-   CSS 2008 Exam (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-datesheets-results/previous-css-results-datesheets/css-2008-exam/)
-   -   DMS of Finally Passed candidates. (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-datesheets-results/previous-css-results-datesheets/css-2008-exam/22273-dms-finally-passed-candidates.html)

zona Wednesday, April 01, 2009 12:07 AM

my dms

aoa every body,my dms is like

[B]eng comp 43
eng essay 47
c.a 40
p.a 48
isl 67
science 70
islamic hstry 108
journlsm 54(well i was shocked to c these numbers as my best paper was of jrmlsm):cry
sclgy 42:sad:
arabic 96:wacko:
615 in written
158 in viva
total 773
412 merit number

[/B]yae optionals ne bari mar di hay is dafa. any suggestion 4m any1 of u abt changing my optional and how to improve my compulsory marks.wat abt psychology or geography

Dr. MSK Wednesday, April 01, 2009 12:31 AM

baki tu pta nahi as i'm myself an average student, well i vd suggest k u must at least change arabic.
abt psychology.....cant say anything,
abt geography, i vud say k go 4 it, i've myself spent a lot of time on it prep.its notes etc.(although at d end i dropped it) it is v.interesting subject...n never disappoints any1. this year too it paid a lot.

moreover i,ve heard k a trend 4 a paper continues 4 approx 3 yrs.
so also consider Muslim law/international law/IR........replacing socio.
well it is only my humble suggestion.decision lies wid u obviously.
Allah pak will help u inshAllah.
Best wishes n prays 4 u.

[QUOTE=lala1447]Aoa!
my dms is
[B]Essay 64

Composition 65

EDS 80

Current affairs 64

Pak affairs 57

Islamiat 62

Journalism 73

indo pak history 144

C law 61

Urdu 124

written 794

viva 191
grand total 985

merit order 1[/B][/QUOTE]

Kia keh sakta hoon mein except k......[B][U]SIMPLY MARVELLOUS(masha-Allah)[/U][/B]...... n thats it.
May Allah bless u wid many more successes. i wish, i pray.

IBRm Wednesday, April 01, 2009 03:00 AM

Dms

[B]AoA,
Cogratulations to all final qualifiers
Essay 61
English Pre & Comp 45
EDS 81
CA 34
PA 45
Isl 65
Geography I 71
II 76
Punjabi 72
Sociology 51
Mass Com 54
IR 45

Written 699
Viva 155
Grand Total 854
(can anyone tell grand total of the topper?)[/B]

Tariq Mastoi Wednesday, April 01, 2009 02:06 PM

Dms

[B]D-M-S

Essay.....................................61

Precis and Composition..............40

Everyday Science.....................65

Current Affairs..........................43

Pakistan Affairs.........................45

Islamiyat..................................56

European History
A 70
B 70........................................140

Geography
A 71
B 68 .......................................139

Constitutional Law.......................60

Sociology...................................48

Total in Written .........................697

Interview..................................140

Grand Total...............................837

Merit Number..............................88[/B]

FM 83 Wednesday, April 01, 2009 05:29 PM

[B]Essay 48
Precise 59
Eds 70
Isl 57
Pk Affr 42
C.a 40

British Hst 130
Journalism 71
I.r 60
Sociology 44
C.law 52

Total 673 +viva 143 == 816[/B]

Bandit Queen Wednesday, April 01, 2009 06:18 PM

With 42 days preparation i never expected to even get a green signal in CE2008 bt still got lucky

Essay 56

English 42

EDS 48

P.A 35

C.A 40

Islamyat 63

Political science 107

Con.Law 54

Computer science 68

U.S history 67

Punjabi 57

Written 637

Viva 158

Total 795

Dilrauf Thursday, April 02, 2009 12:14 AM

suggestion abt IR

[QUOTE=Arif Rao]Essay - 46
English - 50
GK - 137
GK 1 (EDS) - 63
GK 2 (C.A) - 43
GK 3 (P.A) - 31
Islamiyat - 63
Public Ad - 57
Sociology - 50
I.R. - 60
Indo-Pak Hist - 106 (50+56)
Journalism - 57

Total Written = 626

Interview - 182

GRAND TOTAL = 808[/QUOTE]

Dear Arif,
I am not satisfied with Park. Chandra's IR book, is there any other good book for IR and please give me some tips to attempt that paper.

Dilrauf

trotsky59 Thursday, April 02, 2009 01:30 PM

my Dms :

Essay : 43

English : 40

G.k (128)

Eds : 55

C.A : 42

P.A :31

Isl : 40

Political science I :43

Political science II : 52

Constitutional law : 37

Europ histotry I : 86

Europ history II : 58

Sindhi : 84

written = 611

viva = 128

Merit = (650 overall 23rd in sindh urban)

Arif Rao Thursday, April 02, 2009 03:19 PM

[QUOTE=Dilrauf]Dear Arif,
I am not satisfied with Park. Chandra's IR book, is there any other good book for IR and please give me some tips to attempt that paper.

Dilrauf[/QUOTE]

Imtiaz Shahid's book is quite comprehensive and I consulted it. Also I downloaded relevant data from internet, it helps a lot because it is most updated and you can have a variety of opinions.
To attempt the paper, I suggest one should be logical, stating facts and figures also helps. I always try to present various views of the same situation and then finally give my own opinion restating the logic behind it and it's edge over the others.
In the end, I think scoring well in a subject does not hold a simple formula, it varies from one paper/ person to the other. I attmepted CSS only once, but that's the experience of my friends, they scored remarkably well in a subject one year and the following year they were shocked to see their low marks. From preparation to attempting paper nothing changed, they said, but their scores. So I must say keep praying to Almighty, His mercy along with your preparation will do it (InshAllah).

crankshaft Thursday, April 02, 2009 11:52 PM

[B]Essay: 45

English: 63

EDS: 78

CA: 40

Pak Aff: 48

Islamiat: 63

Sociology: 47

British History: 62 + 56 = 118

International Law: 71

Psychology: 83 + 73 = 156

Total Written: 729

Viva :168

Total : 897

Merit #13[/B]

mobushra Friday, April 03, 2009 03:09 PM

hi here is my dms

essay 68
precis 67
eds 70
current affairs 43
pakistan affairs 49
islamiat 56

sociolgy 55
journalism 72
statistics 66
pak indo history 118
muslim law 56

total written 720
and
viva voce only 147 :cry

total 867

merit # 36

Ali-Raza Friday, April 03, 2009 03:40 PM

[QUOTE=mobushra]essay 68
precis 67
eds 70
current affairs 43
pakistan affairs 49
islamiat 56

sociolgy 55
journalism 72
statistics 66
pak indo history 118
muslim law 56

total written 720
and
viva voce only 147 :cry

total 867

merit # 36[/QUOTE]

Excellent marks in Essay and Preci.........
Even the topper Noorul Ain have less marks than urs in these...(Essay 64,Copmosition 65).
Plz share u way of writing and tips regarding these two paper.

Muqeet Asim Saturday, April 04, 2009 08:49 AM

Ham Jo Tareek Rahon Mein Mare Gay

ESSAY 56
COMPO 51
CA 49 (In 2006 I scored 60)
EDS 70
PAK AFFAIR 42
ISLAMIAT 61
JOURNALISM 60
IR 50
HISTORY 85 (In 2006 I scored 130) :cry :cry :cry :cry :cry :cry
ARABIC 121
VIVA 143

GRAND 788

MERIT 311...:0

happy ending Saturday, April 04, 2009 07:12 PM

@ Crankshaft

kool marks in psych n int law . can u kindly give some tips on these too ... what books did u consult etc etc .. notes ..

mobushra Saturday, April 04, 2009 11:04 PM

hi

[QUOTE=Ali-Raza]Excellent marks in Essay and Preci.........
Even the topper Noorul Ain have less marks than urs in these...(Essay 64,Copmosition 65).
Plz share u way of writing and tips regarding these two paper.[/QUOTE]

thanx a lot.

it was my 2nd attempt. in last attempt i got 27 marks in precis.

nothing special have been done for this high score.

simple vocalubary but improved written expression a lot and took guidance from English teacher Sir Kashif (lahore).
He is just a marvellous teacher.:pp

amna08 Sunday, April 05, 2009 09:20 PM

[QUOTE]thanx a lot.

it was my 2nd attempt. in last attempt i got 27 marks in precis.

nothing special have been done for this high score.

simple vocalubary but improved written expression a lot and took guidance from English teacher Sir Kashif (lahore).
He is just a marvellous teacher.[/QUOTE]

EXCELLENT MUBASHRA,
i got 224th position... need ur guidance 4 improvement..Could u plz guide me regarding the whereabouts of Sir Kashif..secondly how did u prepare Stats as i got only 56 in it

...from where did u prepare journalism???

QADIR_TIWANA Monday, April 06, 2009 02:21 PM

my dmc

essay----------56
composition----43
e.science------77
pak.affairs-----45
c.affairs-------37
islamic st.-----58
pol.science----117
indo pak-------104
c.law----------49
int. law--------67

viva-----------143

total-----------796

merit no.-------270
n congrats 2 all successfull candidates

mobushra Monday, April 06, 2009 04:11 PM

hi

[QUOTE=amna08]EXCELLENT MUBASHRA,
i got 224th position... need ur guidance 4 improvement..Could u plz guide me regarding the whereabouts of Sir Kashif..secondly how did u prepare Stats as i got only 56 in it

...from where did u prepare journalism???[/QUOTE]

my name is Maria.mobushra is my login name.

Sir Kashif is a senior english teacher in DPS school ,model town presenty living in DPS residential colony,Model Town,lahore.

as far as stats is concerned,it has not been scoring for the last 2 years.I have prepared it from the B.SC book of stats of Prof.Sher M.Chaudary.Ihave done masters in statistics but got the unexpected marks in my own subject.:mad:

Journalism is very easy subject.u can prepare from any book.Even i have prepared it in the last 5 days from a guide book of Emporium Publishers top 25 quections. i didnt get sufficient time 4 its preparation as i replaced urdu by journalism and islamic law.

wish u best of luck:vic

Farishta Monday, April 06, 2009 05:46 PM

@ Maria

Can you share with us how many pages did you filled in essay paper? and what on what topic?

sohailravian Monday, April 06, 2009 08:50 PM

Sir kashif

@maria
hi maria. Congrats on your marvellous success . Please share cell number of sir kashif.

mobushra Tuesday, April 07, 2009 06:33 PM

[QUOTE=Farishta]Can you share with us how many pages did you filled in essay paper? and what on what topic?

Regards,[/QUOTE]

i attempted essay on "Can we prevent 3rd world war".
i wrote outline (only points) of almost 2 pages.
then the length of the essay was 60 pages.(unexpectedly)
but i heard of many candidates who have written only 35 pages and got 65 marks.
as far as my experience is concerned::glare: ,essay is all about howz ur introduction specially theme statement,introduction and starters of each paragraph .In addition to it,how many aspects of a topic u cover in ur essay.
last time i didnt follow any rule n got 40 marks.:cry

[QUOTE=sohailravian]@maria
hi maria. Congrats on your marvellous success . Please share cell number of sir kashif.
Thanks[/QUOTE]

thanx alot.

sir kashif cell numbers are 0345-4028277 and 0321-4592308.
u can contact him on these numbers.He takes class 5 days a week.
He is very co-operative and he taught me from the beginning even starting from the basic definitions of noun ,verbs etc................
Firstly , i thought that basic learning was useless.:wacko:
But in examination hall,u realize that how much u gain from him.

wish u best of luck.:king

Farishta Tuesday, April 07, 2009 09:04 PM

@ Maria

[B][/B]You said a lot depend on how is introduction...can you share your opinion and experience about what to write in intro, especially the theme statement, how long it should be?

Altamash Qureshi Tuesday, April 07, 2009 09:35 PM

A/S MoBushra,
I have opted stats, can u plz tell me which topic is more impotant, waisay i m done with the whole course, but for revision i want some guidence that which topic needs more emphasis. :angle

drastic Tuesday, April 07, 2009 10:32 PM

:roll First of all it is completely astonish for me.:wacko: how anyone can write 65 or 35 pages in essay paper. Particularly how can ur eng structure remain accurate rest of the pages? Second tHing outline and theme only dosnt matter in essay. ur outline,intro, ur examples in perfect eng matter alot in achieving gud marks in essay paper. Moreover, i think pages dont matter in css ur english is matter like structure, less gram mistakes, execution of ur examples with the references of essay topic like how much u hav Justified urself in convincing examiner. ur Influential style supports u to get gud marks which i leanrt 4rm my teachers:laugh: Becuase examiner always doesnt give enuf marks in eng and essay papers. :king

Nadeem Abbas Wednesday, April 08, 2009 04:59 PM

My DMC

Essay 47
Eng Comp 45
G.K (67+47+42)=156
Islamiat 61

Geography 71+61=132
Isl. History 71+59=130
Journalism 74
Int. Law 66

Written 711
Viva 140:oo
Total 851
Merit No. 54

The only limits in our life are those we impose on ourselves.

AmBrosiaL EloQuence Thursday, April 09, 2009 12:45 PM

My Detailed Marksheet !

Essay 64:))
precise & comp 59
current affairs 35:nono
everyday sceince 78:)
pakistan affairs 60:blush:
islamiyat 71:8:

sociology 36:nono
journalism 83 :vic
british history 70:nono
arabic 71:nono

total: 627

interview score: 183:blush:

grand total 810

merit position 182

trotsky59 Thursday, April 09, 2009 12:49 PM

[QUOTE=Farishta]Can you share with us how many pages did you filled in essay paper? and what on what topic?

Regards,[/QUOTE]
i wrote 7 pages on essay " can third world war be averted?" length of the essay is not important only ur approach should be argumantative.

IBRm Thursday, April 09, 2009 01:18 PM

@ Arif Rao
my merit # 49
On behalf of one of my freinds,i want u people to share ur opinions....if someone wants to improve one's group bt is going to be allocated in this batch.What do u think if one shoud go for 2nd attempt in 2010 or wait uptil the cmpletion of CTP & STP.Do suggest while keeping all factors in mind.

Islaw Khan Thursday, April 09, 2009 03:24 PM

[QUOTE=AmBrosiaL EloQuence]Essay 64:))
precise & comp 59
current affairs 35:nono
everyday sceince 78:)
pakistan affairs 60:blush:
islamiyat 71:8:

sociology 36:nono
journalism 83 :vic
british history 71:nono
arabic 70:nono

grand total 810

merit position 182[/QUOTE]
@amna
well very good score in some ppaers but not in some but still ur position is not that much bad as mine..... will u scure ur place in the four groups of ur choice.... as u ve mentioned only 4 in the preffernce forms?

interw marks are vvvvvvv good.

wish u all the best.....
[B]

My DMS[/B].
well i was not in the position to share my DMC BCZ mujy khud buht afsos ho raha ta..... but khair now i think that i have to share with ma friends.

Essay 47

comp 48

pak aff 37

currnt aff 37

ED science 55

islamiat 47

US history 55

pol scince 102

C.law 44

muslim law 60

pushto 68

total written 600..... hurrrraaaaahh:cry

viva 140

total 740.............thats all the sad story.

i was expecting highest marks in my optional papers.... but now after analyzing i came to the conclusion that the approach i adopted in written part was not good... esp this year...

still i think every thing is from the side of Allah... ve are bound to work hard and try again and again the result will be good in the end.

ur friend

ISLAH

mobushra Thursday, April 09, 2009 04:26 PM

[QUOTE=Altamash Qureshi]A/S MoBushra,
I have opted stats, can u plz tell me which topic is more impotant, waisay i m done with the whole course, but for revision i want some guidence that which topic needs more emphasis. :angle[/QUOTE]

if u want to revise the course,then use the books of Sher M Chaudary.but focus on distributions and tests more than other topics.
prepare its theoratical part as well bcz numerical questions r sometimes much lengthy and one can get good marks in theory as well

wish u best of luck:busy

[QUOTE=drastic]:roll First of all it is completely astonish for me.:wacko: how anyone can write 65 or 35 pages in essay paper. Particularly how can ur eng structure remain accurate rest of the pages? Second tHing outline and theme only dosnt matter in essay. ur outline,intro, ur examples in perfect eng matter alot in achieving gud marks in essay paper. Moreover, i think pages dont matter in css ur english is matter like structure, less gram mistakes, execution of ur examples with the references of essay topic like how much u hav Justified urself in convincing examiner. ur Influential style supports u to get gud marks which i leanrt 4rm my teachers:laugh: Becuase examiner always doesnt give enuf marks in eng and essay papers. :king[/QUOTE]

u were astonished ,but i am shocked that one cant write 35 pages in essay papers.the lenght of essay is their requirement as well.
ya pages dont matter.i told that candidates have written 35pages and scored between 60-65.
as well as material(data ,examples etc) is concerned,even one cant write a single page without material.
so i didnt say that material does not matter.if u read my earlier msgs,i wrote
a) there was neither a single grammetical nor spelling mistake in my paper.
b)usage of idioms,phrases,adjectives and technical words according to the nature of essay was perfect.
c) the aspects /topic u r covering matters a lot. i included from social to economic all factors.

in both attempts ,i used the above mentioned techniques even almost same material.i attempted nuclear war in first and 3rd world war in 2nd attempt.
but this time,i focused on theme statement and structure of essay and got 68 marks .(last time 27).so there is a clear comparison in front of u

Arif Rao Thursday, April 09, 2009 05:14 PM

[QUOTE=IBRm]@ Arif Rao
my merit # 49
On behalf of one of my freinds,i want u people to share ur opinions....if someone wants to improve one's group bt is going to be allocated in this batch.What do u think if one shoud go for 2nd attempt in 2010 or wait uptil the cmpletion of CTP & STP.Do suggest while keeping all factors in mind.[/QUOTE]

Dear IBRm, First of all congrats on your wonderful result.

For seeking an advice over your query I just called a friend of mine who happens to be among top ten this year, and he had given his written during 35th CTP. According to him it is most advisable to re-appear as soon as possible because if you think you are going to get free time for preparation, it's not likely to be there even after the CTP/STP.

On the other hand, I recently talked to some friends in CSA, they told that life is not so easy at the academy and the routine is quite tough. Keeping that in mind one can make out that it's not easy to appear in written during CTP. Also I was told when I went to CSA last year that almost half of the guys from 35th common who appeared in written CSS-08 failed, I think the busy schedule of CSA might be one of the reasons for them.

I agree with the former opinion and suggest to go for CSS-2010 (if CSS-09 is not an option :) )

Having said all this, I believe that final decision depends upon a person's own preference.

INNOVATIVE Friday, April 10, 2009 08:47 PM

mr AmBrosiaL EloQuence superb!

congrates on your acheivement:) could you plz let us know what the books and the personalities were that u mentioned in the interview process?cheers

Arif Rao Saturday, April 11, 2009 04:30 AM

@AmBrosiaL EloQuence

[QUOTE=AmBrosiaL EloQuence]

grand total 810

merit position 182[/QUOTE]
Congrats on your wonderful result. Great marks in interview...!
Your DMS seem very close to mine (626+182). :)
What are your preferences?
Wish you all the best...!

leopard Monday, April 20, 2009 02:18 PM

My Marks Sheet

[B]Essay[/B] :pp [B]65[/B]
Composition :con 42
G.Sc ;) 73
C.Affairs :sad 41
P.Affairs :sad 44
Islamiat 57

Indo Pak 1 50
Indo Pak 2 52
:sad
sociology :dry: 49
I.R :laughing 52

Geography1 76
GeographyII 76
:cr
Total: :vangry 677
Viva: ;) 168
Total 845
merit: :thinking 63

Arif Rao Monday, April 20, 2009 04:25 PM

@leopard

congrats on your achievement,

what are your preferences?

leopard Tuesday, April 21, 2009 04:21 PM

it's all by the Grace of Allah

Alhamdulliah, i 've finally done it... it's all by the Grace of Allah....

my preferences are

DMG
FSP
PSP
Customs.....

i wish i get FSP....

leopard Tuesday, April 21, 2009 04:28 PM

will any body explain to me the Suitability Clause

hi,

my question is how the fspc apply the suitability clause??
will they recommend particular candidate for specific groups or will they simply debar him/her from specific groups... than how would they determine merit???

F.S. Tuesday, April 21, 2009 06:18 PM

Bro, suitability is no where defined in CSS Rules... FPSC is assigned to recommend Civil Servants for appointment to various posts from time to time.... In the first instance, FPSC determines one candidate's overall fitness for government service, moreover a candidate is assessed for a particular group... For Example one of my friend who passed CSS last year had PSP as his 1st Choice, but in the Commission's opinion he was suitable for all groups except PSP, he was allocated DMG in the end... One of my Ex-Secretary Agha Jan Akhtar along was allocated FSP during Muhammad Khan Junejo's government, since Junejo wanted toppers from Sindh to be directly allocated FSP despite their choices, later on, Through executive decree that decision was reversed when He had completed his STP of Foreign Service... ZA Bukhari, DIG of Police in Karachi was declared unsuitable for all groups except Accounts..... Later on Federal Ombudsman reversed the FPSC's decision... Sanaullah Abbasi too was declared unsuitable for all services except Postal Group, later on Benazir Bhutto's government inducted him PSP......

So suitability can be exercised either by determining that certain candidate is not suitable for government service at all, or by determing a candidate unsuitable for only one group or many groups, or in some cases, FPSC may consider a candidate suitable for only one group....

zaigham abbas Tuesday, April 21, 2009 07:45 PM

My DMS..

Essay: 44
Preci: 51
C.A: 37
P.A: 45
EDS:67
ISLAMIAT: 54

SOCIOLOGY:51
JOURNALISM:59
I.R: 54
MUSLIM LAW: 59
PUBLIC ADMIN: 66
U.S.A HISTORY: 67

TOTAL: 655
VIVA: 143

MERIT # 258 ALL OVER IN PAKISTAN..:nono

Adil Memon Tuesday, April 21, 2009 11:26 PM

[B]@ amubarak:[/B]

Your marksheet has impressed me a lot. Despite losing credit of one entire subject, you have managed to stand at 27th. Had it not been the case, you would have been pushed into the top 5.

I hope you get your first choice, which you most probably will. All the best.

[B]@ Ambrosial Eloquence:[/B]

Your compulsory scores and interview marks are fantastic. You just got a bad thrashing in some of your optionals. In my opinion, you deserved a lot better.

All the best.
[B]
@ Arif Rao:[/B]

Sir, your interview score is amazing. Congratulations, you'll be getting a group of your top two choices. I am impressed.

All the best.
[B]
[FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=3]@ Dr. MSK, afrms, Tariq Mastoi, Fahad Mumtaz, mobushra:[/SIZE][/FONT][/B]

You all have relatively good written scores. Still, your interview marks are within the range of 130-150. Do you really think you were unable to express yourself before the panel? Have they been fair to you?

08:21 PM (GMT +5)