-   Sociology (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-vii/sociology/)
-   -   Tip for better score in sociology (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-vii/sociology/19991-tip-better-score-sociology.html)

Tauqir Mehmood Wattoo Sunday, September 07, 2008 11:16 PM

Tip for better score in sociology

[CENTER][SIZE=3][U][B]Tips for better score in Sociology.[/B][/U][/SIZE]

[/CENTER]

Keeping in view the sociology paper 2008 and its fetal result, i being a qualifier as well as an M.A sociology, want to suggest some tips for those who are preparing for next css in sociology.

[B]1.[/B] concentrate on theoratical portion of outline, which is oftenly skipped for being dry one, coz most of the questions were asked with reference to certain theoratical references which were given in invertred qommas. only few candidateds could notice that the inverted refference was a theoratical one. so go for all social thinkers frome comte to karl m.

[B]2.[/B] objective portion was also of theoratical nature which tested our practical wisdom in terms of social processes and sociological phenomena.

[B]3.[/B] Demographic touch was doiminating the whole paper, even setter did not care to avoid out of outline questions like population policy etc so a basic knowledge test was taken from all branches of sociology. to handle such kind of paper next time i suggest u people to avoid conventional guids rather consult one of the following books and i hope these wont let u loose

[B]A)[/B] sociology by horton and hunt (very popular but not studied among css students)

[B]B)[/B] a down to earth approach towards sociology (present in punjab university sociology deppt liberary)

wish u best of luck
tauqeer

anjalina Monday, September 08, 2008 02:21 AM

problem

salamoalikum
thanks for such a piece of advice.
is that necessary to give an introduction and a conclusion in every question while attempting sociology paper?

nageen Monday, September 08, 2008 11:43 AM

sociology

Thanks for the tips.
I want to ask Mr. tauqir that what are the [B]"social forms" [/B]in sociology.
I am preparing for sociology but, this term, I could not find in any book or on internet. So kindly please explain it because it is mentioned in the syllabus.please also tell me the source I can find its notes.

Tauqir Mehmood Wattoo Monday, September 08, 2008 03:27 PM

[B]@ anjalina:[/B]

one needs to understand the actual thing asked and there is no need to give a formal introduction rather ur answer should be to the point. as for as explanation is concerned one should explain with practicale exapmles from our society regarding the phenominan under discussion. yes, every question needs to be concluded at the end

[B]@ nageen:[/B]

there is nothing captioned as [B]social forms[/B] it must be forms of social classes.....tribes, bradries etc. be kind to take a care full view of course outline.

kashifkhan Saturday, September 13, 2008 09:41 PM

Tauqeer bhai
which survey type should be used to study young criminals and why?

Please answer

Tauqir Mehmood Wattoo Sunday, September 28, 2008 11:17 AM

@kashifkhan

sorry for delyed reply.
dear indepth interview is recommended for studying young criminals.
there are several reasons for it
1. most of those are less literate and are unable to fill a questionair
2. in interview facial gestures are also noted as qualitative data
3. u can shuffle the questions according to situation
4. it becomes difficult for the respondents to skip any question

see merits and demerits of interview and questionair to know further details while survy means for any one of these or both

Irfi Sunday, September 28, 2008 01:47 PM

winning score in sociology

Sociology as an optional subject has tested the nerves of the candidates when it comes to count the score, at the end of the day. The most of the candidates end up getting score in between 33 to 50 with few exceptions going in 60s or more.There are certain reasons for sociology delivering miserable numbers:

1. Questions put up in the sociology paper are subjective in nature.Given the fact,the opinion of the candidates matters decisively.

2. Candidates take sociology as an easy subject with generalization of opinion as the true strategy for takling it. This is but going the wrong side of Sociology as a full-fledged descipline.

3. Social thinkers are genearlly connived at while attempting an answer.This has been rightly opined by MR. Watto in his comments above. The theoretical perpectives of the sociologists must dominate over every attempted answer.

4. It is a folly be scholarly in sociology rather the candidates should develop a sociological imagination that keeps every area of the society at vigil.

5.Generally, the candidates do not give examples from the pakistani society.This is real suicidal as far the payment of numbers is concerned on the part of the checker who usually expects many expamples from his own society than from American or African societies.

These are some of views I hold about Sociology as an optional in CSS.I secured 73 and 65 numbers in it in my last two attempts.

hassan joiya Tuesday, August 31, 2010 05:49 PM

hi to all the aspirants....

well guys since i am studying sociology for the first time in my life, a query pumps up every time i turn up a new page of my sociology book....however, the biggest concern i have is how to attempt a question in sociology papers....should it be attempted in the conventional method where introduciton, main body, analysis and conclusion make up the body of the question or sociology papers has its own way of being attempted...kindly come up with ur generous ideas.....thnks

Shahid Shakoor Saturday, November 06, 2010 04:43 PM

Subjective portion Q No 3..2010

Q3)what is internal validity that influences social science research design? what are different threats to internal validity? discuss with examples

Can any one tell me that what is internal validity in above question.I have a book of abdul hameed taga which have no idea or topic related to this:mad:.How i should tackle this question :sad:

manihammad Sunday, November 07, 2010 10:32 PM

i appreciate the tips given here. i just wana know what Pakistani author book to consult? i have read hortun n hunt already. what book suits Pakistani socio?

redmax Sunday, November 07, 2010 10:53 PM

[QUOTE=manihammad;235805]i appreciate the tips given here. i just wana know what Pakistani author book to consult? i have read hortun n hunt already. what book suits Pakistani socio?[/QUOTE]

Brother, if you have already read Horton and Hunt, that should suffice your prep for sociology subject. However, you should collect data on various social problems facing Pakistani society. These may include Child Labour, Honour Killing, Poverty, Corruption, State of inmates, Drugs etc. The statistics you improvise in the answer of any question fetch your fair marks.

If you are still adamant at reading Pakistani authors on the subject, try these:

1. Javed Jiskani Balouch
2. Abdul Hameed Taga

cngfitted77777 Sunday, November 07, 2010 11:25 PM

for what topics i should only read horton and hunt ?????
for pakistani problems i am using iqbal chaudary book......i have also horton and hunt with me.
which are the most imp topics, that i should cover form horton and hunt ?????

redmax Monday, November 08, 2010 12:01 AM

[QUOTE=cngfitted77777;235823]for what topics i should only read horton and hunt ?????
for pakistani problems i am using iqbal chaudary book......i have also horton and hunt with me.
which are the most imp topics, that i should cover form horton and hunt ?????[/QUOTE]

The list of important topics already posted here:

[url]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-b/sociology/40910-study-plan-sociology.html[/url]

manihammad Monday, November 08, 2010 03:34 PM

thank you for your kind reply. i get your point but i want to ask that what about the details about prevailing caste system or like the family system. i mean would any Pakistani book will help me in those?

redmax Monday, November 08, 2010 08:19 PM

[QUOTE=manihammad;235956]thank you for your kind reply. i get your point but i want to ask that what about the details about prevailing caste system or like the family system. i mean would any Pakistani book will help me in those?[/QUOTE]

I have not found any updated book on this topic. A brief description is given in the Javed Jiskani's book but if you want to have some detailed analysis on this topic then I would recommend you to do some research on internet rather then running after books. I am not against the importance of books in their hard copies but whatever is missing in them I find it over internet.

manihammad Tuesday, November 09, 2010 01:11 AM

[QUOTE=redmax;236017]I have not found any updated book on this topic. A brief description is given in the Javed Jiskani's book but if you want to have some detailed analysis on this topic then I would recommend you to do some research on internet rather then running after books. I am not against the importance of books in their hard copies but whatever is missing in them I find it over internet.[/QUOTE]

right sir. thats what i actually wanted to know. yes i totally agree with you over the importance of internet. then perhaps its best to do search on internet then. one more query if you are kind to reply. i came across this part in syllabus given here. any advices about them

# Social and Cultural Change and Social Policy Processes of Social and Cultural Change-discovery, invention, diffusion. Factors in the rate of social and culture change, Incentives and inhibitions to social and cultural change in Pakistan Social planning and directed social and cultural change.

# Community: The rural community, Traditional Characteristics of rural life, The urban community. Rural-Urban convergence, Urbanism, Future of cities in Pakistan.

redmax Tuesday, November 09, 2010 02:13 AM

[QUOTE=manihammad;236101]right sir. thats what i actually wanted to know. yes i totally agree with you over the importance of internet. then perhaps its best to do search on internet then. one more query if you are kind to reply. i came across this part in syllabus given here. any advices about them

# Social and Cultural Change and Social Policy Processes of Social and Cultural Change-discovery, invention, diffusion. Factors in the rate of social and culture change, Incentives and inhibitions to social and cultural change in Pakistan Social planning and directed social and cultural change.

# Community: The rural community, Traditional Characteristics of rural life, The urban community. Rural-Urban convergence, Urbanism, Future of cities in Pakistan.[/QUOTE]

Brother, though its rational that you are consulting the syllabus issued by FPSC. There's no second thought about its importance. I have a better suggestion if you are ready to take it.

I personally think past papers are your syllabus for this subject ( I do not recommend this for all subjects). Find out the important areas from past papers and prepare them. The books you already possess are sufficient. I would like to reiterate that Internet provides you with all data you require. From sociological surveys to theories to policies and shifts in policies. Simultaneously, I would advise you not to engross yourself too much in it as it can also be very time consuming if you do not come across relevant material. To avoid this, select a topic before logging on to internet. And search specifically on that topic.

Once you are done, start solving the past papers. My own strategy is that I take one past paper take for instance paper of 2005 and sit for three hours and solve it. It will be a sort of mock examination at your own place.

Hope it helps.

manihammad Tuesday, November 09, 2010 04:45 AM

thanks alot brother. i really appreciate you taking time out and giving out some guidance.
i understand what you are saying and tell you honestly thats the way i have worked all my academic life but in css its a little too confusing (as you said yourself its different for different subjects)
i would surly follow your advice and may bother you again with some queries :)

redmax Tuesday, November 09, 2010 09:01 PM

[QUOTE=manihammad;236124]thanks alot brother. i really appreciate you taking time out and giving out some guidance.
i understand what you are saying and tell you honestly thats the way i have worked all my academic life but in css its a little too confusing (as you said yourself its different for different subjects)
i would surly follow your advice and may bother you again with some queries :)[/QUOTE]

I will be more than glad to answer any query in my capacity. :)

All the very best to you!

Lady Wednesday, January 12, 2011 05:13 PM

Hi..
i want to ask if i have to chose between two topics which one should i go for;

i. Research Methods, or
ii. Theories

thank you.

dr adnan rana Wednesday, January 12, 2011 05:20 PM

if you r asking one topic....then i must say that preparing theories is safer n more rewarding bcos sometime more than one question of theories is asked in paper...no escape 4m theories in sociology.

best of luck

Omar Qadir Wednesday, January 12, 2011 05:23 PM

[QUOTE=Lady;254719]Hi..

i. Research Methods, or
ii. Theories

thank you.[/QUOTE]
Both the topics are crucial and very important. However looking at the trend, social theories are more of the value for 2011.

redmax Wednesday, January 12, 2011 09:37 PM

[QUOTE=Lady;254719]Hi..

i. Research Methods, or
ii. Theories

thank you.[/QUOTE]

From the paper point of view, you have no choice but to study both. Reason: There is usually one question from Research Methodologies and one (or sometimes two) from theories in descriptive part of the paper. You can't overlook the importance of both these topics as for MCQs are concerned. So I would not recommend skipping any of the topic although you may prioritize theories over research methods since theories help you understand rest of the topics too whereas research methods only serve the purpose of research.

Sheetal Harris Saturday, January 22, 2011 01:17 AM

Sociology Subjective portion Q No 3..2010

Shahid Shakoor,

I am posting the following link here, hope it will be of some use for you.

[url=http://www.socialresearchmethods.net/kb/intval.php]Internal Validity[/url]

Mahvish Shahid Thursday, June 23, 2011 07:27 PM

Can we give Referances from Quran & Ahadees in 'Every' topic of Sociology.?

[FONT="Century Gothic"]

Assalam o Allikum.!

Seniors please answer my query

Like if I am making notes on Culture So, can I quote referances from Quraan or Ahadees.? Or Quotes of Hazrat Ali R.A etc.?

[/FONT]

redmax Thursday, June 23, 2011 08:21 PM

[QUOTE=Mahvish Shahid;323393][FONT="Century Gothic"]

Assalam o Allikum.!

Seniors please answer my query

Like if I am making notes on Culture So, can I quote referances from Quraan or Ahadees.? Or Quotes of Hazrat Ali R.A etc.?

[/FONT][/QUOTE]

If the quote meets the context and serves the purpose, you''l be rewarded for it. On the other hand, quoting something for the sake of quotation only will lead you nowhere.

naila cheema Thursday, July 07, 2011 03:42 PM

i,m going to study sociology 4 the ist time. i,m consulting hortun & hunt and shankar rao. should i study each topic 4rm both of these books or what. N there is also confusion about the topics cz here the topics r not given as there in syllabus. plz help

sardarfaizan Wednesday, July 27, 2011 04:32 PM

Sociology books

Well,horton's book is quite impressive but to get a thorough detail on local social perspective,Sociology by Shankar Rao is much better along with taga!

Alihaidershahwani Tuesday, August 14, 2012 10:46 AM

Sir plz tel me which book is best for sociology,i have bought "an introduction of sociology" written by Abdul Hameed taga but it is too lengthy and i have little time so kindly guide me.

SAYAFORAKZAI Tuesday, August 14, 2012 05:38 PM

buddy i have studied,sociology and social problems by ABDUL HAMEED TAGA,i liked the book personally,its quite simple and easy to understand,but i wants to know is it enough or should i consult some more books for my sociology paper.??

shah Tuesday, August 14, 2012 06:23 PM

[QUOTE=SAYAFORAKZAI;466909]buddy i have studied,sociology and social problems by ABDUL HAMEED TAGA,i liked the book personally,its quite simple and easy to understand,but i wants to know is it enough or should i consult some more books for my sociology paper.??[/QUOTE]

dude it is more than enough don't even bother to buy any other book :)

Muhammad Irfan ullah jan Wednesday, August 29, 2012 11:54 PM

thanks dear.. i have also done my masters in social anthropology and want to know that Horton and hunt book does not contain very excessive information regarding sociological theories.. then which book to consult for theoretical approaches??

shah Thursday, August 30, 2012 01:08 AM

[QUOTE=Muhammad Irfan ullah jan;471544]thanks dear.. i have also done my masters in social anthropology and want to know that Horton and hunt book does not contain very excessive information regarding sociological theories.. then which book to consult for theoretical approaches??[/QUOTE]

dear you don't need excessive info like masters tagga has sociological theories in it plus i have few files of 2-3 pages in soft copy can share them ?

Ahmed Faisal Thursday, August 30, 2012 02:21 AM

i think two books could serve the purpose namely:
Sociology by j.j.jaskani baloch
sociology by Taga...

Muhammad Irfan ullah jan Thursday, August 30, 2012 02:27 PM

thanks dear.. if you have any self made or copied notes from any source then plz share it.. or send me through an email.. as it is given in my profile..!!

shah Thursday, August 30, 2012 08:05 PM

[QUOTE=Muhammad Irfan ullah jan;471723]thanks dear.. if you have any self made or copied notes from any source then plz share it.. or send me through an email.. as it is given in my profile..!![/QUOTE]

brother i have self made notes i prepared notes from tagga . have notes in soft copy yupsi will send you on your id :)

Muhammad Irfan ullah jan Friday, August 31, 2012 12:36 AM

have you noted my id?? [email]**********@hotmail.com[/email]
pray for me to develop interest in current affairs..really gives a tough time..

shah Friday, August 31, 2012 12:43 AM

[QUOTE=Muhammad Irfan ullah jan;472034]have you noted my id?? [email]**********@hotmail.com[/email]
pray for me to develop interest in current affairs..really gives a tough time..[/QUOTE]

brother write your id in your biography or in skype id so i can send you notes :)
brother INSHA ALLAH i will pray and ALLAH will shower his blessings :) INSHA ALLAH and Amin

ravian786 Friday, August 31, 2012 12:48 AM

[QUOTE=shah;472036]brother write your id in your biography or in skype id so i can send you notes :)
brother INSHA ALLAH i will pray and ALLAH will shower his blessings :) INSHA ALLAH and Amin[/QUOTE]

I need notes,Id in profile

shah Friday, August 31, 2012 12:57 AM

[QUOTE=ravian786;472039]I need notes,Id in profile
thanks[/QUOTE]

bro ahmad seen your mail in my inbox brother i can share notes of mine but dear those are in hard copy :sad:

02:48 AM (GMT +5)