-   Tips and Experience Sharing (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/tips-experience-sharing/)
-   -   How to read newspaper for CSS preparation ? (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/tips-experience-sharing/19038-how-read-newspaper-css-preparation.html)

Almaas Ruby Friday, July 18, 2008 06:38 PM

How to read newspaper for CSS preparation ?

hello to all

please seniors and respected CSPs pls help me finding the right way to go through dawn news paper, i mean is that possible to remeber each and everydate the pile contains for one day????isnt it impossible to remeber each and every single thing in it????:blink :confused:

pls do guide me that how you ppl go through it and whats your way of learning through dawn?????tips and experience????

Surmount Friday, July 18, 2008 08:03 PM

Dear Ruby

Dawn is the Best newspaper ascribed by a lot of CSP's and teachers. But I suggest you to not rely on just one News paper.

By coming to point, one need to develop one's interest towards remembering the facts and figures mentioned in newspapers.

As far as my own way of reading Dawn concerns,
[LIST][*]I read the Heading and afterwards the first paragraph of the news.[/LIST][LIST][*]If it seems to be valuable for me, I read out the next paragraphs as well. Otherwise, I leave that news for the next headings.[/LIST][LIST][*]I never ignore the News about the Governmental, international affairs, international complements about Pakistan Govt.[/LIST][LIST][*]I never miss the Pp.6 and 7, those are the pages of opinions of different people about govt. (Known as editorial page). Its the very very important one for knowledge gaining of Current affairs. Miss out the News but NEVER MISS reading of editorial page.Don't even think to miss it out.(Doesn't mean to ignore but just trying to show the importance of this page.)[/LIST][LIST][*]Next page of TV Programs schedule and the word games. Play those game for refreshment of your mind and IQ level. [B](As IQ level can be increased by playing mind games.)[/B] I never miss it, I prefer to play even just one but I used to do this activity.[/LIST][LIST][*]Bushiness pages has so much importance as well for being aware of Economical circumstances.[/LIST][LIST][*]National, International pages can't be neglected ever but can be read as told you earlier.[/LIST][LIST][*]Sports page couldn't succeeded in getting a place in my heart ever but I suggest you to read it as well.[/LIST]
In the end, I suggest you to read more and more news, articles and criticisms. And again, don't rely on just one News paper. As news papers are the source of knowledge and information which lead one towards wisdom and later on success.
[B]
Wish you good luck[/B]

Almaas Ruby Friday, July 18, 2008 08:26 PM

@surmount
thanks alot brother

now can u tell me how do u deal with the heavy words used in dawn???do u write them down and use them again and again for ur vocabulary increaments????

and how to go through the business pages...i mean dont they have specific words for business???and can a business layman understand such terms???

is it enough to just go through the news paper and get the idea of whats happening in the country and internationally???or one should note down and memorise each and every word one comes across while reading it??

and which other papers do u recomment for reading???/

m not a superman Friday, July 18, 2008 08:26 PM

salam

thanx alot 4suggesting sch a detailed way 2 read out a newspaper..

bt m confuzd bc i changd alot of times my newspapers.as sm1 suggest THE NEWS and most often people suggest DAWN:confused:

reality z tat m doing MY POSTGRADUATE and 4tat THE NEWS z suggestd...
ab aalim tou huun ny k do do akhbaar prhnay ki himat karun:blink

so plz guide me out 4 tat.
wt2 do.....

Last Island Friday, July 18, 2008 08:27 PM

[B]Introduction:[/B] The current Affairs are an important and interesting part in every one’s life. Starting from Gossiping about Film Industry to latest Political development, every one has some interest in it. Newspapers fulfills the basic requirement of the above needs.

Starting from ordinary clerical examination to the to the top most Competitive exams like Civil Services, there are questions on Current Affairs. Normal Current Affairs questions are on PERSONALITIES, PLACES AND NEWS ANALYSIS. One has to follow at least one newspaper to keep abreast of National and International developments. But most of the students don’t know, how to read a newspaper or Read and memorize for their exams. The following write up gives an idea to follow the same for better understanding of Newspapers, which will further improve student’s approach towards newspaper reading.

Newspaper reading is an art in itself. It is always advisable to get hooked on to newspaper reading very early in the school days. Before familiarizing yourself with reading a newspaper, it is advisable to get acquainted with the broad contours and some technical terms related to the newspaper.

[B]HOW TO READ A NEWSPAPER:[/B]

Readers and reading are of two broad types: skimming (scanning) and reading. There are different styles of reading for different situations. The technique of reading depends on the purpose of reading. So first of all, you should have the purpose of reading very clear in your mind. For example, one might be reading for enjoyment, information, or to finish a task. If you are researching or reviewing, you might skim through a document. Reading speed depends on the purpose of reading. Skimming is usually done four-five times faster than normal reading. Many people consider skimming and scanning to be search techniques, rather than reading strategies. Skimming is usually resorted for quick identification of the main contents of any given material.

Some people read the first and last paragraphs using headlines, sub-headings, summaries, searching for keywords. But while scanning, it is advisable to read the first sentence, for it gives a fair and a broad idea of the contents of that paragraph.

Newspaper reading can be easily compared to long-distance running. You should start jogging in the beginning, let the muscles warm up and accelerate a little bit at the halfway mark and sprint only at the last lap of the race. It is thus, strongly advised that if you are a beginner at serious reading of a newspaper, do not skim, or scan to start with. Skimming requires trained movement of eyes from one word, sentence, or paragraph to another. This will come with sustained practice and one must increase the speed of reading gradually.

Reading requires careful attention to every word and detail. However, anyone can increase the speed of reading while maintaining equal, or even higher comprehension. If you subscribe to a particular newspaper, slow reading in the beginning is a must to train the eyes for the type and size of the font. There are three factors which can help in enhancing reading speed: (1) willingness to improve, (2) keenness to try out new techniques and (3) motivation levels to practice reading regularly. With practice – and gradually, try to develop a wider and broader eye-span. This will help in reading more words and later on, even sentences, at one glance. Try to increase the eye-span from one sentence to two, then to three, four and then the whole paragraph. For, even physiologically, the movement of the eye is amongst the fastest movements of our body. Hence, it is of utmost importance to control eye movement while reading, for eyes have a peculiar habit of not being fixed at one place and the gaze just keeps shifting to see and visualize more and more.

One major difficulty in reading, or even scanning, is that the eyesight, if not trained, has the habit of jumping and skipping words that are difficult to read, or not familiar to the eye. This leads to problems in reading and retention. Often one may misread, or misunderstand a word while reading fast. Thus it is all the more important to read slowly and at a comfortable pace and increase the speed only when the eyesight is properly trained. Certain write-ups like editorials, main stories of the day have to be read carefully. Skimming can be practiced in cases where one is reading for leisure on a weekend, or vacation and perfect it before applying to daily reading. One can of course, formulate own reading techniques for speed-reading with practice.

Therefore, start reading by applying these techniques, for being a prospective mass communicator, you will be required to read/scan tonnes of material. However, one major must for reading is that you must not take it as a burden and have to enjoy the entire process.

[B]CIVIL SERVICES PREPARATION:[/B]

Civil Services preparation point of view is important in this place, when an aspirant reads a newspaper. If one goes through the previous years questions of Current Affairs, it will give broad idea about the pattern. Normally asked questions are about Personalities, Places, News of National and International importance. Bilateral issues relating to Pakistan and other Nations, Visit of Head of the States of other Countries, Visit of Pakistani President and Prime Minister to other Countries, Important agreements etc. There are certain burning issues that shape the international politics since long time i.e Kashmir, Palestine, Pak-India, Nuclear issues, Middle East, Sino and UN.

One should concentrate on above items and avoid every day politics, gossip news, crime reports, unimportant corporate news, local issues etc. One should concentrate on the first page for Latest development, Edit page for Editorial and analysis, ‘Op-ed’ (Opinion-cum-editorial pages) for the views of commentators, analysts, opinion-makers on a particular issue.

Mango Saturday, July 19, 2008 04:30 AM

thanks dear its really helpful. but reading local politics news is also important i believe.

Surmount Saturday, July 19, 2008 11:23 AM

[QUOTE=Almaas Ruby]

now can u tell me how do u deal with the heavy words used in dawn???do u write them down and use them again and again for ur vocabulary increaments????[/QUOTE]

Yes Dear, it is a very good practice for increasing one's vocabulary by taking some words from a Paper, consulting in a dictionary and latter one using 'em in daily life. But I would suggest you to learn the words first by [B]contextual meanings[/B] then consult 'em in dictionary, which is better one in my opinion.

[QUOTE]and how to go through the business pages...i mean dont they have specific words for business???and can a business layman understand such terms???[/QUOTE]

Business pages don't use 'code-words' but the terms are related to business. These terms can be understood by the passage of time, with regular reading of Newspapers. These terms are not as much difficult as look, some times short abbreviations of company names make one confused.

[QUOTE]is it enough to just go through the news paper and get the idea of whats happening in the country and internationally???or one should note down and memorise each and every word one comes across while reading it??[/QUOTE]

Dear I told you already that it depends on one's own intellectuality to memorize. If one thinks that one is feeling boor while just reading the news, one should start such activity which would keep one's mind busy. Writing the main and useful points on a paper is a good and knowledge-gaining activity.

[QUOTE]and which other papers do u recomment for reading???/[/QUOTE]

There is no any specific news paper which can be regarded as The Best but [B]DAWN[/B] is a better in my own opinion, but as one should not rely on just one Newspaper, one can read the other Newspapers like [B]The News (English)[/B] [B]The Nation (English) Jung (Urdu), Nawa-e-Waqt (Urdu), Express (Urdu)[/B] etc. Every university/college use to have almost 4 of mentioned above. Go through the process of Reading told by Last Island, which is attractive to me as well. :))

[QUOTE=m not a superman]

bt m confuzd bc i changd alot of times my newspapers.as sm1 suggest THE NEWS and most often people suggest DAWN:confused:

reality z tat m doing MY POSTGRADUATE and 4tat THE NEWS z suggestd...
ab aalim tou huun ny k do do akhbaar prhnay ki himat karun:blink

so plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz guide me out 4 tat.
wt2 do....[/QUOTE]

Brother, there is a well known proverb [B]Nothing is perfect. There is always a room for improvement[/B] so why one should rely on just one newspaper? I am not saying that you were misguided but you know, every Newspaper has a different way/source of collecting the information which would be surly different from the others. May be, one company would not able to get a news which the other one would be having. [I]Jubb Zada se zada knowledge gain kero gy, to he Aalim he banoo gy na[/I]:)) So read, get as much information and knowledge as you can. Get it from Electronic Media, Books, newpapers, articles, discussions, inter-net etc.

Don't be Confused? I believe you are [B]The Super Man[/B] Keep it up Brother:))

[B]@ Last Island[/B]

Thanks Mod. You know your posting was informative as usual. The news about crime and bloodshed increase depression in my mind than the information.

[B]@ Mango[/B]

Dear Every day politics don't mean to be local politics but it means the sentimental, emotional, self-centered [B]'statements' [/B] 'given' by of our so-called leaders. Every one should be in-touch with our country's current affairs, rather than believing in the sayings of Politicians.

Regards and Best Wishes for [B]Ruby[/B], [B]Super man[/B], [B]Last Island[/B] and [B]Mango[/B]

Almaas Ruby Saturday, July 19, 2008 11:55 PM

@ last island and surmount

dear forum fellows thank alot alot for giving time to my questions....

@last island

dear sister, thanks alot once again, ur reply is really very very useful for me....

and surmount is very very true, reading daily news of crimes and killings tense me so much that i can't concentrate on the real info needed..

once again,,,,,,thanks alot:)

Almaas Ruby Monday, August 04, 2008 05:35 PM

reading help

salam to all

can the seniors guide me which portion of dawn should be and must be read for css preparation?

is it necessary to memorize all the daily stuff printed in the paper?i mean any statistical records given etc? how to deal with such information and how to utilize such info during examz while writing essays??????

and how much time should a beginner spend for reading dawn paper, and after how much time should he/she be able to go through the whole stuff within how much time????

plssssssssssss do help
@ last island
dear sister, your help has always been a guidance to me,,i especialy request you to help me.

Faryal Shah Monday, August 04, 2008 05:53 PM

[QUOTE]salam to all[/QUOTE]

Waliqumsalam

[QUOTE]can the seniors guide me which portion of dawn should be and must be read for css preparation?[/QUOTE]

here is the answer of every question;

[url]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/central-superior-services-examination/beginners-guide/frequently-asked-questions/9450-most-frequent-questions.html[/url]

[QUOTE]is it necessary to memorize all the daily stuff printed in the paper?i mean any statistical records given etc? how to deal with such information and how to utilize such info during examz while writing essays??????[/QUOTE]

i dont think so. you are expected to have thorough reading of pages. nothing to memorize.

[QUOTE]and how much time should a beginner spend for reading dawn paper, and after how much time should he/she be able to go through the whole stuff within how much time????[/QUOTE]

as a beginner; i spend 2 hours for reading newspaper. it depends on your reading abilities.

bye

Almaas Ruby Monday, August 04, 2008 06:04 PM

@faryal
thanks dear
by memorizing i did not mean learning everything by heart.
i meant that how should a person deal with the statitical figures....i mean they say.......50 ppl killed in swat.
8 children born after evry min in pakistan etc............

i am talking about these figures.......and how to tackle them and utilise them for the essay paper......

@last island

dear sis, im waiting for your help:)

thanks to faryal once again.

Faryal Shah Monday, August 04, 2008 06:20 PM

[QUOTE]thanks dear
by memorizing i did not mean learning everything by heart.
i meant that how should a person deal with the statitical figures....i mean they say.......50 ppl killed in swat.
8 children born after evry min in pakistan etc............

i am talking about these figures.......and how to tackle them and utilise them for the essay paper......[/QUOTE]

welcome dear !!!

this is for sure that you can not memorize the fatal figures like 60 ppl killed in bomb blast. bcoz you are supposed to read newspaper for more than 6 months and u will read many news like that. yes you can memorize economic rates like population below that poverty line is 24%, inflation is 12%.... similarly rates of the crued oil (136$) , gold, birth rate, death rate etc.

ii think u get it what i mean.

babye

Last Island Monday, August 04, 2008 06:37 PM

I wonder why have you posted the same question again when u have been helped two weeks ago and all ur queries were answered to ur satisfaction.

[url]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/central-superior-services-examination/beginners-guide/19038-how-read-dawn.html?highlight=dawn[/url]

Almaas Ruby Monday, August 04, 2008 08:05 PM

@last island
thanks dear.
but my problem is that since i have started reading, i am facing problems whioch i dont know myself how to tackle.....

of course the material in the link u provided does help me alot but now my issue is i think diferent......and that is: i spend alot of time reading and understanding the daily paper because i was never interested in current affairs etc but i am trying to develop my interest...........and at the same time i have to give equal time to other subjects of mine......

if i cut the time to just a few hors for the newspaper then i wont be able to do all of the stuff required..........this confusion made me put query here..

regards.

Sureshlasi Monday, August 04, 2008 11:20 PM

Dear member,

Every newbie feels reading newspaper is really irk. As days are passing on, It becomes one of your avocation. I`m telling you few tips which may abate your strife.

[B][U][CENTER][SIZE="4"]Steps[/SIZE][/CENTER][/U][/B]

1. Remember that newspapers are written with a very specific formula: the who, what, when, where, why, and how always come first. Everything else, background information, quotes from witnesses, etc, comes later. It is the journalist's formula for success.

2. Start with the headlines. This is the most succinct way to determine what will be of interest and what is just fluff.

3. Once you've found an article you'd like to read, read only the first paragraph or two. You can glance over the rest if you like, but the first few lines are always the heart of the story, as long as you're dealing with a journalist who knows what he/she is doing.

4. Skim. Don't get too caught up in reading each article word for word. Usually, you can get the gist of any piece of writing just by picking up the main idea and a few key words. Only read in detail if the piece is of great interest or importance.

5. Don't jump around too much. Read all the pieces of interest on one page, then turn the page. A lot of time can be wasted going back and forth trying to find that article that caught your eye sixteen pages ago.

6. As qouted by honourable members that it`s difficult to pay heed on each and every thing. Consequently, always trigger to the burning issues such as Global warming, Inflation, Terrorism etc. Moreover, try to memorize title information of the article.

[B][U][CENTER][SIZE="4"]Tips[/SIZE][/CENTER][/U][/B]

1. Turn pages quickly, and don't stress if they don't fold the way you want them to. Uncooperative newspapers are annoying, but they are the least of your worries when you're late for work.

2. It's best to read the newspaper when everything else is finished and in its place. It's hard trying to catch up on the upcoming election with your shoes still untied. A good place to read is on the train.

3. If you simply must read the funnies, save them for last. Often, this can be something to look forward to when you've got a few minutes to yourself!
Most newspapers are written at a very low reading level in order to create appeal to a very wide audience.

4. Dont give attention to anything else happening around you. Try to catch the idea divulged from the news.

5. Always commence through the page of your interest. It will motivate you to read the rest.

[B][U][CENTER][SIZE="4"]Warnings[/SIZE][/CENTER][/U][/B]

Don't get caught up in advertisements. Learn to recognize and skip over them. They are usually less structured, lacking the strict column format that the articles will have. Fonts are larger and more decorative, and pictures are of products and people looking happy with them, not the more somber images of the articles.

I will add a prolific article in days time. It will be beneficial for your future endeavours.

Allah Nagheban,

Almaas Ruby Tuesday, August 05, 2008 02:47 AM

@sureshalsi

thanks thanks thanks alottttttttttttttttttttttt

u really pointed out the problems i was facing but unaware of them at the same time.
i do go through pages backward where i found a word whose meaning ccome to my mind three hours later.

thanks thanks alot:)
God bless you my brother:)

now one more question.
how many hours a day should a novice like me spend for newspaper reading who has to prepare for alllll other giagantic subjects as wel???

regards.

Surmount Tuesday, August 05, 2008 03:04 PM

[B]@ Ruby[/B]

AOA It depends on you that how much time do you require to read out the Paper. You got [I]wota[/I] mean?

First-down Tuesday, August 05, 2008 10:14 PM

Hi Ruby,
Gotch ya,u know same was the case wid me when I started newspapers/books a couple of months bak but now thanx few tips I hardly feel any problem and instead enjoy reading news from two important perspectives and that too in a jiffy, particularly Voc enhancement and info-gathering.Although u hv already been helpd out to great extent by guys here, I wd also like to add s’thng which I deem impo enf

*Voc addition:
Keep a note book always with ya while reading newsppr/book.As soon as u encountr a dfficlt word/phrase/idiom/expression, just jot it down along with full-stop to full stop sentence.Don’t rush for dictionary. Continue reading and jotting down till you find newpaper/book annoying enough. Now get a gud dictionary like bbc/oxford learners one, and find out the meaning n dictionary usage b4 going to bed of all the jotted down words during the reading episode of day,etc .Note’em down as well. Also note pronunciation and compare the usage of the same.

Make it a habit to start the day with a cup ov coffee and ur notebook in hand.Now will start absorption phase/memorizing, and that would be unconscious enough, cuz while going thru ur note book, u will also recall the contexts where u encounterd those bamboozling words,etc. Rushing for dictionary while reading newspaper particularly spoils both reading ka maza and voc-addition cuz the sequence of thoughts gets intrppted.With each day,u’ll find that in less n lesser time u get max outta ur newspaper reading.

*Facts/Figures Collection:
Get few plastic files.Cut the most informative articles and properly file them in different files.Like one file on national economy,one on international economy,one on islamiat,one on sociology and social problems like population,corruption,n so on..Read them again and again till you feel as if jus by seeing their titles u come to recall of all tht lies inside.

By going that way within a month u will start improving both ur voc n by filing improtrnt articles at least u wd feel comforted wid the idea that u got them in ur kitty n when ever those needed or u relaxed go 4 ‘em. KAISA??
Huuh,kaafi lamba lecture lugta hay per apki confusion dekh ker muje apni baat yaad aa gayee k kyun na apni private trick aapko bata he duun,shayad kuchh mushkil aur aasan ho jaey..

Starred-luck n Bbbye

Almaas Ruby Wednesday, August 06, 2008 12:15 AM

[QUOTE=First-down]Hi Ruby,

*Voc addition:
Keep a note book always with ya while reading newsppr/book.As soon as u encountr a dfficlt word/phrase/idiom/expression, just jot it down along with full-stop to full stop sentence.Don’t rush for dictionary. Continue reading and jotting down till you find newpaper/book annoying enough. Now get a gud dictionary like bbc/oxford learners one, and find out the meaning n dictionary usage b4 going to bed of all the jotted down words during the reading episode of day,etc .Note’em down as well. Also note pronunciation and compare the usage of the same.

[/QUOTE]

thanks dear
ur idea really seems helpful,BUT if i dont go through the meanings the same day and wait for the night to come and then look them up, how would i be able to understand what i read in the newspaper????

or did u mean something else, and i perceived it the other way....???

do lemme know

thanks again, and may i know ur optionals????

First-down Wednesday, August 06, 2008 12:53 AM

Oh Gudness!
By not understanding a single word/phrase/idiom's meaning,u r never gonna loose to understand whole article or editorial.At least u got to get s'thng outta it as i sense ur english understanding.If its full of info,jus cut n file.....what harm?

And while b4 sleep u note down n excersize the meanings,etc n as soon as get up,recapitulate them,n i assure u,go on doing that day,with each passing day u will come to use ur note book more n more less cuz many of usable english words/jargons u wd find repeated n hence already in ur knowledge.

My optionals r geography,sociology,ir,cons law n publik ad...
n m gonna appear for once n last next year..chio

Nek Muhammad Sunday, June 20, 2010 07:02 PM

How to read Newspaper for CSS

[B][SIZE="3"]Beginners should read it...[/SIZE][/B]

[B]As we know that CSS candidate has to manage 12 subjects and he has limited time. Newspaper plays key role in CSS preparation for instance
It helps in preparation of current affairs paper directly
It helps acquiring material for Essay ( for essays on current issues only)
It helps you in many ways indirectly for English Composition
It helps build your opinion
It helps acquiring facts and figures and updated knowledge for many of optional subjects as well such as sociology, journalism, international relations etc.[/B]

[B]First of all make a register of current affairs. Divide it into three main portions
MCQs
National Issues
International Issues[/B]

[B][COLOR="Blue"]MCQs[/COLOR][/B]
[B]This portion will be reserved for sifting material for MCQs of current affairs paper.
Following are key areas for MCQs
Names of Presidents , Prime Ministers and other heads of states of key countries
Capital cities of the important countries of the world
Heads of international organizations such as World Bank , IMF , ADB etc
News agencies
Currencies
Major international events
Major international sports events etc
[/B]
[B][COLOR="Blue"]National Issues[/COLOR][/B]
[B]Make sub sections of various national issues confronting Pakistan that are likely to be asked in the forthcoming CSS examination.
For Example
Balochistan issue
Water crisis
Energy crisis
Sustainability of economy
Terrorism
NFC award etc[/B]

[B][COLOR="Blue"]International Issues[/COLOR][/B]

[B]Make sub sections of various international issues confronting the world that are likely to be asked in the forthcoming CSS examination.
For Example
Iraq
Iran
Afghanistan
Palestine
Terrorism
China supremacy
Rise of Russia etc
For reading purpose we can divide newspaper (here from newspaper we will assume DAWN) in four sections
1-Main page
2-Editorial page
3-World in focus
4-Other special editions[/B]

[B][COLOR="Blue"]Main Page[/COLOR][/B]
[B]Keeping in view above sections, have a look at the main page and read those pieces of news which are related to the above issues only. If there is any major or important development in those issues than note down in the relevant section only the development not the whole story.
If there is no news related to any of the above issue than those who have recently started reading newspaper should read at least one piece of news from main page.
[/B]
[B][COLOR="blue"]Editorial Page[/COLOR][/B]
[B]Having cursory look at other pages, move on to the editorial page. Editorials are a MUST DAILY read. Read main article for two months continuously if you are a fresh reader, than you may skip if you feel like it being the repetition.
Similarly, note down the important facts of the issues in their respective sections. [/B]

[B][COLOR="blue"]World in Focus[/COLOR][/B]
[B]In this section the writers are mostly foreigners. Their style of writing and the way of looking at various issues is worth noting. Study at least one. Note down the way they take up and analyze the issue.[/B]

[B][COLOR="blue"]Other special editions[/COLOR][/B]
[B]Do read following
One article from Business Review on every Monday
One article from Encounter on every Saturday.
From Science dot com, any thing related to EDS directly.
Sunday magazine any thing useful for any subject of CSS
Friday feature is a MUST read on every Friday.
[/B]

source;NoA

faisal88 Tuesday, December 14, 2010 12:04 PM

one must mantian register for Newspapers

Surely, it is invaluable to mantian register for all the facts and figurers and for important statements of the authority. besides one should also pen down quotes form Young World and Dawn news. Thoughts and Idea of the article writer such as Shahed Javed Burki, Rafia Zakria Ali Asghar etc also be jot down by the candidates.

Farman1 Tuesday, August 02, 2011 09:23 AM

Thanx to all those Seniors who have provided such a giant pile of information.That is really very helpful in how to read a newspaper in a promising way. But what is more helpful to us suppose if I get an article photo copied and then write down all the unknown words on the backside and go through the article by underling the keypoints or just reading the newspapers in a formal way?

khanzohaib1 Thursday, March 08, 2012 02:46 AM

reading

think you are the king of ur kingdom. live life by ur own rules..
reading dwan news paper is not that difficult as it seem. what is most important, is the level of concentration one pays to, and the will to achieve. for instance, if you are dealing with international affair one need to go through events and inccidents that take place, in detail.like what causes the incident, what are its relevent impacts if mentioned,and will happen followed by ur suggestion if not given. these are the one need to note down.

rushna khalil Friday, April 13, 2012 12:49 AM

seniors plz guide me....can we give reference of any political personality while writing their point of view or anything they said? I mean while attempting the paper of current affairs can we clearly mention any political personalities point view along with his or her name?

Hakayat e Roomi Friday, April 13, 2012 09:22 AM

Rushna Khalil

yes If u know the same wording which that personality said u quote it same.

Roomi

mano g Friday, April 13, 2012 10:16 AM

[QUOTE=rushna khalil;421053]seniors plz guide me....can we give reference of any political personality while writing their point of view or anything they said? I mean while attempting the paper of current affairs can we clearly mention any political personalities point view along with his or her name?[/QUOTE]

Yes, you can quote, until and unless that statement or personality is not controversial or contradictory to the national interest...it should be a neutral statement and according to the demand of the question.

rushna khalil Sunday, April 22, 2012 02:16 AM

on which page of dawn newspaper the friday feature is printed? I mean to the islamic feature? as far as my knowledge is concerned friday feature is related to islamiat? rite?

Shooting Star Sunday, April 22, 2012 02:27 AM

[QUOTE=rushna khalil;423692]on which page of dawn newspaper the friday feature is printed? I mean to the islamic feature? as far as my knowledge is concerned friday feature is related to islamiat? rite?[/QUOTE]

You can see it on Opinion page.Right next to "letters to the editor".It is equally beneficial for Islamiat and essay on Islamic issues.

rushna khalil Sunday, April 22, 2012 02:29 AM

the yellow pages and Business review are the same pages printed in monday dawn?

J R Orakzai Tuesday, December 18, 2012 07:33 PM

along with dawn news paper or the news you must purchase and study the magazine namely (the world time magazine ) its very informative magazine for current affairs . its monthly magazine,.

ah989 Wednesday, April 03, 2013 03:50 AM

2013 methodology

I Would like to share a few tips of my experience of news reading and 2013 exam, i tried these steps:
1- use news reading to learn new "vocab" , whenever you come across a new or unfimilar word check it in the dictionary , write it down and try ising it in your writing.
2- "editorial" provide a critical analysis of current affair topics and are very helpful . Dawn's editorials were particularly helpful as they comonly use "phrases and idioms ". Subdry other local and international like Economist' editorials are also helpful .
3- "news" by that i mean only daily updates are great to be aware of surrondings and how the government works etc. bits of information are helpful to be aware but extra should only be focused during leisure times otherwise not necessary. From my experience of 2013 , i would like to underscore the importance of world day's like Cancer day , Peace day as newspapers supply extra material for such days it is also informative and helpful regarding paper as i have observed.
4- the international news especially main developments should give a good nose around the global political arena. Aljazeera english has good opinion articles on its websites but these do not help if you are using your time from other subjects. A balance in news reading is always helpful as other subjects should not be neglected as some people like me , find it very interesting to read news.
5- online reading of newspaper helps in increasing vocabulary as the digital dictionary are fast and expedient.
6- friday article of dawn is very informative regarding Islamic Affairs and also has frequent Hadis and Ayah which can be noted for quoting in the paper.
7- international organizations that are mentioned should be noted and a main purpose and information of it is mendatory as it is nice to name regional organizations in exams.

Hope these are helpful..

bushra hashmi Friday, July 19, 2013 10:48 PM

I dont know why all senior as well as others recommended dawn newspaper,In my views The News is the best in which all the top stories are publisher,because all the senior and topper editors are linked with this nespaper we take the example o Ansar Abbasi which is one of them how any one convence me about Dawn

Lap Top Sunday, July 27, 2014 08:54 PM

all newspapers are good, but the thing we face is to "short term memory loss".;)

black diamond Sunday, September 27, 2015 07:58 AM

if you are beginner or you have just started reading news paper then.
DO'S
* concentrate on each difficult and unfamiliar word and note it down.
* concentrate on structure of sentences.
* read slowly to train your eyes and mind.
* note facts and figures.
* editorial is must to read out.
* Slowly and gradually enhance your speed of reading and movement of eyes.

DON'TS
*if you are beginner don't scan or skim.

tazimchaudhary Monday, September 28, 2015 01:18 AM

you dont need to read every page of news paper because it is not possible. All what you have to do is read about the tope stories both national and international. give a bird's eye view to the inside story. remeber news portion of paper only gives you raw information about a topic. To build your openion you have to read about the openion of other intelectuals and for that matter you must read their openoins about top stories and current happenings. Read the editorial and openion section.
When it comes to vocabulary, yes, definitally news paper english is much different from course book so you have to put asside all assumption that you have good english. first of all read the article and underline difficult words than write there meaning and read again.for this purpose u can buy a dictionary or download from google play.

How to read the news article is also tricky. Most of the time writer talk about a problem in society or country. try to find out about what he/ she is writing then probably come causes and solutions than suggestions. Divide article in such kind of headings. it will make it more understandable

hammadtahir Saturday, April 30, 2016 10:39 AM

nice tips why reading newspaper seems tedious tasks. is it better to watch news channel instead

Man Jaanbazam Saturday, April 30, 2016 10:54 AM

[QUOTE=hammadtahir;932446]nice tips why reading newspaper seems tedious tasks. is it better to watch news channel instead[/QUOTE]

Because it improves your expression and enhance vocabulary. Plus news is not the only thing to grab from newspaper. There are many other articles on variety of subjects.

hammadtahir Sunday, May 01, 2016 11:03 AM

thanks but i want to read the newspaper but i take 4-6 hours to read whole newspaper and also i feel tired by reading newspaper please can someone guide me how to read newspaper if i take 4-6 hours to read newspaper then how i study the subjects.
by the way i'm slow in newspaper not in subjects because i get bored when i reached the editorial page of dawn and as it is on page 8 it take me 1.5-2 hours to reach at page 8.
i'm pretty much slow at reading newspaper can you guide me how can i read newspaper effectively without getting tired

Man Jaanbazam Sunday, May 01, 2016 11:31 AM

[QUOTE=hammadtahir;932720]thanks but i want to read the newspaper but i take 4-6 hours to read whole newspaper and also i feel tired by reading newspaper please can someone guide me how to read newspaper if i take 4-6 hours to read newspaper then how i study the subjects.
by the way i'm slow in newspaper not in subjects because i get bored when i reached the editorial page of dawn and as it is on page 8 it take me 1.5-2 hours to reach at page 8.
i'm pretty much slow at reading newspaper can you guide me how can i read newspaper effectively without getting tired[/QUOTE]

Visit the following link for your answer. [URL="http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/tips-experience-sharing/19038-how-read-newspaper-css-preparation-3.html"]How to read newspaper for CSS preparation ?[/URL]

08:58 PM (GMT +5)