-   Essay (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/essay/)
-   -   Preparation of essay (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/essay/81-preparation-essay.html)

zohaib Wednesday, March 30, 2005 06:53 PM

Preparation of essay

Now, to know about the preparation of essay writing, in my humble view, the very first thing from where to begin is to develop your concept of essay writing as very few people grasp it properly.

Some mix essays with story writing, some with paragraph writing, and some others only tend to do articulation without appreciating as to what are they doing. Having said so, the question arises how and from where to develop the concept of essay writing?

The very first thing is to read quality essays by English authors besides comparing by putting in juxtaposition Urdu essay writing with the English essay writing. Mere reading will serve no purpose, try to trace trends and styles of essayists; examine the quality of reasoning and the over all structure of their essays. Once you are done with this task which no doubt appears to be gigantic but it is not, as it needs to be done in a systematic manner.

Finally it is submitted that essay cannot be written without information but it is not all-important as the aim is not to show erudition. The aim, as I perceive, is to appreciate and delineate ideas."

prissygirl Wednesday, January 04, 2006 07:05 PM

particular esay book

is there any suggestion to study any particular CSS essay book???
plz let me know.

Amoeba Thursday, January 05, 2006 05:52 AM

1. Select a topic every day. Topic should be like some important event of the current affairs (islam vs west, enlightened moderation, Good governance, devolution of power, reforms in education system, rising oil prices etc etc).

2. Read the daily DAWN, collect information on such current issues. NOte down difficult english terms. Look for the meanings of those words in some dictionary. (it will help u improve ur vocabulary besides collecting some material).

3. Write in your own words, some essay on any topic, reproducing those difficult words, so that u may practise those difficult words.

4. Try to get ur essay checked by someone good at English Language. If u'll only go for ESSAY BOOKS, u'll get outdated material.....though it is also helpful but still u should keep ur-self updated by reading important topics from newspaper. Essay should be written such that :

1. Ur written material is to the point....don't include any irrelevant things, as the examiner do check each and every word (mind it).

2. No spelling mistake, no english tense mistakes etc.

3. Try using educated vocabulary

4. Do not go on for filling pages and pages.....Stick to the topic under discussion and try to touch each aspect of that topic.

(QUALITY MATTERS MORE THAN THE QUANTITY).

Courtesy: A.J.

ambreen sagheer Sunday, January 22, 2006 07:46 PM

Nice tips.:)
Do quotes and famous sayings help?
is there a limit to pages?if yes then how many?
:?

Adil Memon Monday, January 23, 2006 10:35 PM

Salaam,

You can quote in topics like Kalabagh Dam, Kashmir Issue etc. and they will assist you in getting more marks.

Whatever you do, be wary of the time-frame.

For judging yourself, just take a topic (you're well-apprised of) and start writing. See if you can make it within 3 hours with simultaneous rumination and writing.

ambreen sagheer Friday, February 03, 2006 10:49 AM

[I][COLOR="Magenta"]Thank u 4 the suggestions:vic .umm....i meant quotes like famous lines from poems or book or well known people.[/COLOR][/I].

ilyaskhan Wednesday, September 26, 2007 03:17 AM

difficult paper

still didnt get what to do whith this paper?
anyone plzz help me.

princess 1 Saturday, December 19, 2009 08:35 PM

read quality essays by English authors
plz tell me how can we get these essays via net?

mashal khan Saturday, December 19, 2009 11:16 PM

well,you can consult many books available in market by diffrent writers.
and more,you can visit kips coaching academy for english essays.
but the best way is to prepare your own hand made essays,will be more suitable than any ones.

NNazir Friday, March 12, 2010 02:48 AM

Reading over the internet is as inexpensive in terms of money & time than buying books & Mags.

Could you pls mention a good website where v kd find quality essays..

Some of the 'articles & essays' websites r full of poisonous good for noting essays.

imran saifee Friday, March 12, 2010 12:40 PM

@NNAZIR
follow the link [url]http://books.google.com.pk/books?id=qmFQlCiXZHIC&printsec=frontcover&dq=unpopular+essays+by+russell&source=bl&ots=JEQFH3M1fq&sig=5rMPvZFIRhfnkeuyI5pPeMKjSwI&hl=en&ei=A--ZS4vFLcuGkAW_x6TJCA&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=2&ved=0CAkQ6AEwAQ#v=onepage&q=&f=false[/url]
to get "unpopular essays by Russell" :)

Bright Saturday, March 13, 2010 10:44 PM

Neet to help for essay preparation

Salam to all. first of all thnx all of u ppl to give the junior ones. i still need too much preparation to wright an easy. i've little bit vocabulary bit i can't wright a good essay. same qurry i've. plz help me to resolve it.

imran saifee Sunday, March 14, 2010 11:13 PM

Dear, there was an inspirational persian verse meaning that 'if you want to have a good hand writing, then keep writing and keep writing and keep writing...'
Same is the case here with essay writing, perfection will come with practice. And have some good teacher of English who could check your essay and point out your flaws. In this way you can be able to have a good grip over essay writing.
If you have further queries do ask here openly as we are here to sort each other's problems and confusions and to share our knowledge.

Imran Saifi

salman sial Wednesday, March 17, 2010 06:01 PM

Dear try to read quality material regarding the topic on which u r going to write an essay.If u cant write it then try to attempt one or two open book essays then u can learn to write more and inshallah after writing one or two essays u will able to write better.tc

DR IMTIAZ KHUSHIK Thursday, March 18, 2010 09:24 AM

No more is good teacher to you. Look at clock and write any essay for one hour and check your self with red pen definately will find where shoe pinches??

iqtidar.ulhasan Thursday, March 18, 2010 12:58 PM

must read post on essay

salam to all,
essay remains the most problematic paper. here are some suggestion for improving writing in english:

1. develop your vocabulary. the best vocabulary builder is 'word power' by 'Norman Lewis'.

2. read standard books for all subjects, prefer those referred. during preparation try to reproduce that which you think you have learnt.

3. find standard essays. you can find classic essays from 'guttenberg' website. search them with the name of 'english prose'. it will increase your skills in comprehension also, and enrich your mind.

4. practice is must. you may choose a topic every week and write an essay on it. but you need to prepare outline first, it is a scheme for your thoughts to give a logical order to them.

5. these exercises will improve your vocabulary, enrich your mind, improve yuor comprehension and writing skills. each word is an idea, if you have little words you have less ideas.

12fairy Thursday, January 26, 2012 09:57 PM

thx 2 all 4 the best guidance this is a site that makes a beginner acknowledged to all the relevant info as well as material......would any1 suggest the best book 4 essays.......plz jaldiiiiiiiiii

Umer Saturday, January 28, 2012 02:59 AM

[QUOTE=12fairy;397999]thx 2 all 4 the best guidance this is a site that makes a beginner acknowledged to all the relevant info as well as material......would any1 suggest the best book 4 essays.......plz jaldiiiiiiiiii[/QUOTE]

To be honest, essay writing is a straight forward thing.
CSS essay requires you to have an outline, introduction, body, conclusion and recommendation.
Lot of material on how to write a CSS essay have already been shared on the forum.
Have a look at some of thes threads to have a more precise and clear idea.

[URL="http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/essay/6583-hints-beginners-essay-writing.html"][COLOR=#054b1d]Hints For Beginners On Essay-writing[/COLOR][/URL]
[URL="http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/essay/9463-essay-writing-guide.html"][COLOR=#054b1d]Essay-writing Guide[/COLOR][/URL]
[URL="http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/essay/16645-essay-made-easy.html"][COLOR=#054b1d]Essay made easy![/COLOR][/URL]
[URL="http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/essay/7977-essay-writing.html"][COLOR=#054b1d]Essay Writing[/COLOR][/URL]

ladyengr Wednesday, May 30, 2012 07:28 AM

Asalamoalikum

thank you everyone the posts are very helpful.is it possible we practice essay writing during the preparation of other courses like i studied any topic from Pakistan Affairs or any other course and than i write it in an essay format will this help? plus i do not have a good vocabulary bank so will this also cover during preparation of other courses or i will have to do some extra effort on it?

koozagar Wednesday, July 25, 2012 08:54 AM

Essay and English language

Most important thing as faar as writing essays is concerned is your ability to compose the language. One can never write an essay unless one is at home in English language and composition. Why the most of aspirants fail this paper is mainly because they are not such good at writing English as is required by the essay criterion. I've often come across many students who, though, have a fine vocab at hand yet don't know how to write properly and often complain about it. No matter how many ideas you have of a given topic you will never be able to handle it unless you have a strong grab over composing language.
Another thing, most of aspirants often seek after is new and hard-packed literary jargon, and this they think would add to the beauty and effectiveness of their writings. Consequently, their writings seem nothing more than the pieces of complex English words composed in an infantile way.
In an essay of more than 3000 words, one may use 10 hard words and yet one will, i'm sure one can, pass, only if one is apt at a fine composition.
"Practice makes a complete man": Practice is the pre-requisite for developing sound writing skills. Try writing paragraphs and short essays every day. Strart from writing on simple topics right away and gradually shift towards more complex and analytical ones with facts and figures in the front and arguments behind, and get your essays checked by the one who is more at home in English than you are.
Researches have proved that English as spoken and written language use hardly 800 word to be effectively and efficiently conveyed and these 800 word are in almost everyone's knowledge. A student who pases matriculation knows them all. What then we have to be worried about more is, composition rather than vocuballary for words' sake.
This is my humble suggestion to all the respectable beginners and aspirants that, words and ideas are useless without an strong command over language and language alone, more than anything else , is an impetus whereon you can speak of your knowledge, and success thereof.

umar riaz Wednesday, July 25, 2012 12:24 PM

[B]someone was telling me that outlines should be written in rough work and they are never a part of the neat work (the essay that we present).. is that true?? please guide us in this regard[/B]

thrilled student Wednesday, July 25, 2012 01:09 PM

outline should be written at the start of the essay...this gives examiner the idea about what are you writing.

onlyzainab Thursday, August 16, 2012 01:53 PM

In order to write down an essay, first make an out line of the points u remember about the topic e.g., if u r writting an essay on Kashmir dispute then it might be outlined like this

1) Kashmir history
2) Indian occupation
3) role of Mujahidin
4) Pakistani stance on Kashmir
5) Indian Stance
7) UN resolution on Kashmir
8) brutality of Indian army
9) Role of Kashmiri political leaders
10) role of Pakistani political leaders

etc,etc.

Hakayat e Roomi Thursday, November 01, 2012 03:43 PM

Dear Aspirant

[QUOTE=umar riaz;458191][B]someone was telling me that outlines should be written in rough work and they are never a part of the neat work (the essay that we present).. is that true?? please guide us in this regard[/B][/QUOTE]

outline must be written before essay and it is part of essay...

Nisar Ali Sunday, December 23, 2012 11:33 PM

Online resource for essay

On the following link, we can have on essay more material than we can read in a year or two.

[url]http://www.readbookonline.net/essays/[/url]

Saadat Ali Shah of "Exploring the World of English" recommends that the readers should start with essays of Joseph Addison (I personally found him very pleasing to the ear.), followed by Oliver Goldsmith and others.
Joseph Addison daily published a magazine "The Spectator" with Richard Steele in the 1710s. This was the influence on Sir Syed Ahmed Khan when he issued Tehzeebul Akhlaq. There are around 450 short essays on various topics. Reading them provides method in writting, style in expression and ease of clarity.

Syed Ali Raza Bokhari Thursday, August 20, 2015 06:37 PM

AoA,
Can you tell me a good English teacher to whom I can show my writings regularly?
Thanks!

amankhan Friday, August 28, 2015 03:49 PM

Essays

dear member

is it essential to give some facts and figures alongwith research work don about particular topic are is to go through consistency and relevancy without giving any figures.

Almasha Alfarsi Saturday, August 29, 2015 12:06 AM

What should be the length of an essay?

Cogito Ergo Sum Saturday, August 29, 2015 05:20 AM

-amankhan
It is not necessary. But if you can do it, then it can make your essay better. It can get you a good score provided rest of your content is solid as well.

-Almasha Alfarsi
A good, pass-able essay usually falls somewhere between 1300-2500 words. To be on the safe side, aim for more than 1500. But, always remember that quality is demanded rather than quantity.

wazira Saturday, September 19, 2015 07:13 AM

AoA Seniors,

Kindly tell me that should we write the headings in essay paper or not ? i mean the outlines that we draw in a start, so are we supposed to write them with the same sequence in a bullet form with the help of Black or Blue marker to high light each heading ?
Thanks in advance

Ambivalent Sunday, November 29, 2015 10:04 PM

[QUOTE=wazira;864369]AoA Seniors,

Kindly tell me that should we write the headings in essay paper or not ? i mean the outlines that we draw in a start, so are we supposed to write them with the same sequence in a bullet form with the help of Black or Blue marker to high light each heading ?
Thanks in advance[/QUOTE]

I think essay looks good when written in a continuous flow rather in this manner. However, you can write important words, dates, quotes, etc. with black pen to emphasize them.

saqibhussain Thursday, January 21, 2016 11:13 AM

Outline of an essay

Kindly guide me what is outline of an essay.
2. Should all the essays (without considering the nature of essay i.e comparative , current issue or problem or otherwise) must have an outline.
3. If an essay is not on the issue of pakistan it should have an outline or not

saqibhussain Thursday, January 21, 2016 11:28 AM

How to write outline of the essay development is not only the development in economy

Please guide me how to write outline of the essay development is not only the development in economy but also development in society

Ahmad Abbas Wednesday, January 18, 2017 01:53 AM

There's often confusion whether to add headings in an essay or not. It depends on the discipline; that is opted. There are some disciplines that don't require headings while others ask for them. I would use heading If I am going for an essay from International Relations, Economics or History. Experts from Linguistics or Natural Sciences would be in better position to explain If Headings can be used or not in their domain.

In CSS/PMS, topics are multi-disciplinary i.e, Social Sciences, Humanities, Natural Sciences and Literature. Furthermore, these days CSS/PMS essays have become sort of 'Research Reports', so it's must in Report Writing to include Headings.

Headings don't impact the coherence negatively. If used in a proper way, essays with headings are readers friendly. That's why these are must in 'Theses' and 'Seminar Papers'.

Important thing which I would like to share with you is the art of referencing. Try to master the art of referencing, you can do it in a week. Here it also depends which discipline you're choosing. For History; go for Turabian; for social sciences; go for APA; and MLA is often recommended for economics.

Always qualify what you write, use active sentences & direct speech. Avoid adjectives. Avoid plagiarism; refer the author you have quoted, it's a good practise and it shows you are acknowledging the work of others. Like I said above one can use multiple ways, anyhow, in text referencing is recommended for CSS/PMS style essays as most of them are from Social Sciences. After you conclude the essay, provide the list of references at the end.

Why references are necessary?

An essay without references lacks academic approach , doesn't matter how eloquently it's written. These are the foundation of your piece.

Remember that one has to write an essay in English. It's the test of one's English writing skills and not a paper of MA English.

Where to have an Idea?

Take any good book and see how it's written, one can check Research Essays from different journals. Or simply take Maleeha Lodhi's 'Pakistan Beyond Crisis' and check what approach Lodhi has taken. Her essay in the book titled 'Beyond Crisis State' is best example.

Abbasi786 Friday, January 20, 2017 01:14 PM

Do read dawn daily try to use its vocab also get information updated by reading opinions.

Sent from my MediaPad 7 Youth 2 using Tapatalk

Talha Touseef Saturday, January 21, 2017 10:51 PM

Good One

I got a lot of information

Educator88 Sunday, February 05, 2017 04:54 PM

CSS Essay Crash Course Peshawar

Dear all CSS aspirants from Peshawar, E7 Consultancy is arranging a 3 hour long workshop given by Prof. Alwin Edwin of Edwardes College on 12th of February. This by no means is an advert as all CSS aspirants from Peshawar know Prof. Edwin's vast experience in CSS essay prep. Those who'd like to avail the oppurtunity visit their facebook page (E7 Consultancy).

Amna ishtiaq92 Sunday, February 05, 2017 11:21 PM

CAN anybody tell where to prepare literature essays

Amna ishtiaq92 Sunday, February 05, 2017 11:21 PM

they are giving me a lot of tough time

Amna ishtiaq92 Sunday, February 05, 2017 11:22 PM

i wonder if i couldnot make it !!

03:39 AM (GMT +5)