-   CSS 2015 Exam (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-datesheets-results/previous-css-results-datesheets/css-2015-exam/)
-   -   Qualifiers of CE2015 share your essay topic (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-datesheets-results/previous-css-results-datesheets/css-2015-exam/105303-qualifiers-ce2015-share-your-essay-topic.html)

royshahzad Thursday, October 29, 2015 02:09 PM

Qualifiers of CE2015 share your essay topic

All qualifiers of CE2015 are requested to share their topic of essay here.

Mine was: "Anticipation is often greater than realization"

AyeshaAmin Thursday, October 29, 2015 02:20 PM

War on terror has contributed to the growing abuse of human rights

Would be Thursday, October 29, 2015 02:46 PM

Congrats to the qualifiers. But all of you are requested to share outline of your essay too for it will help prospective candidates.

zeeshanraja Thursday, October 29, 2015 02:49 PM

Punctuality is virtue of bored

Mashaaal Thursday, October 29, 2015 02:50 PM

I attempted this topic;
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it"

Epoch Thursday, October 29, 2015 02:59 PM

Attempted:

Anticipation is often greater than realization

Prayers,

mujtaba arfat Thursday, October 29, 2015 04:06 PM

War on terror has contributed to the growing abuse of Human Rights

Metlo Thursday, October 29, 2015 04:28 PM

I cracked no10, ' labor saving devices are more troublesome than they are worth'.
2-page outline and 13 page essay.

Shariah and Law Thursday, October 29, 2015 05:05 PM

Essay Topic

I confronted this essay,"I disapprove you say but defend to death your right to say".

dr faryal afzal Thursday, October 29, 2015 05:18 PM

When life throws you lemons make lemonade

Noir Thursday, October 29, 2015 05:20 PM

Mine was "War on Terror has contributed to the growing abuse of Human Rights"

liberation Thursday, October 29, 2015 05:32 PM

[QUOTE=dr faryal afzal;878142]When life throws you lemons make lemonade[/QUOTE]

kindly share your theme of this essay .. i attempted the same but got only 29 ...
Total 658 ......just want to know the theme what the checker approved ...

incrediblex Thursday, October 29, 2015 06:36 PM

"War on terror has contributed to the growing abuse of human rights"
-Detailed outline of 3 pages
-22-24 pages

royshahzad Thursday, October 29, 2015 06:45 PM

Some people, who are complaining that anyone who wrote essay on War on terror, can see reality here.

Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk

Eightyeight Thursday, October 29, 2015 07:07 PM

Those of you who have passed, can you please post your outlines for our guidance? It's ok if you don't remember the exact outline, just as much as you remember will do.

Thanks! :)

sabahat mushtaq Thursday, October 29, 2015 07:30 PM

"War on Terror has contributed to the growing abuse of Human Rights"
outline 2 pages
Essay 2100 words

WasimBhai Thursday, October 29, 2015 08:56 PM

I attempted that human rights and war on terror. Scroll through my timeline to find the outline.

I ended my essay with `Liberté, égalité, fraternité`. :D God! I love French.

Towards Success Thursday, October 29, 2015 09:29 PM

[QUOTE=royshahzad;877990]All qualifiers of CE2015 are requested to share their topic of essay here.

Mine was: "Anticipation is often greater than realization"[/QUOTE]

AoA roy sab
Your score is impressive please guide me . It's going to b my second attempt . I tried myself to improve in certain areas so worked on nd off on css but overall I'm not a very hard-working student. Currently I am confused between psychology and Punjabi. I like psychology and have prepared it but Punjabi yield me more score. Don't want to waste my second attempt so please guide what should I do?

royshahzad Thursday, October 29, 2015 09:45 PM

[QUOTE=Towards Success;878297]AoA roy sab
Your score is impressive please guide me . It's going to b my second attempt . I tried myself to improve in certain areas so worked on nd off on css but overall I'm not a very hard-working student. Currently I am confused between psychology and Punjabi. I like psychology and have prepared it but Punjabi yield me more score. Don't want to waste my second attempt so please guide what should I do?
Regards[/QUOTE]
Wa alaikum ussalam!
How do you know my score? Because I don't know it myself yet :D
I opted punjabi because I like it. I can't say anything about psychology.
I will be available here to help you as I can.

Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk

haroon malik Thursday, October 29, 2015 10:32 PM

[QUOTE=sabahat mushtaq;878212]"War on Terror has contributed to the growing abuse of Human Rights"
outline 2 pages
Essay 2100 words[/QUOTE]

Many congrats to you. you passed the PPSC exam as well and now css .wish you best wishes for interview as well.

haroon malik Thursday, October 29, 2015 10:32 PM

wish you best of luck for future endeavors..

darkmoon Thursday, October 29, 2015 11:07 PM

WOT and abuse of HRs

Towards Success Friday, October 30, 2015 03:36 AM

[QUOTE=royshahzad;878299]Wa alaikum ussalam!
How do you know my score? Because I don't know it myself yet :D
I opted punjabi because I like it. I can't say anything about psychology.
I will be available here to help you as I can.

Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]

Then who is that guy who scored 718 nd flanked in essay paper. Sorry I thought it's you. Thanks for your answer

irfanchatha Friday, October 30, 2015 07:46 AM

[QUOTE=Metlo;878105]I cracked no10, ' labor saving devices are more troublesome than they are worth'.
2-page outline and 13 page essay.[/QUOTE]

I also attempted the same essay but got only 17 marks:0
Can you share with me your outline and introductory lines?

Metlo Friday, October 30, 2015 10:10 AM

[QUOTE=irfanchatha;878478]I also attempted the same essay but got only 17 marks:0
Can you share with me your outline and introductory lines?[/QUOTE]

i had given my oultine on css forum, just after the exam. So , you can find it in my timeline.

imabdulkhaliq Friday, October 30, 2015 10:19 AM

guys how to write outlines of an essay please guide and share your experience here

Waqas Kandwal Friday, October 30, 2015 10:28 AM

So the hypothesis that anybody who attempted 1st essay topic was targeted, has been proven wrong, as many aspirants have attempted this topic and passed the exam.

I am thankful to shezad sb for initiating this thread.

I request all the qualifiers, or those who attempted this topic and passed, to please share outline and conclusion.

[B]@Sharia and Law:[/B] Have you studied at International Islamic University Islamabad? You have not shared your email so i could not ask you personally.

rossi Friday, October 30, 2015 11:09 AM

[QUOTE=Mashaaal;878037]I attempted this topic;
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it"[/QUOTE]

What was your score ? I attempted the same but got 17 :cry.
Please tell us how long was your outline?

Qualifiers, what would you suggest regarding outline of essay ? I have heard different approaches from different people which is why i am confused. What would you guys who passed essay suggest?
Should the outline be long enough to go around 2 or 3 pages or should it be short like 1 page or half a page ??
Does the length of outline matter ???
Do we need to mention each and every point in outline which we would write in essay or just 4 to 5 major points ???

shahrukhachakzai Friday, October 30, 2015 12:01 PM

The topic of my essay was War on Terror and Human Rights Abuses . My outline was scattered over one and a half page and the whole essay consumed around 20 pages or so .

It was my favorite topic because IR was one of my optional subjects. I took a MOOC on Coursera on Terrorism and Counter Terrorism , had already watched plenty of documentaries. I have a flood of information and statistics in my mind that I want to pen down but time was short .

So below is a brief sketch of my outline . I might be missing many points as they have been deleted now from my mind .

[B]Introduction[/B]
[B]A Brief History Of terrorism.[/B]
- From Zealots to Hassan ibn Sabah then to Reign of Terror in France after French revolution
[B]How to define Terrorism ? A puzzle for whole world.[/B]
- I briefly discussed the till now there is no accurate definition of terrorism. Every nations defines terrorism according to her own political and social scenario

[B]A Brief History Of war on Terror [/B]
• How it all started.
• Who were the coalition partners?
• Prime objectives
• The geographical area where it was fought
Who First Coined The Term War on Term ,US President George W Bush on September 21st 2001.

[B]How WOT is responsible for mass abuse of human rights [/B]
- Become a mere tool by the western powers to invade any country
- Given rise to Islamic phobia around the world.
- It was a direct challenge to the credibility of UN.
- Given rise to extremism around the world. Like TTP , ISIS etc
- Human rights abuses by CIA , their concentration camps , drone strikes , using cruel interrogation tactics as confessed by the CIA chief
- Exploitation of the rights of PoWs Guantanamo Bay , Abu Ghuraib jail incidents
- Made world more insecure
- Lack of Free trials
- Curb on freedom of Expression .
- Responsible for the Economic Crunch of 2008 .
- Electronic surveillance of Citizens , US NSA Prism program , Edward Snowden Case .
- Given a free license to oppressive regimes around the world to curb the just right of self-determination such as In India , Israel

[B]Suggestions [/B]

[B]Conclusion [/B]

Waqas Kandwal Friday, October 30, 2015 12:44 PM

[QUOTE=shahrukhachakzai;878545]The topic of my essay was War on Terror and Human Rights Abuses . My outline was scattered over one and a half page and the whole essay consumed around 20 pages or so .

It was my favorite topic because IR was one of my optional subjects. I took a MOOC on Coursera on Terrorism and Counter Terrorism , had already watched plenty of documentaries. I have a flood of information and statistics in my mind that I want to pen down but time was short .

So below is a brief sketch of my outline . I might be missing many points as they have been deleted now from my mind .

[B]Introduction[/B]
[B]A Brief History Of terrorism.[/B]
- From Zealots to Hassan ibn Sabah then to Reign of Terror in France after French revolution
[B]How to define Terrorism ? A puzzle for whole world.[/B]
- I briefly discussed the till now there is no accurate definition of terrorism. Every nations defines terrorism according to her own political and social scenario

[B]A Brief History Of war on Terror [/B]
• How it all started.
• Who were the coalition partners?
• Prime objectives
• The geographical area where it was fought
Who First Coined The Term War on Term ,US President George W Bush on September 21st 2001.

[B]How WOT is responsible for mass abuse of human rights [/B]
- Become a mere tool by the western powers to invade any country
- Given rise to Islamic phobia around the world.
- It was a direct challenge to the credibility of UN.
- Given rise to extremism around the world. Like TTP , ISIS etc
- Human rights abuses by CIA , their concentration camps , drone strikes , using cruel interrogation tactics as confessed by the CIA chief
- Exploitation of the rights of PoWs Guantanamo Bay , Abu Ghuraib jail incidents
- Made world more insecure
- Lack of Free trials
- Curb on freedom of Expression .
- Responsible for the Economic Crunch of 2008 .
- Electronic surveillance of Citizens , US NSA Prism program , Edward Snowden Case .
- Given a free license to oppressive regimes around the world to curb the just right of self-determination such as In India , Israel

[B]Suggestions [/B]

[B]Conclusion [/B][/QUOTE]

Perfect!
This shows that if you have adequate knowledge about the given topic, you can pass it. Would you please tell us how you concluded your essay?

Mashaaal Friday, October 30, 2015 03:17 PM

[QUOTE=rossi;878521]What was your score ? I attempted the same but got 17 :cry.
Please tell us how long was your outline?[/QUOTE]
i don't know my score... as i have passed it so i will come to know about my marks after the interviews

my outline started from the few lines of first page and took the second full page.
the factor of proportion should be kept in mind while writing the outline. outline more than 1.5 or 2 pages for a 2ooo words essay (14-15 pages )seems really absurd.

rossi Friday, October 30, 2015 03:51 PM

[QUOTE=Mashaaal;878590]i don't know my score... as i have passed it so i will come to know about my marks after the interviews

my outline started from the few lines of first page and took the second full page.
the factor of proportion should be kept in mind while writing the outline. outline more than 1.5 or 2 pages for a 2ooo words essay (14-15 pages )seems really absurd.[/QUOTE]

Could you please share the outline that you wrote so that i get to know where was i wrong ??? Whatever you remember just a sketchy outline if not much i'll be grateful

Ammar ZR Friday, October 30, 2015 05:10 PM

kindly tell your number of words/pages

Sarmad 2 Friday, October 30, 2015 07:57 PM

I chose the topic: "I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it"

Outline: almost 1 page (a little less than a page so far as I remember)
Essay: a little over 3000 words

[B]I Disapprove of What You Say, But I Will Defend to the Death Your Right to Say it[/B]

[B]Introduction:[/B][LIST][*]Humans are gregarious beings from religious and evolutionary perspectives[*]This social nature leads to problems related to social interactions[*]One of these problems is that of 'right to free speech'[/LIST][B]Nature of Rights:[/B][LIST][*]What type of right is the right to free speech (moral or legal)?[*]Why is it a moral right?[*]Where do moral rights come from?[*]Social contract establishes it as a right[*]Its moral nature can be understood using moral theories of Kant and Mill[/LIST][B]Social Contract:[/B][LIST][*]What is it?[*]Give briefly, the perspectives of Hobbes, Locke and Rousseau[*]How it establishes free speech as a right which has to be defended by the state?[/LIST][B]Moral Theories:[/B][LIST][*]Teleological argument - Mill's Utilitarianism leads to greatest satisfaction for the greatest number of people if free speech is a right protected by the state[*]Deontological argument - Kant's duty based ethics make free speech people's duty, and its protection state's duty[*]Social contract establishes free speech as a right and moral theories help us realize this right's moral nature[/LIST][B]Contemporary Issue - Charlie Hebdo:[/B][LIST][*]Defend the right of everyone to make any remark so far as it can be counted as free speech[*]But blasphemy and hate speech do not count as free speech - why?[*]Show that blasphemy and hate speech are both immoral from utilitarian as well as deontological points of view[*]Any speech/expression which is immoral by the same theories which establish the right to free speech as a moral right cannot be considered as free speech[/LIST][B]Advantages and Necessity of Free Speech:[/B][LIST][*]Processes related to democracy are contingent on promotion and protection of free speech[*]These processes include infromed decision, women empowerment, affirmative action etc[*]Free speech was important even in history[*]If forward looking people did not support free speech, Prophets would never have been successful, new revolutionary ideas would have never taken root etc[/LIST][B]Conclusion[/B]

Towards Success Saturday, October 31, 2015 08:43 PM

[QUOTE=Sarmad 2;878730][B]I Disapprove of What You Say, But I Will Defend to the Death Your Right to Say it[/B]

[B]Introduction:[/B][LIST][*]Humans are gregarious beings from religious and evolutionary perspectives[*]This social nature leads to problems related to social interactions[*]One of these problems is that of 'right to free speech'[/LIST][B]Nature of Rights:[/B][LIST][*]What type of right is the right to free speech (moral or legal)?[*]Why is it a moral right?[*]Where do moral rights come from?[*]Social contract establishes it as a right[*]Its moral nature can be understood using moral theories of Kant and Mill[/LIST][B]Social Contract:[/B][LIST][*]What is it?[*]Give briefly, the perspectives of Hobbes, Locke and Rousseau[*]How it establishes free speech as a right which has to be defended by the state?[/LIST][B]Moral Theories:[/B][LIST][*]Teleological argument - Mill's Utilitarianism leads to greatest satisfaction for the greatest number of people if free speech is a right protected by the state[*]Deontological argument - Kant's duty based ethics make free speech people's duty, and its protection state's duty[*]Social contract establishes free speech as a right and moral theories help us realize this right's moral nature[/LIST][B]Contemporary Issue - Charlie Hebdo:[/B][LIST][*]Defend the right of everyone to make any remark so far as it can be counted as free speech[*]But blasphemy and hate speech do not count as free speech - why?[*]Show that blasphemy and hate speech are both immoral from utilitarian as well as deontological points of view[*]Any speech/expression which is immoral by the same theories which establish the right to free speech as a moral right cannot be considered as free speech[/LIST][B]Advantages and Necessity of Free Speech:[/B][LIST][*]Processes related to democracy are contingent on promotion and protection of free speech[*]These processes include infromed decision, women empowerment, affirmative action etc[*]Free speech was important even in history[*]If forward looking people did not support free speech, Prophets would never have been successful, new revolutionary ideas would have never taken root etc[/LIST][B]Conclusion[/B][/QUOTE]
You are going to score v good in essay paper. Your outline is awesome.. U designed it v well and justified v finely your topic

Sarmad 2 Saturday, October 31, 2015 09:46 PM

Thank you for your appreciation. However, the outline I produced during the exam was slightly compressed and therefore less detailed than this one. But fingers crossed... :D

Man Jaanbazam Saturday, October 31, 2015 10:19 PM

[QUOTE=Towards Success;879218]You are going to score [COLOR="red"][B]v [/B][/COLOR]good in essay paper. Your outline is awesome.. [COLOR="Red"][B]U[/B][/COLOR] designed it [COLOR="red"][B]v[/B][/COLOR] well and justified [B][COLOR="red"]v[/COLOR][/B] finely your topic[/QUOTE]

[B][I]Avoid regular use of "Netspeak" or other "cute" grammar or spelling (For example: writing "R U a woman?" instead of "Are You a woman?").It is against[/I][/B] [URL="http://www.cssforum.com.pk/general/forum-policies-rules-regulations/4443-forum-rules-policies.html"]Forum Rules[/URL]. [B][I]Use "[B]you[/B]" instead of "[B]u[/B]".[/I][/B]

safeer khan Saturday, October 31, 2015 10:19 PM

[QUOTE=Sarmad 2;879250]Thank you for your appreciation. However, the outline I produced during the exam was slightly compressed and therefore less detailed than this one. But fingers crossed... :D[/QUOTE]
Hello

Dear would you please check my essay that I have posted in another thread.

A word from the qualifier would certainly help me evaluate where I stand at the moment and what should I do to improve.

Thread name is "when life gives you lemons make lemonade"

Sent from my SM-N900 using Tapatalk

ibrarkhan Saturday, October 31, 2015 10:41 PM

I attempted the essay “War on terror has contributed to growing abuse of human rights". Since the topic was an area of my expertise-have studied war on terror considerably so contentwise it was always going to be plentiful, but still the information had to be funnelled. In the same dates, the US congressional Intelligence Committee had published a report regarding the human rights violations by the CIA so that was helpful and fresh in my mind. All I had to do was to arrange the points logically and avoid irrelevancy, incoherence and colloquial expressions,which I did. I was always confident of my essay but as they say expect the unexpected in CSS result so I was a bit nervous, but thanks Heavens! all the doubts vanished once the result was out.

safeer khan Saturday, October 31, 2015 10:48 PM

[QUOTE=ibrarkhan;879284]I attempted the essay “War on terror has contributed to growing abuse of human rights". Since the topic was an area of my expertise-have studied war on terror considerably so contentwise it was always going to be plentiful, but still the information had to be funnelled. In the same dates, the US congressional Intelligence Committee had published a report regarding the human rights violations by the CIA so that was helpful and fresh in my mind. All I had to do was to arrange the points logically and avoid irrelevancy, incoherence and colloquial expressions,which I did. I was always confident of my essay but as they say expect the unexpected in CSS result so I was a bit nervous, but thanks Heavens! all the doubts vanished once the result was out.[/QUOTE]
Dear

It must be a moment of great honour for you.
Congratulations.

And would you comment on the relevancy of my outlines that I have posted in another thread.

Sent from my SM-N900 using Tapatalk

10:03 AM (GMT +5)