-   Essays (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/essay/essays/)
-   -   Books are my friends that never fail me(My attempt in PMS) (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/essay/essays/65784-books-my-friends-never-fail-me-my-attempt-pms.html)

Farrah Zafar Wednesday, July 18, 2012 09:32 PM

[QUOTE=usman khalid;455436]Come on!!! You have so masterfully mixed the essay topic line with your own creation that its difficult to differentiate between the two :)

jahan tk shair ghlat honay ki baat hy to is main choti si hi mistake hy or wo bhi pehlay misray main baki to theek hy to is se itna farq to nhi prta. mai nay 2008 main essay main aik shair likha. aik to shair ghlat likha upar se Altaf Hussain Hali ki bjay Iqbal se mansoob kr dia... but pass ho gia. :) So don't worry.[/QUOTE]

Thanks for always been so encouraging:)

And yeah I got motivation from your experience. 33 are passing marks so there is less fear.

Wish you more success ahead:vic

bl chughtai Wednesday, July 18, 2012 11:42 PM

o thanks farrah uhave done a great job....!meny b yahi essy kea .......!takreeban es sy milta julta bs oscar wild ke qutation ni thi.....!

EXCLUSIVE Thursday, July 19, 2012 04:22 PM

Well done Farrah! You have done a great job...Choice of quotations is remarkable...

Kamran Thursday, July 19, 2012 10:29 PM

[QUOTE=Farrah Zafar;454444][SIZE="4"]I'm posting in section of Essay as it is appropriate place for it so I don't expect it to be moved in PMS section.

I wrote 7 pages and 2 of outline.Overall it can be considered 10 pages as there were some extra lines too.I'm not happy for its length.However I'm hoping for the best.

Besides,I think I have skipped some points as I couldn't remember them.

[SIZE="5"][U][CENTER]Books are my friends that never fail me - Thomas Carlyle
[/U][/SIZE]

[/CENTER]When I'm hurt ,they console me
When I'm dejected,they encourage me,
When I'm sad,they make me smile,

Proudly and happily let me tell thee,
books are my friends that never fail me

--->Who is a friend?

--->Requisites of a good friend (help,entertain,encourage etc)

"A man is known by his company"

--->comparison of books and friends

--->books as different kinds of friends

~religious books,
~informative books,
~biographies
~entertaining books,
~educational books
~historical books
~literary books

--->Books are part of literature,some genre;

~poetry
~drama
~novel
~criticism etc

--->Literature and reality

Oscar wilde says, "Life should follow literature"

--->Role of books in development of personality

It is said,"Personality depends upon character,character depends upon thoughts and thoughts depend upon people we meet"
So people whose friends are books have pure and mature thoughts.

--->Books are guiding stars

--->Some books help in studies

As Bacon says in his essay "Of Studies",

Some books are to swallow,some are to chew and a few are to digest.

--->Some books entertain.

e.g Oscar Wilde's "Importance of being Earnest".This book not only satirizes the aristocratic class but also entertains the readers.

--->Some books share experiences

e.g biographies of famous people.Abraham Lincoln shared his experiences and presented golden tips to lead good life.

--->Some books give way to catharsis.They discuss delicate emotions and feelings of love.

~e.g books of poetry

~Poem by Prabhakar bangurde

--->Some books teach moral lessons

~Dr.faustus by Marlowe tells that if a man runs after materialistic pursuits and is mad for power and money,he is damned eternally.

~Heart of darkness by Conrad exposes the exploitation of black people by the white men.

~He says,"Power corrupts man and absolute power corrupts absolutely"

Then he presents the character of Mr.Kurtz who is incarnation of evil and meets an unpleasant end.

~Keats emphasizes on value of truth.He says,

"Beauty is truth,truth beauty,that's all ye know on earth and all ye need to know"

--->Conclusion

~Books are the best companions.

ہم نشین ہو کتاب سے
اس سے بہتر کوئ رفیق نہیں

"Be in company of books as they are the best companions"

I'm doubtful about the urdu couplet because I read it long ago during my school days.

Kindly comment on my outline.
[/SIZE][/QUOTE]

very well attempted.I must say you 'll get examplary marks in both essay paper of css and pms.
good luck!

Shahzad Sial Friday, July 20, 2012 11:38 AM

very nice. but require some other ingredients also...................

mano g Friday, July 20, 2012 11:40 AM

Dear Farah!
Awesome i must say, both the selection of topic and then justifying it in an impressive manner, best of luck:))

Farrah Zafar Friday, July 20, 2012 01:46 PM

[QUOTE=Shahzad Sial;456002]very nice. but require some other ingredients also...................[/QUOTE]

For example ?

musmanhussain Tuesday, July 24, 2012 11:02 AM

nice post ,but plz add me farah in your friend list,so informative your ideas,i m waiting your reply.usman

Farrah Zafar Tuesday, July 24, 2012 12:20 PM

[QUOTE=musmanhussain;457764]nice post ,but plz add me farah in your friend list,so informative your ideas,i m waiting your reply.usman[/QUOTE]

I can help here in a better way.Forum is the appropriate medium to communicate.

Wamik Tuesday, July 24, 2012 04:33 PM

[QUOTE=Farrah Zafar;454444][SIZE="4"]I'm posting in section of Essay as it is appropriate place for it so I don't expect it to be moved in PMS section.

I wrote 7 pages and 2 of outline.Overall it can be considered 10 pages as there were some extra lines too.I'm not happy for its length.However I'm hoping for the best.

Besides,I think I have skipped some points as I couldn't remember them.

[SIZE="5"][U][CENTER]Books are my friends that never fail me - Thomas Carlyle
[/U][/SIZE]

[/CENTER]When I'm hurt ,they console me
When I'm dejected,they encourage me,
When I'm sad,they make me smile,

Proudly and happily let me tell thee,
books are my friends that never fail me

--->Who is a friend?

--->Requisites of a good friend (help,entertain,encourage etc)

"A man is known by his company"

--->comparison of books and friends

--->books as different kinds of friends

~religious books,
~informative books,
~biographies
~entertaining books,
~educational books
~historical books
~literary books

--->Books are part of literature,some genre;

~poetry
~drama
~novel
~criticism etc

--->Literature and reality

Oscar wilde says, "Life should follow literature"

--->Role of books in development of personality

It is said,"Personality depends upon character,character depends upon thoughts and thoughts depend upon people we meet"
So people whose friends are books have pure and mature thoughts.

--->Books are guiding stars

--->Some books help in studies

As Bacon says in his essay "Of Studies",

Some books are to swallow,some are to chew and a few are to digest.

--->Some books entertain.

e.g Oscar Wilde's "Importance of being Earnest".This book not only satirizes the aristocratic class but also entertains the readers.

--->Some books share experiences

e.g biographies of famous people.Abraham Lincoln shared his experiences and presented golden tips to lead good life.

--->Some books give way to catharsis.They discuss delicate emotions and feelings of love.

~e.g books of poetry

~Poem by Prabhakar bangurde

--->Some books teach moral lessons

~Dr.faustus by Marlowe tells that if a man runs after materialistic pursuits and is mad for power and money,he is damned eternally.

~Heart of darkness by Conrad exposes the exploitation of black people by the white men.

~He says,"Power corrupts man and absolute power corrupts absolutely"

Then he presents the character of Mr.Kurtz who is incarnation of evil and meets an unpleasant end.

~Keats emphasizes on value of truth.He says,

"Beauty is truth,truth beauty,that's all ye know on earth and all ye need to know"

--->Conclusion

~Books are the best companions.

ہم نشین ہو کتاب سے
اس سے بہتر کوئ رفیق نہیں

"Be in company of books as they are the best companions"

I'm doubtful about the urdu couplet because I read it long ago during my school days.

Kindly comment on my outline.
[/SIZE][/QUOTE]

[FONT="Palatino Linotype"][COLOR="Purple"]Well Done

Plz tell us how hve u prepared so well
&

IF i am not mistaken woh urdu sher kuch yun hai:

SUROORE ILM HAI KAIFE SHARAB SE BEHTAR
KOI RAFEEQ NAHI KITAB SE BEHTAR[/COLOR][/FONT]

01:53 PM (GMT +5)