Thursday, May 02, 2024
01:08 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > Essay

Old Wednesday, August 25, 2010

haroon javed is on a distinguished road
Default Can i draw diagrams/maps in essay?

hi.
in english essay....can i draw any kind of picture,diagram or map with coloured pencils........?can these things increase numbers.
Old Wednesday, August 25, 2010
42nd CTP (PAS)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2013 - Merit 130

Silent.Volcano is a glorious beacon of lightSilent.Volcano is a glorious beacon of lightSilent.Volcano is a glorious beacon of lightSilent.Volcano is a glorious beacon of lightSilent.Volcano is a glorious beacon of light

No you cannot.No diagrams,no maps

you can just do brainstorming(on the last page of the answer sheet),it is up to you whether you draw diagram for that or not.

Write outline of the essay first and then you have to start the essay.

For factual essays, you have to write statistics related to the topic.

Coloured Pens and Pencils are not allowed.you can only use black,blue marker,ball points,and a pencil for diagrams in Exam.

Last edited by Silent.Volcano; Wednesday, August 25, 2010 at 07:47 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Silent.Volcano For This Useful Post:
haroon javed (Wednesday, August 25, 2010)
Old Thursday, August 26, 2010
PHILOSOPHER

Stunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really nice

@ haroon javed

In addition to important tips by Silent.Volcano, remember that English Essay paper is a test of your English language proficiency .. Students tend to be more technical in their approach towards this paper and hence ignore the basic requirements for getting good marks ..
Remember that mistakes of all kinds including grammatical, spelling and etc have a negative impact on the examiner and suppose a candidate attempts his/her essay with 10, 20 or 30 minor but score deducting mistakes like these, where will his score fall .. ? This way, if an essay was good enough for 60 marks, the mistakes committed will bring the score in 40's or may even be a causation for failure ..

Just be simple in your approach and put forward your mind set with a balanced approach and reforms if necessary about a particular problem or topic, but most importantly without any or very few mistakes .. This approach will hopefully prove to be more rewarding InshaAllah than drawing maps and diagrams ..

Best of luck ..
May Allah guide us all to glory ..

Regards ..
haroon javed (Tuesday, August 31, 2010), sajjad sadique (Friday, June 10, 2011)

marshal453 is on a distinguished road
Default Essay attemtation

Hi People!
Dude COLOR Pencils? that would be immature i think! yet as far as maps or headings etc, let me tell you some thing
I remember in 2007 i gave headings in Essay paper... later i was sure my essay paper would come out to be an anathema, a bane for my attempt as i was abutting my hopes on everyone's advise, this kept on happening until i discussed it with a old friend who had already accomplished this Heroic task..
he said & i quote..

"yaar check karne wale pagal nahee k tumhien is liyae fail kar dien k tum nien headings di hien"

though it was enough to allay the dust of chagrin however it was not until i had my DMC and i found that it was not essay that let me down... i had 47 or something like that..

CRUX.. is your material and grammar is backbone...rest..! Add what suits you to prove the difference.. but with the consultation of a senior teacher...
faisa (Saturday, December 17, 2011), haroon javed (Tuesday, August 31, 2010), sajjad sadique (Friday, June 10, 2011)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,339 Times in 1,259 Posts
Maha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud of

Originally Posted by haroon javed View Post
hi.
in english essay....can i draw any kind of picture,diagram or map with coloured pencils........?can these things increase numbers.
No,not at all...you cannot draw maps,pictures in your essay paper...however,if u find enough time in C.A or history type papers then u can draw maps according to the question..but i must say,its not necessary,focus on the completion of your paper with sound arguments in every question..dont be confused..Pictures,maps etc are secondary things..focus on the prep of your material dear...
Maha Khan
haroon javed (Tuesday, August 31, 2010)
40th CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 163

Sakk will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by haroon javed View Post
hi.
Strictly prohibitted, essay maintain its own structure and this is not a geography paper which should be presented with maps and diagrams. However if you are given a pure technical topic to hinged on even then you are suppose to translate the diagrams to paragraphs to test your english abilities. This is what is essay stands for.

Please remain aloof from drawing diagrams and maps in essay paper, even headings are also prohibitted as it breaks paragraph continuity which is the main test of candidate competency if he is able to connect one paragraph with another smoothly and convey the idea easily.

Hope that helps.
The Following User Says Thank You to Sakk For This Useful Post:
haroon javed (Tuesday, August 31, 2010)
Old Friday, June 10, 2011

dms664 is a jewel in the roughdms664 is a jewel in the roughdms664 is a jewel in the roughdms664 is a jewel in the rough

Aoa
someone strictly bade me to give headings in essay paper but I want to go with headings. Qualifiers and experts please make me clear about headings in essay paper.

RAO RAMEEZ is on a distinguished road

No
I dont think so,,You can make good length paragraphs according to your outline just..,Give strong arguments according to your Outline and give facts and figures may be along with authentic refrences..thats all..you are commisioner now..dnt worry just gather more and more information..

dms664 is a jewel in the roughdms664 is a jewel in the roughdms664 is a jewel in the roughdms664 is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by RAO RAMEEZ View Post
No
I dont think so,,You can make good length paragraphs according to your outline just..,Give strong arguments according to your Outline and give facts and figures may be along with authentic refrences..thats all..you are commisioner now..dnt worry just gather more and more information..
that didnt answer to my query , want to know about headings

RAO RAMEEZ is on a distinguished road

Bro I said No...
I told you better alternative for headings...If you think headings are going to help you then you are wrong...
Only strong statements and authentic figures can help you...
I know you are thinking that Headings will make more attractive and distinct things but its wrong..Its not Matrculation paper in which the examiners just read the superficial things and give numbers according to their teaching experience and judge writing power by few sentence..
In CSS they will too judge you by writing power but not of few lines they will see whole essay.
Never make any loose statement prominent in essay...
dms664 (Friday, June 10, 2011), tranquil (Friday, June 10, 2011)