-   Grammar-Section (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/english-precis-composition/grammar-section/)
-   -   Participate in Sentences Correction (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/english-precis-composition/grammar-section/67144-participate-sentences-correction.html)

Shaw Saturday, August 18, 2012 03:16 PM

[QUOTE=bl chughtai;468040]police is a collective name of group and some collective names are taken as a singular one of them is a police so helping verb is used here.
so the police is coming or approaching is a correct sentence.:)[/QUOTE]

[B][COLOR="DarkSlateGray"]Madam! 'Police' isn't a collective noun, it's rather a plural noun just as 'people' and 'pence' are.
We can say 'A policeman is' or 'The police force is' or 'A member of the police is' but not just 'Police is.'[/COLOR][/B]

Farrukh Aziz Saturday, August 18, 2012 04:05 PM

[SIZE="4"]Correct Answers:[/SIZE]

[B]1. You speak English well.
2. I didn’t meet anybody/anyone.
3. Would you like a glass of wine?
4. The house isn’t big enough.
5.The police are coming.[/B]

[SIZE="3"][B]Shaw = 5
Zuhaib= 4
Bl Chughtai= 2[/B][/SIZE]

Farrukh Aziz Saturday, August 18, 2012 04:20 PM

[SIZE="4"]Correct All of the sentences given below:[/SIZE]

[B]1. Have you heard a story about a girl having no shade?
2. This was the first time I saw her in Lahore during a party arranged by our
company.
3. "No matter wherever the notorious dacoit goes, I will catch him." says,SSP
Sukkur, Pir Muhammad Shah.
4. Nowadays, the more students are coming from Sindh and from interior
Punjab to Lahore to join preparatory academies for CSS.
5. You know, I have been married to you for ten years but still I have not
understood what kind of person are you?
6. A great deal of time and money I will need in future to bring this project to
a close.
7. He cannot speak English fluently yet after all these years of study.
8. Both ASP and Assistant Commissioner of Thul were not present in the
reception given in honour of the newly elected MPA.[/B]

zuhaib ahmed Saturday, August 18, 2012 06:32 PM

[QUOTE=Farrukh Aziz;468129][SIZE="4"]Correct Answers:[/SIZE]

[B]1. You speak English well.
2. I didn’t meet anybody/anyone.
4. The house isn’t big enough.
5.The police are coming.[/B]

[SIZE="3"][B]Shaw = 5
Zuhaib= 4
Bl Chughtai= 2[/B][/SIZE][/QUOTE]

Why is [B]do you like a glass of wine [/B] incorrect?

Farrukh Aziz Saturday, August 18, 2012 07:42 PM

Dear whenever we make requests OR offers, we normally use would not Simple present,etc.

zuhaib ahmed Saturday, August 18, 2012 08:23 PM

[QUOTE=Farrukh Aziz;468175]Dear whenever we make requests OR offers, we normally use would not Simple present,etc.[/QUOTE]
[COLOR="SeaGreen"][B]
Dear, it is when you request or offer, you use Would. But, if I ask a question.

[COLOR="SeaGreen"]Kya ap ko shrab ki bottle pasnd hai?[/COLOR]

Do you like a bottle of wine?

I am neither offering him nor requesting.

Like we ask;

Do you like a car of Farukkh?

It doesn't mean, I am going to give him. It is only a question.

Hope, you understand.

Tell me an authentic source where this very sentence is wrong.
Dear, do tell me so I could clear my confusions. Thanks. [/B][/COLOR]

humma khan Saturday, August 18, 2012 08:46 PM

[QUOTE=Shaw;468029][B][COLOR="DarkSlateGray"]1. You speak English well.
2. I didn't meet anybody.
4. The house isn't big enough.
5. The police are coming.;):pp[/COLOR][/B][/QUOTE]
police is a collective noun,. so how are could b used ??

Farrukh Aziz Saturday, August 18, 2012 08:56 PM

Dear the thing you have pointed out is reasonable and the above sentence too. But as you have written above: Do you like a bottle of wine? Here it sounds illogical because here we are asking one if one likes a bottle of wine rather than wine. Look:

Kiya aap sharab ki bottle pasand karte ho? Do you like a bottle of wine? on the other hand
Kiya Ap Sharab pasand karte ho? Do you like wine?

pehla sentence kuchh meaningful sense nahi de raha. ye question hi nahi lag raha. it apparently suggests that it is offer rather than a question and it needs "WOULD". I think you got it??

Farrukh Aziz Saturday, August 18, 2012 09:09 PM

[QUOTE=humma khan;468190]police is a collective noun,. so how are could b used ??[/QUOTE]

No it isn't. Police is a common noun having plural form (similar to people). However, some grammarians include it in collective nouns. In some books you can find "POLICE" included as a collective noun many times.

zuhaib ahmed Saturday, August 18, 2012 10:08 PM

[COLOR="SeaGreen"][B][QUOTE=Farrukh Aziz;468193]Dear the thing you have pointed out is reasonable and the above sentence too. But as you have written above: Do you like a bottle of wine? Here it sounds illogical because here we are asking one if one likes a bottle of wine rather than wine. Look:

Kiya aap sharab ki bottle pasand karte ho? Do you like a bottle of wine? on the other hand
Kiya Ap Sharab pasand karte ho? Do you like wine?

pehla sentence kuchh meaningful sense nahi de raha. ye question hi nahi lag raha. it apparently suggests that it is offer rather than a question and it needs "WOULD". I think you got it??[/QUOTE]

Dear, sentence is correct. It is reasonable.
Suppose, there is a glass and bottle of wine. And, I ask you.

[B]Do you like a bottle of wine? ;)[/B]

Well, it is up to you how you use it. Thanks.
You didn't tell me a source for it.
I do understand what you say. Stay blessed.
[/B][/COLOR]

08:42 AM (GMT +5)