Saturday, May 04, 2024
08:01 PM (GMT +5)

Old Thursday, August 18, 2011
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,188 Times in 1,060 Posts
Taimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant future

Today we are not Pakistanis and this is the reall problem, we are Punjabi, Sindhi, Balochi, Pathan, Mohajjar, Saraiki, Sunni, Shia etc..
When we will become Pakistanis rather than these identities then believe me these crises will come to an end.
No political party will play Punjab card, Sindh card, Balochistan card, KPK card or like that...
when there will be harmony and unity in public then everything could happend. then public will be not used for political purposes and no political party, army or bureaucracy will indulge in corruption... public can do any thing, if there is harmony between them.
we all unite when there is a cricket match b/w Pakistan and India, but we are divided in different sects where we have to safeguard our country.
this is my point of view, other may differ
Old Saturday, August 20, 2011

Venerated is on a distinguished road

Today we are not Pakistanis and this is the reall problem, we are Punjabi, Sindhi, Balochi, Pathan, Mohajjar, Saraiki, Sunni, Shia etc..
When we will become Pakistanis rather than these identities then believe me these crises will come to an end.
No political party will play Punjab card, Sindh card, Balochistan card, KPK card or like that...
when there will be harmony and unity in public then everything could happend. then public will be not used for political purposes and no political party, army or bureaucracy will indulge in corruption... public can do any thing, if there is harmony between them.
we all unite when there is a cricket match b/w Pakistan and India, but we are divided in different sects where we have to safeguard our country.
this is my point of view, other may differ
Nationalism may have the following stages:

Caste nationalism(clan system,say jatoi,lashari etc).then

Linguistic nationalism(sindhi,punjabi etc).then

Country nationalism(pakistani,indian etc).then

Religious nationalism.

Mr.Tamoor Gondal,you have rightly advised to free ourselves from the narrow nationalism of caste and language and to become Pakistani.But why do you not come onto the next stage of religious nationalism?Does religious nationalism not appeal to our common sense?We have tested the western system of democracy and have failed.Why should not now we become true muslims?when Allah(swt)has made us an exalted nation and has bestowed upon us a unique political system,why we are after western political system?when Allah(swt) has made a special political system for us,then none of the other political systemS will suit us,come what may, because the Islamic political system has been made according to the nature of the muslim.When the Quran is our constitution,why we have been writing and amending the man-made constitutions?

Believe me our ultimate salvation lies in Islam.All our problems are due to our distance from our religion. Karachi is burning because the sense of linguistic nationalism is too entrenched.This problem too may be solved by any means but that solution ll be temporary because we ll not forget our narrow nationalism.Permanent and ultimate solution lies only in Islam.

chemguy will become famous soon enough
Thumbs down

@Venerated
Our society is now polarised. People are either being orthodox Muslims, or leftist, freethinking, at-the-verge-of-Islam Muslims.

Your suggestion of Islam is correct but it is not viable.

For one Islam is a threat to our Government, in fact it is a threat to every form of political/legal/educational/economical/social system. In Islam sovereignty belongs to Allah, Interest system is not acceptable, no corruption, it requires complete segregation of both genders in almost every walk of life, a change in legal system etc. etc. These institutions are our ruling bodies, and none of them wants Islam. At least when they will know what Islam requires, they will invariably resist it. Not only will these huge bodies resist Islam, but our leftist Muslims too. Not to mention the hue and cry of movements like Human Rights, Feminist movements etc.

Apart from that, the analogy of Islam is that of cancer - you can't contain it in a fixed place. It will always spread. If our country were to be based on Islam, the entire world, particularly our neighbouring countries, will do everything possible to destroy our country because of Islam's virulent and expansionist nature. This was the very reason America waged war on Talibans.

And don't forget our recent past - If a group of people were to raise the flag of Islam, our own army will gun them down. (Red Mosque)

Our masses, particularly the all-to-important youth, are now hooked on Indian Dramas, Indian Movies, Indecent material on the Internet, BF/GF infatuation. Our youth doesn't even care about this world's education, let alone Islam and its practices. How many readers do you know? (Books or Newspapers) Reading, is as good a scale as any to measure a society's literacy. How many really hardworking students are there? Even in CSS, most of the students now want to avoid the inevitable hardwork... Our society is moving towards complete moral bankruptcy, our social structure is inching its way towards complete breakdown of family system.

Islam is an unrealistic option for our country.

P.S.:
I know we need a revolution, but I will never want to see carte blanche given to a mullah

sialkotian is on a distinguished road

It is imperative now to poke my nose making a debut. Interesting comments and some of comments are from Chemguy are found to be offensive especially he used “virulent” for Islam is quite insane. You can’t say which way train went by looking at the track. Islam is a complete code of conduct and you can’t blame to its authentication (could’ve been better justified if blamed various Mullahs for misinterpreting it).

To me there are many a basic reasons for our de-stability and top of all is the basic traits of our nation. By default our nation is bifurcated and have multi-pronged interest at the same times. There is no focal point or center of origin to remain sticky with. History of 64 years shows that Pakistani nation never stood under one leader. Whatever you do good or bad there surely is a conflict. You will always hear clamor of crowd instead of one tone of cohesive voice. Priorities are different and so are the basic interests. The biggest example, when Liyari was cleaned up with a killing of famous gangster “Rehman Dakait” with his three accomplices in 2009 by Karachi Police there was a big hue and cry from the crowd of Liyari to condemn the police act. It is worth mentioning that Rehman Dakait had a history of criminal record with 80 cases on his account including the murder of his own mother which he committed when he was in his 20’s. In Sialkot everyone witnessed the brutal killing of 2 innocent brothers in a big crowed. In response when police arrested the culprits there was a big uproar with strong road protests demanding to the immediate release of culprits and without prosecution. If a bad incident happens in Karachi the “Awam” come up on the roads to play havoc with the government /private property and not-to-mention transporters. This awam is not justified to be declared “Mazloom”. How can we blame the leaders / bureaucrats when our own Kiblah is not well directed? After all they pop up from the very hatchery of “Awam” and these goons are very well learned to drive the awam as per their agenda.
The Following User Says Thank You to sialkotian For This Useful Post:
Venerated (Saturday, August 20, 2011)

unique psychologist is on a distinguished road

salam sidogar yes i m agreed with you if we folow our islam which provide us the solution of al problem then we must be able to drag all the dirty stuff out from our home land .but it is the need of the hour that we must follow it...islam is the complete code of conduct.............yes i m also agrred tht some people mislead the teaching of islam but if we start from ourself then change will come

taimoor you are right to say so.......................the need of the hour ids that we must be united..............these kind of the division are harmful for us and is a great hurdle in the way of a properous pakistan

Last edited by Rixwan; Sunday, August 21, 2011 at 05:37 AM. Reason: Merged
The Following User Says Thank You to unique psychologist For This Useful Post:
Venerated (Saturday, August 20, 2011)

chemguy will become famous soon enough
Exclamation *The following content may be offensive for some*

@Sialkotian:

You misunderstood my point. I meant Islam is virulent to others' governments. I justified my point prior to the mention of the word. I don't see why this should be offensive.

Your argument belies your own point. I agree with you that people of our country don't have any common ground. Nothing in common whatsoever, not even Islam.

We are told under the pretense of Islam to join hands. The reality is, Pakistan was never homogeneous nor it will ever be. Rightist Muslims are against democracy, and democracy against rightist Muslims. We have nationalist parties, particularly in Sindh (aftermath of independence) and Balochistan (c 1970s) who just want a separate nation notwithstanding their supporters' religion. Do you know how much support they get as a consequence of our leaders usurping their rights? We have rich class that is pseudoislamic, which lives totally in contradiction to the teachings of Islam. We have orthodox Muslims who are against the rich class because of the disparity of pay, unorthodoxy and nepotism. So not only are Muslims divided into Firqas but also by the EXTENT of Islam that he/she follows SUBJECTIVELY. And with our country's worsening situation, these differences are going even more deeper.

Quaid made it abundantly clear that minorities will get equal rights in our state. Have they? Their blood is on the hands of our own people. WE are the people who have done and continue to do sacrilegious acts against others' religions. We destroyed their places of worship and killed them. Do you think now, 64 years later, they would want the flag of Islam above their heads? The very flag that their murderers bore.

Essentially, Pakistan has survived 64 years because of passive pro-democratic moderately-religious bourgeois.

There is absolutely nothing to unite the people of our country. Shoving Islam down people's throat won't change their stance. We neither respected the differences then, nor are we doing it today (Seraikistan is a political move in favour of PPP)

When are we going to give up the forlorn hope of unity?

(I know some people will be offended by this. This is the truth as I know it. I may be wrong. These discussions are a means of rationally discussing these issues without getting personal or emotional.)

Venerated is on a distinguished road

Our society is now polarised. People are either being orthodox Muslims, or leftist, freethinking, at-the-verge-of-Islam Muslims.

Your suggestion of Islam is correct but it is not viable.

For one Islam is a threat to our Government, in fact it is a threat to every form of political/legal/educational/economical/social system. In Islam sovereignty belongs to Allah, Interest system is not acceptable, no corruption, it requires complete segregation of both genders in almost every walk of life, a change in legal system etc. etc. These institutions are our ruling bodies, and none of them wants Islam. At least when they will know what Islam requires, they will invariably resist it. Not only will these huge bodies resist Islam, but our leftist Muslims too. Not to mention the hue and cry of movements like Human Rights, Feminist movements etc.
@chemguy. I expected such type of response.
You jumped to the other extreme of the discussion.Differences among the muslim do exist but it is a real challenge against the rise of islam. Shiia vs sunni/wahabi,green cap vs wahabi etc is the most serious problem for the muslim.And this problem is not only for Pakistan but for the whole muslim world.Everywhere in the muslim world,u must have witnessed the western puppets.Ensuring the puppets throughout the muslim world was in fact one of their strategies to spread the western culture.Challenges do exist against rise of an ideology.If our holy Prophet(pbuh) did not face such challenges, the Islam would not spread throughout the world.We ll discuss this issue at length when majority of the members endorse our line.
Apart from that, the analogy of Islam is that of cancer - you can't contain it in a fixed place. It will always spread. If our country were to be based on Islam, the entire world, particularly our neighbouring countries, will do everything possible to destroy our country because of Islam's virulent and expansionist nature. This was the very reason America waged war on Talibans.

And don't forget our recent past - If a group of people were to raise the flag of Islam, our own army will gun them down. (Red Mosque)
How ll u account for these words?Cancer,Virulent and Expansionist.
I am astonished and startled.How can a true muslim use such words for his religion and that too Islam?The word cancer is used in negative sense.U mean Islam is a disease!!!!!!and we,muslims,are victims of such a disease!!! May I know ur name please?How can u call this peaceful religion an expansionist?U ve toed the line of Jews and the western world who are bent upon defaming Islam.Islam did not rise by force.Rather it was the peaceful message and magnanimity of the holy Prophet(pbuh) and his followers who spread Islam.

LEPA is on a distinguished road

PAkistan is in the grip of a serious energy crisis that is affecting all sectors of the economy and the various segments of the society. As the situation stands to-day, there are hardly any immediate solutions to resolve the issue. A change of attitude and a change of life style is needed at the national level which should be triggered by the ruling elite and followed by all segments of the society that have access to electricity. At best there could be some short and long-term solutions to the crisis but they need immediate planning and execution with an enormous investment.

Two key elements of a possible solution are: change of attitude and change in lifestyles.

The current energy consumption trends in Pakistan are extremely inefficient, whether it be in the domestic, industrial, trade or commercial sectors. With minimal effort, well over ten per cent of national electricity can be saved by applying only the first level of energy conservation that is a change in attitude. It is simple, instant and effective and all it requires is a stop to using energy unnecessarily.

Leaving lights and home appliances on even when they are not being used is a common practice in our society. Similarly, many businesses such as shops dealing in cloth and garments, jewellery, cosmetics, home appliances and electronics are usually extravagantly lit. It is commonly observed that shops that could do with two or three 40-watt tube lights to meet the desired level of luminance use as many as 15 to 20 tubes. Not only does this increase power consumption, it also generates heat and makes the environment uncomfortable.

A further economy of 10-15 per cent can be achieved by introducing the second level of energy-conservation practices, especially in industry. Collectively, just through public education. With the help of effective electronic and print media campaigns the government can quickly educate the masses.

The second part of the solution is a change in lifestyles. The nation has to draw a clear line between necessities (lighting, fans, TVs, computers, etc) and luxuries (air conditioners, microwaves, etc). There is not enough electricity to meet both requirements.

We should utilize daylight as possible, and our government has already taken steps about it. An early start and early end is recommended rather than having opening hours from afternoon until late at night. Air-conditioning, usually a sign of a luxurious lifestyle, needs to be ped. Bearing in mind that a typical domestic AC consumes far more electricity in one hour than a fan does over 24 hours, air conditioning should not be allowed except for sensitive applications such as hospitals and research centers.

The ruling class should lead by example in matters of power conservation. If it does so the common man will follow suit. It is time for the elite to take energy-saving initiatives like abandoning the use of central air conditioning, travelling by special flights and irrelevant use of official transport.

If implemented they can not only avoid the collapse of a bankrupt energy infrastructure but also ensure progress. The bottom line is, in order to safely get through the current energy crisis the nation has to differentiate between its necessities and its luxuries.

Pakistan is rich in hydro resources of energy. According to an estimate the country has enough resources to generate approximately 40000 mw of hydro-electricity. However, presently it only generates 8000 mw of electricity against an installed capacity of 11327 mw. In addition the country can generate electricity with the help of wind and solar energy which has not yet been exploited to meet the energy deficit. Nuclear energy is yet another source of energy and at present PAEC produces 472 mw. It is far less than what PAEC should have been producing to meet the energy deficit.

Thermal power is mostly produced by burning either natural gas or imported oil. The country is yet to switch over to coal from the indigenous source of energy that is estimated to be the third largest in the world with a reserve of 33.0 trillion tons.

If load shedding is still unavoidable despite all these measures, WAPDA/KESC should organize the cuts in a sensible way to cause minimum discomfort. Load shedding schedules should be properly planned and announced.

The reasons behind energy crisis are poor management, lopsided priorities and lack of accountability on part of those who stay at the helm of affairs. We must try our best to adopt energy conservation as individual and at national leve

Islam is believed to be the basis of nationalism on which the Pakistani state was constituted, even though this notion continues to be hotly contested. Liberals hold the view that Pakistan was created for the Muslim community of India, which Muhammad Ali Jinnah treated as a separate ethnic and cultural community, rather than a strictly religious group demanding an Islamic theocracy. Either way Islam is accepted as the core social and political institution in Pakistan, giving it a special role in Pakistani society.
Since 1971, the state, military and the politico-religious parties have insisted on enforcing a convoluted, myopic and singular ideological mindset – “Islamic state” – in an otherwise multi-sectarian, multi-religious and multi-ethnic society. This insistence created, on the one hand, various sectarian and ethnic fissures, and, on the other, a psyche that is extremely vulnerable to paranoia along with an almost schizophrenic patriotism.

Unity in such a country has to come from a democratic recognition of its diversity, and not through the engineering of a single, wholesome notion of faith and nation.

Last edited by Rixwan; Sunday, August 21, 2011 at 05:37 AM. Reason: Merged
Old Sunday, August 21, 2011

shahhamxa is on a distinguished road

i have dropped the idea of doing css due to the present situation of this country....i have completely lost hope....i am bronze medalist in my field of computer engineering....i ll easily get a chance for working in USA or Canada why shud i waste my life in this country which has no electricity no gas no fuel and the place where my life is not safe...this country is full of extremists and corrupt people .....the country cud not get rid of its problems in 61 years ab kiya karlena hai...and the things are getting worse day by day....i cud have cracked the css exam but i dont think one can have a good future in Pakistan..!!!
Old Sunday, August 21, 2011
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Best Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,347 Times in 1,010 Posts
Shooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud of

Originally Posted by shahhamxa View Post
i have dropped the idea of doing css due to the present situation of this country....i have completely lost hope....i am bronze medalist in my field of computer engineering....i ll easily get a chance for working in USA or Canada why shud i waste my life in this country which has no electricity no gas no fuel and the place where my life is not safe...this country is full of extremists and corrupt people .....the country cud not get rid of its problems in 61 years ab kiya karlena hai...and the things are getting worse day by day....i cud have cracked the css exam but i dont think one can have a good future in Pakistan..!!!

i completely disagree.

Though the situation is at its worst at the moment and it seems that we are heading towards our doom but running away is not a solutions.
61 years main kuch nahi hoowa to InshAllah ab zaroor ho ga.
You remember French revolution,Great Depression,world war 1-2,ppl would have thought at that time ke kuch nahi ho ga chalo kahin aur chalty hain to haqeeqat manin kuch na hota.
Aap MashALLAH bronze medalist hain computer ki field main.app yeh dekho ke aap ke pass kitni opportunities hain.Past main bhi sab achy log Pakistan se chaly gaye aur sirf corrupt hi reh gaye per ab new generation has to think about it.
change ke liye kisi na kisi ko sacrifice kerna perta hai...hum bhi shayid unhi main se hain jo tree plant karen gy but fruit humari future generations ko mily ga.
Be optimistic.It seems very odd and unrealistic but it is not impossible.
And css is one of the best ways to bring change.