formula preparation of Academies.

virgo786 Saturday, July 19, 2014 11:28 PM

what about political science as a optional for 2014?

virgo786 Saturday, July 19, 2014 11:29 PM

2015*

Mohammed Ali Baig Sunday, July 20, 2014 09:41 PM

[B]Political Science[/B] has been a good scoring subject. However, remember you would be tested among the aspirants with relevant subject's background, subsequently increasing the competition and expectations of the paper checker. In political science you cannot throw your own opinions bases on stereotypes. [U]You must be very sharp at various models and theories and must be able to give logical solution to every question[/U], at length

[B][COLOR="Blue"]Scoring Subjects for 2015 are as under:[/COLOR][/B]
[B]1. All history subjects
2. Sociology[/B] [I](but [B]NOT[/B] Journalism)[/I]
[B]3. Punjabi[/B] and [B]Pushto[/B]
[B]5. International Law[/B]
6. Public Administration (but [B]NOT[/B] Business Administration)
[B]7. Geography[/B] [I](Only if you have studied it before, and if you can draw good diagrams)[/I]
[B]8. Psychology [/B][I](Only if you can draw good diagrams, place plenty of headings and if your answers have some graphical or/and tabular or/and symbolic representation)[/I]

informer59 Sunday, July 20, 2014 11:37 PM

[QUOTE=Saima 898;729513]is geography a good chice for those who are reading for first time ?[/QUOTE]

Go through [URL="http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-d/geography/90496-geography-ce-15-a.html"]this thread[/URL] before opting Geography

muskan memon Sunday, December 13, 2015 07:41 PM

aoa:i have done BSC in Agriculture and major is plant breeding and genetics. I am very confuse in selecting optional subjects can you please guide me in selecting subjects?

is there any lectures of compulsory subjects on your website?

faizanelah Thursday, February 11, 2016 05:34 PM

My comb is
IR
IL
Public adm
Indo Pak H
Journalism

06:39 AM (GMT +5)