-   CSS 2014 Papers (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-past-papers/css-papers-1971-2017/css-2014-papers/)
-   -   Journalism Paper 2014 (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-past-papers/css-papers-1971-2017/css-2014-papers/90155-journalism-paper-2014-a.html)

Ranjha M S Tuesday, February 18, 2014 11:53 AM

Journalism Paper 2014

[B]Section 1[/B]

2. Do you think that internet is flattening the cultural differences and synching distinct cultures on some common grounds? Discuss critically

3. Media do not tell you what to think, but what to think about. This premise signifies the role of media as an agenda setter. However recent research on agenda setting explores the media's role in framing the most salient aspects of an issue and let the people think not only about the issue but also affect thinking process of the viewers. Discuss the distinction about agenda setting and framing(as a secondary-level agenda setting) theories.

4. Media seems to have limited role in developing people political attitude, rather than individual attitude and behaviour are greatly shaped by groups they are associated with.

5. It is not socio-economic strata (SES) of the people that creates knowledge gap in asocial systems advocated by relatively old knowledge-Gap theory But the Digital Divide which creates information-rich and information-poor groups in a society. critically discuss the two by making a clear distinction between them..

[B]Section 2[/B]

6. Media and media practitioners are naive and are unable to understand the complexity of social and political problems of a country. Hence, they need to be governed and their affairs should essentially be regulated. Don't you think this premise is against the canons of freedom of expression? discuss

7. In election 2013, social media were used as a vehicle as political advertising by the leading political parties of Pakistan. Do you think that sociAL media had considerable effect on the election results? support you answer with concrete examples.

8. write short notes on the following topics:

a. non-verbal communication
b. meta communication
c. press note vs press communique
d. The news corporation

rarasham Tuesday, February 18, 2014 12:07 PM

Media :)
I think this year journalism is slaughtered . One has to write down only about the media but with different perspective .

ASMA FAISAL Tuesday, February 18, 2014 12:25 PM

this journalism paper invites deep study and analytical approach indeed...candidate with rot memorization never make difference in my point of view but its an opportunity for those to rise up who has indepth preparation of mass com or journalism...
like 2009 this years css papers are very much tricky and thought provoking...who has organized and articulate his existing knowledge as per papers demands will surely be successfull

Ranjha M S Tuesday, February 18, 2014 12:26 PM

Length of questions does not help either, rather it makes understanding vague. In fact that how Journalism papers have been for last couple of years, overly generalized papers which consequently yield very low scores.:mad:

samar ahmad Tuesday, February 18, 2014 01:28 PM

Big problem for Journalism's students. No one can guess one's marks in this paper especially objective part. I solved last 15 years Mcqs. But didnot get single one from past papers. :-(

FrostFlame Tuesday, February 18, 2014 01:40 PM

Aaaaahhhaaa Ye hota hai na paper.. Journalism ki kitaab bhi na kholi ho or paper bhi hojaye :D

Indeed, a difficult one for those who had crammed media laws, ethics, news, magazine journalism, etc etc etc :P

By the way MCQs were a bit thought-provoking :P

Walrus Tuesday, February 18, 2014 01:42 PM

Brilliant!

Allah Ta'la uss banday ya bandi ko jannat main jaga naseeb karay, jinho nay iss saal k Islamic Studies aur Journalism k questions nikaalay.

Absolutely loved attempting Islamic Studies and Journalism exams. The questions were like your friend or an interviewer in a room where you were asked to express your critical analysis, show depth of your knowledge, and how you connect different aspects of learning process in to an argument.

This was the exam where you could put references of Wikileaks, (Bradley) Chelsea Manning, Edward Snowden, Glenn Greenwald, NSA, and how freedom of expression has come under constant attack and sabotage recently.

You could also blend in role of social media, especially Facebook & Twitter, in bringing people from distinct cultures together on one platform and find common grounds; such as how activism of people, citizens, and activists from Arab Spring in Middle East, Pink Tide in Brazil, and Euro Maidan in Ukraine brought people of common interest together and how they could relate to each other on social media and internet by sharing their stories despite having difference in cultures and distance of continents.

This was a magnificent exam. Can not stress enough how much I loved attempting this exam. Brilliant.

May Allah bless you all and give success, do not despair if you could not express yourselves in the exams as Lord knows better. Keep trying and you would bear fruits of your hard-work, this way or that way. Keep the faith.

samar ahmad Tuesday, February 18, 2014 01:43 PM

Yes true. People who just come to enjoy the exam hall, are feeling happy. But who want allocation in PAS, feeling hurt with this paper. :-P

The Manager Tuesday, February 18, 2014 02:14 PM

[QUOTE=Walrus;696348]Allah Ta'la uss banday ya bandi ko jannat main jaga naseeb karay, jinho nay iss saal k Islamic Studies aur Journalism k questions nikaalay.

Absolutely loved attempting Islamic Studies and Journalism exams. The questions were like your friend or an interviewer in a room where you were asked to express your critical analysis, show depth of your knowledge, and how you connect different aspects of learning process in to an argument.

This was the exam where you could put references of Wikileaks, (Bradley) Chelsea Manning, Edward Snowden, Glenn Greenwald, NSA, and how freedom of expression has come under constant attack and sabotage recently.

You could also blend in role of social media, especially Facebook & Twitter, in bringing people from distinct cultures together on one platform and find common grounds; such as how activism of people, citizens, and activists from Arab Spring in Middle East, Pink Tide in Brazil, and Euro Maidan in Ukraine brought people of common interest together and how they could relate to each other on social media and internet by sharing their stories despite having difference in cultures and distance of continents.

This was a magnificent exam. Can not stress enough how much I loved attempting this exam. Brilliant.

May Allah bless you all and give success, do not despair if you could not express yourselves in the exams as Lord knows better. Keep trying and you would bear fruits of your hard-work, this way or that way. Keep the faith.[/QUOTE]
You are right dear but the paper says that one should have to attempt four questions. Besides, it is understood that performing in a single question does not mean good marks. after all the paper was tough.

ASFANDYAR6 Tuesday, February 18, 2014 02:47 PM

jour.paper 2014

one of the esiest paper i ever seen. lamba swal poch k apna point of view bta k swal pocha hay. kia is k swalo sy ni lagta k ya media k negative role k hawaly sy arguments mang raha hay har swal main?

Walrus Tuesday, February 18, 2014 03:10 PM

[QUOTE=The Manager;696368]You are right dear but the paper says that one should have to attempt four questions. Besides, it is understood that performing in a single question does not mean good marks. after all the paper was tough.[/QUOTE]

Yes, sir. What I presented in the post was just an general overview of how people could merge many of (those) things in different answers, and could come up with a substantive answer, accordingly.

I attempted this exam in following way, if you want me to be exact.

2. Do you think that internet is flattening the cultural differences and synching distinct cultures on some common grounds? Discuss critically

Ans: In this, I asserted the importance of internet and especially social media platforms like Facebook for connecting; Twitter for sharing information and daily routines, activities, and what not; Linked-in for finding people with common interest in work; MySpace, Soundcloud, 8tracks for music, etc.

Then I came to address the question that how it flattens the cultural differences on broader level by giving the example of how people from distinct cultures came together on one platform and managed to find common grounds; such as how activism of people, citizens, and activists from Arab Spring in Middle East, Pink Tide in Brazil, and Euro Maidan in Ukraine brought people of common interest together and how they could relate to each other on social media and internet by sharing their stories despite having difference in cultures and distance of continents.

---

3. Media do not tell you what to think, but what to think about. This premise signifies the role of media as an agenda setter. However recent research on agenda setting explores the media's role in framing the most salient aspects of an issue and let the people think not only about the issue but also affect thinking process of the viewers. Discuss the distinction about agenda setting and framing(as a secondary-level agenda setting) theories.

Ans: I attempted this question by briefly defining agenda and framing. Then kept distinguishing between them with how editorials in DAWN came up with an agenda of 'Govt.'s dialogues with terrorists' and how it gradually shifted to the framing of 'options of operations available to deal with terrorists'. This way, how it affected thought process and how it becomes secondary source for signature agenda of DAWN i.e. best way to deal with terrorism is operation. This was from POV of journalistic or printing press.

Then for the example of media, which was the question in first place, I came up with how revelations of Snowden via Glenn Greenwald caused havoc in American media and how the agenda to discard discussions on those heinous crimes were covered with framing of smear campaign against Greenwald and putting 'traitor' tag with Snowden by the pro-govt. media.

--

6. Media and media practitioners are naive and are unable to understand the complexity of social and political problems of a country. Hence, they need to be governed and their affairs should essentially be regulated. Don't you think this premise is against the canons of freedom of expression? discuss

Ans: This I attempted by an intro that first obligation of media and media practitioners is not to understand the complexity of social and political problems of a country because a country has sociologists and political scientists for that. In fact, their first obligation is to bring the truth to public about what's going on behind the scenes in the name "matter of national security".

Examples were: Wikileaks, Manning Case, Snowden, and also how media educated people on very social and political issues. How the constitution of almost every democratic country protects freedom of expression and some specifically have written freedom of press in the document and how they should be provided security if they are threatened because they are revealing the truth and that they should not be governed or regulated because they are like fourth or fifth estate which keeps govts. in check with their 'watch-dog' role, etc.

----

7. In election 2013, social media were used as a vehicle as political advertising by the leading political parties of Pakistan. Do you think that sociAL media had considerable effect on the election results? support you answer with concrete examples.

Ans: For this, I wrote that campaigns of political parties went in to new dimension as they created social profiles on FB, Twitter, YouTube and how they advertised their agendas via statuses, tweets, and video uploads of their rallies, and set the tune for their desired results.

And how not only parties but also activists and citizens took part in this by posting their pictures out of polling stations, election day routine, etc. Also, I mentioned that how big brands joined this novelty by posting promotional messages like "If you have voted, then come to our outlet, show your blue-marked thumb and get discounts or free foods."

And how pictures of women standing in line outside polling stations coming from those areas which were under the control of terrorists elements humbled other people and made them come out of their homes to vote and went on to have a considerable effect on turn-out.

Example which the question needed, I gave the example of how PTI filed report of rigging in Karachi where people were standing in lines till late hours of the evening and still were not able to vote, on the back of social media. How it went to Election Commission, with undeniable proof posted on social media, and how it affected the result for Dr. Alvi of PTI.

---

Hope it helps. Ta.

Razzi Tuesday, February 18, 2014 04:31 PM

Overall paper was tough. and related to current scenario in media. really examiner demand your opinion about negative points in media.

drmrazatanveer Tuesday, February 18, 2014 04:42 PM

@ everyone

With all due respect to everyone

This is competitive examination in which recruitment is done for the future hierchy of bureaucrats. One should be tested by every angle and he must be prepared for every possible paper.

Paper of journalism was tough yet easy. There were hints about everything in the question.

All the best to everyone who appeared in journalism

shtanzeel Tuesday, February 18, 2014 05:22 PM

[QUOTE=Walrus;696392]Yes, sir. What I presented in the post was just an general overview of how people could merge many of (those) things in different answers, and could come up with a substantive answer, accordingly.

I attempted this exam in following way, if you want me to be exact.

Ans: In this, I asserted the importance of internet and especially social media platforms like Facebook for connecting; Twitter for sharing information and daily routines, activities, and what not; Linked-in for finding people with common interest in work; MySpace, Soundcloud, 8tracks for music, etc.

Then I came to address the question that how it flattens the cultural differences on broader level by giving the example of how people from distinct cultures came together on one platform and managed to find common grounds; such as how activism of people, citizens, and activists from Arab Spring in Middle East, Pink Tide in Brazil, and Euro Maidan in Ukraine brought people of common interest together and how they could relate to each other on social media and internet by sharing their stories despite having difference in cultures and distance of continents.

---

Ans: I attempted this question by briefly defining agenda and framing. Then kept distinguishing between them with how editorials in DAWN came up with an agenda of 'Govt.'s dialogues with terrorists' and how it gradually shifted to the framing of 'options of operations available to deal with terrorists'. This way, how it affected thought process and how it becomes secondary source for signature agenda of DAWN i.e. best way to deal with terrorism is operation. This was from POV of journalistic or printing press.

Then for the example of media, which was the question in first place, I came up with how revelations of Snowden via Glenn Greenwald caused havoc in American media and how the agenda to discard discussions on those heinous crimes were covered with framing of smear campaign against Greenwald and putting 'traitor' tag with Snowden by the pro-govt. media.

--

Ans: This I attempted by an intro that first obligation of media and media practitioners is not to understand the complexity of social and political problems of a country because a country has sociologists and political scientists for that. In fact, their first obligation is to bring the truth to public about what's going on behind the scenes in the name "matter of national security".

Examples were: Wikileaks, Manning Case, Snowden, and also how media educated people on very social and political issues. How the constitution of almost every democratic country protects freedom of expression and some specifically have written freedom of press in the document and how they should be provided security if they are threatened because they are revealing the truth and that they should not be governed or regulated because they are like fourth or fifth estate which keeps govts. in check with their 'watch-dog' role, etc.

----

Ans: For this, I wrote that campaigns of political parties went in to new dimension as they created social profiles on FB, Twitter, YouTube and how they advertised their agendas via statuses, tweets, and video uploads of their rallies, and set the tune for their desired results.

And how not only parties but also activists and citizens took part in this by posting their pictures out of polling stations, election day routine, etc. Also, I mentioned that how big brands joined this novelty by posting promotional messages like "If you have voted, then come to our outlet, show your blue-marked thumb and get discounts or free foods."

And how pictures of women standing in line outside polling stations coming from those areas which were under the control of terrorists elements humbled other people and made them come out of their homes to vote and went on to have a considerable effect on turn-out.

Example which the question needed, I gave the example of how PTI filed report of rigging in Karachi where people were standing in lines till late hours of the evening and still were not able to vote, on the back of social media. How it went to Election Commission, with undeniable proof posted on social media, and how it affected the result for Dr. Alvi of PTI.

---

Hope it helps. Ta.[/QUOTE]

As far as question on social media effect on election "results" is concerned, don't you think sir, that it failed to impact Balochistan, Rural Sindh and most of Urban cities of Sindh, except one two constituencies. Even in rural Punjab, Southern area, and in big cities the results were not as reflected by popularity index shown at facebook. I guess if its failure side would have been highlighted in the answer of question, it would have made it highly critical. I adopted this approach by measuring the percentage of population remaining aloof from social media campaign. Anyways, best of luck to you sir.

paras Sulehri Tuesday, February 18, 2014 05:30 PM

[QUOTE=exclusively;696443]Inshallah you will make it with flying colors. In essay paper, which topic did you attempt?[/QUOTE]

aamean sum aamean.
i attempted Privitization in a very gracefull manner. though it was the first Esaay i wrote ever but i was sure of the Concepts.

Haris89 Tuesday, February 18, 2014 05:39 PM

Tricky paper ...

[B]The paper was indeed a very analytical one.
Pehle jub log paper attempt karte the Journalism ka , woh likhte waqt apna sar bhi nahi uthate the , but this time har banda pen mun mein rakh kar apni sochon mein ghum tha :P
But if i am really honest with myself i would say k paper aise hee houne chahiyeh, taakey lag pata jae what is one made up of :)[/B]

paras Sulehri Tuesday, February 18, 2014 05:47 PM

[QUOTE=Haris89;696461][B]The paper was indeed a very analytical one.
Pehle jub log paper attempt karte the Journalism ka , woh likhte waqt apna sar bhi nahi uthate the , but this time har banda pen mun mein rakh kar apni sochon mein ghum tha :P
But if i am really honest with myself i would say k paper aise hee houne chahiyeh, taakey lag pata jae what is one made up of :)[/B][/QUOTE]

i second your thoughts. these should be the actual requirements.
i remember when i was attempting the first question today; it took me almost 80 minutes n seriously ek ek lafz soch soch k, munh mai daba k, damagh ghomma ghomma k likhna par raha tha.

Rida Malik Tuesday, February 18, 2014 06:00 PM

Loved the questions. Objective wasn't out of the world as well, simple statements, simple questions.

These kind of papers, you actually enjoy writing about. Was worried though if my context was too open and not really academic.

sobijam Tuesday, February 18, 2014 06:53 PM

rida !! questions looks simple as for conversation time pass,,, but when u fell into ocean of this questions u even dont the direction where to swim

Hasnain Yousaf Tuesday, February 18, 2014 07:11 PM

Totally internet made paper. Indeed logical and reasonable paper. I wrote whatever came to my mind. My one year study has extremely disappointed me. Lets see what happens in result.

Rida Malik Tuesday, February 18, 2014 07:11 PM

[QUOTE=sobijam;696507]rida !! questions looks simple as for conversation time pass,,, but when u fell into ocean of this questions u even dont the direction where to swim[/QUOTE]
I might've attempted a crappy paper, i'm just saying the questions were like they are supposed to be for a competitive exam AND interesting. The require you to think outside the box.

Even if i fail, at least i'll know how to prepare for next attempt and what sort of material they expect.

amnakhan Tuesday, February 18, 2014 07:13 PM

Thats what actually called the paper, i must congratulate FPSC.
The situation is given now give yours view point.
How much you can analyse is the game for today:tata

Khanum Tuesday, February 18, 2014 07:28 PM

[QUOTE=ASFANDYAR6;696378]one of the esiest paper i ever seen. lamba swal poch k apna point of view bta k swal pocha hay. kia is k swalo sy ni lagta k ya media k negative role k hawaly sy arguments mang raha hay har swal main?[/QUOTE]

I agree. And that was the best part. Anyone who was able read xaminer's mind, cud hit his psych , right on the spot!

Sent from my GT-S5360 using Tapatalk 2

WasimBhai Tuesday, February 18, 2014 07:43 PM

You know, your posts in both the journalism and socialism thread totally put FPSC and its marking out of the radar. The people at FPSC are not transparent, not at all regarding how are they going to mark the exams. I have zero sympathy for 'rata' but I can tell you, I had to cross my answers at least a couple of times today because of the simple fact that I DO NOT know the criteria of how the exam will be marked. And that is the problem. You put questions, feel so good about it, and then when students try, you screw them over with your arbitrariness. Its shameful to say the least.

And secondly, what is FPSC trying to actually prove here? Is it expecting a kid from PU to emulate someone from LUMS? Or LSE? Well, the state better provide those who are less-previllaged with the same avenues and then judge them. This is atrocious and I seriously feel for those are going to fail today. This praetorian state now wants to further close up its elitism, way to go.

Khanum Tuesday, February 18, 2014 08:10 PM

[QUOTE=WasimBhai;696574]You know, your posts in both the journalism and socialism thread totally put FPSC and its marking out of the radar. The people at FPSC are not transparent, not at all regarding how are they going to mark the exams. I have zero sympathy for 'rata' but I can tell you, I had to cross my answers at least a couple of times today because of the simple fact that I DO NOT know the criteria of how the exam will be marked. And that is the problem. You put questions, feel so good about it, and then when students try, you screw them over with your arbitrariness. Its shameful to say the least.

And secondly, what is FPSC trying to actually prove here? Is it expecting a kid from PU to emulate someone from LUMS? Or LSE? Well, the state better provide those who are less-previllaged with the same avenues and then judge them. This is atrocious and I seriously feel for those are going to fail today. This praetorian state now wants to further close up its elitism, way to go.[/QUOTE]

That is also true. I agree. This yay could be hurtful, if the xaminer disagrees with our views.

Sent from my GT-S5360 using Tapatalk 2

sobijam Tuesday, February 18, 2014 08:46 PM

ya ya obviously it is just so simple that it not let u think out of the box either to help u out of the paper....
don't make this strategy because current papers of css proves that they always ready to gives any type of shock to students by creating any type of change in papers.. because current papers are tootaly change from papers pattern

Ali Mallah Tuesday, February 18, 2014 09:16 PM

MCQs:

1. World Press freedom day celebrated on......[COLOR="Blue"]3rd May[/COLOR]
2. Freedom of expression is under........... article of constitution of Pakistan.... [COLOR="Blue"]Article 19[/COLOR]
3. Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press..............[COLOR="Blue"]First amendment in US constitution[/COLOR]
4. The process of Media, not tell you what to think, but let the people think not only about the issue but also affect thinking process of the viewers......[COLOR="Blue"]agenda setting
[/COLOR]

abbas khan 119 Tuesday, February 18, 2014 11:00 PM

Socio/economic strata means those for whom socio/economic conditions are favourable and those for whom they are not favourable. Digital divide means those who have access to digital means and those who have no access.

JhooTa Wednesday, February 19, 2014 12:45 AM

I scored around 70 in last attempt but it was a difficult paper indeed. . People who are commenting that paper was easy reminds me of situation jahan bahir beth k har ball pay lagta hai chaka maara ja sakta tha but ground main ja k aik aik run banana mushkil hota

DDAY Wednesday, February 19, 2014 04:59 AM

[QUOTE=JhooTa;696733]I scored around 70 in last attempt but it was a difficult paper indeed. . People who are commenting that paper was easy reminds me of situation jahan bahir beth k har ball pay lagta hai chaka maara ja sakta tha but ground main ja k aik aik run banana mushkil hota[/QUOTE]

100% true said,,, they only see it as past paper with cool and relax mind but reality is shocking for those who are facing unexpected dimension of papers.. hardly one can think and get idea for those questions in just 2.5 hours.:sad

zeekaay Wednesday, February 19, 2014 09:04 AM

this paper is simply to give the checker an open hand in checking papers, at any point he may disagree with the candidate even if the candidate has answered correctly

Hamidullah Gul Wednesday, February 19, 2014 11:00 AM

what is wished in the last two attempts came true this time, these sort of questions are the true spirit of css. was a great fun to attempt this paper...

Walrus Wednesday, February 19, 2014 09:31 PM

[QUOTE=shtanzeel;696452]As far as question on social media effect on election "results" is concerned, don't you think sir, that it failed to impact Balochistan, Rural Sindh and most of Urban cities of Sindh, except one two constituencies. Even in rural Punjab, Southern area, and in big cities the results were not as reflected by popularity index shown at facebook. I guess if its failure side would have been highlighted in the answer of question, it would have made it highly critical. I adopted this approach by measuring the percentage of population remaining aloof from social media campaign. Anyways, best of luck to you sir.[/QUOTE]

Actually, that's the beauty of the question that you could either expand on what was asked or you could just disagree a bit and provide your own perspective on it.

I went to agree with the sentiment of the question because it provided me a platform to remain positive. Greater impact or lesser impact; it did change the dynamics of advertising and did provide much required drive for the political parties to adopt this social media tactic for their campaigns.

The argument that you put is highly commendable and really glad to see that you observed the trend that way by providing a very substantive figure.

It tells me that your exam went exactly how you wanted it to go. Hopefully, our answers would meet the expectations of the examiners and would grace us with fair marks. Good luck to you as well. Cheers.

ASMA FAISAL Monday, February 24, 2014 02:59 PM

journalism,islamiat and essay type papers always use to filter out the candidates inculcating critical creative thinking with some god gifted rudimenatry literary callibre that only be found in genome since childhood upbringing.....any one can not develop this persona because of few months rot memorization of subject material given in css books nad notes as well.

Raja Bahar Monday, February 24, 2014 06:45 PM

Truly speaking, I do not know even the ABC about Journalism as I have never read it even for a day only. However I attempted all the four questions as th paper was analytical in approach. Let's see what happens.

Ahmed Faisal Thursday, February 27, 2014 01:32 AM

The paper was quite general and analytical. I think this time those who produced good analysis would get good marks. As a matter of fact, I think when examiner sets tough paper, he adopts lenient marking policy. Its my personal opinion I may be wrong. Well I am expecting 50 plus in Journalism as my 3 question were quite good.

humna786 Thursday, February 27, 2014 03:59 PM

i think only mirza yousaf book would not be enough for 2015..what other sources sgoud be consulted?

musmanhussain Tuesday, March 04, 2014 07:28 AM

According to ce-2014 exam;there is no required any book for jouranalism.One or two question based on current election and election campaign and role of social media.These topics came from dawn articles.And mcq's also general mostly.

faisalarshadghani Saturday, March 22, 2014 03:04 PM

Plagiarism detected in CSS 2014 Journalism Paper

Plagiarism detected in CSS 2014 Journalism Paper. Reported in Dawn Newspaper. :haha

The copied question was

:"“In elections 2013, the social media were used as a vehicle of political advertising by the leading political parties of Pakistan. Do you think that social media had considerable effects on the election results? Please support your answer with concrete examples.”

Copied from International Islamic University Islamabad (IIUI) entry test paper.

Fortune Saturday, March 22, 2014 09:44 PM

With regards your quotation , Dear Raja brother, those who wait only get what is left over by those who strive and get. :)

04:30 AM (GMT +5)