03:12 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group I > Computer Science

Old Monday, April 26, 2010

m.furqan08 will become famous soon enough
Default How to Prepare for Computer Science

Salam,i am furqan,i have done BS(CS) from University of Karachi ,and i will apperar in 2011.

Any senior member who took CS as optional,kindly advise me,how should i start preparing for this subject,because the course is very long.

waiting for reply.

engr.jibran is on a distinguished road

I am Computer systems engineer from UET peshawar. I am also appearing in 2011 CSS but confused about computer science course. Any one who can guide me about computer science preparation. Regards
39th CTP (PSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit 175, CE 2013 - Merit 71

ASPZIA is on a distinguished road

u both are CS students then its no problem i am a telecomer bt had CS as optional in 2010 ............. its simple if u r a CS student .......jst start preparing ur university lectures they taught u from day 1..... starting from cin and cout ..... u hv to jst refresh all ur courses the C programing jst the basics then the data structures, database, OOP , operating systems , web programming , computer architecture and networks ..........jst be simple repeat all ur university CS courses and its gup shap .........best ov luck
Old Sunday, May 02, 2010
39th CTP (RCTG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit 33

anwarsadat1980 is on a distinguished road

i had Comp Sc: as an optional subject nd secured 75/100 in CSS 2007 and 65/100 in CSS 2008. CS ws my optional in CSS 2010. i secured good marks even if m not purely comp sc student,i had done MBA in IT. my trick ws that i gathered and concentrated on repeated questions of every subject in comp sc: from past ten year papers plus general and superficial study of whole subjects. i ignored subjects of web programmng and Computer archetuctr. this is i think the only method to secure good marks in Comp sc bcoz of lengthy syllabus of comp sc: believe me this will help a lot
The Following User Says Thank You to anwarsadat1980 For This Useful Post:
Andrew Dufresne (Sunday, May 02, 2010)
Old Thursday, May 20, 2010

Thanked 1,078 Times in 408 Posts
Asif Yousufzai is just really niceAsif Yousufzai is just really niceAsif Yousufzai is just really niceAsif Yousufzai is just really niceAsif Yousufzai is just really nice
Default Comp Sci

Dear i m secnd to anwarsadat.......this strategy is good nd fruitful for atleast CS paper... CS paper has a lengthy course and one will has to prepare it tactically in order to get 60 plus marks......\

goodluck brother
Old Thursday, May 20, 2010
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009, CE 2012 Roll no.

Shikva is a jewel in the roughShikva is a jewel in the roughShikva is a jewel in the rough

Aslaam o Alaikum

CS is not a tough subject but course is lengthy as all the core subjects of Computer science is included in it.So its better to start studeying your lectures and also they are not demanding your conceptual views but bookish definitions so try it this way.
I am software engr from FAST lhr and also teaching there but it was not a piece of cake when i found the paper in front of me.So do not take it easy but its scoring so best a luck.
Old Friday, May 28, 2010
39th CTP (PSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit 175, CE 2013 - Merit 71

ASPZIA is on a distinguished road

@anwar dear sir I never said tat dont see the past papers ........It is the overall strategy for all the CSS papers ........I jst advised both of them jst to make a start by revising all their university lectures as they alredy hv stdied the courses.......I jst gave them the direction to start ......I never opposed the method ov seeing the old papers it is applicable ....bt if some body has studied all the courses of a subject and the sbjct is his prime area then i do feel its not a bad idea to revise the things they already hv studied.....!!!!! regards
Old Sunday, July 11, 2010

Janas is on a distinguished road
Default hi

Yea, the CS paper is much conceptual and I believe:

if one does basics of Networking, OS, C++ programming along with Data Structure, Computer Architecture ..v basics plus some Webprogramming concepts I am sure even if you dont so well you can get upto 58 marks which you will get in other subjects like Sociology only if you attempted it very well!

So computer graduates could go for CS. But its more like playing in a Casino because if you score you score more than 70 and if you dont you could end up like 50 or 55 but not lesser than that for CS grads I bet! even you go with little prep!
Old Wednesday, July 14, 2010

breal is on a distinguished road

@anwarsadat1980

can you please list the topics which are important keeping in view the past papers.

Old Friday, September 17, 2010

mr.baqir is on a distinguished road
Default Help required in CS

AOA.I am Electrical Engineer and i have plan to opt CS in the optional subjects.I may not appear in 2011 coz its too late now to prepare.But im studying for the next exam.I have seen the syllabus of CS,its very lengthy,but i need some tips and advices to cover the course effectively.I have no idea where to start from.Please mention the books and topics so that i cover them first.I have already studied some topics like programming,data structure,networking but i need to study the web programming and OS.Pleas help in this regard.