-   Essay (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/essay/)
-   -   Preparation of essay (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/essay/81-preparation-essay.html)

Ambivalent Sunday, November 29, 2015 10:04 PM

[QUOTE=wazira;864369]AoA Seniors,

Kindly tell me that should we write the headings in essay paper or not ? i mean the outlines that we draw in a start, so are we supposed to write them with the same sequence in a bullet form with the help of Black or Blue marker to high light each heading ?
Thanks in advance[/QUOTE]

I think essay looks good when written in a continuous flow rather in this manner. However, you can write important words, dates, quotes, etc. with black pen to emphasize them.

saqibhussain Thursday, January 21, 2016 11:13 AM

Outline of an essay

Kindly guide me what is outline of an essay.
2. Should all the essays (without considering the nature of essay i.e comparative , current issue or problem or otherwise) must have an outline.
3. If an essay is not on the issue of pakistan it should have an outline or not

saqibhussain Thursday, January 21, 2016 11:28 AM

How to write outline of the essay development is not only the development in economy

Please guide me how to write outline of the essay development is not only the development in economy but also development in society

Ahmad Abbas Wednesday, January 18, 2017 01:53 AM

There's often confusion whether to add headings in an essay or not. It depends on the discipline; that is opted. There are some disciplines that don't require headings while others ask for them. I would use heading If I am going for an essay from International Relations, Economics or History. Experts from Linguistics or Natural Sciences would be in better position to explain If Headings can be used or not in their domain.

In CSS/PMS, topics are multi-disciplinary i.e, Social Sciences, Humanities, Natural Sciences and Literature. Furthermore, these days CSS/PMS essays have become sort of 'Research Reports', so it's must in Report Writing to include Headings.

Headings don't impact the coherence negatively. If used in a proper way, essays with headings are readers friendly. That's why these are must in 'Theses' and 'Seminar Papers'.

Important thing which I would like to share with you is the art of referencing. Try to master the art of referencing, you can do it in a week. Here it also depends which discipline you're choosing. For History; go for Turabian; for social sciences; go for APA; and MLA is often recommended for economics.

Always qualify what you write, use active sentences & direct speech. Avoid adjectives. Avoid plagiarism; refer the author you have quoted, it's a good practise and it shows you are acknowledging the work of others. Like I said above one can use multiple ways, anyhow, in text referencing is recommended for CSS/PMS style essays as most of them are from Social Sciences. After you conclude the essay, provide the list of references at the end.

Why references are necessary?

An essay without references lacks academic approach , doesn't matter how eloquently it's written. These are the foundation of your piece.

Remember that one has to write an essay in English. It's the test of one's English writing skills and not a paper of MA English.

Where to have an Idea?

Take any good book and see how it's written, one can check Research Essays from different journals. Or simply take Maleeha Lodhi's 'Pakistan Beyond Crisis' and check what approach Lodhi has taken. Her essay in the book titled 'Beyond Crisis State' is best example.

Abbasi786 Friday, January 20, 2017 01:14 PM

Do read dawn daily try to use its vocab also get information updated by reading opinions.

Sent from my MediaPad 7 Youth 2 using Tapatalk

Talha Touseef Saturday, January 21, 2017 10:51 PM

Good One

I got a lot of information

Educator88 Sunday, February 05, 2017 04:54 PM

CSS Essay Crash Course Peshawar

Dear all CSS aspirants from Peshawar, E7 Consultancy is arranging a 3 hour long workshop given by Prof. Alwin Edwin of Edwardes College on 12th of February. This by no means is an advert as all CSS aspirants from Peshawar know Prof. Edwin's vast experience in CSS essay prep. Those who'd like to avail the oppurtunity visit their facebook page (E7 Consultancy).

Amna ishtiaq92 Sunday, February 05, 2017 11:21 PM

CAN anybody tell where to prepare literature essays

Amna ishtiaq92 Sunday, February 05, 2017 11:21 PM

they are giving me a lot of tough time

Amna ishtiaq92 Sunday, February 05, 2017 11:22 PM

i wonder if i couldnot make it !!

04:05 AM (GMT +5)