Monday, May 13, 2024
10:16 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group IV > History of Pakistan & India

Old Thursday, June 06, 2013

fatimaraza is on a distinguished road
Default help plzz

hi i am a new member. i have opted indo pak histtory.Kindly share with me the strategy to score high in this subject.as well as the list of topics to be covered in indopak and also the book list.
Old Sunday, August 04, 2013

waheed99 is on a distinguished road

Same Question from my side
Old Monday, August 26, 2013
41st CTP (IG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit 548

Mortal Sin is on a distinguished road

its a very scoring subject if u have read it from a rational and un biased approach! my score is as follows

Indo- Pak Paper I = 66
Indo- Pak Paper II = 72

IPH I covers the era between 712 AD to 1526
IPH II covers from 1526 to Present history
The Following User Says Thank You to Mortal Sin For This Useful Post:
waheed99 (Wednesday, September 18, 2013)
Old Saturday, August 31, 2013

fatimaraza is on a distinguished road

kindly Motal Sin do suggest which topics to be covered in paper 1 .

Old Saturday, August 31, 2013

Engg umar is on a distinguished road

assalamoalikum
I suggest one book strategy
go to urdubazar and purchase " indopak notes written by Raza ULLAH
I suggested this book to my many friends ,,they scored very well even in times of crisis.It has been published by advanced publiushers
Old Sunday, September 01, 2013
42nd CTP (PSP)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2013 - Merit 62

umarabbas has a spectacular aura aboutumarabbas has a spectacular aura aboutumarabbas has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by fatimaraza View Post
hi i am a new member. i have opted indo pak histtory.Kindly share with me the strategy to score high in this subject.as well as the list of topics to be covered in indopak and also the book list.
First of all! Bravo on choosing Indo Pakistan. It is a scoring subject if prepared thoroughly. Plus it helps in Pakistan Affairs. Above all, it tells you about your history and gives an insight into the problems that we face today as a nation.

For Paper 1: go through the past papers. the trend is very clear. There are 3 distinct options with you:
-Arabs, Sufis, Arts and architecture
-The Delhi Sultanate, Ghaznavi and Ghori
-the Mughals

If you do any 2 of the above mentioned groups, you will be able to pass the exams with distinction. My choice was Group 1 and Group 2

Since I prepared Group 1 and Group 2, the best and most comprehensive book was:
-The Delhi Sultanate by V.D Mahajan. It starts from MBQ and ends at the end of the Delhi Sultanate.
-Also has solid stuff about Sufism, and other religious movements of the time.
-Arts and Architecture, Crafts, Science etc everything is discussed
-The beauty of the book is that it quotes many many authors (like Ishwari Prasad etc). So one book has many views
-Gives a personal estimate of each ruler from the point of view of different writers (this is often a straight question asked in the exam)

For Paper 2: It requires very thorough research and study since no 2 books provide any thing new. You have to come across an authentic and somewhat different book to prepare this paper.

The different sections for this paper are:

-1857 to 1905
-1905 to 1947
-1947 to date

once again, if you do any 2 thoroughly you can skip one section altogether. For example, I prepared the first 2 and in the third one I did only general preparation (like energy crisis, terrorism and I skipped democracy and stuff)

Topics in the First Group can be highlighted as:
-Hindu and Muslim revivalist Movements (both militant and educational) with their aims and objectives and legacies
-Early Hindu-Muslim disputes of the Era
-Muslim problems after the fall of the Mughal Empire and causes of the downfall
-Causes of 1857 Revolution

Topics in the 2nd Group are:
- Hindu Muslim divide (Partition of Bengal etc)
-Constitutional and Political history
-Efforts for Hindu Muslim unity and the causes for failures
-Road to Pakistan

I suggest that you start from the 1st group. Build a conceptual understanding and then slowly advance through time till 1947. Go into even minute details (for example: Viceroy or Governor General, Secretary of State for India etc.) this will enable you to forfeit ratta and score good marks.

I followed this strategy in 2012 and my score was 139.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to umarabbas For This Useful Post:
my1manarmy (Wednesday, September 18, 2013), waheed99 (Wednesday, September 18, 2013)
Old Friday, September 13, 2013

saeed jatoi is on a distinguished road
Default indo pak history paper 1

1 Mcq's portion-for maximizing score one should study the whole syllabus from 712 to 1707 so as to be able to attempt atleast 18 correct mcs' out of 20.

2 Subjective portion.Arab conquest,Mahmud Ghaznavi,Mohammad Ghuri,Iltutmish,Balban,Ala-ud-din khiliji,firuz tughluq,sher shah,Shah jahan and Auranzeb.Admintration of delhi sultanate and mughal adminstration.Art,architecture,leaning and litreaure under delhi sultanate and mughal admintration.Mongol policy of delhi sultans.Role of sufism in indopakistan.
The controversial topics like M tughluq,Akbar's religios policy and Auranzeb's orthodoxy may be avoided.
Old Wednesday, September 18, 2013

waheed99 is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by umarabbas View Post
First of all! Bravo on choosing Indo Pakistan. It is a scoring subject if prepared thoroughly. Plus it helps in Pakistan Affairs. Above all, it tells you about your history and gives an insight into the problems that we face today as a nation.

For Paper 1: go through the past papers. the trend is very clear. There are 3 distinct options with you:
-Arabs, Sufis, Arts and architecture
-The Delhi Sultanate, Ghaznavi and Ghori
-the Mughals

If you do any 2 of the above mentioned groups, you will be able to pass the exams with distinction. My choice was Group 1 and Group 2

Since I prepared Group 1 and Group 2, the best and most comprehensive book was:
-The Delhi Sultanate by V.D Mahajan. It starts from MBQ and ends at the end of the Delhi Sultanate.
-Also has solid stuff about Sufism, and other religious movements of the time.
-Arts and Architecture, Crafts, Science etc everything is discussed
-The beauty of the book is that it quotes many many authors (like Ishwari Prasad etc). So one book has many views
-Gives a personal estimate of each ruler from the point of view of different writers (this is often a straight question asked in the exam)

For Paper 2: It requires very thorough research and study since no 2 books provide any thing new. You have to come across an authentic and somewhat different book to prepare this paper.

The different sections for this paper are:

-1857 to 1905
-1905 to 1947
-1947 to date

once again, if you do any 2 thoroughly you can skip one section altogether. For example, I prepared the first 2 and in the third one I did only general preparation (like energy crisis, terrorism and I skipped democracy and stuff)

Topics in the First Group can be highlighted as:
-Hindu and Muslim revivalist Movements (both militant and educational) with their aims and objectives and legacies
-Early Hindu-Muslim disputes of the Era
-Muslim problems after the fall of the Mughal Empire and causes of the downfall
-Causes of 1857 Revolution

Topics in the 2nd Group are:
- Hindu Muslim divide (Partition of Bengal etc)
-Constitutional and Political history
-Efforts for Hindu Muslim unity and the causes for failures
-Road to Pakistan

I suggest that you start from the 1st group. Build a conceptual understanding and then slowly advance through time till 1947. Go into even minute details (for example: Viceroy or Governor General, Secretary of State for India etc.) this will enable you to forfeit ratta and score good marks.

I followed this strategy in 2012 and my score was 139.
Aoa Umar Bhai hope you are fine. Bro can you tell the best book for its preparation??
Old Wednesday, September 18, 2013
42nd CTP (PSP)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2013 - Merit 62

umarabbas has a spectacular aura aboutumarabbas has a spectacular aura aboutumarabbas has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by waheed99 View Post
Aoa Umar Bhai hope you are fine. Bro can you tell the best book for its preparation??
Waheed, for Indo Pakistan paper 1:

(1) The Delhi Sultanate (V.D Mahajan) - This book will cover the below mentioned topics:
(a) Arabs (even those before MBQ)
(b) Mahmud Ghaznavi
(c) Muhammad Ghori
(d) The Delhi Sultanate
(e) Aftermath of Delhi Sultanate
(f) Religious Movements of the day
(g) Arts and Architecture of the Era.

Brother, you will not require any other book. The author has given quotes from different books (authors) and thereby, with a single book you could pen down stuff from different authors (historians) verdicts

For The Mughal Era:
-Go for that very famous book (the one everybody follows). It is in two volumes. unfortunately I have forgotten its author (the tilte is Indo Pakistan History)

Please note with these two books, you will have a sound/thorough grip over the Delhi Sultanate and a mediocre one over the Mughal Era. But that is a risk you can take since one can easily attempt the Paper and bag a huge pile of marks if one attempts all the questions from the Delhi Sultanate Era.

For Paper 2:
- I did not follow any particular book. in fact it was a mixture of material from the internet and few FSC books.

I am always here to help you out with the material of this paper
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to umarabbas For This Useful Post:
my1manarmy (Wednesday, September 18, 2013), wajeehaniaz (Thursday, September 19, 2013)
Old Thursday, September 19, 2013

wajeehaniaz is on a distinguished road

hey bro u shared ur experience which is very helpful for every one..thanks for this.im opting indo-pak history with political science coz i hv a background of these subjects.is my combition appropriate for competitive exams??