-   Statistics (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-ii/statistics/)
-   -   Good books 4 stats??? (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-ii/statistics/49204-good-books-4-stats.html)

samia fakhar Friday, May 20, 2011 09:11 PM

Good books 4 stats???

Please senior guide me about good books of stats and what should be my strategy for preparation of stats... As this is scoring subject.... Please guide me which topics should i cover and from which book?

azmatullah Thursday, August 04, 2011 11:44 AM

Dear start preparing from BSc books, you would have to prepare 6 chapters from book 1 and 6 chapters from book 2, total 12 chapters.
I m preparing from these two books and statistics for management is also helpful in grasping the concept of application of all these topics.

shakirkundi Sunday, November 13, 2011 09:36 AM

Books suggestion

i think u should first study the bookI&II by Sher Muhammad chudary. and for advance concept u should study the "Mind on Statistics" and "Practical Statistics" which will help u to prepare yourself for competitive exam

Hassan Babu Thursday, March 14, 2013 06:46 AM

senior guide me...?

is it better to opt statistics for my exam 2014
i have done bcom
suggest me guys

Muzzamil Thursday, March 14, 2013 10:27 AM

Statistics as optional subject.

[COLOR="Blue"][B]Statistics is the most scoring as well as the least scoring subject. It depends upon one’s aptitude and interest in the subject. I also opted Statistics in CE-2013. I did my best in this paper. I am expecting very high score in this subject. My friend/colleague scored 83 marks in statistics in CE-2012. While another friend scored just 35 marks in this paper. One must have interest in this subject to opt it in CSS.[/B][/COLOR]

Hassan Babu Thursday, March 14, 2013 02:00 PM

book suggestion
bhai g

Muzzamil Thursday, March 14, 2013 09:50 PM

Books for Statistics

[B][COLOR="DarkGreen"]Introduction to Statistical Theory Part-1[/COLOR][/B]
[COLOR="blue"]By Sher M. Chaudhar & Dr. Shahid Kamal
Chapter # 06
Chapter # 07
Chapter # 08
Chapter # 09
Chapter # 10[/COLOR]

[B][COLOR="DarkGreen"]Introduction to Statistical Theory Part-2[/COLOR][/B]
[COLOR="Blue"]By Sher M. Chaudhar & Dr. Shahid Kamal
Chapter # 14
Chapter # 15
Chapter # 16
Chapter # 17
Chapter # 18
Chapter # 19
Chapter # 20
Chapter # 21[/COLOR]

[COLOR="DarkGreen"]If you need further information, please feel free to ask.[/COLOR]

[COLOR="Blue"]Regards,[/COLOR]

Hassan Babu Friday, March 15, 2013 01:13 PM

thnxxxxx
kia tutor ki zrorat pare gi bhai g

Muzzamil Friday, March 15, 2013 02:04 PM

Guidance of tutor

[COLOR="Blue"]Dera brother,

The guidance of tutor always leads you in right direction. However, if you have good aptitude in this subject, then no need to go to a tutor.[/COLOR]

samia fakhar Saturday, March 16, 2013 03:45 PM

[QUOTE=Muzzamil;572064][COLOR="Blue"][B]Statistics is the most scoring as well as the least scoring subject. It depends upon one’s aptitude and interest in the subject. I also opted Statistics in CE-2013. I did my best in this paper. I am expecting very high score in this subject. My friend/colleague scored 83 marks in statistics in CE-2012. While another friend scored just 35 marks in this paper. One must have interest in this subject to opt it in CSS.[/B][/COLOR][/QUOTE]

yeah it is good subject but what do you think the time allocated for paper i.e 3 hours is enough? is it possible to complete 5 questions in 2. 30 hours?

Muzzamil Sunday, March 17, 2013 11:26 AM

[QUOTE=samia fakhar;573345]yeah it is good subject but what do you think the time allocated for paper i.e 3 hours is enough? is it possible to complete 5 questions in 2. 30 hours?[/QUOTE]

[B][COLOR="Blue"]Yes. I think it is sufficient time. One should solve paper is systematic manner. One should solve those questions first which take least time like probability, Confidence Interval estimation and Testing of Estimates. One can solve each of above mentioned questions in 20 minutes or less. After that one can solve remaining questions in time. I also adopted the same technique/scheme and I solved 5 Questions before 2.30 hours.[/COLOR][/B]

Hassan Babu Sunday, March 17, 2013 04:51 PM

bhai g
these chapter are enough for css...?

sabahatbhutta Sunday, March 17, 2013 05:00 PM

[QUOTE=Muzzamil;572384][B][COLOR="DarkGreen"]Introduction to Statistical Theory Part-1[/COLOR][/B]
Chapter # 06
Chapter # 07
Chapter # 08
Chapter # 09
Chapter # 10[/COLOR]

Chapter # 14
Chapter # 15
Chapter # 16
Chapter # 17
Chapter # 18
Chapter # 19
Chapter # 20
Chapter # 21[/COLOR]

[COLOR="DarkGreen"]If you need further information, please feel free to ask.[/COLOR]

[COLOR="Blue"]Regards,[/COLOR][/QUOTE]

[SIZE="3"]These chapters cover the whole syllabus of CSS. But if you go through past papers and paper trends you will find that following chapters are more than enough to attempt all 5 questions required.
Cahpter 6, 7, 8, 14, 15, 16, 18.
I followed the same pattern and Alhamdulilah I am expecting 85 plus in Sha Allah.[/SIZE]

Muzzamil Monday, March 18, 2013 09:36 AM

[QUOTE=sabahatbhutta;573871][SIZE="3"]These chapters cover the whole syllabus of CSS. But if you go through past papers and paper trends you will find that following chapters are more than enough to attempt all 5 questions required.
I followed the same pattern and Alhamdulilah I am expecting 85 plus in Sha Allah.[/SIZE][/QUOTE]

[B][COLOR="Blue"]You may be right in your context but I was discussing the whole syllabus contents, not guess paper or selective study.[/COLOR][/B]

Hassan Babu Saturday, March 23, 2013 08:54 PM

bhai g lahore mai koi institute

Muzzamil Sunday, March 24, 2013 11:47 AM

[QUOTE=Hassan Babu;576658]bhai g lahore mai koi institute[/QUOTE]

[I][COLOR="Blue"]There are many academies in Lahore. Moreover, you may go to Punjab University Hostel # 8 where many students of MSc/M.Phil (Statistics) can help you in preparing Statistics.[/COLOR][/I]

AlRehmaan AlRaheem Friday, April 19, 2013 01:40 AM

dear Muzzamil,
i have studied statistics in my bachelors and in ACCA some where as well. but i have always found probability very confusing, overall statistics is not difficult for me to deal with.
Can you please please tell me the easiest way to deal with probability.

Muzzamil Thursday, May 23, 2013 02:47 PM

[QUOTE=AlRehmaan AlRaheem;588569]dear Muzzamil,
i have studied statistics in my bachelors and in ACCA some where as well. but i have always found probability very confusing, overall statistics is not difficult for me to deal with.
Can you please please tell me the easiest way to deal with probability.

Regards[/QUOTE]

[I][COLOR="Blue"]Dear Brother,
Probability is technical and conceptual technique but it is very interesting. You can learn probability easily by just focussing on basic concepts. Chapter # 06 of Sher M. Chaudhary’s book is very helpful in this regard. [/COLOR][/I]

Acidius Thursday, June 27, 2013 11:49 AM

Muzzamil bhai, these chapters alone cover all the technical aspects of the syllabus? We dont need to study anything other than this if we leave out the practical implementations?

Toru Friday, July 05, 2013 05:07 PM

1 Book to cover Statistics and the way to go about it

Name of the book: Statistics for Business and Economics

Authored By: Paul Newbold

Edition: 6th and above

This book is an excellent reference and is self contained, enough to cover both basic statistical topics along with concepts, easily described, explanation of concepts makes use of simple vocabulary and several solved examples and the econometric requirement of cross-sectional and time-series data.

If studied diligently and committed to its preparation with honesty, I assure the aspirants of the fact that they need not be dependent on any other sources or a tutor. However I would like to point out that the subject should only be opted provided one has [B]atleast[/B] an Alevel/FSc background.

This book is the core study reference for courses in statistics in LSE and other British universities offering statistics. It is [B]complete[/B] in every aspect, goes about addressing its reader as a tutor from quantitative proofs to qualitative answers and justifications (mathematically, diagrammatically as well explanatory)

Hope this helps.

Bilal Salim Saturday, July 27, 2013 01:17 AM

Guys use Walpole and Sher M.Ch. They are examiner's favourite

Rizwan Anwar Friday, August 02, 2013 08:54 PM

is walpole book available online?

aminshah101 Friday, August 16, 2013 11:44 PM

I doubt it

Caas Tuesday, September 03, 2013 10:27 PM

[QUOTE=Muzzamil;572384][B][COLOR="DarkGreen"]Introduction to Statistical Theory Part-1[/COLOR][/B]
Chapter # 06
Chapter # 07
Chapter # 08
Chapter # 09
Chapter # 10[/COLOR]

Chapter # 14
Chapter # 15
Chapter # 16
Chapter # 17
Chapter # 18
Chapter # 19
Chapter # 20
Chapter # 21[/COLOR]

[COLOR="Blue"]Regards,[/COLOR][/QUOTE]

Are all parts of these topics included? Complex derivations and proofs? All formulas?

Muzzamil Wednesday, September 04, 2013 11:56 AM

[QUOTE=Caas;644877]Are all parts of these topics included? Complex derivations and proofs? All formulas?[/QUOTE]

[COLOR="Blue"][B]Yes all relevant topics are included in these chapters. Although all derivations are included but you should prepare the most important derivation “Estimation of least square estimates”. The said derivation is very much important for CSS examination perspective.
Please feel free if you have any other query.[/B][/COLOR]

sameer chaudhry Wednesday, September 04, 2013 01:19 PM

stats is my Favorited subject in bsc. and i got 143 marks from pu. in CSS conditions are change because you will find it here as a low scoring subject. if you will do 1 wrong then you will lose 20 marks

aminshah101 Wednesday, September 04, 2013 05:52 PM

[QUOTE=sameer chaudhry;644987]stats is my Favorited subject in bsc. and i got 143 marks from pu. in CSS conditions are change because you will find it here as a low scoring subject. if you will do 1 wrong then you will lose 20 marks[/QUOTE]

Not really. It all depends on your performance. My sister got 96 in CSS back in year 1998 and I got 69, despite attempting a theoretical question and leaving 10 marks numerical.

I have taken Stats in 2013 too and am expecting high marks in it.

However, I must say that Stats, like all numerical subjects, is a gamble. But not only in CSS, otherwise too.

adilcapri Monday, September 09, 2013 11:52 AM

Being a statistician i suggest you to follow only Sher Muhammad Chaudhry book, BA/B.Sc (Part 1 and 2).
You can score maximum , if you do practice. To learn the very basics of statistics, it would be better to get guidance/coaching if you dont have background in this subject.

sarazaid Wednesday, September 18, 2013 10:33 PM

[QUOTE=sabahatbhutta;573871][SIZE="3"]These chapters cover the whole syllabus of CSS. But if you go through past papers and paper trends you will find that following chapters are more than enough to attempt all 5 questions required.
I followed the same pattern and Alhamdulilah I am expecting 85 plus in Sha Allah.[/SIZE][/QUOTE]

I have to start my prep from tomorrow. I have already studied these two books in B.Sc so I have quite a grasp on the subject. My question is, are you confident that these chapters are enough to score good marks? As i am already on a time constraint and if I can get this subject out of way in short time it would be really helpful.
P.S. Advice from other members will also be appreciated.

Muzzamil Wednesday, September 18, 2013 10:40 PM

[B][COLOR="Blue"][I]To remain on safe side you should prepare the chapters suggested by me. This subject will pay you a lot.[/I][/COLOR][/B]

sabahatbhutta Thursday, September 19, 2013 09:53 AM

[QUOTE=sarazaid;649854]I have to start my prep from tomorrow. I have already studied these two books in B.Sc so I have quite a grasp on the subject. My question is, are you confident that these chapters are enough to score good marks? As i am already on a time constraint and if I can get this subject out of way in short time it would be really helpful.
P.S. Advice from other members will also be appreciated.[/QUOTE]

[SIZE="3"]As you said you are facing time constraint. So, it would be wise to cover the chapters I have already mentioned. I am sure it will give you an edge over other aspirants. In CE-2012 I prepared Stats in just 15 days with just selective chapters obviously those I have mentioned, and I scored 68. This time I am expecting above 70 at least with the same prep as this time I had enough time. But if you have more time you can prepare from all the chapters. Final decision is yours.[/SIZE]

Muzzamil Thursday, September 19, 2013 10:10 AM

[B][I][COLOR="Blue"]My ex colleague/friend scored 83 marks in Statistics (2012) by preparing aforementioned chapters. I am also hopeful to get more than 85 marks in this subject in CE-2013. I prepared Statistics in just 5 days from the books written by Sher M. Chaudhary.[/COLOR][/I][/B]

sarazaid Thursday, September 19, 2013 01:37 PM

thanks for the advice. So i guess I can prepare the chapters mentioned by @sabahatbhutta more thoroughly and if I have time left i can go through other chapters as well.I would also like to know that if you can please guide me on the more important proofs/derivations to prepare?

haseebbaloch Thursday, September 19, 2013 01:48 PM

M.A statistic book is enough

Muzzamil Monday, September 23, 2013 12:08 AM

[QUOTE=sarazaid;650037]thanks for the advice. So i guess I can prepare the chapters mentioned by @sabahatbhutta more thoroughly and if I have time left i can go through other chapters as well.I would also like to know that if you can please guide me on the more important proofs/derivations to prepare?[/QUOTE]

[I][COLOR="Blue"]"Estimation of Least Square Estimates" is very important.[/COLOR][/I]

FaizaMukhtar Saturday, December 14, 2013 12:52 PM

Soft copy of these books?

Muhammad Bilal Nadeem Saturday, February 22, 2014 09:12 PM

who iz the best tutor for stat in lhr....i never studied stat bt i m interested to opt it for css....am i going in right direction??????

Mohammed Uzair Friday, June 20, 2014 03:42 AM

[QUOTE=aminshah101;645063]Not really. It all depends on your performance. My sister got 96 in CSS back in year 1998 and I got 69, despite attempting a theoretical question and leaving 10 marks numerical.

I have taken Stats in 2013 too and am expecting high marks in it.

However, I must say that Stats, like all numerical subjects, is a gamble. But not only in CSS, otherwise too.[/QUOTE]
Hello, can you tell about your background? i last studied Statistics in A-level. Would it be wise of me to opt for it? i have a good record as far as maths/statistics is concerned. And i am well versed in topics like probability, sampling, expectation etc. Kindly apprise me with your suggestion.

aminshah101 Saturday, June 21, 2014 03:33 PM

I suggest you to go for it then

Sent from my QMobile i9 using Tapatalk

attique777 Tuesday, July 08, 2014 03:28 PM

Best Book For Statistics

Statistics (MCQ's) Book for every Competitive Exam New edition
By : Publishers Emporium #042- 37358997

10:12 AM (GMT +5)