05:56 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Past Papers > CSS Papers (1971-2017) > CSS 2016 Papers

Old Sunday, March 20, 2016

abbas khan 119 will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Sana Rasool View Post
This precis is unique and doesn't include your typical 'author/I' issue. It may just be the only winner this time, in which case, we are all doomed (God forbid).

Yes, the harder we try to think about the right solution, the more complicated it gets. Only the examiner can tell us what's correct now.

I wholeheartedly agree with you on the mechanical marks thing. They can save a lot of us.

Although, its my essay that gives me sleepless nights...
I believe we, IA, not drowned. Two of the important aspects of a precis are its theme and completeness. Read the first and last paragraph of excerpt and decide if the aforesaid precise is right.
gintino (Sunday, March 20, 2016), Sana Rasool (Sunday, March 20, 2016)
46th CTP (CTG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2017 - Merit 180

gintino is on a distinguished road

Sir Abbas, I agree with you. Definitely, there are a few flaws with this precis. May Allah pak bless us all.. The ball is in the examiner's court. Sab kuch examiner per depend karta hai..
46th CTP (CTG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2017 - Merit 180

gintino is on a distinguished road

By God's grace, I had 75 last year in Preci. And humbly stating, I knew I deserved it... laikan jab har kisi ke 60s, 70s mei thei tou I was like ke yaar yei kya hai.. There is a scoring trend and examiner doesn't check most of the scripts on merit. That is why iss baar bhi paper acha huwa hai (barring the word limit of the preci though i think my preci is fairly decent) laikan am worried kyun ke iss baar preci target honi hai so examiner ka kuch pata nahi.
The Following User Says Thank You to gintino For This Useful Post:
abbas khan 119 (Monday, March 21, 2016)
Old Monday, March 21, 2016

The below mentioned precis shows that using personal pronoun in precis is not wrong at all. Now the controversy comes to an end, and followers of both methods should pray for their success.

NEW EDITION HIGH SCHOOL English Grammar & Composition BY WREN & MARTIN (With New Appendices) REVISED BY N.D.V. PRASADA RAO S. CHAND

SPECIMEN - 1
One great defect of our civilization is that it does not know what to do with its knowledge. Science, as we have seen, .has given us powers fit for the gods, yet we use them like small children. For example :- we do not know how to manage our machines. Machines were made to be man's servants; yet he has grown so dependent on them that they are in a fair way to become his masters. Already most men spend most of their lives looking after and waiting upon machines. And the machines are very stern masters. They must be fed with coal, and given petrol to drink, and oil to wash with, and must be kept at the right temperature. And if they do not get their meals when they expect them, they grow sulky and refuse to work, or burst with rage, and blow up, and spread ruin and destruction all round them, So we have to wait upon them very attentively and do all that we can to keep them In a good temper. Already we find it difficult either to work or play without the machines, and a time may come when they will rule us altogether, just as we rule the animals
Page 409

SUMMARY

MEN AND MACHINES We do not know what to do with our knowledge. Science has given us superhuman powers, which we do not use properly. For example, we are unable to manage our machines. Machines should be fed promptly and waited upon attentively; otherwise they refuse to work or cause destruction. We already find it difficult to do without machines. In the course of time they may rule over us altogether

Beensh is on a distinguished road

I saw a couple of posts regarding first person. I did in first person as well unfortunately. Can you kindly check if the solution that you have given is a 'summary' or precis?

Originally Posted by Beensh View Post
I saw a couple of posts regarding first person. I did in first person as well unfortunately. Can you kindly check if the solution that you have given is a 'summary' or precis?
This is a precis taken from an authentic book. Btw there is no any major difference between a precise and summary with reference to the grammar principles.
Old Tuesday, March 22, 2016

Beensh is on a distinguished road

There is actually. Precis is plain main idea. Summary is jist of entire text. Rules of dealing with each are entirely different. But yes I really hope they don't penalize the first person.

Adeel Ahmed will become famous soon enoughAdeel Ahmed will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Beensh View Post
There is actually. Precis is plain main idea. Summary is jist of entire text. Rules of dealing with each are entirely different. But yes I really hope they don't penalize the first person.
There is difference between PRECIS & SUMMARY: Summary can be written in first person, while Precis cannot be written in first person.

Originally Posted by Adeel Ahmed View Post
There is difference between PRECIS & SUMMARY: Summary can be written in first person, while Precis cannot be written in first person.
perhaps you yourself have devised these rules 😂 can you refer me to some authentic sources in support for your claim. I have taken the above precis from the precis writing portion of "wren and martin grammar book" that is the most suggested book for css. i cant quote the entire section here. if you have any doubt, download it and read the relevant portion

https://content.uploady.com/download...35c9e6d1ecf7f8
Amjad Somro (Friday, April 01, 2016)

I hope everything clear now.
galaxy55 (Monday, May 09, 2016), gintino (Thursday, March 24, 2016), ssonia (Monday, October 10, 2016)