-   Office Management Group (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-cadres-training-programmes/specialized-training-program-stp/office-management-group/)
-   -   How to survive in meager salary in Islamabad during service in OMG? (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-cadres-training-programmes/specialized-training-program-stp/office-management-group/80587-how-survive-meager-salary-islamabad-during-service-omg.html)

Jetpack2 Tuesday, June 18, 2013 01:03 PM

[QUOTE=aminshah101;614094]Well dear, according to my elder sister, house is not available at all stations but car is. But the range varies from one station to another. At one office, you can get Corolla Indus while at others, Mehran without AC.

Custom as a group normally considered to be 5th top priority nowadays. She placed Customs above DMG as her top priority despite the fact she obtained 24th position right after her bachelors in her very first attempt.

She says promotion became an issue in Customs following the enhancement of IRS but it would be resolved by the time 40+ Commoners are on their verge of reaching 19 Grade.

Currently, the group is in race with IRS. In few aspects, the former is better while in other, the latter is.[/QUOTE]

Thanks for your guidance, much appreciated. I want to keep PCS as my top priority because as per my knowledge it is relatively better in perks over IRS, all FBR employees draw double pay, more foreign training opportunities etc.

would you suggest PCS group as a top preference? I am going to consider valuable suggestions of all friends , peers and seniors before making a final decision.

Thanks and Regards.

aminshah101 Tuesday, June 18, 2013 01:18 PM

Well, depends from person to person. IRS ka to confirm hai double pay hai from the start, don't know about Customs...

Its still considered to be amongst the top 6 services so no harm in putting it on top.

Mein bhi to hoon who is keeping MLCG on 3rd in 2013 attempt.

Jetpack2 Tuesday, June 18, 2013 04:57 PM

[QUOTE=aminshah101;614406]Well, depends from person to person. IRS ka to confirm hai double pay hai from the start, don't know about Customs...

Its still considered to be amongst the top 6 services so no harm in putting it on top.

Mein bhi to hoon who is keeping MLCG on 3rd in 2013 attempt.[/QUOTE]

Thanks for your valuable feedback. As per my info all employees of FBR (IRS and customs) draw double pay as per policy. Starting from Grade 17.

MLCG group is also lucrative. I am also interested in CTG group it is relatively underestimated, but CTG is relatively a very important group, as trade is the backbone of our economy. CTG officers have a quota of foreign postings as commercial counsellors but recently all postings have been on a political basis, other than that there are varies attached department of ministry of commercelike TDAP, State Life insurance etc where the officers can get deputation . I still don't understand why CTG is such an undervalued group. :thinking :thinking

My tentative group preference is 1) Pcs, :vic 2) CTG,3) Mlcg and IRS.

Hoping for the best . :onesec

aminshah101 Tuesday, June 18, 2013 05:09 PM

[QUOTE=Jetpack2;614525]Thanks for your valuable feedback. As per my info all employees of FBR (IRS and customs) draw double pay as per policy. Starting from Grade 17.

MLCG group is also lucrative. I am also interested in CTG group it is relatively underestimated, but CTG is relatively a very important group, as trade is the backbone of our economy. CTG officers have a quota of foreign postings as commercial counsellors but recently all postings have been on a political basis, other than that there are varies attached department of ministry of commercelike TDAP, State Life insurance etc where the officers can get deputation . I still don't understand why CTG is such an undervalued group. :thinking :thinking

My tentative group preference is 1) Pcs, :vic 2) CTG,3) Mlcg and IRS.

Hoping for the best . :onesec[/QUOTE]

Wow, finally someone who is on the same track as I am. Different set of priorities.

Well brother, best of luck with your priorities...

Well to all those who answered my queries, hiring of accommodation aasaani se ho jaati ya nahi???

Plus, is there a probability that if I surrender my conveyance allowance, I would be getting an official vehicle.

How true is this story???

Xing Lee Friday, June 21, 2013 05:05 PM

[QUOTE=aminshah101;613644]
By the way, FSP is not that highly paid either. Story would be more or less the same.

[/QUOTE]
Partially correct. I was refereeing to FSP salary while abroad.

[QUOTE=aminshah101;614994]Well to all those who answered my queries, hiring of accommodation aasaani se ho jaati ya nahi???

Plus, is there a probability that if I surrender my conveyance allowance, I would be getting an official vehicle.

How true is this story???[/QUOTE]
From what I know, hiring is not a problem. But I've never heard of someone getting an official vehicle by surrendering the conveyance allowance. I don't think you should keep your fingers crossed for that at all.

dr adnan rana Friday, June 21, 2013 05:42 PM

[QUOTE=aminshah101;614406]Well, depends from person to person. IRS ka to confirm hai double pay hai from the start, don't know about Customs...

Mein bhi to hoon who is keeping MLCG on 3rd in 2013 attempt.[/QUOTE]

For the general information i must add few points here

1. All FBR emplyees i.e. Customs(now called as Customs Service Of Pakistan, CSP) IRS get Double Salary as Performance Allowance starting from Grade 17.
2. As a general trend of preferences upto 40th CTP, Customs was either 2nd preference or the 3rd preference of the people who got allocated in Customs.You can yourself confirm from all previous allocations
3. Accommodation in Customs is an issue but vehicle is not...

Sociologist PU Friday, June 21, 2013 06:17 PM

Surviving in Islamabad is possible (with low salary) if you people bring yourself to the status of a common man.

-Travel in public transport

- Dont live in a posh area

-have your own arrangement of cooking

-Spend weekend at your native town

-Do shopping from Rawalpindi

- if you are single hire a room near office instead of full house

(If u can do all this, you can survive. My experience)

aminshah101 Friday, June 21, 2013 06:18 PM

[QUOTE=dr adnan rana;615854]For the general information i must add few points here

1. All FBR emplyees i.e. Customs(now called as Customs Service Of Pakistan, CSP) IRS get Double Salary as Performance Allowance starting from Grade 17.
2. As a general trend of preferences upto 40th CTP, Customs was either 2nd preference or the 3rd preference of the people who got allocated in Customs.You can yourself confirm from all previous allocations
3. Accommodation in Customs is an issue but vehicle is not...[/QUOTE]

About your 3rd point I know that.

And the other 2 points are also useful piece of information. Well, I wonder that in that case, why people equate IRS with Customs? Coz if Customs Service of Pakistan too has double pay from the start, then it should be ranked higher than IRS.

However what I have inferred from people on this forum as well as in my external life, the situation is otherwise.

[QUOTE=Sociologist PU;615864]Surviving in Islamabad is possible (with low salary) if you people bring yourself to the status of a common man.

(If u can do all this, you can survive. My experience)[/QUOTE]

Nice tips. Might require them next year :)).

Waise to I have stayed there in hostel during my University life but that was an entirely different ball game.

aniya warraich Friday, June 21, 2013 11:15 PM

[QUOTE=Sociologist PU;615864]Surviving in Islamabad is possible (with low salary) if you people bring yourself to the status of a common man.

(If u can do all this, you can survive. My experience)[/QUOTE]

What's the purpose of working so hard for this exam if we had to live a life of a "muflis" in Islamabad :cr :confused::confused:
But indeed these are good suggestions to live a students life there :)

Raz Saturday, June 22, 2013 12:24 AM

There is a severe mismatch in the power and package in civil service. This imbalance results in corruption. Despite this disparity, one should either survive by being contented on the justified resources or surrender but should not exploit/abuse power.

07:40 AM (GMT +5)