07:16 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing > Arena of Golden Tips

Old Saturday, August 10, 2013
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Roll no 6311

maqsood1981 will become famous soon enoughmaqsood1981 will become famous soon enough
Lightbulb

Originally Posted by comp Engr View Post
Salam

Sir i have to qualify CSS at any cost.Because Its only my aim.Please kindly prey for me to qualify...

Zohaib Khan Babar
Dear sir,

Besides regular preparation,Concentrate on your English grammar and composition and build up your vocabulary!
You can follow relevant sub forums of english essay and composition.
Post your written material there for views/corrections from senior members!

Regards!
Old Monday, August 12, 2013

asif baloch is on a distinguished road
Default choice of groups

sir how does the choice of groups given in form by a candidate prior to written exam matter in allocation of group or his failure in interview?
what was your choice of groups, please give all the 12 groups?
Old Thursday, August 15, 2013

Muhammad Irfan ullah jan is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by ArifAwan View Post
Dear, exam ko diye hue kaafi arsa ho chuka hay, is lye i can't be specific about the answers. As a thumb rule just give the introductory paragraph, the Conclusion, the body of the question should be divided into proper headings. The rest depends upon your creativity

Each optional subject worth 100 marks takes around three weeks of preparation . I believe there is ample time so you can replace it with any subject you feel comfortable with.

If you don't feel comfortable with IR, go for international law. Your study of IR will help you in I. Law as well. As for psychology, I personally consider it a better choice than the combination of CL and P.Administration as these two subjects are of varying nature and would require more time and concentration as compared top Psychology.
salam.. dear hope you are enjoying good health..!! dear i am from kpk and a graduate from university of peshawar.. i have only two questions..!!
1) how can i improve my english written expressions and which basics of english grammar are to be be revised (plzz mention the basics of grammar for CSS).
2) how and from where can i gather material for essay as both the english papers are very challenging..!! should i start solving precise past papers on my own by reading their general rules from exploring the world of english or i should consult a teacher??
thanks and prayers needed..!!
Old Thursday, August 15, 2013

aleenaykhizar is on a distinguished road

Thanks for this useful post.
Is it possible to get through css exams without any direct guidline,tution,or coaching?
Do mere reliance on guidline provided in books,css forum ,or other such sources is sufficient?
Old Saturday, August 17, 2013
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 16Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

ArifAwan is a splendid one to beholdArifAwan is a splendid one to beholdArifAwan is a splendid one to beholdArifAwan is a splendid one to beholdArifAwan is a splendid one to beholdArifAwan is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by aleenaykhizar View Post
Thanks for this useful post.
Is it possible to get through css exams without any direct guidline,tution,or coaching?
Do mere reliance on guidline provided in books,css forum ,or other such sources is sufficient?
Yes it is possible. I relied on self study and cssforum.

Originally Posted by Muhammad Irfan ullah jan View Post
salam.. dear hope you are enjoying good health..!! dear i am from kpk and a graduate from university of peshawar.. i have only two questions..!!
1) how can i improve my english written expressions and which basics of english grammar are to be be revised (plzz mention the basics of grammar for CSS).
2) how and from where can i gather material for essay as both the english papers are very challenging..!! should i start solving precise past papers on my own by reading their general rules from exploring the world of english or i should consult a teacher??
thanks and prayers needed..!!
Thanks for the kind wishes
Start writing essays and get them checked regularly. You can improve only if you know your mistakes. For precis, i would suggest that go through the rules mentioned in "Exploring the world of English" and start practising. if you can't do it on your own, contact a teacher but at least give it a try yourself.

Originally Posted by asif baloch View Post
sir how does the choice of groups given in form by a candidate prior to written exam matter in allocation of group or his failure in interview?
what was your choice of groups, please give all the 12 groups?
It does not matter what choice of group you mention in your forms. The panel may ask if you put a group on the top which other usually do not prefer but that's just normal. You always have a choice to modify them before interview.

My choices were:
PAS
PSP
FSP
PCS
MLCG

I don't remember precisely the rest!

Originally Posted by Rokky Balboa View Post
regarding islamic studies can you please guide sir , how to attempt the paper ,because i am going to attempt it in english . Thank you ,
I attempted Islamiat paper in English and quoted 2-3 Ayaat that I could recall at that time. I quoted ahadith as well and since the paper was having general type of questions, the Dawn Friday features also helped.

Originally Posted by Tanveer Ahmed Shaikh View Post
Sir could you guide me how may I cover the current affair either through a proper book or general material and which topics would be covered in context to written exam / screen test and which book I am going to study ..... Plz. So far I have suspend study of optional subject till phase of screen test will pass over.
Dear, i have mentioned the study sources in the third post of this thread. Please go through that.

Originally Posted by Murk karachi View Post
This is my first post at this useful platform for CSS aspirants.
Please advise me for good book of Current affair & Pak affair (Only one best book) in the light of your past experience for Screen test & Written Exam as well. Secondly being a very new for CSS preparation I am obscure to which topics / area I will cover for exam specially C. Affair.
Current Affairs: Contemporary Affairs by Imtiaz Shahid
Pak Affairs: Caravan series, Ikram Rabbani

Originally Posted by anu khan View Post
RESPECTED SIR,

please please help me out , i am much confused that from where to start my preparetion, i started the book 'Trek to Pskistan' and world affairs by Gerald segal, kindly tell me how to make the schedule of reading these books , plus i wanted to carry on english side by side.

You have better to Take start from Ikram Rabbani's book of Pakistan Affairs. Once you have finished reading, then go for "Trek to Pakistan". This way you would have already gained a lot and the book will serve as a detailed revision.

As for world affairs, i have no knowledge of the book you have mentioned. Please focus on newspapers and the Current Affairs book that are related to Pakistan and its global linkages. There is no specific time frame for mastering English, you have to carry on with it side by side. Reading books for both compulsory and optional subjects ultimately lead to improvement in vocabulary and sentence structure.

Originally Posted by zeekaay View Post
sir kindly guide me for about pak-affairs i am preparing it from ikram rabbani is it enough for preparation ?

i have almost prepared the pre-partition part by having an in depth study of that book, and as far as i have observed it carries all the topics according to the syllabus, what is your suggestion ?
You should read any of these books in combination with Ikram Rabbani's version.
1. Trek to Pakistan
2. Struggle for Pakistan
3. The making of Pakistan

Originally Posted by BLUE EYES View Post
yes sir i am careful about indo-pak history and after keen observation i have come to know that Islamic his and cul is better than indo-pak n rather scoring ...is it right selection ?may i select it than that of indo-pak ?
Indo Pak history was not bad in scoring aspects this year but Islamic history has remained consistent in its scoring trends. So make an intelligent choice

Originally Posted by aisha khushbakht View Post
Sir..i have done bsc double math and physics..
And now aspirant of 2014.
I opt applied mathematics.
Islamic history.
Geography.
The only hesitation about geography is that my drawing is not good..
So your suggestion about this combination.?
God bless u.
Drawing is in a raw form mostly and do not require special skills. Only neatness and labelling matters. So, this point alone should not stop you from opting geography.
Combination is fine.
aisha khushbakht (Sunday, August 18, 2013)
Old Saturday, August 17, 2013

Muhammad Irfan ullah jan is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by ArifAwan View Post
Thanks for the kind wishes
Start writing essays and get them checked regularly. You can improve only if you know your mistakes. For precis, i would suggest that go through the rules mentioned in "Exploring the world of English" and start practising. if you can't do it on your own, contact a teacher but at least give it a try yourself.
salam.. dear thanks for ur prompt reply.. i have been writing articles and my teacher and many csp officers told me that my grammar is good.. (so no worries at all) but i cannot take my first step on my own as you have advised. please mention the sources from where i can get relevant stuff for my essays..?? thanks and live as land with glory.. :-) ameen
Old Wednesday, September 04, 2013

mir shujaat ali maaz is on a distinguished road
Question I Salute you Sir !! Need your words on it

Assalam Alaikum Sir !!
First of all its been a privilege to read your study. I would like to know that how did you go through all those books which you have mentioned in your preparation plan? Was it because of your reading habit or an average student like me can also do it if given full time concentration and dedication? Kindly give me some advice as I have around 5 months left for the preparation and i have been in slow mode with my preparations for the last 4-5 months. But for now i am full time on it. So do you think such short span of time - 5 months - would be enough for me? My optionals are Public Ad., I.R, Indo Pak, Journalism and Sociology. And also do give some points on my english writing skills by judging through this para.

Your words would matter alot to me.
Thank you
The Following User Says Thank You to mir shujaat ali maaz For This Useful Post:
Muhammad Irfan ullah jan (Wednesday, September 04, 2013)
Old Wednesday, September 04, 2013

butterflly is on a distinguished road

salam sir please let me know is the screening test delayed for next year or not...........how and from what kind of sources should I prepare me for the interview,important to mention iam weak in English
Old Saturday, September 21, 2013

wikki khan is on a distinguished road

Dear sir?
Which would you prefer International Law or Pashto?
Old Saturday, September 21, 2013

kamii is on a distinguished road
Default sir please guide me with your experience

Assalam Alaikum respected Sir,
I have problem in my essay writing and composition, I have never studied grammar except three tenses i.e Past, Present, future, these tenses I learned at my school in matriculation, after that I never studied further grammar at anymore. But I can write an essay and can make sentences. I do regularly practice of essay writing and get checked by English teachers and professors at university even i posted my essay few days ago here on css forum. My teachers told me that you have language and sentence structure is also good but some times you carried punctuation mistakes. But my teachers and myself have confusion that without understanding and not studying grammar, how can I write such a good essay? But not that much css oriented. But I believe that It will be css oriented with the passage of time and practice. Sir I have also vocabulary, I have remembered all the GRE 50 vocabulary lists which consists almost 4000 words. Out of those 4000 words I know the correct usage of 1500 to 2000 words. I am also good at Pak affair, eds, and specially about islamiat. For mcqs of islamiat I have studied doggars mcqs book which you have mentioned in your earlier thread. I have also background of Islamic history and cultural as I am doing master in Islamic history. But despite doing focus on optional subjects or other compulsory subjects I want to get grip and full command upon English because I guess that if I am well at English then css will no more difficult for me. And I am preparing myself for cce 2015. hence, I have plenty of time for rest of subjects.