-   Foreign Service of Pakistan (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-cadres-training-programmes/specialized-training-program-stp/foreign-service-pakistan/)
-   -   Foreign Postings (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-cadres-training-programmes/specialized-training-program-stp/foreign-service-pakistan/68187-foreign-postings.html)

talalz3 Wednesday, November 28, 2012 07:37 PM

[QUOTE=leonidis;518894]as far as i have studied a bit about the privileges of ambassadors and members so they are exempted from taxes so brother dont be afraid . :) hope im right kindly senior rectify me if i m wrong.[/QUOTE]

A distant cousin of mine is currently posted in the US of A but my question remains unanswered. I believe some sort of tax has to be paid.

Omarzoo Thursday, November 29, 2012 08:44 PM

Hi. Is it true newly passed css officers get only rs.10000? Isn't it a little too less? Ten thousand is what my father pays the our driver. How much do ambasadors get paid?

tahir asiif Thursday, November 29, 2012 08:57 PM

[QUOTE=Omarzoo;519428]Hi. Is it true newly passed css officers get only rs.10000? Isn't it a little too less? Ten thousand is what my father pays the our driver. How much do ambasadors get paid?[/QUOTE]

are u living in the era of 1990s???? now in the training one gets 25k net with free boarding and lodging.............and after training if we take PSP(ASP) then he gets approx 50k on average and up to 70k in hard areas............plus a deSIGNATED HOUSE , PLUS 4 OFFICIAL BODY GUARDS , PLUS A 3 DOOR LAND CRUISER WITH BLUE LIGHTS AND A DRIVER.

just compare it with the private sector............a person taking 1 lakh net salary is not coming close to an ASP. i am saying this because i have seen the private life sector.........your opinion may differ.

talalz3 Thursday, November 29, 2012 09:08 PM

[QUOTE=Omarzoo;519428]Hi. Is it true newly passed css officers get only rs.10000? Isn't it a little too less? Ten thousand is what my father pays the our driver. How much do ambasadors get paid?[/QUOTE]

Yes they used to get paid Rs. 10000 more than ten years ago. And when you clear CSS I will give you the exact figures an ambassador makes. So you needn't worry ;)
Not to be rude or anything, but if you want to enter the Civil Service then you better start working now, because it seems you need to improve your grammar a bit.

Omarzoo Thursday, November 29, 2012 09:20 PM

Yeah thanks guys. So how much do the new css officers actually make (those who join the forgien service.) while they are in pakistan. I'd really appreciate the help. And talal bhai bta do ambassoder ka bhi :p

Emoemar Saturday, December 22, 2012 10:17 AM

[QUOTE=Xing Lee;518562]Emoemar bhai, Do you have any idea about how much salary an ambassador or UN rep gets while posted abroad? I am trying to figure out the maximum salary one can get in Foreign Service. Reason being that I'm comparing UN's salary structure with our FSP's salary structure. Please if you or anyone have any info regarding this, help me out. Thank you.[/QUOTE]

To be honest i do not have precise knowledge on the subject but i can make some educated guesses.

In purely monetary terms, ie the salary / income coming into your bank account i am sure the UN guy would get more but there is a big difference between the two. An ambassador is generally given a whole host of additional perks that a private organization or an international body like UN might not be able to give. For instance people working for UN also get some immunities under the Vienna Conventions but an ambassador of Pakistan is generally an important person, politically speaking. Then again UN might or might not pay for your kids / parents etc (i have no idea) while the govt. of pakistan does so. I am sure you can understand the gist, the benefits for an ambassador might be in non-tangible or non-apparent terms so if you were to do a pure salary to salary comparison the people working for INGOs and Int' Organizations would be better off financially but people working for the government would have a different set of non-tangibles. Please keep in mind this is just conjecture on my part so anyone can add to this / correct it :)

Personally, go for which ever appeals the more to you and where you believe you can be a better fit / would help with what you want from your career and life. FSP is not an easy choice but if it is a result of a well thought out plan / decision, a fulfilling one. End of the day it depends on the person, if you are good enough you will be able to make place for yourself wherever you go. Best of luck.

basitfarooq Saturday, January 05, 2013 07:04 PM

I want to ask that if a Third Secretary is having $2000 dollars as salary, is this amount adequate if one is posted anywhere but Russia or Japan, and if one's family is also with him ?

Regards!

basitfarooq Sunday, January 13, 2013 11:17 AM

Nobody is willing to reply ?

Emoemar Tuesday, January 29, 2013 05:43 AM

[QUOTE=basitfarooq;537440]I want to ask that if a Third Secretary is having $2000 dollars as salary, is this amount adequate if one is posted anywhere but Russia or Japan, and if one's family is also with him ?

Regards![/QUOTE]

In one word yes. It is adequate anywhere in the world, if you define the word adequate in a reasonable manner. Would you be able to afford luxury cars or penthouses? No. Would you live comfortably and enjoy a decent standard of life? Yes. Would you be able to save a lot by the time you come back? Depends on how lavishly or not you lived.

2000 dollars get you good food, decent car, decent to nice clothes and some savings. Considering that your medical insurance and rent and school fees for children are already being taken care of by the govt.

basitfarooq Tuesday, January 29, 2013 12:17 PM

Thanks a lot sir for your kind response !

You have always been a great help to me.

May Almighty shower His blessings upon you and the people who belong to the same upbringing and mindset (AAMEEN)

I have taken the current Competitive Exam and my first preference is FSP. I was asking such questions because a number of my family members are working in DMG or PSP, and ofcourse, they readily accept their course of action as the most esteemed one in terms of big banglows, bullet proof cars and a handsome security, infront of which FSP appears a peanut to them:mad:

So, my last question is, Is a third secretary given furnished residence and flagged car or one has to establish the same on one's own?

The answer would make me fell my grounds firm on my decision.

Thanks a lot once again.

Regards!

09:03 AM (GMT +5)