11:25 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > KPK Public Service Commission > KPKPMS

Old Tuesday, June 05, 2012

seemees is on a distinguished road
Default PSC Computer Science Subjects

Salam to all:
KPK recently announced various posts in their ad no. 02/2012.
I am interested in all those post which require master degree in computer science. So i am going to apply for those posts as i have done my master in computer science.

The posts i am applying for are:
1. Male IT Teacher
2. Assist. Director Web: Database Admin
3. Assistant Programmer

Now i need some information from experienced brothers and sisters for the preparation of the exam, if you kindly guide me through this, i will be very thankful.
I need to know the subjects included in the test, Past papers, and books.
As i expect the major part of the test in my case would be computer science related, so if some can provide past papers related to this field, it would be of great help for me.

Thank you
Old Tuesday, June 05, 2012

Thanked 1,078 Times in 408 Posts
Asif Yousufzai is just really niceAsif Yousufzai is just really niceAsif Yousufzai is just really niceAsif Yousufzai is just really niceAsif Yousufzai is just really nice
Default @seemees

Dear before applying for any post first of all thoroughly read the required qualification and experience.
1.Male IT Teacher: for this post you must have a B.Ed degree/certificate which I am cent percent sure that 99% of IT Students would not possess.

2. Assist. Director Web: Database Admin (It is basically objective type test and there are questions from almost all of the computer subjects which you have studied in your bachelor/master degree i-e programming, database, AI etc. )

3. Assistant Programmer (requirement is 2years progmming experience if you have this then follow the same stuff as that of AD Post).

Old Wednesday, June 06, 2012

Thank you Asif for your valuable information. Your are right about the b.ed. I havn't done it yet. So i will not apply for that post.
I have experience more than two years, but i worked during my studies, will that be count as experience for Assistant programmer post, OR experience gained after the completion of degree is only counted?
Thank you
Old Wednesday, June 06, 2012

Asif Yousufzai is just really niceAsif Yousufzai is just really niceAsif Yousufzai is just really niceAsif Yousufzai is just really niceAsif Yousufzai is just really nice

Dear only post qualification experience is acceptable so dont apply for AP Post. I think you are only eligible for AD post so go for it and wish you a very very goodluck.

Old Thursday, June 07, 2012

Thank you for clarification. But still i am worry about the preparation for the test, can you give me some guidelines about how to prepare. I mean book, or atleast past papers related to computer science.
Old Thursday, June 07, 2012

Dear as I told you that test is basically of MCQs type and here I am sharing with you few model questions that will give you a clear idea about test preparation.

Questions 1:

Which of the following fields in a student file can be used as a primary key?
a. class
b. Social Security Number
c. GPA
d. Major

Question 2:

Which of the following is not an advantage of the database approach
a. Elimination of data redundancy
b. Ability of associate deleted data
c. increased security
d. program/data independence
e. all of the above

Question 3:

Which of the following contains a complete record of all activity that affected the contents of a database during a certain period of time?
a. report writer
b. query language
c. data manipulation language
d. transaction log
e. none of the above

Question 4:

In the DBMS approach, application programs perform the
a. storage function
b. processing functions
c. access control
d. all of the above
e. none of the above

Question 5:

A set of programs that handle a firm's database responsibilities is called
a. database management system (DBMS)
b. database processing system (DBPS)
c. data management system (DMS)
d. all of above

Question 6:

Which is the make given to the database management system which is able to handle full text data, image data, audio and video?
a. full media
b. graphics media
c. multimedia
d. hypertext

Question 7:

A record management system
a. can handle many files of information at a time
b. can be used to extract information stored in a computer file
c. always uses a list as its model
d. both a and b

Question 8:

A command that lets you change one or more fields in a record is
a. insert
b. modify
c. lookup
d. none of above

Question 9:

A transparent DBMS
a. can not hide sensitive information from users
b. keeps its logical structure hidden from users
c. keeps its physical structure hidden from users
d. both b and c

Question 10:

A file produced by a spreadsheet
a. is generally stored on disk in an ASCII text fromat
b. can be used as is by the DBMS
c. both a and b
d. none of the above

Now you will be in a better position to decide how to start your preps. you should mainly focus on Network, database, Programming, and operating system.

regards.
Old Saturday, June 09, 2012

Thank you again. It helped me alot. Thank you very much.
The Following User Says Thank You to seemees For This Useful Post:
Asif Yousufzai (Sunday, June 10, 2012)
Old Monday, June 11, 2012

Do you have any info. about how to calculate From CGPA, whether its a First Class or Second class degree. I have BSCS (04 years) degree in computer science. As i have got the info from HEC website, that a four year Bachelor Degree is considered equivalent to MSc. degree (Master degree). Now i am confused about whether my degree is First class or Second class. Kindly help me in this regard.
Thank you
Old Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Default @seemees

Dear Class applies to bachelors degrees. It's basically the grade you got in your degree,something like the american GPA.
Every university will have a different way of awarding classes and it will differ from degree to degree as well.
In my opinion you should not confuse yourself. In a simple way If they ask for a class, they are probably referring to your bachelors degree. Also, a bachelors degree is sometimes called "a first degree". I hope it will clear your query.
2ndly you are 100% eligible for this post so go for it.

seemees (Wednesday, June 13, 2012)