08:01 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group VII > Journalism & Mass Communication

Journalism & Mass Communication Notes and Topics on Journalism

Old Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Thanked 1,387 Times in 547 Posts
SYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to behold
Default Pms mass communication 2011

MASS COMMUNICATION NOTES FOR PMS

Jordan News Agency
Organizational Chart

Organizational Structure
1. News Department

2. Department of Reportage

3. Editing Department

4. Internet and Information Department

5. Technical Department

6. Department of Administrative and Financial Affairs

News department

1. The news department includes:

2. The news reporters section,

3. The parliamentary affairs section,

4. The photo processing section

5. The foreign correspondents section.

The department is involved in making news coverage of political, economic,

social and cultural events in and outside Jordan.

Department of reportage

Department of reportage is mainly concerned with preparing reportage,

news studies and reports featuring Jordan's accomplishments in various fields.

Editing Department

Editing Department is involved in receiving news from the News

Department

Doing the necessary editing and retransmitting the news items to all

subscribers and translating news items .

Internet and information department

The Internet department includes :

1. The Internet News Section .

2. The Information Section .

This section has :

1.2 The Information Archive

2.2 The Electronic Photo Archive

3.2 The Film Archive

The department does the following :

1. Preparing news bulletins in Arabic and English and transmitting
the news stories through the Internet media service

2. Transmitting photos through the network .

3. receiving news available at the Internet and choosing those
that best suit the Agency to be transmitted through
Petra transmission network.

4. classifying, documenting and storing information
received from different sources.

Technical department

The department contains the following sections:

1. The computer section

2. The maintenance section

3. The typing section

The department is mainly concerned with the technical matters

related to the equipment used. The department is doing its best to

provide the agency with most up - to - date equipment and

serving the Jordanian and foreign media in Jordan.

Department of administrative and financial affairs

It has tow sections :

1. The Personal Section

2. The Financial Section

The department is mainly concerned with the administrative

and financial issues of the Agency staff with a view to secure the

most appropriate atmosphere for carrying out the job effectively.

Maza deti han zindagi ki thokerin unko,jinhen NAAM-E-KHUDA le kar sanbhal janey ki adat ho.
The Following User Says Thank You to SYEDA SABAHAT For This Useful Post:
saim n babar (Saturday, September 10, 2011)

SYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to behold

The importance of research in public relations
How research can help you promote your business

Many public relations practitioners count communication and strategy as the most valuable skills in their field. But in practice, one cannot put those skills to good use without a foundation of research and information gathering. It’s important to know a client’s needs, target market, and available resources in order to draw up a good PR plan. For example, before submitting a story to a magazine, you have to know its readership and editorial standards to make sure your piece will fit in.

There are various types of research involved in PR, such as market research, industry research, news tracking, and competitive analysis. Each project requires different research methods, but one thing is constant: all PR projects involve research to some extent. Here are some of the ways that research can help improve PR practice:

Knowing your client – When you present your PR plan to a client, you should be prepared to justify your ideas – why you chose a certain medium or publication, how you came up with the tagline, or how you think a certain step will contribute to the overall plan. If your plan is substantiated by research, you shouldn’t have trouble answering such questions.
Finding your market – One of the first things you need to know when promoting a product or service is who your market is. Are you selling the product to teens or adults, males or females, students or professionals? Market research involves more than demographics – you have to analyze the behavior, lifestyle, and preferences of your audience. Knowing your target market will help you determine what your message is and how to design it in a way that your audience can understand and appreciate.
Choosing your media – When you’ve put your message together, the next step is to choose a medium for sending it. You need research to find out which media your client can afford, and which ones will bring in the most returns in the shortest time. If you’re looking into field sales or promotion, you also need research to stay updated on industry events that can be useful for your PR campaign. It also involves a bit of market research, because you have to know which medium is preferred by your target market. You wouldn’t run a news release if your research shows that your audience doesn’t read newspapers.
Finally: Making your pitch

If you want to promote your business in the media, you will have to pitch your story to editors, producers, or reporters. In most cases, other PR firms or businesses will be competing for the space or airtime. Your pitch has to be well-planned and well-researched for it to stand out from the other pitches. Look up the magazine’s reader profile and editorial policy, or find out the ratings of the station or program you are pitching to. Be prepared to answer questions about your client’s business. This can make you appear more knowledgeable and responsible, and helps build credibility for both your firm and your client.

SOURCE: WEBSITE FOR MARKETING STRAGETGY (P FRIEND)

Maza deti han zindagi ki thokerin unko,jinhen NAAM-E-KHUDA le kar sanbhal janey ki adat ho.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to SYEDA SABAHAT For This Useful Post:
Fading Glimpse (Wednesday, April 20, 2011), saim n babar (Saturday, September 10, 2011)

i will try to post geuine material with source. i will post rest of the topics later

The Following User Says Thank You to SYEDA SABAHAT For This Useful Post:
Intifada (Wednesday, May 29, 2013)

Fading Glimpse is just really niceFading Glimpse is just really niceFading Glimpse is just really niceFading Glimpse is just really nice

sabahat i need some suggestions i have gone through the whole syllabi but am unable to memorize things. should i make points and then try to memorize them or thorough study would help???
SYEDA SABAHAT (Thursday, April 21, 2011)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Roll no 8157Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,849 Times in 1,328 Posts
Tassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdom

@ Sister SYEDA SABAHAT!
AoA Sister suggest me good books for the subject.

I have come to know about these books.
Exploring Journalism by Mirza Muhammad Yousaf
Competitive Journalism by Abid Tehami
Journalism Ato Z Syed Tanvir Naqvi
Journalism Book by Dr. Mehdi Hasan.
Waiting anxiously for your reply.
And thanks for starting such a useful thread.
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: AppreciationBest Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: Best ModGold Medal: Awarded to those members with  maximum number of  reputation points. - Issue reason: For the year 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2008Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason: More than 5 years of dedicated servicesModerator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason:

Last Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardom

@ Sabahat

Sorry to interrupt but you are misleading members. The source you mentioned is for Web Marketing Strategies that you have amended as "WEBSITE FOR MARKETING STRAGETGY". There is a hell of a difference in both.
Old Thursday, April 21, 2011

no madam actually i was to writae k ye web markating strategy ki wabsite ha.i think galdi ma kuch aur hi likha gya ha.i will takecare next time i cant imagine to mislead my friends.i accept my mistake madam and i appologise.

@ jiashah agar apko yaad krne ma mushkil ho rahi ha to pehle points banao aur unko smajhne ki kosish kro than un points ko khud extend kro if your english is good believe me app books se zyada acha notes bana sako gi.bcoz in this whole process alot of new ideas will come into your mind. i hope this will solve your problems if not then let me know.

@tasawar ji thank you for your support.well i myself consulted three books and internet. i read mirza muhammad yousaf book.abid tehami book,and one was in urdu.i cant remember its name bcoz that was my friends books he has taken that book back(sorry) nad yes internet. dont worry i will make notes of all topics included in pms syllabus.

guys plz agar mujhse koi mistake ho jaya kare to bta dya kro.mujhi wiase he itne mote glassess lagi han nhi pta chalta muji.

Fading Glimpse (Thursday, April 21, 2011), Tassawur (Thursday, April 21, 2011)

NEWS

DEFINITIONS

News is any event,idea or opinion that`s timely,that`s interest or effects a large number of people or community and that`s capable of being understood by them.
OR

News is anything and everything interesting about life and materials in all their menifestation.
OR

News is the variation of the unusual and normal picture of life.

STRUCTURE OF NEWS
There are three major parts of structure of a news.
1:-LEAD:- Introductroy paragraph of a news story
*essence of the whole news.
*normally two sentances of 20-25 words.
*sometime consist of one sentence.
*usually start with name,noun or article.

2:-BODY
*ARRANGEMENT of facts clearly and concisely.
*use of relevant examples and illustrations.
*use of statements by quoting sources and authorities.

3:-conclusion
a news must have formal conclusion with a definite idea in it.

SUB-EDITOR

He plays a very important role in publication a newspaper.he`s a very important member of a newspaper.the quality and style of a newspaper is depend on the good work done by sub-editor.in short we can say that he is the key stone of the arch.

FUNCTIONS OF SUB-EDITOR:-
*correction of mistakes
*improvement(in language and style of the news)
*appropriatness of introductroy paragraph
*re-writing(if news story is in dilapidated shape)
*brief and chesive presentaion of news story
*arranging the jumbled parts of news story
*re-arranging different phases of news story(amalgamating prevous phase of the story with new one)
*affixing the headline

QUALITIES OF A SUB-EDITOR:-

*he should have linguistic mastery.
*should have mental alertness
*he should be aware of the news value or he should be news value conciousness.
*he should be a man of strong nerves to withstand the stresses.
*should be mastered in using specific terminology
*awareness of techniques(like pictoral assessment,setting of paper e-t-c)
* he should be aware of the know how of proof reading.

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to SYEDA SABAHAT For This Useful Post:
abbasbajwa (Tuesday, June 26, 2012), SADIA SHAFIQ (Thursday, April 21, 2011), Tassawur (Thursday, April 21, 2011)

i am posting first topics of both papers 1 & 2 so that we should cover it in time as have ample time to revise it.

PAPER 2, MASS COMMUNICATION

*COMMUNICATION
*DEFINITIONS
*PROCESS
*ESSENTIALS OF COMMUNICATION
*BARREIERS OF COMMUNICATIONS

2:-OPINION LEADERS

3:-TWO STEP FLOW COMMUNICATION

CSS Forums - View Single Post - Journalism/comunication

CSS Forums - View Single Post - Journalism: Section A

plz koi aur bhi mra sath da.apni dua ma yad rakea ga.regards sabahat

alonesoul (Sunday, October 09, 2011), Tassawur (Thursday, April 21, 2011)