Sunday, May 05, 2024
08:12 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group I > Political Science

Old Monday, April 06, 2009

The Star has a spectacular aura aboutThe Star has a spectacular aura aboutThe Star has a spectacular aura about
Default Need help in Political Science.

AoA Sire

I need a bit of ur guidance.I have opted for pol.science.i need ur help regarding Western Political Thoughts.i have prepared Plato.Aristotle and Machiavelli while from Hobbes, Locke, and Rousseau i prepared their views about state of nature,natural rights,soveriegnty and social contract.what actually i wanna know is that whether these topics are sufficient? or i should work on some more? looking for quick reply.

Tariq Farooq

regards.
Old Tuesday, April 07, 2009
Khadim-e-Fareed
Moderator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason: Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: Roll Number 3208-CSS 2008Best Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: Best Mod 2009Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2009Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,189 Times in 442 Posts
Mumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by farooq_basir
AoA Sire

I need a bit of ur guidance.I have opted for pol.science.i need ur help regarding Western Political Thoughts.i have prepared Plato.Aristotle and Machiavelli while from Hobbes, Locke, and Rousseau i prepared their views about state of nature,natural rights,soveriegnty and social contract.what actually i wanna know is that whether these topics are sufficient? or i should work on some more? looking for quick reply.

Tariq Farooq

regards.

well i don't think that i am worth advising but if you insist i can give you few tips .
As with every paper, past papers are the best guide. If you scroll through them you will see that Plato is the most important. Almost every year a question is asked from plato. Therefore i advise you to do everything from Plato that is

1. The Ideal state of Plato
2. Education System
3. Communism of Plato

After that you should also prepare Aristotle. As you have prepared the rest all i can advise you to prepare Montesquieu, Karl Marx and Machiavelli.( very important for css 2009 )
If you have time then Farabi and Allama Iqbal will suffice.
Please do all these don't leave anything on luck like me, as i due to shortage of time i could do only 4 questions from Political thought and due to Allah's karam 2 of them appeared in the question paper . Still as i was not much acquainted with Paper 1 in scored only 57 while in Paper 2 Alhamdulilah i scored 72.

Last edited by Mumtaz Hayat Maneka; Tuesday, April 07, 2009 at 04:39 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mumtaz Hayat Maneka For This Useful Post:
The Star (Tuesday, April 07, 2009), pure (Friday, July 03, 2009)

The Star has a spectacular aura aboutThe Star has a spectacular aura aboutThe Star has a spectacular aura about

Billions ov thanks sir.i just can hope that luck mays also favour me
Honestly speaking i am looking to score just passing marks in pol.science as this subject is alien to me. i am determined to compesate in indo pak history.pak affairs and cocst law.Is this a right approach? i mean "to concentrate more on ur strong subjects and just look to pass those to which u r not familiar with? another worry is const law.looks very easy but this year it disappointed many candidates.what r ur recommendations about const law?
Khadim-e-Fareed
Moderator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason: Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: Roll Number 3208-CSS 2008Best Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: Best Mod 2009Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2009Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Mumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by farooq_basir
i am determined to compesate in indo pak history.pak affairs and cocst law.Is this a right approach? i mean "to concentrate more on ur strong subjects and just look to pass those to which u r not familiar with? another worry is const law.looks very easy but this year it disappointed many candidates.what r ur recommendations about const law?
Dear Farooq

i suggest you to please change your strategy. It should be the other way around. That is you should focus to make up the deficiency which may arise in History of India and Pakistan History, Pakistan Affairs and Constitutional Law. I will try to summarize few things for you.

Pakistan Affairs

Score has always been low in this subject. This year the trend has changed and we see candidates scoring in the range of even 60-65, which was not even considered possible in the years 2001-2007 ( very rarely some did score ). Even 50-55 marks are considered as excellent marks in this paper. So try to prepare accordingly.

History of India and Pakistan.

This is the subject which has been badly hit by the so called "criteria change".Last year the average score in this paper was around 110-120 but this year the average score has fallen to 85-95 and to the surprise of many a huge number of candidates have failed in this subject :o.so Please do not take it easily, if the examiner remains the same i think you guys will have a tough time in scoring even 120.

Constitutional Law

Has been on the lower side since 2007 and i think this year the examiner will remain the same. Average score has been ranging between 45-55. Very few have managed to touch the magical figure of 60 in this paper in 2007 and 2008.

Having said all this, i advise you not to take Political Science Lightly. It is worth 200 marks. One can manage a disaster in a 100 marks paper but not in a 200 marks paper. Imagine if someone is getting 80-100 in a 200 marks paper what would it do to his/her over all result. so set your record straight and start preparing.

Last edited by Mumtaz Hayat Maneka; Tuesday, April 07, 2009 at 06:55 PM.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Mumtaz Hayat Maneka For This Useful Post:
The Star (Tuesday, April 07, 2009), Last Island (Wednesday, April 08, 2009), mariam_ji (Tuesday, April 07, 2009), Viceroy (Tuesday, April 07, 2009)

Thanks is too little word to reflect my feelings..thanks for such a detailed guidline and valuable tips.I have prepared indo pak very well now i will spent my time more on pol science in the light of ur worthful suggestions.
Old Wednesday, April 08, 2009
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 267 (10th in Baluchistan)

razdar_hai is on a distinguished road
Default @ mumtaz hayat meneka

hi..u have scored really gud in paper B of political science wana know how u attempted it...i hv scored 113 total..in paper A i scored 55 and in paper B i scored 58...i had constitutional law as weel and scored 61 in it..knowing abt others experiences really helps so do tell me
Old Friday, April 10, 2009
Khadim-e-Fareed

Originally Posted by razdar_hai
hi..u have scored really gud in paper B of political science wana know how u attempted it...i hv scored 113 total..in paper A i scored 55 and in paper B i scored 58...i had constitutional law as weel and scored 61 in it..knowing abt others experiences really helps so do tell me

Razar_Hai as you have scored 61 in constitutional law, which are amongst the highest heard about this year so you can't be a novice when it comes to attempt constitutional questions. As far as Political Science Paper B is concerned, i attempted 3 questions from Constitutions and one from History portion ( Allama iqbal, sir syed and separatism). It is just that i tried to justify what was asked in the question. As the first question from American Constitution was divided into two parts, A-Election of the President B- His powers and Functions. so one has to satisfy the all the points in the question. Same was the case with the question which was asked from the British Constitution.

I hope i have made some sense.

Almaas Ruby will become famous soon enoughAlmaas Ruby will become famous soon enough

@maneka

hi there
may i have ur gmail adress for googletalk????need to ask u alotttttttttttttttttttt of questions..sorry didnt know where to post this thread....
Khadim-e-Fareed

Originally Posted by Almaas Ruby
@maneka

hi there
may i have ur gmail adress for googletalk????need to ask u alotttttttttttttttttttt of questions..sorry didnt know where to post this thread....
I do not have any gmail ID. But the one i have is in my profile.So you can e-mail me whatever query you may have. But the ideal situation would be that you post your queries here so that some other aspirants may also be benefited.

Almaas Ruby will become famous soon enoughAlmaas Ruby will become famous soon enough

there are so many

first of all about essay.................
should we give headings of intro, body or conclusion to our essay????????

and what about essay outline,,should it be done in the essay writing??in the form of bullets??

Last edited by Mumtaz Hayat Maneka; Friday, April 10, 2009 at 04:13 AM.