-   Pakistan Administrative Service (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-cadres-training-programmes/specialized-training-program-stp/pakistan-administrative-service/)
-   -   Assistant Commissioner SALARY (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-cadres-training-programmes/specialized-training-program-stp/pakistan-administrative-service/67293-assistant-commissioner-salary.html)

talalz3 Monday, June 17, 2013 05:55 PM

[QUOTE=zqidwai;614044]You havent met a bba who is earning above 50K???..then Go and meet MTs of good institutions like Unliever PNG ICI and others. Sir the market isnt that bad. People are getting good salaries along with great perks and benefits.[/QUOTE]

Yes, and some MTs make as high as 90k per month.

Rokky Balboa Sunday, July 07, 2013 10:48 PM

wanted to ask ,, once selected , a person having domicile of punjab , where is he likely to get posted and will he hav to serve there the rest of his life or , he would b trasferred time to time?

AliSherSwabi Monday, August 19, 2013 11:49 AM

[QUOTE=Hamza Salick;593640]Interesting discussion..monetary matters are no doubt important and cannot be neglected.This is one area where the civil service lacks i.e the salaries paid to civil servants are not very attractive.But have to look at the gains of this tradeoff.there are hundreds of priviliges and opportunities that this service offers.One must also understand that this is a kind of a job where monetary benefits and renumeration take a backseat.Honour of being a civil servant is unparalled in Pakistan.You have power in a sense that the decisions you take have far reaching and wide implications on lives of the people and in some cases the whole nation.You can provide relief to a huge number of people legally using the power vested in your position.This is an opportunity and a feeling no other career can possibly give you.A doctor may save one person's life,but monitoring of health facilities or input in health policy by a civil servant can save lives of thousands of people in the decades to come.Civil service takes you to areas of Pakistan which you couldn't have thought of visiting if it were on your own.Recognition and even reverence would come your way if you perform your tasks efficiently,impartially and honestly.I am just a beginner in the service,but I can vouch for the fact that no job would give you the thrill and the sense of achievement that civil service can provide.It is worth all the pains.and when you have so much on offer,who cares about a few thousand rupees.You can have millions but you can't buy the tag of being an officer in the premier service of pakistan with them.[/QUOTE]
Brilliant Post! Thats the real spirit of CSP, Proud to have individuals like you in CSS that are well determined and inspired to make a change in our country and our society in general.

mani g Monday, August 19, 2013 11:13 PM

[QUOTE=talalz3;583643]Why not mate? I have seen people in bba getting more than 70k from well known institutions without bonus and other perks.[/QUOTE]

My classmate has started getting 75K per month in a big multinational company just after a week of finishing MBA.

ALI SB Thursday, August 22, 2013 07:56 PM

[QUOTE=maliasghar;469609]Gentlemen, what are you talking about.. In STP, we are getting Gross Rs. 27,000/-, which after deductions come to Rs. 25,500..., what to talk of 33,000!! :D[/QUOTE]

[COLOR="Green"][SIZE="3"]Dear ALI!!! these new entrants wl soon realise the Hard Reality of civil Service :P :pipe:pipe[/SIZE][/COLOR]

mani g Friday, August 23, 2013 11:17 AM

[QUOTE=ALI SB;640117][COLOR="Green"][SIZE="3"]Dear ALI!!! these new entrants wl soon realise the Hard Reality of civil Service :P :pipe:pipe[/SIZE][/COLOR][/QUOTE]

Kia matlb Sir?

bhatti Wednesday, April 02, 2014 08:08 PM

sir i want to know that assistant commissioner have any fuel allowance for private use.
i know that official use of fuel is unlimited

Xeric Thursday, April 03, 2014 08:43 PM

[QUOTE=bhatti;710415]sir i want to know that assistant commissioner have any fuel allowance for private use.
i know that official use of fuel is unlimited[/QUOTE]

If an officer is not allotted vehicle then 5000 conveyance allowance is added in the salary. There is no concept of fuel allowance for private use and official use of P.O.L is also limited. 200 to 250 litr/month for Assistant Commissioner i presume.

sohaibk Sunday, May 18, 2014 10:49 AM

When will be the PMS Papers conducted after deadline

Asslam u alikum
Seniors please let me know that,
When will be the PMS Papers conducted after deadline

samar ahmad Sunday, May 18, 2014 11:04 AM

you poeple have no idea of civil services. It is not about salary. If it is about salary then I m already getting 125k.

taimz Sunday, May 18, 2014 11:37 AM

FBR and Police group has higher salaries than other groups.

Talha Majeed Thursday, March 19, 2015 12:08 AM

From this whole discussion, I assume that FSP is far better than all other groups. Although they do not have authority etc, but many of PAS officers are also OSDs. Regarding salary is concern. FSP officers gets good salary during Foreign Posting. And they do not have problem of being transfered to remote areas.

EHSAN RAFIQ Monday, March 21, 2016 11:34 PM

Come on guys
CSS isn't about salary although money is the necessity of life but if u want to earn money then why don't you go for ur own buisness be an entrapenurer.
CSS isn't about money
It's a responsibilty an authority to improve the life of the people
If one become beaurocrate then it's up to him whether he choose to serve people or his own interests.
Regarding postings and political influence and areas with security risk, everyone can work in peaceful environment but your best comes out when you face challenges and those who are concern about their security, why don't they go to their mama instead of joining civil services.��

Falcon khan Tuesday, April 05, 2016 03:32 PM

Salary of bs 17 employee is Rs 39078. It is applicable to all csps except Ac income tax whom get double basic

Falcon khan Tuesday, August 09, 2016 12:34 AM

after the budget 2016, new salary of bps 17 is raised 42700:haha

mcsa Friday, October 14, 2016 03:06 PM

What is the starting salary of asi in kpk police??

kkakar Saturday, October 15, 2016 09:01 AM

It's Rs. 28670

Haseebb Sunday, October 16, 2016 12:34 AM

Salary of an AC is 40,000.
Many would say forget salary, PAS is about serving and prestige etc etc. But apart from being emotional, its a clear fact that salary matters alot if u want to run your kitchen and expenditures through legal means. Since being an AC one needs to maintain himself like an officer and that also costs u economically.

A married person would remain hand to mouth in 40K.

If u are coming for salary in PAS, better think twice

Tenacious Monday, October 17, 2016 03:44 PM

Its nothing about salary, its about power you have. An Assistant Commissioner is the leader and the government in his respective sub-division, Revenue, Line Departments coordination, Law & Order and a lot depends on him.

Shah Taj Ali Khan Monday, October 17, 2016 03:58 PM

[QUOTE=EHSAN RAFIQ;922595]Come on guys
CSS isn't about salary although money is the necessity of life but if u want to earn money then why don't you go for ur own buisness be an entrapenurer.
CSS isn't about money
It's a responsibilty an authority to improve the life of the people
If one become beaurocrate then it's up to him whether he choose to serve people or his own interests.
Regarding postings and political influence and areas with security risk, everyone can work in peaceful environment but your best comes out when you face challenges and those who are concern about their security, why don't they go to their mama instead of joining civil services.��[/QUOTE]
Exactly

Haseebb Tuesday, October 18, 2016 06:55 PM

What a lame rhetoric of joining dmg for improving the lives of the poor people lol.
Why dont these people join part time NGO's and social welfare organizations free of cost? I wonder how many do that??

Majority of the people do it for themselves and to enjoy authority while claiming social service and other such ideals. I think such guys shud go to their mamas to.learn some honesty dat they dint learn in childhood

siddiquiali Saturday, October 22, 2016 12:35 AM

That is the point. To sacrifice everything for the betterment of the country. If you want a big salary, then join some multi-national company. Salary doesn't matter for an honest CSS officer as long as it is enough to fulfill the basic necessities.

Zain MSS Saturday, October 22, 2016 12:42 AM

[QUOTE=Haseebb;980001]What a lame rhetoric of joining dmg for improving the lives of the poor people lol.
Why dont these people join part time NGO's and social welfare organizations free of cost? I wonder how many do that??

Majority of the people do it for themselves and to enjoy authority while claiming social service and other such ideals. I think such guys shud go to their mamas to.learn some honesty dat they dint learn in childhood[/QUOTE]

I agree with you. Infact, a member of the Commission reacted to the candidate's reply on the same question of why he wanted to be a part of Civil Service.
Not being personal to anyone, but, surely, i suspect the intentions of anyone who claims to join civil service solely for public service.

Haseebb Saturday, October 22, 2016 07:24 PM

Emotional statements like sacrificing everything etc etc..Follow the example of Edhi sahab and make him your role model if people are so much interested in public service. Dont have to be a dmg officer for public service. By the way every1 knows what type of public service civil servants are interested.

infinite optimism Monday, October 24, 2016 06:09 PM

[QUOTE=Haseebb;981055]Emotional statements like sacrificing everything etc etc..Follow the example of Edhi sahab and make him your role model if people are so much interested in public service. Dont have to be a dmg officer for public service. By the way every1 knows what type of public service civil servants are interested.[/QUOTE]

You want angels to serve humanity.You can enjoy authority while serving people at the same time,there is nothing wrong with that.Everybody deserve good life and,people will be served only when ones's own conditions are good.Not everyone can be Edhi Sahab,have you ever heard of human diversity?so put a halt to your useless rant.

Haseebb Monday, October 24, 2016 07:46 PM

U can not serve in such a condition when you are paid 40,000 Rs
while 10 crores are at your disposal. Have some logic in your arguments. People daily witness what happens in public offices, officers are like gora sahab as far as serving humanity is concerned. Bribe is a custom. Papers are full of embezzlement cases of such people serving poor people lol. The life style of officers speak otherwise of their meagre incomes. THAT IS WHAT IS PRACTICALLY HAPPENING AND HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR LAST SO MANY YEARS. Such ideal have been claimed since 1980's or so. Why then there is no change? Why public speaks otherwise? If you are so much concerned about nation building, become school teachers and teach in villages. Why no1 is interested in school teaching if public service and nation building is so important????

Zain MSS Monday, October 24, 2016 08:14 PM

The interest of a Bureaucrat and the Public seldom converge. There have been instances where some dignified names of Pakistan's Bureaucracy have practiced objective standards of Administration, and exercised power purely for the good of Masses. On the contrary, there are some notorious names who have blatantly ignored the essence of public policies, preached flagrant disregard of merit, and invented a certain type of culture that is endemic within our National system !

The point is, a Public Officer and the Public do not necessarily have diametrically opposed agendas. Any bureaucrat who has the genuine impulse of a Government servant, will facilitate the Public as much as he can do, keeping in mind his/her powers or capabilities, and the long term impact of his/her decisions.

Comments and criticism welcomed !

nathanalgren Tuesday, October 25, 2016 04:11 PM

One can not perform efficiently if he does not have job satisfaction. There is nothing bad in PAS but actually problem inherently lies in our system. A PAS officer who works as an AC has to perform alot of work. His social and family life is disturbed. He is posted in remote areas. He has funds of millions at his disposal but he is paid a salary of 50,000 rs which is a joke. In his profession, he has no security of transfers. Political interest and the bureaucratic system itself puts alot of stress upon honest officers. That is why, many consider PAS not good

Haseebb Tuesday, October 25, 2016 07:36 PM

@ Nathan algren.

EXACTLY. If PAS officers are paid adequately, they have no insecurity of transpers and if their job is apolitical, then PAS is a very good group. But viweing ground realities, 95 percent officers can't resist the system. They dont change the system, the system changes them. Some remain honest but become indifferent to their jobs, just passing their time. Remaining 5 percent remain rolling stones for seniors or politicians. Honestly, every batch has only 2-3 such officers

siddiquiali Wednesday, October 26, 2016 01:22 AM

Its a matter of opinion. In my opinion to fix this system one instead of complaining that the system is corrupt and broken, should join it and try to bring a change to the best of their abilities.

But for you the act of helping people can only be done by joining NGO and/or social welfare society. So please take some time and think before declaring the intents of someone aspiring to become CSP fully on gaining authority and other facilities.

[QUOTE=nathanalgren;981665]One can not perform efficiently if he does not have job satisfaction. There is nothing bad in PAS but actually problem inherently lies in our system. A PAS officer who works as an AC has to perform alot of work. His social and family life is disturbed. He is posted in remote areas. He has funds of millions at his disposal but he is paid a salary of 50,000 rs which is a joke. In his profession, he has no security of transfers. Political interest and the bureaucratic system itself puts alot of stress upon honest officers. That is why, many consider PAS not good[/QUOTE]

This is exactly the reason why so many capable people don't consider joining the civil bureaucracy and settle for some high paying private companies. But do you think that the government will change their policy. Nope! If you are not interested in the job then someone else who is less capable and more prone not to change the system (and even has the intention to to do corruption) will take your place.

Then after some years, you yourself while reading the newspaper will make the usual comments like this country is full of corrupt and no one stands up to change the system or run the system honestly.

The point is if you want to make a difference then you have to sacrifice all your comforts and works 24/7 for it.

Haseebb Thursday, October 27, 2016 01:59 PM

I respect the spirit but 24/7 work neglecting comforts is an extreme, middle path is always recommended in every walk of life.

My point is about the pros and cons of PAS. Yes social recognition and authority is there. Social change can be brought to a limited extent since politics controls everything. But candidates should also know the numerous problems PAS Officers face if they want to go against the system.

To present reality is not to disappoint any1. Meagre salaries, remote area postings, need of political backing, even lack of facilities at many stations are the realities of PAS. U dont get a house at every station. Many dont get good postings. There is alot of pressure. U try to bring change and you get transferred the next day to another province. These facts should be known by candidates before they choose their priorities.

Schandenfreud Friday, October 28, 2016 12:28 AM

Am amazed at how ppl want to join civil service but are not ready to make sacrifices for it.I am a pro_PAS guy and shall continue to prefer it over every other service any day of my life.True there are issues and i wont make an attempt to brush them under carpet nor do i intend to mislead any aspirant but my personal experience so far has been that of a service that has no comparison with any other service.There are issues no doubt but in comparison with what it offers i would always recommend it.But again it boils down to individual choices and aptitude for type of service.

Haseebb Friday, October 28, 2016 06:58 PM

@ Shandenfrued

I respect your personal view SIR!!!!.
But to call PAS way better than other services is unfair to other services.

FSP is also better than PAS in many ways. U serve the Pakistani community abroad. FSP officers are the face of Pakistan and in today's scenario, they hold even more importance. So, they also perform av.v.imp task of defending Pakistan at diplomatic front.
Yes there are draw backs in FSP but it is more balanced than PAS as a service since its perks are unmatched. They get handsome salaries, their exposure is matchless as compared to any other service of csp cadre. They also serve in hard countries but they are paid accordingly unlike PAS. They spend alot of time studying, thus they are more polished and refined officers.

Every service should provide balance. On one hand if officer is performing his duties, he should be paid adequately for his family since welfare of family is also equally important.
To give sm1alot of powers and funds of millions while paying him 40,000 is itself a very irrational scheme of conducting public business.

I have asked this question several times but never got a satisfactory answer that except from social recognition and 40,000 salary, what does PAS offers to an officer for his financial security???

Qk Mehsood Friday, October 28, 2016 08:49 PM

I am patrolling officer in motorway police during training my salary is 47 plus but PAS and other groups have their own charm and prestige.

Schandenfreud Friday, October 28, 2016 10:30 PM

[QUOTE=Haseebb;982311]@ Shandenfrued

I respect your personal view SIR!!!!.
But to call PAS way better than other services is unfair to other services.

FSP is also better than PAS in many ways. U serve the Pakistani community abroad. FSP officers are the face of Pakistan and in today's scenario, they hold even more importance. So, they also perform av.v.imp task of defending Pakistan at diplomatic front.
Yes there are draw backs in FSP but it is more balanced than PAS as a service since its perks are unmatched. They get handsome salaries, their exposure is matchless as compared to any other service of csp cadre. They also serve in hard countries but they are paid accordingly unlike PAS. They spend alot of time studying, thus they are more polished and refined officers.

Every service should provide balance. On one hand if officer is performing his duties, he should be paid adequately for his family since welfare of family is also equally important.
To give sm1alot of powers and funds of millions while paying him 40,000 is itself a very irrational scheme of conducting public business.

I have asked this question several times but never got a satisfactory answer that except from social recognition and 40,000 salary, what does PAS offers to an officer for his financial security???[/QUOTE]

The problem is you are comparing PAS vis a vis other services keeping in view its BPS17_18 postings.The dynamics of PAS as service are quite different than how you have protrayed.One thing you shall always hear abt PAS is its horizontal and vertical mobility.I wont dig into that because thats something everyone knows.Whats more important is that being a general cadre it provides you the canvas to hone your skills at a very young age,preparing you for higher management positions;an experience something that no other specialized cadre provides.About the financial issues;the problem is that you are only thinking about Bps 17 and 18 field postings.The dynamics of the service has changed its not just District management group now,its Pakistan Administrative service,offering you positions in projects,Autonomous bodies,public Companies.So always keep the bigger picture in perspective instead of narrowing it down and basing your arguments on positions that can be best called preparatory positions;where factors other than money matters more.About FSP its no doubt a good service but with its pros i can recount its so many cons that i would need another space to jot it down.

civilengineer92 Saturday, October 29, 2016 01:50 AM

After going through this thread i've suddenly lost my enthusiasm for css and i don't know why.. if only 10% get power and only the corrupt ones get money, why are we striving so hard to reach there?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

nathanalgren Sunday, October 30, 2016 01:19 AM

PAS / PSP are jobs for ppl with certain temperament e.g ppl who enjoy authority and fame . Not every1 can do PAS & PSP. In PAS, your job becomes yourlifestyle 24/7.

If one is very active and social or his first priority is service of people before his personal life/family etc then PAS is great.

One can get his desired goals through CSS
One gets an option of 12 occupational groups in CSS. Chose that group that suits your aptitude and that can help you achieve your life's objectives irrespective of its popularity or standing. E.g a philosopher type person should put police as his 12 preference since police wont suit him.

Haseebb Tuesday, November 01, 2016 02:48 PM

@Shandenfrued

You are right Sir! These positive factors are there in DMG But Still FSP is way better than PAS as a service.
Salary, perks and level of exposure is matcless in FSP. Plus one has to study alot in FSP that enhances your intellectual abilities. One is not dependant upon favour of politicians rtc etc. And its way better to be posted in Brussels as compared to Bhakhar or Thar.

aminshah101 Thursday, November 03, 2016 12:18 PM

[QUOTE=civilengineer92;982391]After going through this thread i've suddenly lost my enthusiasm for css and i don't know why.. if only 10% get power and only the corrupt ones get money, why are we striving so hard to reach there?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]

Well my friend, about the power, its not the gun but man behind the gun that matters :). So keep your morale high and if you want to pursue a stable, progressive career, then go for it. All the best in either case :)

[QUOTE=nathanalgren;982608]PAS / PSP are jobs for ppl with certain temperament e.g ppl who enjoy authority and fame . Not every1 can do PAS & PSP. In PAS, your job becomes yourlifestyle 24/7.

If one is very active and social or his first priority is service of people before his personal life/family etc then PAS is great.

One can get his desired goals through CSS
One gets an option of 12 occupational groups in CSS. Chose that group that suits your aptitude and that can help you achieve your life's objectives irrespective of its popularity or standing. E.g a philosopher type person should put police as his 12 preference since police wont suit him.[/QUOTE]

Agreed :). Same is the case with every other Occupational Group.

[QUOTE=Haseebb;982065]I respect the spirit but 24/7 work neglecting comforts is an extreme, middle path is always recommended in every walk of life.

My point is about the pros and cons of PAS. Yes social recognition and authority is there. Social change can be brought to a limited extent since politics controls everything. But candidates should also know the numerous problems PAS Officers face if they want to go against the system.

To present reality is not to disappoint any1. Meagre salaries, remote area postings, need of political backing, even lack of facilities at many stations are the realities of PAS. U dont get a house at every station. Many dont get good postings. There is alot of pressure. U try to bring change and you get transferred the next day to another province. These facts should be known by candidates before they choose their priorities.[/QUOTE]

[QUOTE=Schandenfreud;982372]The problem is you are comparing PAS vis a vis other services keeping in view its BPS17_18 postings.The dynamics of PAS as service are quite different than how you have protrayed.One thing you shall always hear abt PAS is its horizontal and vertical mobility.I wont dig into that because thats something everyone knows.Whats more important is that being a general cadre it provides you the canvas to hone your skills at a very young age,preparing you for higher management positions;an experience something that no other specialized cadre provides.About the financial issues;the problem is that you are only thinking about Bps 17 and 18 field postings.The dynamics of the service has changed its not just District management group now,its Pakistan Administrative service,offering you positions in projects,Autonomous bodies,public Companies.So always keep the bigger picture in perspective instead of narrowing it down and basing your arguments on positions that can be best called preparatory positions;where factors other than money matters more.About FSP its no doubt a good service but with its pros i can recount its so many cons that i would need another space to jot it down.[/QUOTE]

[QUOTE=Haseebb;983024]@Shandenfrued

You are right Sir! These positive factors are there in DMG But Still FSP is way better than PAS as a service.
Salary, perks and level of exposure is matcless in FSP. Plus one has to study alot in FSP that enhances your intellectual abilities. One is not dependant upon favour of politicians rtc etc. And its way better to be posted in Brussels as compared to Bhakhar or Thar.[/QUOTE]

I have gone through the posts on this thread, which was about salary of an Assistant Commissioner. Staying relevant to the thread, the gross salary is nowadays around 50,000 while net/cash salary should be around 44-45k.

Now coming down to this FSP, PAS and PSP thing, I believe every service has its own pros and cons. Blank comparisons between any of the Occupational Groups, without setting any parameters is just like comparing apple with oranges, mangoes and bananas.

No service can be categorized good or bad; its a matter of compatibility. A person's aptitude and attitude may, or may not be compatible with one service...

nathanalgren Friday, November 04, 2016 11:16 AM

@ Amin Shah.

Totally agreed. Each service requires certain aptitude. People from urban background misfit in DMG while people of rural background misfit in FSP.

As far as civil service is concerned, FSP has no comparison. It is different from rest of the occupational groups of CSS.

IT IS THE ONLY ROYAL SERVICE. Pay is around 3 lacs, free housing (2500$) and free medical and education of kids (2000$) overall makes a package of almost 7 lacs per month. Plus you travel around the world in 7 star hotels.

It is the only group of CSS where you enjoy pays higher than private sector. Even corporate sectors cant provide such luxuries to their senior employees which a 3rd secretary gets.

12:32 PM (GMT +5)