-   CSS 2017 Exam (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-datesheets-results/previous-css-results-datesheets/css-2017-exam/)
-   -   What went wrong? (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-datesheets-results/previous-css-results-datesheets/css-2017-exam/117372-what-went-wrong.html)

umark Thursday, October 05, 2017 06:27 PM

What went wrong?

First and foremost, I would like to congratulate everyone who has qualified the written exam of CSS 2017. Well done and best of luck for the next steps in the process.

For the ones who did not make it (I am one of them), can we please discuss and make sense of what went wrong and why we did not pass? I'm just completely blank right now and don't know how to make sense of it all. I know everyone must be very emotional right now but I feel like this could act as a catharsis.

UET Boy Thursday, October 05, 2017 06:55 PM

You never know the psyche of those who shortlist aspirants. I'm afraid there is nothing to say.

Yousuf Aziz Thursday, October 05, 2017 09:22 PM

I got failed. It was my first attempt. I saw it coming in Feb. Thats why started prep for 2nd attempt in August with two different optionals.
CSS is really a game of nervers. One really needs to control nerves on exam night, first 30-40 minutes of first paper and on result day.

umark Friday, October 06, 2017 10:39 AM

After sleeping on it, I think I have come to terms with the result. It wasn't meant to be and it is what it is. One has to reconcile with the facts and move on.
But what frustrates me is that after spending 2.5 years on CSS, I am still as clueless as I was when I started this journey in 2015. I came back from the United Kingdom due to my sheer passion for Foreign Services. I incorporated everything I was told or asked to; join academies, English professors, practice, mock exams, how to write an answer, headings, outlines and yet here I am after 2 attempts, simply clueless as to why I failed. A "well-wisher" called me last night and told me that I should definitely go for the third attempt but I just feel like I don't have anything else to give or add to my preparation which could make a difference this time around.
I will also take this opportunity to urge all the dreamers to keep dreaming and work towards realizing your dreams. If you want to do CSS, please do it. Maybe the system is rigged but if there is anyone who can bring about a change, it's us. This system needs to be infused with new blood. Don't let anyone tell you that your dreams and aspirations are not valid. Make it happen!! Best of luck!!!:)):vic

turbulence Friday, October 06, 2017 10:54 AM

[QUOTE=umark;1042581]After sleeping on it, I think I have come to terms with the result. It wasn't meant to be and it is what it is. One has to reconcile with the facts and move on.
But what frustrates me is that after spending 2.5 years on CSS, I am still as clueless as I was when I started this journey in 2015. I came back from the United Kingdom due to my sheer passion for Foreign Services. I incorporated everything I was told or asked to; join academies, English professors, practice, mock exams, how to write an answer, headings, outlines and yet here I am after 2 attempts, simply clueless as to why I failed. A "well-wisher" called me last night and told me that I should definitely go for the third attempt but I just feel like I don't have anything else to give or add to my preparation which could make a difference this time around.
I will also take this opportunity to urge all the dreamers to keep dreaming and work towards realizing your dreams. If you want to do CSS, please do it. Maybe the system is rigged but if there is anyone who can bring about a change, it's us. This system needs to be infused with new blood. Don't let anyone tell you that your dreams and aspirations are not valid. Make it happen!! Best of luck!!!:)):vic[/QUOTE]

Which subject was it in your first attempt? And yes i can definitely understand the feeling. Going for CSS asks for a lot of sacrifice, the most important being our time, we wont get it back, may Allah give us patience.

Awesum Farhan Friday, October 06, 2017 11:01 AM

[QUOTE=umark;1042581]After sleeping on it, I think I have come to terms with the result. It wasn't meant to be and it is what it is. One has to reconcile with the facts and move on.
I will also take this opportunity to urge all the dreamers to keep dreaming and work towards realizing your dreams. If you want to do CSS, please do it. Maybe the system is rigged but if there is anyone who can bring about a change, it's us. This system needs to be infused with new blood. Don't let anyone tell you that your dreams and aspirations are not valid. Make it happen!! Best of luck!!!:)):vic[/QUOTE]
I rarely post anything. However, after reading your post, I would say you "One more time (Edison)". I, myself, could not get through, but i am committed, more determined, and looking for something bigger than i expected this time. Who knows, reward is merely a step ahead.

Theodosius Friday, October 06, 2017 11:32 AM

Same here, started in 2015. Taken two attempts ,but all of no use. I also have done everything to clear it. When are you going to take next attempt? I think one must take the one in 2018 to end this chapter as soon as possible.

kamee Friday, October 06, 2017 11:36 AM

Stay committed stay strong go for your 3rd attempt.. :-)

umark Friday, October 06, 2017 11:47 AM

[QUOTE=turbulence;1042585]Which subject was it in your first attempt? And yes i can definitely understand the feeling. Going for CSS asks for a lot of sacrifice, the most important being our time, we wont get it back, may Allah give us patience.[/QUOTE]

I failed in English Precis and Composition in 2016.

Theodosius Friday, October 06, 2017 11:51 AM

[QUOTE=umark;1042602]I failed in English Precis and Composition in 2016.[/QUOTE]

Umark are you going to take 3rd in 2018 or latter or never

The Elegent Friday, October 06, 2017 11:59 AM

My friend has cleared in her third attempt...i know many people who have cleared in their third attempt so i would say go for it u never know what universe has instored for u Good luck:)

umark Friday, October 06, 2017 12:02 PM

[QUOTE=Awesum Farhan;1042588]I rarely post anything. However, after reading your post, I would say you "One more time (Edison)". I, myself, could not get through, but i am committed, more determined, and looking for something bigger than i expected this time. Who knows, reward is merely a step ahead.[/QUOTE]

Haha....Thank you!! I don't think I am any less determined or committed than I was before. But I'd be lying if I said that this whole process hasn't played with my self-confidence. I have had my essays crossed out at a mere glance by CSP Officers turned CSS gurus and mind you, the same essays were appreciated by retired government english professors. I have had to listen to comments such as "You need to dumb it down". I didn't know that was a thing but okay. So yeah, I've had my fair share of moments of self-doubt. Nonetheless, I am an optimistic person so it's all good. I have learned so much through this experience and made some great study buddies/friends in the way, something I will always cherish. :)

umark Friday, October 06, 2017 12:05 PM

[QUOTE=Theodosius;1042606]Umark are you going to take 3rd in 2018 or latter or never[/QUOTE]

I will not be availing my third attempt, unfortunately. Best of luck with your next attempt. :))

Theodosius Friday, October 06, 2017 12:11 PM

[QUOTE=umark;1042615]I will not be availing my third attempt, unfortunately. Best of luck with your next attempt. :))[/QUOTE]

can I ask the reason? because I too am thinking same

nish Friday, October 06, 2017 12:14 PM

Plz suggest good book for IR which covers most of syllabus. Need help. Thanks in advance.

Theodosius Friday, October 06, 2017 12:18 PM

Nish;
JWT book is enough. moreover, try focusing more on essay and precis.

Awesum Farhan Friday, October 06, 2017 12:18 PM

[QUOTE=umark;1042613]Haha....Thank you!! I don't think I am any less determined or committed than I was before. But I'd be lying if I said that this whole process hasn't played with my self-confidence. I have had my essays crossed out at a mere glance by CSP Officers turned CSS gurus and mind you, the same essays were appreciated by retired government english professors. I have had to listen to comments such as "You need to dumb it down". I didn't know that was a thing but okay. So yeah, I've had my fair share of moments of self-doubt. Nonetheless, I am an optimistic person so it's all good. I have learned so much through this experience and made some great study buddies/friends in the way, something I will always cherish. :)[/QUOTE]
I was just bucking you up, and i was not saying it ironically. I never doubted your commitment or determination. I just wanted to say that you have gone through all the way , and somewhat near to your destination. Don't quite.! Give yourself another chance. Good Luck to you.

umark Friday, October 06, 2017 12:26 PM

[QUOTE=Theodosius;1042617]can I ask the reason? because I too am thinking same[/QUOTE]

No particular reason to be honest. I gave it my all but it clearly wasn't enough. Maybe iss mein merey Rab ki koi hikmat hogi. Just moving on to avail other opportunities in life.

raighulammustafa Friday, October 06, 2017 12:33 PM

Brother i left UK in 2013, gave 4 years of my life to competetive exams. Passed PMS twice and couldnt secure allocation. Flunked css twice. It was essay in css 2015 and this time it is going to be precise. Well im going to appear again with more determination. I am not the one who gives up so easily. May be God wants to test me.

nish Friday, October 06, 2017 01:14 PM

Is Comparative politics & international relations by Prakash chandra a good book for CSS IR both papers? Waiting for kind response. Regards.

ADIL KHESHGI Friday, October 06, 2017 01:30 PM

[QUOTE=nish;1042636]Is Comparative politics & international relations by Prakash chandra a good book for CSS IR both papers? Waiting for kind response. Regards.[/QUOTE]
No. Parkash's book is a good one (owing to its simple and comprehensible easy language and contents of smart details) but that's not suitable for CSS. As it's an old one, if you're still interested in it? Then you'll be in need of some other sources to made up for the post 1990's era. Regards

Yousuf Aziz Friday, October 06, 2017 01:32 PM

[QUOTE=ADIL KHESHGI;1042641]No. Parkash's book is a good one (owing to its simple and comprehensible easy language and contents of smart details) but that's not suitable for CSS. As it's an old one, if you're still interested in it? Then you'll be in need of some other sources to made up for the post 1990's era. Regards[/QUOTE]Parkash's latest edition has dedicated a section for contemporary issues. I have that one.

Sent from my SM-G355H using Tapatalk

nish Friday, October 06, 2017 03:05 PM

@yousaf . i also have the latest edition of prakash Chandra book. What I concluded after having going through briefly it doesn't cover the whole syllabus of IR paper. Which other book that holds a comprehensive and relevant material according to IR new syllabus should be consulting to sail through this subject. Help required.

Demonstrative Friday, October 06, 2017 05:36 PM

@ Shahkaar

I don't know why but I was very hopeful that you'make it anyway; Nonetheless "Difficult roads often lead to beautiful destinations". :)

@ Topic

I empathise with all those who couldn't make it. Anyone who has an iota of understanding of how this system works won't judge you for your competence or alternatively, for lack thereof. Not sure why certain predicaments in life remind me of what John Steinbeck wrote, "And all plans, safeguards, policing and coercion are fruitless. We find after years of struggle that we do not take a trip; a trip takes us."

Btw, there was this user Zainab S (if memory serves me). Does anyone have any idea if she made it or not? Not sure if she still logs in here. Just in case you are reading, Zainab, drop a post here.

Yousuf Aziz Friday, October 06, 2017 05:54 PM

[QUOTE=nish;1042661]@yousaf . i also have the latest edition of prakash Chandra book. What I concluded after having going through briefly it doesn't cover the whole syllabus of IR paper. Which other book that holds a comprehensive and relevant material according to IR new syllabus should be consulting to sail through this subject. Help required.[/QUOTE]

This may help you, see the IR & Current Affairs section's useful links:
[url]https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5lWqK77GgFhMjBnUkhocVh3cHM/view[/url]

Shahkaar Friday, October 06, 2017 07:53 PM

[QUOTE=Demonstrative;1042710]@ Shahkaar

I don't know why but I was very hopeful that you'make it anyway; Nonetheless "Difficult roads often lead to beautiful destinations". :)

@ Topic

I empathise with all those who couldn't make it. Anyone who has an iota of understanding of how this system works won't judge you for your competence or alternatively, for lack thereof. Not sure why certain predicaments in life remind me of what John Steinbeck wrote, "And all plans, safeguards, policing and coercion are fruitless. We find after years of struggle that we do not take a trip; a trip takes us."

Btw, there was this user Zainab S (if memory serves me). Does anyone have any idea if she made it or not? Not sure if she still logs in here. Just in case you are reading, Zainab, drop a post here.[/QUOTE]
Thanks for positive words. Waiting for DMC to find out what happened. How did you do?

Demonstrative Friday, October 06, 2017 10:17 PM

[QUOTE=Shahkaar;1042738]Thanks for positive words. Waiting for DMC to find out what happened. How did you do?[/QUOTE]

I didn't take the 2017 exam. I was lured into a job in a public regulatory body. By the time I decided to quit, it was kind of late. Gearing up for 2018 though, inshaAllah.

saniam Friday, October 06, 2017 10:35 PM

“Do not look where you fell, but where you slipped.”

[QUOTE=umark;1042414]First and foremost, I would like to congratulate everyone who has qualified the written exam of CSS 2017. Well done and best of luck for the next steps in the process.

For the ones who did not make it (I am one of them), can we please discuss and make sense of what went wrong and why we did not pass? I'm just completely blank right now and don't know how to make sense of it all. I know everyone must be very emotional right now but I feel like this could act as a catharsis.[/QUOTE]

After failing twice in a row, I could only say that no doubt CSPs, or those who clear it without allocation, are just better at it than failed candidates. They are better at preparing for exams, self-motivation and also at attempting paper. Rather than scape goating on FPSC, system of education and calling CSS a 'chakri', we should diagnose our weaknesses and mistakes. Nonetheless, self-evaluation is the need of hour; being emotional and sensitive never helps (unless you are an actor).

Cotton candy Friday, October 06, 2017 11:25 PM

[QUOTE=umark;1042613]Haha....Thank you!! I don't think I am any less determined or committed than I was before. But I'd be lying if I said that this whole process hasn't played with my self-confidence. I have had my essays crossed out at a mere glance by CSP Officers turned CSS gurus and mind you, the same essays were appreciated by retired government english professors. I have had to listen to comments such as "You need to dumb it down". I didn't know that was a thing but okay. So yeah, I've had my fair share of moments of self-doubt. Nonetheless, I am an optimistic person so it's all good. I have learned so much through this experience and made some great study buddies/friends in the way, something I will always cherish. :)[/QUOTE]

What did people mean by "You need to dumb it down"?

DewDropsInDesert Saturday, October 07, 2017 11:34 PM

My story is not more different than yours, but the only difference is that I cleared it in my 2nd attempt i.e. CSS 2017. But after seeing your passion for civil service, I would pray for your success. You can ask for any sort of help or suggestion if you want to.

Cheers!

Zainab S Sunday, October 08, 2017 05:28 PM

[QUOTE=Demonstrative;1042710]
Btw, there was this user Zainab S (if memory serves me). Does anyone have any idea if she made it or not? Not sure if she still logs in here. Just in case you are reading, Zainab, drop a post here.[/QUOTE]

I didn't make it. I did post here on the result day but it was deleted.

UET Boy Sunday, October 08, 2017 06:37 PM

After reading comments, I'd say that one needs a sheer stroke of luck to pass the written exam. After all, they drop a lot of competent people who find it hard to digest that why on earth have they been dropped.

Demonstrative Sunday, October 08, 2017 09:20 PM

@ Zainab S

As cliched as it may sound, let me say that I always loved to read your posts here. Was kind of certain that you'd make it , and I don't feel good about your not getting through. I wish you all the luck in the world for your future endeavours.

Will you be taking the 2018 exam?

gintino Monday, October 09, 2017 04:04 AM

Allow me the liberty to shout some things:

Post 2013, CSS is a game of luck!

Passing Essay/Precis is definitely impossible if luck does not favour you! Students from elite institutions pass. It's not that you have to dumb yourself down to the level of an examiner. Even people with horrible grammar pass the exam. It's just that either the checking is random or the commission deliberately fails students cos if the examiner can pardon unforgiving English, why on earth would he fail people who write decent stuff!

There is something called scoring trend. US History has been pretty high scoring in these past few years. I have heard this time they have badly butchered it.

At least 800 to 900 candidates deserve to pass every year. They don't. I think FPSC deliberately fails students. Look, there is no denying the fact that you need to pull up your socks and leave no stone unturned during your prep. That won't guarantee you success. Even if you go to academies, English tutors, online research journals, foreign books et al, you won't pass until it's not destined for you. This exam lacks reliability. It's not a reliable exam. People scoring 750 one year end up getting 650 the next year because of scoring trend. There is so much wrong with CSS system that I don't know where to begin from. 600-700 talented students, who have worked their asses off and that too in a guided direction, fail every year. It's like putting your name in a slot machine.

Toppers of one year pass the very next year. 3 candidates from 2014 Batch (Merit No.1 , 3 and 5) appeared again in 2015. They all failed. Even this year, one girl failed the exam and she was, I guess, amongst the top 6 or 7 candidates of 2016!

To all those who still boast about their success in CSS or say that CSS is not a matter of luck, I pray to God to humiliate them further in the process if they have any attempt(s) left. Those who are officers or qualifiers should show some grace and accept the reality.

PS: Well, people who write stuff like " I doesn't know ", "It did took me one and half a hour to do it", "Agriculture is sun-setting industry onwards" and "Congrats to a team who haven't play a test in his home group from last 7 years" have passed the exam. That too, post 2013. Two of them are in DMG, one in PSP and the other one in FSP. I know all of them personally!!!!! I have a few screenshots as well. I can forward it to anyone who's interested.

gintino Monday, October 09, 2017 04:17 AM

umark, Theosidius, Demonstrative, raighulammustafa, shakaar, all third attempters and the second-attempters!! Listen to me!! I WOULD JUST HAVE TO SHOUT AT THE TOP OF MY LUNGS TO GRAB YOUR ATTENTION!! AND WRITE INFORMALLY TOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Guys, this is a lottery ticket! You guys lack nothing. Nothing. Just bad luck because of this rotten system. CSS is a game of luck. Esp post-2013. You guys deserved to pass. But FPSC does it every year. I hope they change it sooner and no later. Just appear in the exams. Since it's a matter of luck, I am sure I would see your names in the list next year. Well, some of you, at least. Maybe none of you cos it's just luck. This exam does not measure your intellect, critical thought, English etc. 2000 people have it all yet only 2 to 300 pass. It's a lottery! Just put your name in the slot machine.. Look, graduates from Cambridge and Oxford pass in their very first attempts. Some pass it in their second or third. Some don't. Some graduates of Punjab University, GC College and Quaid e Azam University pass it in their first, some in second and the rest in third. Some do not pass. It's got nothing to do with your English or dumbing it down. It's just totally, ducking random stuff! So relax! Please, all of you should appear. And appear in the very next year.. Allah karam kare ga.. Jiss ke haqq mei behtar ho ga, usse mil jae gi.. Unfortunately written exam should not be based on luck laikan bass CSS mei hai hee luck.. kya karein abb! It needs to be thoroughly standardized!

Wishing you all the very best of luck!

Theodosius Monday, October 09, 2017 11:05 AM

[B]gintino,[/B]

yes bro,
thanks for such an amazing response. your analysis of CSS is very accurate. Students like Sana Rasool can fail this; then what else to expect from fpsc. This mysterious way of shortlisting the candidates must be eliminated.

thanks again

Mainstream Monday, October 09, 2017 11:56 AM

You are absolutely right. But we can't ignore a very high ratio of O/A Levels among the passing candidates just because their English is up to the mark.

Theodosius Monday, October 09, 2017 11:58 AM

[QUOTE=Mainstream;1043215]You are absolutely right. But we can't ignore a very high ratio of O/A Levels among the passing candidates just because their English is up to the mark.[/QUOTE]

Who told you this?
There never went a study about that could tell us this. This is your guess ,and it could be wrong.

Mainstream Monday, October 09, 2017 12:09 PM

Let's carry out a survey ;)

umark Monday, October 09, 2017 12:12 PM

[QUOTE=Mainstream;1043215]You are absolutely right. But we can't ignore a very high ratio of O/A Levels among the passing candidates just because their English is up to the mark.[/QUOTE]

I don't think that really matters. I had distinction in English in my O and A levels. I had a distinction in English in my undergrad degree. Yet, I've failed twice.:D

12:34 PM (GMT +5)