-   CSS 2016 Papers (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-past-papers/css-papers-1971-2017/css-2016-papers/)
-   -   English precis and composition paper 2016 (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-past-papers/css-papers-1971-2017/css-2016-papers/107681-english-precis-composition-paper-2016-a.html)

exclusively Friday, February 26, 2016 01:00 PM

[QUOTE=Jabbar Raheem;915396]nice, what will be your total 'mechanical' marks?[/QUOTE]

12 vocab

6 translation

3 analogies

3+3 correction & punctuation

4+4 idioms & POW

3 narrations .........takreeban 35

I consider 5 in comprehension and 10 in precis to ye 50 bante hain. In worst case, if they slaughter this paper, then 40 tak a jane chaea. If they don't check our papers and award marks randomly then nothing can be said. Because it is all their trend.

Jabbar Raheem Friday, February 26, 2016 01:05 PM

[QUOTE=exclusively;915400]12 vocab

6 translation

3 analogies

3+3 correction & punctuation

4+4 idioms & POW

3 narrations .........takreeban 35

I consider 5 in comprehension and 10 in precis to ye 50 bante hain. In worst case, if they slaughter this paper, then 40 tak a jane chaea. If they don't check our papers and award marks randomly then nothing can be said. Because it is all their trend.[/QUOTE]

IA you will make it.. what about essay

exclusively Friday, February 26, 2016 01:10 PM

[QUOTE=Jabbar Raheem;915402]IA you will make it.. what about essay[/QUOTE]

Done it more than up to the mark. It was just perfect & I always sail through essay papers. :)

exclusively Friday, February 26, 2016 01:13 PM

I made mistake in OMR sheets in C.A & P.A while filling the role number, it happens first time in an exam. If they deduct my mcqs marks then it will devastate the score in GK. Do you think they check the OMR sheets manually in case of not detected by the computer? Though invigilator told me that it would be fine by manual way in case not detected, yet I am not sure for that. But I scratched the wrong filled bubble of blue colour hahah. Then the white layer appeared I thought it would be fine because OMR machine only detects the filled circle bubble not white background layer of the OMR sheet.

Mrkhansaab Friday, February 26, 2016 01:55 PM

[QUOTE=exclusively;915404]I made mistake in OMR sheets in C.A & P.A while filling the role number, it happens first time in an exam. If they deduct my mcqs marks then it will devastate the score in GK. Do you think they check the OMR sheets manually in case of not detected by the computer? Though invigilator told me that it would be fine by manual way in case not detected, yet I am not sure for that. But I scratched the wrong filled bubble of blue colour hahah. Then the white layer appeared I thought it would be fine because OMR machine only detects the filled circle bubble not white background layer of the OMR sheet.[/QUOTE]

Last I remember, FPSC's machines were busted/not operational to begin with. They check the sheets manually and can easily overlook Roll# mistakes through your NIC and name. Hopefully someone checking them will have the patience and due respect for the efforts of candidates to correct such errors.

exclusively Friday, February 26, 2016 02:32 PM

Thankyou dear & how's your attempt?

Mrkhansaab Friday, February 26, 2016 02:41 PM

[QUOTE=exclusively;915444]Thankyou dear & how's your attempt?[/QUOTE]

T'was good; definitely better than last time whereby I cleared all but one paper. So hopefully I'll make it through this year. What about you?

I really thought you and Tupac would make it in CE2015. Nonetheless, hoping to see you past the line this year!

exclusively Friday, February 26, 2016 02:56 PM

[QUOTE=Mrkhansaab;915450]T'was good; definitely better than last time whereby I cleared all but one paper. So hopefully I'll make it through this year. What about you?

I really thought you and Tupac would make it in CE2015. Nonetheless, hoping to see you past the line this year![/QUOTE]

It was a good attempt, let's see what happens. Finally ended up the Ramleela story.

Toru Friday, February 26, 2016 03:04 PM

While this discussion is fruitful , it's a lot more futile. Anticipating success has a heavier downside in the strict mathematical sense in css, for only ''nothing'' is certain.

Though it's interesting to see such critical insight into the precis, mind if i ask where the passage mentions [U]John being George's ''friend''?[/U] might as well be a colleague, cousin, brother..who knows? Which make's the [U]friend-designate[/U] a ''personal input'' -- strictly against the rules of a precis.

Another, scientific rule is that a precis should AT MOST be a third of its original passage. It is encouraged to write in as few words as possible not compromising the essentials of the passage, while at the same time not exceeding a third of its length.

These rules aren't only mentioned by Saadat Ali Shah but also on the English departments of Oxbridge/Toronto/New Orleans etc.

Besides, if such scientific rigidites were adhered to in CSS, kia hee baat hoti. Aur agar aisa hota, then all those who used the word: friend John/ befriended george etc fail he hotay. Par aisa hota nahi hai. I know people who've passed the essay without even completing it. Given that we, at the forum, have the leisure of time enabling such critical evaluation; examiners hardly give (assuming) more than 2-3 minutes to a paper. Tow just relax, and hope the examiner's in a generous mood the day your paper's being checked.

gintino Friday, February 26, 2016 04:36 PM

[QUOTE=Toru;915457]While this discussion is fruitful , it's a lot more futile. Anticipating success has a heavier downside in the strict mathematical sense in css, for only ''nothing'' is certain.

Though it's interesting to see such critical insight into the precis, mind if i ask where the passage mentions [U]John being George's ''friend''?[/U] might as well be a colleague, cousin, brother..who knows? Which make's the [U]friend-designate[/U] a ''personal input'' -- strictly against the rules of a precis.

Another, scientific rule is that a precis should AT MOST be a third of its original passage. It is encouraged to write in as few words as possible not compromising the essentials of the passage, while at the same time not exceeding a third of its length.

These rules aren't only mentioned by Saadat Ali Shah but also on the English departments of Oxbridge/Toronto/New Orleans etc.

Besides, if such scientific rigidites were adhered to in CSS, kia hee baat hoti. Aur agar aisa hota, then all those who used the word: friend John/ befriended george etc fail he hotay. Par aisa hota nahi hai. I know people who've passed the essay without even completing it. Given that we, at the forum, have the leisure of time enabling such critical evaluation; examiners hardly give (assuming) more than 2-3 minutes to a paper. Tow just relax, and hope the examiner's in a generous mood the day your paper's being checked.[/QUOTE]

No one is saying that the examiner is going to penalize you for assuming John to be the writer's friend, or, for that matter, taking George to be a local or a shopkeeper or a vendor or an inhabitant. These are non-essentials. He is not going to care about it.

Broadly speaking, here are four things that he is going to look for (in decreasing order of their significance):

1) Clarity and organization
2) No "Jerkiness" and continuity and flow
3) Omission of illustrations and examples
4) Use of third person
5) Adhering to word limit

And I agree, if he is going to target the preci paper, he's going to do mindless and senseless checking. And it will depend on his whims. But these 5 pointers are generally the stuff that a CSS examiner is looking for.

10:06 AM (GMT +5)