Thursday, May 16, 2024
12:24 AM (GMT +5)

Old Monday, February 03, 2014
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no. 2638Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 3,870 Times in 1,441 Posts
Raz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant future
Default Nomination of Imran Khan in TTP Negotiating Committee – Testing Time: Risk vs Reward

Ishq-e-Mamnoo

What are the implications of including name of IK in the negotiating committee of Tehrik-i-Taliban Pakistan?

This decision has put IK in confusion; he is in indecisive state of mind. This decision can make or break him. Results of this process may make him hero of the nation or he may carry a permanent tag of Taliban with his name. Imran Khan who used to be strong supporter of dialogue has been thrown in a test by Taliban (ishq aur mushq kabhi chupta nhi khan sb. hun daso mahboba ny sar-e-aam iqrar kar dita ishq-e-mamnon ka).

Most probably IK will not accept TTP's equation but due to social and political pressure he is still confused. Since he used to be strong supporter of dialogue, he is in hot water at this point of time, if he accepts TTP's nomination then he is taking a risk, if he rejects their nomination then he invites a huge criticism from his opponents and public because he will be questioned that why did you air slogans in favor of dialogue if you yourself don’t want to play a part?

Advantages of his nomination in TTP’s committee:

If he gives his consent and plays a role in that committee he will come to know ground realities and he will find an opportunity to understand Taliban by coming close to them. Such closeness and understanding will make him able to refine his concepts and views. Another benefit of his membership in TTP's negotiating committee will be to facilitate the peace process and rectify TTP's stance with his efforts wherever he finds them illogical, arrogant, and brutal. He may mold their stance, he may bring a positive change in their modus operandi. It is a positive side of his membership.

Risks:

Successful dialogue is a blessing and failure is a catastrophe for IK's political career. If peace process succeeds then nation will rejoice his victory because it benefits everybody. If talks fail then IK will be in an un-ending attack and will be known with TTP brand by his opponents.

Izhar bhi mushkil hy inkar bhi mushkil hy

http://www.dawn.com/news/1084259/tal...te-peace-talks

http://www.dawn.com/news/1084532/ttp...to-negotiators

http://www.dawn.com/news/1084560/tal...kmate-the-govt
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Raz For This Useful Post:
kaneezfatimasahar (Tuesday, February 18, 2014), mani g (Tuesday, February 04, 2014), VetDoctor (Monday, February 03, 2014)
Old Monday, February 03, 2014

primo is on a distinguished road
Thumbs down

I think he should be the part of this process, in whatever capacity, as he has been the biggest adovcate of peace talks with these guys

PS: Learning times for IK

PPS: Stalemate situation for IK, but the game won't end as a draw
Old Tuesday, February 04, 2014
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2014

Gypsified will become famous soon enoughGypsified will become famous soon enough

I was thinking of what to say and then I stumbled across a Facebook post by a friend, which seems to sum up the whole issue very nicely. So I'll just quote it:

"Again, I am impressed by the TTP. Their decision to appoint that particular committee for talks, and its particular composition, should not be seen as mere trolling. It is a fine piece of trolling, but it is far more than that.

What the TTP did is to show the state and society a mirror. To me, their message is a very important one, delivered with the most meaningful smirk that a Hakimullah or Fazlullah is capable of.

The message is clear: "First, you guys must sort this out among yourselves. Figure out where you stand as a society. Then you can talk to us about the Constitution and laying down arms and so on."

Statistics, be they conservative or liberal, have long pretended in Pakistan that there is no complication with regards to the TTP: that they are rejected by mainstream public opinion and their demands are alien to this society and its mainstream political forces. The TTP have pointed out that all this talk of an operation to root them out is nonsense. There is no basic consensus on who stands where, and who is on which side. The state is not at all ideologically geared towards addressing jihadist violence, nor are the mainstream parties. For every one jihadist who the military shoots at, another 10 are protected, nurtured, respected and given free rein by the state.

The TTP will remain murderously relevant to Pakistani society as long as the people on their proposed negotiating-committee remain relevant."

While this might not be a direct answer to your question, it nonetheless is relevant. Imran Khan is a perfect representation of this confusion that exists in society at large. Still ambivalent, let's see where he eventually ends up.
Old Tuesday, February 04, 2014

R3b3l is on a distinguished road

The same taliban nominated nawaz sharif some time ago when he used to be a friendly opposition.
Second thing, one would think that maulana is the most apposite choice as a negotiator but instead I.K's nomination indicates that he is seen as a credible person and leader not only by the so called burger awam (the term anti-pti parties use for educated and awared segment of society) but even by the extremists.
Third thing I.K whether join this negotiating effort in person or not, he will be criticised any way by his opponents (which are in higher number since he does not believe in politics of reconciliation like other party heads).
It would be very naive on part of masses and journalists to think that I.K's participation would increase the possibility of success. this is because PML(N) will never ever allow I.K to gain political mileage in the shape of a successful negotiation effort with I.K at the helm.of affairs. so in my view I.K has decided correctly to stay alloof from direct participation in this negotitation otherwise the slightest probability of its success would have been lost too
The Following User Says Thank You to R3b3l For This Useful Post:
emraankhattak (Wednesday, February 05, 2014)
Old Wednesday, February 05, 2014

meritoriousme is on a distinguished road

IK deliberately doing this because he waiting to get support/ pressure from the public, later both results would be in the favor of IK. if, God for bid, failure then he may have the reasons that public put pressure and if successful then he would be distinctly hero No.1.
Old Sunday, February 16, 2014
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no. 2638Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 3,870 Times in 1,441 Posts
Raz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant future

Statement of Imran Khan on media regarding 40% chances of success in operation against terrorist was the biggest blunder and proof of his immaturity which weakened the position of state and strengthened the enemy. Never disclose your weakness in front of your enemy. His statement did not serve this nation instead it served terrorist by accepting such statistics publicly.

Jangain sirf jangi taqat sy nhi balky bharam sy bhi jeeti jati hain. ye baat khan sb ko samaj na aee.

Though I am his voter but such blunders disappoint us and make us realize that the stature which is required to sit in these sensitive meetings/briefings/presentations is lacking.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Raz For This Useful Post:
Amna (Monday, February 17, 2014), Faisal86 (Sunday, February 16, 2014), kaneezfatimasahar (Tuesday, February 18, 2014), VetDoctor (Sunday, February 16, 2014)