-   CSS 2009 Papers (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-past-papers/css-papers-1971-2017/css-2009-papers/)
-   -   Every Day Science Paper 2009 (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-past-papers/css-papers-1971-2017/css-2009-papers/23432-every-day-science-paper-2009-a.html)

Viceroy Friday, May 01, 2009 05:18 PM

[quote=Raz]

It is [B]"Sweat"[/B] but not seat.

[B]Sponge vs Steel[/B]
Sponge is also elastic. I am not sure but I have marked sponge.

[/quote]

Ohhh so it was misspelled ... in the case of being "sweat" the answer is sodium chloride. It also contains smaller amounts of methylphenol :))

Let's pray that your answer sponge is right :))
I recall a joke according to the situation

Boy praying : Allah Japan ko Pakistan ka Capital bana de
Dad : Beta ye dua kiyoon mang rahay ho
Boy : Main paper main likh aaya hun Japan Pakistan ka capital hay :))

lala1447 Friday, May 01, 2009 05:36 PM

yup steel is more elastic than sponge :
[B]Elasticity is the capability of an object to return to its former shape once a load inducing strain is removed. If you were to drop a steel ball on a very hard surface, it would probably bounce higher than than rubber. If you drop it on a softer surface, because it would deform less, then the surface it is to bounce off will be the one deforming, so the bounce would be a function of the elasticity of the floor, not of the ball.

A strand of silk is indeed stronger than a steel wire of the same diameter. The reason is that metal uses metallic bounds which is not as strong as the covalent bounds in a macro-molecule like the ones in silk. This also explains why Kevlar, carbon fiber, and carbon nanotubes are also stronger than steel.

Youngs Modulus of steel is more than youngs modulus of rubber
[/B] answers.com
moonsoon is caused by reversal of winds[B]Monsoon is used to describe seasonal reversals of wind direction, caused by temperature differences between the land and sea. They occur in a number of countries around the world. However, the most well-known of these where the term is most often applied, is the Asian Monsoon[/B]

Viceroy Friday, May 01, 2009 05:41 PM

[quote=lala1447]

yup steel is more elastic than sponge :
[B]Elasticity is the capability of an object to return to its former shape once a load inducing strain is removed. If you were to drop a steel ball on a very hard surface, it would probably bounce higher than than rubber. If you drop it on a softer surface, because it would deform less, then the surface it is to bounce off will be the one deforming, so the bounce would be a function of the elasticity of the floor, not of the ball.

A strand of silk is indeed stronger than a steel wire of the same diameter. The reason is that metal uses metallic bounds which is not as strong as the covalent bounds in a macro-molecule like the ones in silk. This also explains why Kevlar, carbon fiber, and carbon nanotubes are also stronger than steel.

Youngs Modulus of steel is more than youngs modulus of rubber

[/B] [/quote]

Thanks Dr Noor ul ain :)

Sry Raz Bhai 1 number to gaya aap ka ;)

lala1447 Friday, May 01, 2009 05:42 PM

yeast is a microrganism itself it produces carbon dioxide not bacteria.

Raz Friday, May 01, 2009 08:50 PM

[QUOTE=MohsinShah]Thanks Dr Noor ul ain :)

Sry Raz Bhai 1 number to gaya aap ka ;)[/QUOTE]

I have already made provision for that. It has been my practice in my life when I am uncertain about any thing I park it in loss category. So I did not count any question in my expected lot of which I had uncertainty.

Silent Spectator Friday, May 01, 2009 10:07 PM

[B]Asslamulaikum,[/B]

[B]I wish all of you people Good luck, who appeared and solved this paper.[/B]

[B]The easiest paper I have ever seen, though MCQ's from Geology, Biology, Chemistry, Physics are all present yet very easy.[/B]
[B]I will be having the Solutions in the next post.[/B]

[B]Regards..[/B]

jtalpur Saturday, May 02, 2009 03:25 AM

dear all can anyone answere me the question no 8

(8) What is the chance of diabetic baby born to parents both heterozygous normal ?

a. Zero
b. ¼
c. ½
d. ¾
e. None of these

anyone tells me why 1/4 what about option e, because question doesnt tell the history of parents parent

Junaid Ilyas Saturday, May 02, 2009 01:48 PM

gud work brother,,,

@ Mohsin Shah

gud work brother,,,

keep it up

kindly try to post all the papers along with the solutions...

Best of luck for exams and inshallah you will clear in this attempt.

Dr.G.AsgharMemon Saturday, May 02, 2009 06:10 PM

[QUOTE]dear all can anyone answere me the question no 8

(8) What is the chance of diabetic baby born to parents both heterozygous normal ?

a. Zero
b. ¼
c. ½
d. ¾
e. None of these

anyone tells me why 1/4 what about option e, because question doesnt tell the history of parents parent[/QUOTE]

Dear jtalpur, its reason is the fact that parents are ''heterozygous'' meaning each of them[parents] have one allele for the disease. so when u do the cross bw such parents the ratio comes out is 25 % or 1/4. u can understand this concept if u know how to make a cross bw traits.
Suppose a person has 't' allele for diabetes, 'T' [capital] for normal. one parent has 'Tt' and the other likewise has 'Tt' , now then cros [Tt into Tt] and make its possible subsets like this : TT, Tt, tT, tt. in this configuration u can see the letters ''tt'' stands for the disease and its ratio is 25% , therefore it is 1/4 .
hope this concept is clear enough for you.

Dr.G.AsgharMemon Saturday, May 02, 2009 06:19 PM

little correction: alleles tt stands for diabetes, all others options like Tt,tT,TT, are for normal. Tt option is heterzygous normal.

12:57 AM (GMT +5)