-   General Science & Ability (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/general-science-ability/)
-   -   How to prepare EDS paper? (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/general-science-ability/25661-how-prepare-eds-paper.html)

Omer Thursday, July 30, 2009 09:30 PM

How to prepare EDS paper?

This paper is conisdered as one of the most important papers in compulsory subjects as one can score 80+ marks in it. And this subject can really make a difference for a candidate.
Now, there are a number of books in the market from different authors which are recomended by seniors (bhatti,kashmiri, dr.rab nawaz etc).

I think that it is tha approach that matter in preparing this subject ratehr than to learn all the books by heart (though it is important) as it will take more time and extra effort.

The purpose of this thread is to share the approaches and methods for preparing EDS used by qualified seniors and members of the forum which would definitely help aspirants in effectively dealing with EDS.

Please share your views.

marilatif Friday, July 31, 2009 08:56 AM

how to prepare EDS

yes dear omer u r right. EDS is the most important compulsory paper in CSS. so its preparation is necessary keeping in view of its scoring a lot for scientists and not scoring even a few marks for unlearned.

however for scoring average in this subject by every one i dont think that u should read a lot of books. my simple suggestion is that read science books of 6th 7th and 8th. these will provide u a lot of help. for some extra topics u may also read the kashmiri's book.

dont read extra books general science books of these classes are sufficient.

Omer Saturday, August 01, 2009 03:19 PM

How can you compare the leve of css with 6th, th and 8th grade general science books?..........No way..........!!

Saqib Riaz Saturday, August 01, 2009 04:40 PM

@marilatif

Its nice to hear that you are preparing EDS from 6th ,7th, 8th Science books. This is totally wrong approach to prepare for EDS, but one must use his/her MAtriculation , and Inter Science books for prepration. And Use Bhatti And EDS By JDB Press are the nice one's. Use Brtanica Encyclopedia which is easily available in Market.

REEYAN Sunday, August 02, 2009 12:16 PM

Friends,
I think ,mis mari latif, is quite right to some extend in her saying that 6th. 7th and 8th science books are relatively good to understand the gist of scientific topics lucidly . However, I further suggest to read intermediate books as well for more clarity in ideas and understanding of main topics of css syllabus ,rather than cramming advanced levels books
. Besides, it is verily true , Mr. omer and saqib riaz, that there is huge gape in metric and css standard , but for the sake of understanding , I think we must not feel shyness to read these books of lower classes although that process of reading, obviously, teaches us good and interesting things and techniques to handle everyday science subject
Moreover, I would also suggest a book of encyclopedia of every day science published by Faridi books is a comprehensive text ,it defiantly covers all topics of css and help us to get 80+ marks.

Omer Sunday, August 02, 2009 02:22 PM

@REEYAN

Dear REEYAN, your statements are conflicting. On the one hand you are refering to use intermediate books and on the other hand you have suggested an advanced level book.

For me "for the sake of understanding" from 6th, 7th and 8th grade general science books means. "What is a solar system?, "How many palnets are there in Solar System? etc

@ marilatif

One can read and go through 6th, 7th and 8th grade general science books only if he has never studied science till bachelor. And if I am not wrong, both of you are refering to the students who have taken their matric, intermediate and bachelor examination in arts subjects and have never studied science. Then these books needs to be consulted for sure otherwise not.

Gentlemen! please go through the past papers of css and highlight a single question that you can answer from 6th, 7th and 8th grade general science books (or even intermediate books).

Please note that one has to go through advanced level books for getting good marks EDS.

Saqib Riaz Sunday, August 02, 2009 07:22 PM

@OMER

Dear I Agrees with you.

marilatif Monday, August 03, 2009 11:36 AM

to omer and saqib

dear i have already appeared in css and am not preparing for the next attempt. my papers were fine and i am hopeful of my result.

as fos as EDS paper is concerned dear i didnt say that u should completely rely on these books. instead of this u should also consult other books as well like kashmiri's book. dear most of the EDS topics can easily be covered from my suggested books which are really gist of EDS and if u go through them then u guess that how helpful they are. dear even though i have a master degree in science and a good knowledge of everyday science yet i still read these books during my CSS preparation.

as some body said how we get knowledge about solar system from these books. dear if u read last chapters of all these books of Punjab board u will find complete and thorough information about this topic. same holds true for all other topics as well.

only a few topics like role of muslims in the field of scienc, semiconductors and some electronic equipments may be approached from kashmiri's books.

regards.

Omer Monday, August 03, 2009 02:05 PM

[QUOTE]Originally posted by malarif:
dear even though i have a master degree in science and a good knowledge of everyday science yet i still read these books during my CSS preparation.[/QUOTE]

Dear, if you have done masters in "science" and possess "a good knowledge of everyday science"..........I wonder why you studied from the general science books of 6th, 7th and 8th grade. You revert back to these books despite that you must have studied "science" at an advanced level (well above css). And these things would be at your finger tips.

As per my knowledge, the 6th, 7th and 8th grade general science books do not contain much more information/material than those studied by students at master level. Correct me if I am wrong.

marilatif Monday, August 03, 2009 02:52 PM

to omer

As per my knowledge, the 6th, 7th and 8th grade general science books do not contain much more information/material than those studied by students at master level. Correct me if I am wrong.

u r exactly right that these books dont contain more info than those studied by candidates at master level. but dear EDS paper of CSS does not come from master level it is very simple and one can prepare from these basic books. instead of discussing this topic on the forum with me, only once u read all these books and then u c that how they are rich in information and how they help u in ur preparation.

i myself studied these books because i needed basics of science not science as CSS paper is Every Day Science not pure science.

so i will remain firm on point.

Omer Monday, August 03, 2009 04:04 PM

Yea, you can use these books but css also requires you to study advanced level books. One cannot pass without consulting advanced books.css is not a PhD in pure science but the books availabel in market for EDS touch each and every aspect of EDS for css level. One must consult these definitely.

Saqib Riaz Monday, August 03, 2009 06:32 PM

@ Omer

The thing is one must not be totally rely on advance books for EDS. If as said by Maria "material is available on Middle level books" I totally agree with maria at this point material is available and in very simple language which is easy to understand and less time consuming.Then you one shouldn't go for it.
Secondly, we have to reached our destiny then why we are looking and choosing for our personal liking conveyance. "Is se koi faraq nai parta ke kun kis tara manzil pe phunca farak ye prata hai k kun kun phunca manzil pe."So dont criticize maria and look for your path and go for it which you suites .

versatile_bhutto Tuesday, August 04, 2009 12:22 AM

Everyday science!

Dear everyday science subject is very different for different candidates.
If u have good schooling especially 9th, 10th, 11th and 12th. But not through cheating!

If u r not good at everyday science, u must read Punjab text book board, especially biology and chemistry, do study physics and computer.

O' level Biology and Chemistry is a better choice. I have teaching experience in science more than 8 years. CSS paper of science has two parts, MCQs part will be fully solved by Punjab text books above said. where second part will need u to prepare in keeping view of past year papers. in this way u can earn 90+ marks!

if u r too poor in science it is better to buy Allama Iqbal Open University's video lectures of matric and intermediate.

aj khan Tuesday, August 04, 2009 12:30 AM

simplest n quickest way could b to study kashmiri's EDS book and supplementing it with material from internet only for topics which you find difficult to get hold on just from kashmiri........

versatile_bhutto Tuesday, August 04, 2009 12:51 AM

Everyday science!

Kashmiri's book can only help with second part of the paper but first part is different and needs understanding of science and not cramming!

aj khan Tuesday, August 04, 2009 01:46 AM

[QUOTE=versatile_bhutto]Kashmiri's book can only help with second part of the paper but first part is different and needs understanding of science and not cramming![/QUOTE]
if u r referring to MCQs portion as the first part then i think it needs more cramming compared to second part and the mentioned book goes a long way in this regard
as far as understanding is concerned , off course , science is nothing but logic and understanding

aariz Tuesday, August 04, 2009 02:08 AM

I have found the pre-matric books useful in order to grasp the basic bio concepts as I dont have medical education background.

versatile_bhutto Tuesday, August 04, 2009 02:42 AM

Everyday science!

The first part of the everyday science does not want us how long have we crammed but how deep we have we understood! for example: if beta partical emits from the nucleous of an atom how does it affects?

A: atomic number will increase by 1

B: decrease atomic weight

C: decrease atomic number

D:makes no difference

dear check yr science! answer is A, give detail:cry :cry :cry

versatile_bhutto Tuesday, August 04, 2009 02:48 AM

Everyday science!

[QUOTE=aj khan]if u r referring to MCQs portion as the first part then i think it needs more cramming compared to second part and the mentioned book goes a long way in this regard
as far as understanding is concerned , off course , science is nothing but logic and understanding[/QUOTE]

MCQs part of everyday science is purely undersatanding no cramming kindly don't misguide others:excl: :excl: :excl:

The word science itself means understanding:excl: :excl:

Omer Tuesday, August 04, 2009 10:07 AM

@ aj khan

Thanks bro.

You are right. Kashmiri's book along with some internet browsing can do the magic. But if one has enough time, he can go through other supplementary books too. Please advise.

REEYAN Tuesday, August 04, 2009 02:02 PM

@ omer

No dear there is not any conflicting point that u had pointed out in my previous post however, u did not get my point.
Friend!There are some topics well can be learnt from lower level books instead of advance one. If u find yourself in confusion then u must go with aforementioned books. Besides, If u look at the paper, now that has been changed into 2 parts one is theoretical and other is objective. It is, therefore, certain to say that objective portion of paper can easily be tackled if u hav good and compact clearance in basic concepts, it is only possible, if we read aforementioned books of low level, along with this u can get good score also from objective portion. After that dear, as I shared u advance level book ,verily, will help u a lot accordingly, but the main thing should be cleared is to understand basic theme of topics subject. If u have no problem in concepts then u may go to opt advance level books.

Dear, I firmly, believe in clearance of concepts instead of cramming.

versatile_bhutto Tuesday, August 04, 2009 02:22 PM

Everyday science!

senior please solve this question.

[QUOTE=versatile_bhutto]The first part of the everyday science does not want us how long have we crammed but how deep we have we understood! for example: if beta partical emits from the nucleous of an atom how does it affects?

A: atomic number will increase by 1

B: decrease atomic weight

C: decrease atomic number

D:makes no difference

dear check yr science! answer is A, give detail:cry :cry :cry[/QUOTE]

Viceroy Tuesday, August 04, 2009 04:55 PM

[quote=versatile_bhutto]if beta partical emits from the nucleous of an atom how does it affects?[/quote]

This is called a beta-negative decay, in this type of decay [B]a neutron is converted to a proton[/B] and this is accompanied by the emission of an electron and an antinutrino.

The reason for the increase in atomic number is the conversion of a neutron into a proton (as atomic number is the number of protons in an atomic nucleus)

Saqib Riaz Tuesday, August 04, 2009 06:26 PM

Useful Websites for EDS

1. The Internet Encyclopedia of Science> [URL="http://www.daviddarling.info/encyclopedia/ETEmain.html"]http://www.daviddarling.info/encyclopedia/ETEmain.html[/URL]

2. Science and Engineering Encyclopedia>[URL="http://www.diracdelta.co.uk/science/...me/source.html"]http://www.diracdelta.co.uk/science/...me/source.html[/URL]

3. Encyclopedia Britannica>[URL="http://www.britannica.com/"]http://www.britannica.com/[/URL]

4. Online Chemical Resource> [URL="http://www.allchemicals.info/"]http://www.allchemicals.info/[/URL]

5. [URL="http://www.estrellamountain.edu/facu...okcircSYS.html"]http://www.estrellamountain.edu/facu...okcircSYS.html[/URL]

aj khan Tuesday, August 04, 2009 09:51 PM

[QUOTE=Omer]@ aj khan

Thanks bro.

You are right. Kashmiri's book along with some internet browsing can do the magic. But if one has enough time, he can go through other supplementary books too. Please advise.[/QUOTE]
Y not, if one has got time one can study more books
but any one paper's preperation must not affect other subjects
maintaining this balance is critical

versatile_bhutto Tuesday, August 04, 2009 10:39 PM

Everyday science!

you are right!:clap

QUOTE=Viceroy]This is called a beta-negative decay, in this type of decay [B]a neutron is converted to a proton[/B] and this is accompanied by the emission of an electron and an antinutrino.

The reason for the increase in atomic number is the conversion of a neutron into a proton (as atomic number is the number of protons in an atomic nucleus)[/QUOTE]

Omer Sunday, August 30, 2009 04:07 PM

Different books contain different material on various topics. So different topics can be studied from different books.

Khushboo Ali Sunday, August 30, 2009 06:02 PM

books

everyday science by Akram Kahsmiri and Asimov's new guide to science by Isaac asimov. are these books enough for the prep or anyother source is required???

Janas Sunday, August 30, 2009 11:50 PM

@ Khusbo Ali

Yes both are fine. Esp by Asimov. Get it and use it!

Khushboo Ali Monday, August 31, 2009 04:43 PM

@ janas..
Thanks alot.. but one more q after going through these two books, is there still a need to consult matric books??????

Omer Monday, August 31, 2009 04:49 PM

@ Khushboo Ali

Obviously not................................!!
In fact no need to study junior grade books as the most of the recommended EDS book cover the syllabus completely. Just stick to them.

Omer Tuesday, September 01, 2009 10:08 AM

If we have a clear examination of the syllabus of EDS, it will be revealed that it's not something infinite that we need to learn and read too much. Just stick to the topics and read about these.

Remember:[U]CSS is based on the concept of work smart more than work hard.[/U]

Outline of syllabus as per FPSC is given below:

[B]1. Introduction [/B]

• Nature of Science;
• Brief History of Science with special reference to contribution of Muslims in the evolution and development of science:
• Impact of science on society.

[B]2. The Physical Sciences [/B]

(a) Constituents and Structure: "Universe, Galaxy. Solar system, Sun, Earth. Minerals;
(b) Processes of Nature -Solar and Lunar Eclipses Day and Night and their variation:
(c) Energy :- sources and resources of Energy Energy conservation
(i) Ceramics, Plastics. Semiconductors
(ii) Radio. Television, Telephones. Camera. Laser. Microscope.
(iii) Computers, Satellites;
(iv) Antibiotics, Vaccines, Fertilizers, Pesticides,

[B]3. Biological Sciences [/B]

• The basis of life - the cell, chromosomes, genes, nucleic acids.
• The building blocks - Proteins. Harmones and other nutrients Concept of balanced diet. Metabolism.
• Survey of Plant and Animal Kingdom - a brief survey of plant and animal kingdom to pinpoint similarities and diversities in nature.
• The Human body - a brief account of human Physiology, Human behaviour.

Muhammad Ali Awan Thursday, September 03, 2009 02:43 PM

@ Khushboo Ali,

Asimov and Akram Kashmiri books are good. But this year many candidates landed in hot water due to heavy reliance on kasmiri book, as very little came from his book.

I recommened as consulted by most of friends, one should completely prepare the last 20 years or so, Past papers(You can found from the bhatti sons the solved past 20 years papers). It is the smart way in preparing the css everyday science papers.

Apart from that Faridi book is also helpful in preparing the CSS everyday science paper.

Lastly if you get hold and a firm grip over the solved past 20 years question papers ,it will definetly sort out your problem regarding everyday science paper.

Khushboo Ali Thursday, September 03, 2009 07:30 PM

@ maawan
i am really grateful to u for the help :)... but if i am consulting these two books alongwith the last 20 papers den is dre still a need to go for Faridi book???

Omer Monday, September 07, 2009 10:07 AM

@Khushboo Ali

The simple trick is to cover the EDS syllabus as mentioned above. You can do it from any book and once you would do it, there is no need to consult additional books. Then, just concentrate on other subjects.

m.khan Monday, November 23, 2009 03:47 PM

Encarta 2009

Asalam to all CSS aspirants one should take it into consideration that Encarata 2009 is a complete encyclopedia having much much information about EDS,Europeaon History,US History and many more the software is available at any CD/DVD's outlets.But in DVD is commendable.
Regards, CSS Aspirant

Yasinleo Monday, November 23, 2009 06:55 PM

Remmeber

Little drops,make a ocean.
Reading one book or two books is not matter of gathering accurate knowledge. But the matter is how much and from where to get that.So try to get from different sources as much as you could,that will be beneficial,in case u have time,either go for precise material from different sources.

Nayab123 Monday, November 23, 2009 08:39 PM

Qualifiers n seniors plz attention!!!

Assalam o Allaiykoum wrwb,,,
so from above discussion i want to ask that [B]will past 20years papers will be enough with kashmiri's book,[/B]
Looking forward for reply,:thinking

MUHAMMAD AYOUB Tuesday, November 24, 2009 09:40 PM

@Nayab

Hello dear :)

If no body replied then let me give a chance .Although I am not a qualifier , yet I am senior in respect that I happened to take the exam once :)

Coming to your query , Past 20 year papers plus Kashmir's Book would suffice if you prepare it throughly.More important thing is that you cover the syllabus first,then all the peripheral concepts that are not explicitly mentioned in the syllabus.For example,while preparing the Solar system you should not restrict yourself to the eight planets only.study Nebula, Constellations etc.Important thing is anticipation and smartness.You can get solved past papers from the market.with all this you can make a difference.

Best of Luck.....:)

Jamil Mughal Tuesday, November 24, 2009 11:46 PM

needing suggestion

Aslam o alaikum!
Dearz currently I am reading Advanced Everyday Science by Imtiaz Shahid, howz it from ur point of view?
Is it unavoidable to go thorough the whole book? or I should focus on selective chapters.

Thanx.

07:48 PM (GMT +5)