-   Scholarships (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/jobs-scholarships/scholarships/)
-   -   Commonwealth General Scholarship 2014 Announced through NTS (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/jobs-scholarships/scholarships/83263-commonwealth-general-scholarship-2014-announced-through-nts.html)

karar haider Sunday, August 25, 2013 07:14 PM

Commom wealth scholarship

Asalam o aleikum

bhai kya agar kisi shakhs ki 18 years education complete ha to kya woh b aaply kar sakta ha phd k liay? aor agar us ne Ielts b nahi kia ho to. plz guide me. thanks

Abn e Batota Sunday, August 25, 2013 10:34 PM

[QUOTE=karar haider;641363]Asalam o aleikum

bhai kya agar kisi shakhs ki 18 years education complete ha to kya woh b aaply kar sakta ha phd k liay? aor agar us ne Ielts b nahi kia ho to. plz guide me. thanks[/QUOTE]
ker sakta ha ..leken ye scholarship phd ke lie nahe sirf masters ke lie ha

daniyalahmed Sunday, August 25, 2013 10:43 PM

Dears,

I have an MBA degree 16 years of education. I have work experience too. I am currently 27 years old. I have two Question.

1. The best study book of NAT TEST.
2. Does GPA matter in MBA or is it entirely about NTS.

jhagra Monday, August 26, 2013 12:01 AM

is there any distribution of seats based on province etc?
if yes how many seats for FATA ?
and what was last years merit ?

does it matters if there is one second divison (fsc) ? and the final degree is not completed on time .. i.e. agar aik adh semester ziada laga ho ? does it matter ?

and in which countries will be the students sent?

thanks.

mani g Monday, August 26, 2013 01:38 PM

[QUOTE=jhagra;641507]is there any distribution of seats based on province etc?

does it matters if there is one second divison (fsc) ? and the final degree is not completed on time .. i.e. agar aik adh semester ziada laga ho ? does it matter ?

thanks.[/QUOTE]

Hi, Can I have your contact number, mail etc? Please add it to your profile. I suppose your ID reflects your residence location.

eversmiling Monday, August 26, 2013 03:40 PM

mene szabist se mba kiya hai or meri education is waqt 18 years hai.
will any expert suggest me to go for this or job with cost and benefit analysis :0

Shkhan Monday, August 26, 2013 07:51 PM

[QUOTE=Amr786;641257]Hello. Is there a list of foriegn universities in this commonwealth scholarhsip which we can see?

Those aspirants who applied last year would know this maybe.

Also, is IELTS the only score which will be required later on or will GRE too will be useful for engineering field candidates?[/QUOTE]

The full list of UK universities is available on Commonwealth Website.... It includes almost all good universities in UK... I don't have info about other countries

[QUOTE=Ahmed Green;641238]Hi Mr. Shkhan and Mr. NoorAhmed, i appriciate the information that you are providing. It will be really kind if you could answer my following queries.
1. Is this scholarship offered every year? Are there any limited chances to apply, and is there any age limit?
2. The shortlisting: As you said earlier that the shortlisting is totally based on test. But where does the academic background like CGPA comes into play? If a person is shortlisted from the test, is he secure to get the scholarship despite of his previous academic record?
3. What factors other than the NTS test will matter in finally getting the scholarship? As Mr. Shkhan said that the academic record is considered by Common Wealth Commission, this means that they will impact afterall.
4. Mr. Shkhan, i wonder why were you not able to get the scholarship after getting shortlisted? Can you please explain the reasons?
5. I've done Masters in Public Administration with a CGPA of 3.25. Will i have a chance to secure the scholarship if i am able to get shortlisted from the NTS test?
6. As talked earlier, there is no restriction on field of choice. I can not understand this concpet. Lets say i want to get admission in Mass communication, or Psychology, or Environmental sciences, or Film production, although i've my masters degree in Public Administration. Is it possible? Will it reduce my chance of getting the scholarship? And how can 'application inlined with the developement of the country' help in this regard?

I will be thankful to you if you take some minutes out of your precious time to answer my questions.
Ahmed.[/QUOTE]

1. Scholarship is offered every year... no limit on attempts
2. IPC doesn't look at your academic background until and unless they have set some criteria like 1st/2nd division or so... IPC just shortlists 30 candidates of whome only 10~15 candidates will be selected for scholarship by the Commonwealth commissioin
3. Yes the final selection is made by commision
4. It's a long story and don't want to paste it here as someone may got discouraged...
5. You should put your efforts in NTS to get shortlisted.. Later on, all the things depend on your proposal and how do you present your tentative studies to be useful for the development of your country
6. Difficult question, a change of subject line wil definitely reduce your chances... You will have to justify your change of field in addition to the convincing proposal for the development studies

Kindly feel free to let me help you in any regards

Note: Kindly don't post misleading reply... If you don't know about the answer then let the other answer

[QUOTE=karar haider;641363]Asalam o aleikum

bhai kya agar kisi shakhs ki 18 years education complete ha to kya woh b aaply kar sakta ha phd k liay? aor agar us ne Ielts b nahi kia ho to. plz guide me. thanks[/QUOTE]

Yes, the scholarship is for MSc and PhD... It's not MS Leading PhD... A person with 16 years Education can apply for Master only while one with 18 years education can apply for PhD.

[QUOTE=daniyalahmed;641484]Dears,

I have an MBA degree 16 years of education. I have work experience too. I am currently 27 years old. I have two Question.

1. The best study book of NAT TEST.
2. Does GPA matter in MBA or is it entirely about NTS.

Thanks.[/QUOTE]

I already mentioned that go for NTS GAT Book most probably published by DOgars sons... The initial shortlisting is based on NTS but after being shortlisted, the Commonwealth will consider your academic record and proposed research project.

[QUOTE=jhagra;641507]is there any distribution of seats based on province etc?

thanks.[/QUOTE]

Short listing is based on Provincial Quota, don't know about the seat allocation... Look for the eligibility criteria for your 2nd division... but Final degree completion should not be of great concern

thedeadman Tuesday, August 27, 2013 10:42 PM

I have one question,

Which book are we talking about. Is it NTS NAT General or NTS GAT guide. Both are available in market by Dogar Brothers. NTS NAT General and NTS NAT Subject are two different books.

So we need to buy NTS NAT General/Subject [B][COLOR="Blue"]or[/COLOR][/B] NTS GAT guide?

Please reply asap because we are confused.

Shkhan Thursday, August 29, 2013 02:04 AM

[QUOTE=thedeadman;642313]I have one question,

Which book are we talking about. Is it NTS NAT General or NTS GAT guide. Both are available in market by Dogar Brothers. NTS NAT General and NTS NAT Subject are two different books.

So we need to buy NTS NAT General/Subject [B][COLOR="Blue"]or[/COLOR][/B] NTS GAT guide?

Please reply asap because we are confused.[/QUOTE]

NTS GAT fulfills the requirements... I have never used NTS NAT and don't know about it's contest.. NTS GAT book is for General NTS test and the commonwealth test is also based on GAT General test with only difference of %age questions in each section.

mani g Thursday, August 29, 2013 03:50 PM

Hi, Will NTS accept my application for GAT and common wealth scholarship if I courier both the applications in one envelop?
Waiting for ans...

05:44 PM (GMT +5)