-   Islamic History & Culture (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-iv/islamic-history-culture/)
-   -   Study Plan of Islamic History & Culture (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-iv/islamic-history-culture/40912-study-plan-islamic-history-culture.html)

nationservent Friday, August 05, 2011 10:13 AM

i have opted Islamic history as well ..... have both books of k Ali and mazhar ul haq .... but literally , K Ali would suitable to read n prepare as mazhar ul haq's book is too much lengthy rather complex i would say ... K Ali z simple .... or some important topics canbe consulted from da later book for comrehensive study ......

cateyes Friday, August 05, 2011 07:54 PM

[QUOTE=nationservent;336856]i have opted Islamic history as well ..... have both books of k Ali and mazhar ul haq .... but literally , K Ali would suitable to read n prepare as mazhar ul haq's book is too much lengthy rather complex i would say ... K Ali z simple .... or some important topics canbe consulted from da later book for comrehensive study ......[/QUOTE]

well dear i hav read mazahr ali book its v informative.....no doubt k ali is notes type book bt one should hav enough knowledge to write in paper....moreover mazhr haq ki book bilkul story type ha ma nay wo n usi ki islamic history of spain only 15 days ma par li theen coz both books r v intersting n as being muslim its gud to study abt our relegious heros....

for examination point of view evry topic is coverd by khulasa type one cheptr in it.....

ImranKhanSahir Tuesday, August 09, 2011 11:38 AM

Thanks but need a little more

Dear;

As you are well-aware that Islamic history has a span of about 14 complete centuries, so i assume that one book wouldn't be enough for the detailed account of this subject. Please share all of your personal books names that you have for this.

Fatima47 Wednesday, August 10, 2011 04:13 PM

I am preparing notes from the following books:

1. Spirit of Islam by Syed Ameer Ali.
2. A Short History of Saracens by Syed Ameer Ali.
3. History of the Arabs by Philip K. Hitti,

In my opinion, these books are sufficient to help you cover all the topics.

Besides, you can consult the following books in case you dont find either of the above books in any library or market. These are:

A Short History of the Arab Peoples by John Bagot Glubb, The Arabs in History by Bernard Lewis, The Arab Civilization by Joseph Hell.

SalmanJavaid Sunday, August 21, 2011 06:51 PM

Fatima, are you based in Lahore? I will stand grateful if you can share notes. I am already done reading Hitti's History of the Arabs in its entirety and will be done with S A Ali's A short history of the Saracens shortly.

Jamal Malik Monday, August 22, 2011 11:46 PM

redmax can you please tell me if the book by Mazhar-ul-Haq is sufficient for the exam point of view?? Or should I stick with the P.K.Hitti book?

Jamal Malik Monday, August 22, 2011 11:59 PM

[QUOTE=cateyes;336967]well dear i hav read mazahr ali book its v informative.....no doubt k ali is notes type book bt one should hav enough knowledge to write in paper....moreover mazhr haq ki book bilkul story type ha ma nay wo n usi ki islamic history of spain only 15 days ma par li theen coz both books r v intersting n as being muslim its gud to study abt our relegious heros....

for examination point of view evry topic is coverd by khulasa type one cheptr in it.....[/QUOTE]

Kya mazhar-ul-haq ki book mai spain ki islamic history hai ya iski alag book hai?? paper point of view se spain plus african islamic history important hai tou kya ye sab mazhar-ul-haq ki book mai maujood hai????

redmax Tuesday, August 23, 2011 05:36 PM

[QUOTE=Jamal Malik;343178]redmax can you please tell me if the book by Mazhar-ul-Haq is sufficient for the exam point of view?? Or should I stick with the P.K.Hitti book?[/QUOTE]

[QUOTE=Jamal Malik;343185]Kya mazhar-ul-haq ki book mai spain ki islamic history hai ya iski alag book hai?? paper point of view se spain plus african islamic history important hai tou kya ye sab mazhar-ul-haq ki book mai maujood hai????[/QUOTE]

You should read a separate book for Islamic History & Culture part-II paper. Please treat it as a full subject since it carries 100 marks. There are several books available in the market one that I can recall is titled [B]"Islam in Spain"[/B].

[B]Regards[/B],

kal3m Wednesday, August 31, 2011 09:44 PM

Assalam O Alikum
dear friends, as i am a new one on it and its my 1st post on this forum i have decided to appear for css 2012 lot of help is required as i m not preparing through any akadmy just a good friends like you are helping me I have seen the plans posted by Mr. redmax or sheikh sab those are really helpful and the effort is much appreciative. I would like to have suggestions of you guys my optional sbj are
1-Journalism (in B.A I prepared so selected)
2-Arabic
3-Islamic history and culture
4-Muslim law and jurisprudence
last three sbj somehow i read but unfortunately in urdu and of course arabic in arabic including (mutanabbi, dewan e hamasa, and many basic books of grammar and language), but its long time ago although revision will help.
2ndly my weakness to be very very frank i am weak in English either its grammar or vocab. I have no prb preparing last 3 optionals and islamiyat comp but the prb is eng. so if you guys suggest me the best short way to strengthen the grammar as well as vocab i would b thankful to you.

Fatima47 Friday, September 02, 2011 06:22 PM

[QUOTE=SalmanJavaid;342630]Fatima, are you based in Lahore? I will stand grateful if you can share notes. I am already done reading Hitti's History of the Arabs in its entirety and will be done with S A Ali's A short history of the Saracens shortly.[/QUOTE]

Sorry for the late reply. Since I am a new member, I keep scouring for various things in this forum. I had kinda forgotten that I posted in this particular thread, Sorry once again.

I live in Rawalpindi, far away from Lahore. :)

I am still in the process of making my notes and hopefully I'll have my notes completed within a month inshaAllah (thats because my uni classes are going to commence next week as well). Meanwhile, if there is anything you dont find in those books, do let me know. I'll, for sure, try to help you out. I too might ask you for any kind of help.

11:58 AM (GMT +5)