08:51 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group VII > Geography

Old Wednesday, September 11, 2013

tazimchaudhary is on a distinguished road
Default how to draw maps

plz seniors guide me how to draw maps ,,.....sketch or the full detailed maps during exam?
Old Saturday, October 19, 2013

hjvd is on a distinguished road

Well I am no expert on maps but I can offer a few suggestions:

1.)You do not need to draw perfect maps, a simple map which roughly preserves the original map's contours is sufficient.

2.)Practise drawing a few template maps i.e a general map and then modify it according to your purpose.
For example learn drawing a simple map of Pakistan,this is your template now if there's a question on physical features/climatic regions of Pakistan,first draw the general map and then mark physical features on it.
This is a fairly simple example.The point is: try to master a lot of general maps that you can alter for different questions.

3.)Always practise your maps by drawing them, do not just look at them and hope you'll remember them on exam day, because chances are you won't.So its better to practise a lot.

Hope this helps!
The Following User Says Thank You to hjvd For This Useful Post:
Rida Malik (Sunday, November 24, 2013)
Old Saturday, November 09, 2013

Sylar is on a distinguished road

detailed maps demands a lot of time. sketching is usually preffered

Thanked 1,290 Times in 783 Posts
exclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura about

Without practice maps are impossible to draw. Therefore, do practice as much as you can, and try to draw them similarly like they are in book to the level of perfection..

Good Luck...
The Following User Says Thank You to exclusively For This Useful Post:
maha786 (Saturday, November 09, 2013)

maha786 is on a distinguished road

exclusively i need guideline about geography. kindly contact on my id
Old Sunday, November 10, 2013

exclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by maha786 View Post
exclusively i need guideline about geography. kindly contact on my id
If you need any help in Geography, you may also ask here dear. I will try my best to help you out as much as I can...

Regards...
Old Wednesday, November 13, 2013

Reeba Khan is on a distinguished road

@ Exclusively
from where did you prepare the "maps" portion?

Safarkurdish is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by tazimchaudhary View Post
plz seniors guide me how to draw maps ,,.....sketch or the full detailed maps during exam?
dear same problem was with me when i was preparing myself for css but with little bit hard work you can come on this problem. you should first of all make a sketch of map in your mind and then draw it on a paper. if this practice is considered difficult so another way is that do not draw a map quickly but fragment it into pieces suppose if you are going to draw a map of currents i.e north Atlantic ocean current so first of all equator should be drawn then the upper side of latin america, mexico, coastal belts of USA, Canada and so on. drawing the map does not mean to draw it perfectly instead of this you are asked just point out the regions. hope you will understand.

Buddha has a spectacular aura aboutBuddha has a spectacular aura aboutBuddha has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by tazimchaudhary View Post
1-Pick up a pen and paper.
2-Place the book, in which there's a map you want to copy, in front of you.
3-Draw it. It won't be exact but a close approximation.
4-If it is too weird, draw again.
5-Keep drawing until you get a better approximation.
6-Reproduce that map in the exam.

Originally Posted by Reeba Khan View Post
@ Exclusively
from where did you prepare the "maps" portion?
I am reading plus practicing and attempting my friend's notes (she has been allocated in CE-12, DMG group)... I am reading her notes along with books. As a matter of fact, her notes or really good and to the point (book me wohi cheez 5 pages par he samj kuch nahi ati, or notes me same cheez ek 2 pages me maps ke sath bani hue hain, or samj ajati) and I feel much much relaxed now. More or less I have completed my Geography. I really love it to attempt. However, whenever I feel any difficulty, then I use book for clearing the point. Otherwise my main focus is on notes.
The Following User Says Thank You to exclusively For This Useful Post:
Reeba Khan (Wednesday, November 13, 2013)