-   Accounting & Auditing (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-i/accounting-auditing/)
-   -   Plz guide me about accounting and auditing (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-i/accounting-auditing/33975-plz-guide-me-about-accounting-auditing.html)

Zohaib786 Saturday, May 22, 2010 08:09 PM

Plz guide me about accounting and auditing

brother raz.. plz guide me about accounting and auditing.. is the british and american rules have impact on the papers.. bcz we have studied in american method. meig. uzry..hilton books.. brother what u suggest do i opt it,, and second plz will u clear me about the combination of total sub-subjects in this option.. i mean i have to study taxation and auditing.. for this or any 1 of them.

Raz Saturday, May 22, 2010 10:25 PM

[QUOTE=Zohaib786;187224]brother raz.. plz guide me about accounting and auditing.. is the british and american rules have impact on the papers.. bcz we have studied in american method. meig. uzry..hilton books.. [/QUOTE]

Paper-1: Financial Accounting
Rules are not substantially different whereas terminology do differ. Like Debtors in British and Accounts Receivables in American. Creditors in British and accounts payable in American. Pakistani books rely more on British terminology. Paper checkers prefer Pakistani trend which is covered in M.A. Ghani's books and Petiwala's books. They have followed British terminology.

[QUOTE]brother what u suggest do i opt it,, [/QUOTE]

Yes, if you have reasonable understanding of accountancy and auditing. Accounting can enhance your merit.

[QUOTE]and second plz will u clear me about the combination of total sub-subjects in this option.. i mean i have to study taxation and auditing.. for this or any 1 of them.[/QUOTE]

Paper-2: You have to study Cost Accounting, Auditing, Taxation, and some topics of Business organization. You don't have option to skip any of these 4 subjects. However; you need not study 100% of these 4 subjects. Only selective topics are sufficient to attempt paper for 200 marks.

Zohaib786 Saturday, May 22, 2010 11:00 PM

first of all thanks alot for reply!brother if i prepare from matz usry for cost acct,hilton for managerial portion, meigs for accounting 1 and muhammad azam mughal book for taxation is it enough? while the remaining part INSHALLAH from management...bcz brother i had observed from the past papers the trend of quetions are deemed to be like pakistani writers type qts..

Raz Saturday, May 22, 2010 11:05 PM

Yes, your book selection is fine. Auditing from?

Zohaib786 Saturday, May 22, 2010 11:12 PM

brother i had got notes bcz in bba we study from many books in ( auditing principles) .. but not from a specific book.. will u please suggest 1 for auditing and also for practise question books for cost and part 1? brother i got good concepts about iaccounting got A grade in all accounting subjects except mangerial .. but touching my books for almost after 2 years..as you are experienced. what you say how much time it will take to prepare it ?

Raz Sunday, May 23, 2010 12:08 AM

Go through following posts:

[url]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/120047-post58.html[/url]

[url]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/120054-post59.html[/url]

Zohaib786 Monday, May 31, 2010 06:40 PM

[QUOTE=Raz;187275]Go through following posts:

[url]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/120047-post58.html[/url]

[url]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/120054-post59.html[/url][/QUOTE]
brother i bought a book for taxation by muhammad azam mughal .. but it was written on it tax year 2006-2007.. is it ok ?

Raz Monday, May 31, 2010 09:48 PM

[QUOTE=Zohaib786;189195]brother i bought a book for taxation by muhammad azam mughal .. but it was written on it tax year 2006-2007.. is it ok ?[/QUOTE]

No, it won't help you, try to purchase current edition.

sanzainab Thursday, September 23, 2010 01:47 AM

Raz bhai need your help.............. Sana zainab

Raz bhai pls help me out how can i contact you direct on daily basis ?????????????????????

Raz Thursday, September 23, 2010 01:54 AM

[QUOTE=sanzainab;214574]Raz bhai pls help me out how can i contact you direct on daily basis ?????????????????????[/QUOTE]

You need not contact me on daily basis, just post your issues here, we will try our level best to resolve one by one.

If you still need to contact me then find my e-mail id from my profile and send me your queries.

Nidaa Wednesday, December 08, 2010 12:24 PM

@ Raz

can u pls highlight which topics are important wid respect to financial accounting and cost accounting??? does one have to do process costing in deatail or wud an overview suffice???

Raz Sunday, December 12, 2010 11:17 PM

[QUOTE=Nidaa;244384]can u pls highlight which topics are important wid respect to financial accounting and cost accounting??? does one have to do process costing in deatail or wud an overview suffice???[/QUOTE]

[FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=3]Financial Accounting (Paper-1):[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=3]Core Topics:[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=3]1. Final Accounts (Balance Sheet, Income Statement)[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=3]2. Partnership[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=3]3. Ratio Analysis[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=3]4. Cash Budget[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=3] [/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=3]Additional Topics:[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=3]5. Income and Expenditure Account , Receipt and Payment Account[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=3]6. Single Entry[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=3]Paper-2 (Cost Accounting):[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=3]1. Cost of Goods Manufactured Statement and unit cost[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=3]2. Job order Costing[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=3]3. Process Costing. Yes in detail.[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=3]4. Standard Costing (Variance Analysis)[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=3]Regards[/SIZE][/FONT]

achiever Wednesday, December 15, 2010 01:43 PM

Yes! Difference matters

If you do analysis of past papers we will be able to identify a list of questions which requires British terminologies and some questions requires American Context. so you should base your decision about choosing between American and British, on your analysis of past papers Questions.

Farah Zaidi Tuesday, February 19, 2013 10:26 PM

@ raz
can v opt more than one subject from each group... i wll INSHALLAH appear in 2014 exams and my optionals are

accounting & auditing
economics
business administration
statistics

is this combination right for a high score????

atifdada Tuesday, February 19, 2013 10:50 PM

:blink hain ? tum nay aik hi group say 3 papers kaisay select kar liye ? :thinking

Raz Tuesday, February 19, 2013 11:42 PM

[QUOTE=Farah Zaidi;560232]@ raz
can v opt more than one subject from each group... i wll INSHALLAH appear in 2014 exams and my optionals are

accounting & auditing
economics
business administration
statistics

is this combination right for a high score????[/QUOTE]

You can not opt economics with Accounting & Auditing
You can opt only one subject from Accountancy group.
General restriction: One can not opt subjects of more than 200 marks from a single group. Besides, each group has its own filters/limiting factors/restrictions.

I won't recommend Statistics.

Farah Zaidi Wednesday, February 20, 2013 05:56 PM

[QUOTE=Raz;560315]You can not opt economics with Accounting & Auditing
You can opt only one subject from Accountancy group.
General restriction: One can not opt subjects of more than 200 marks from a single group. Besides, each group has its own filters/limiting factors/restrictions.

I won't recommend Statistics.[/QUOTE]

thank u...being new making me confuse..now i got the point..n what if we have not studied the subjects mentioned...like psychology,zoology,and language subject are totally new to me....

Farah Zaidi Wednesday, February 20, 2013 05:57 PM

[QUOTE=atifdada;560265]:blink hain ? tum nay aik hi group say 3 papers kaisay select kar liye ? :thinking[/QUOTE]

it happens just because of lack of knowledge...:glare:

rafia syed Wednesday, February 20, 2013 07:29 PM

[QUOTE=Raz;560315]

I won't recommend Statistics.[/QUOTE]

Sir, statistics is not scoring subject?? Plz share your experience..

Raz Wednesday, February 20, 2013 09:36 PM

[QUOTE=rafia syed;560723]Sir, statistics is not scoring subject?? Plz share your experience..[/QUOTE]

History of stats doesn't encourage us to opt it. Better to go through the past papers of stats and marking trend. Try to find out some marks sheets of candidates.

alibintahir Saturday, March 16, 2013 10:27 AM

from which book i should prepare cash budget topic????

alibintahir Monday, March 25, 2013 07:16 AM

cash budget can be prepared from finanacial management by van horn

Beauty Monday, March 25, 2013 12:52 PM

This is the type of budget i.e; Cash budget. you can easily find it in any cost and management accounting book.

Take a look:
[url]http://www.slideshare.net/barneyn/preparation-of-a-cash-budget[/url]

you will have other useful links for cash budget in this site.

nazii Monday, March 25, 2013 01:35 PM

[QUOTE=alibintahir;573182]from which book i should prepare cash budget topic????[/QUOTE]

Cash Budget has been elaborated extensively in Management Accounting by Colin Drury,recommended book for Acma and CA courses.

seher bano Monday, March 25, 2013 04:15 PM

[QUOTE=alibintahir;577124]cash budget can be prepared from finanacial management by van horn[/QUOTE]

I have van horn but I could not find Cash budget in It. Can you please specify page number and chapter; and edition of that book??

Beauty Monday, March 25, 2013 04:21 PM

[QUOTE=alibintahir;573182]from which book i should prepare cash budget topic????[/QUOTE]

Management and cost accounting by colin drury 4th edition, chapter number 17, page number 481 cash budget.:wacko:

Gorkun Wednesday, June 05, 2013 03:31 PM

Can you please suggest book for auditing and accounting in a single reply.... i have just done BSc hons in Accounting and Finance from LUMS. which books should I consult.... ?? Thanks

02:57 PM (GMT +5)