-   Islam (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/off-topic-section/islam/)
-   -   Does Namaz Really Prevent from Committing Sin ? (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/off-topic-section/islam/37907-does-namaz-really-prevent-committing-sin.html)

Sociologist PU Thursday, August 26, 2010 05:19 PM

Does Namaz Really Prevent from Committing Sin ?

[FONT=Georgia]This question came in my mind early morning today when i saw a boy committing theft in his neighbour's house. The boy lives in the next house and a regular namazi of five times and always rushes to mosque at azaan wearing a prayer cap on head. He was busy breaking the lock of the house as the owner is away and nobody was present at home. Later, i came to know he was able to collect valueables from that house like computer and other stuff.[/FONT]
[FONT=Georgia]I am wondering since then how it is possible as it is said, "Namaz buriaon say rokti hai" and he is regular namazi and i have also seen some other persons who are very regular in praying, but also very regular in committing worst kind of sins. :ohmy:[/FONT]
[FONT=Georgia]What is behind this strange behaviour ? Any comment ?[/FONT]

ghulamkhan Thursday, August 26, 2010 06:48 PM

"Namaz buraiyon sa rokti ha". A complete and comprehensive answer is in this line.

Xeric Thursday, August 26, 2010 07:00 PM

The Quran says:
[B]
[I]Recite, [O Muhammad], what has been revealed to you of the Book and establish prayer. Indeed, prayer prohibits immorality and wrongdoing, and the remembrance of Allah is greater. And Allah knows that which you do. [29:45][/I][/B]

A person kidnapped a driver alongwith his car, killed him and ran away with car. When the people followed him, he was offering prayer while standing near the snatched car after murder. :bow just an habit to perform.

We just offer the prayer as a habit. We read in the Holy Quran that theft is a big sin but who cares, did we follow? We are just doing exercise in namaz and if offer prayer with sincerity, care and concentration then it will change the human into a pious body.

Shaa-Baaz Thursday, August 26, 2010 07:07 PM

Namaz Burayaio se rokti ha aghur is neyat k sath pari jae to .........

Unfortunate we offer prayers just to sooth ourselves for the committed sins.
Han kabi kabi logho ko be dekhana hota ha k namaz perta hoo .

Aghur sole purpose namz perny ka buriayao se rokna ha to i think , it will work accordingly

Zoyee Thursday, August 26, 2010 08:57 PM

[B]@ SociologistPU[/B]

Answer lies in following lines:
[B][SIZE="2"][COLOR="Purple"]
ihdinas Siratual Mustaqeem Siratual Lazeena An Amtaa Alaihim Ghairil Maghdoobe Alaihim Walad Dualleen"
[/COLOR][/SIZE][/B]
[B]Show us the straight way,The way of those whom you have blessed.Who have not deserved your anger,
Nor gone astray.
[/B]
Question arises here that when we are seeking help from God to show right path then why we are unable to approach that right path?

No doubt namaz prevents oneself from committing sins but in recent scenario we are far away from the true spirit of worship. We used to offer namaz like show off, in order to call ourselves so called pious people or for the sake of performing a duty only without keeping in mind its pre-requisites and rules.
See when a muslim dont know what he/she is saying in namaz? Only few persons know the translation of the Arabic text of namaz.

Holy Prophet (SAW) is reported to have said:

[COLOR="Purple"][SIZE="2"][B]“My joy has been made in prayer.” (Al-Waabil al-Sayib, 37).
[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR]
Namaz urges [B]"khzu-o-khushu"[/B], [B]full attention[/B] then oneself can be familiar with [B]inner satisfaction[/B] and [B]spiritual joy[/B] that comes from performance of namaz in real sense.

Allah ham sab ko seedhay rastay per chalny kee taufeek day. (ameen)

striver Thursday, August 26, 2010 09:51 PM

Thats an interesting question but not a novel one, perhaps. I have had discussions regarding it several times. Truth is, Allah says in Quran, in Surah Ma'oon Ayah 4 onwards:

[B]So woe unto those performers of Salāt (prayers) (4) Those who are heedless of their prayers [/B]

In the above ayats, we are introduced to a new class of 'namazis', who are heedless to their prayers. In other words, their nature, practices and principles are unaffected by their prayers. Quran not only criticizes them but also goes on to say that they be subject to affliction.

It is us who must reform ourselves and our lives after prayer. How can a person, who says "ehde nas-siratal mustaqeem" in every prayer be indifferent to it. Ironically, most of the people who offer prayers dont even know the meaning of what they are reciting, let alone the purpose or intention.

Do you expect a parrot to change after it has learned kalima and a few ayats? guess not.....

MaShWaNeE Thursday, August 26, 2010 10:12 PM

A man came to the propht mentioning another man that he prays 5 times but steals from ppl homes at night...the prophet answered that his prayers will stop him from this bad act Eventually....

Sorry i am quoting withiut reference..

The Star Thursday, August 26, 2010 10:26 PM

This thread is ridiculious.It has been clearly stated in the Quran by the Almighty.Title seems to be questioning the credibility of the Quran.You should have asked "How namaz prevents from committing Sin ?" We are not suppose to ask " Is hajj obligatory for a Muslim? " or "should Muslims fast" or "Is there really only one God". these all are established facts because Allah has said that.Similarly there should be no doubt in mind that Namz prevents from commiting sin because it has been clearly stated by Allah in the Quran.

How namaz prevent from commiting sins is another issue and we can debate on that.Namaz does prevent,there should be no doubt about it.

Invincible Thursday, August 26, 2010 10:28 PM

[B]Abdullah bin `Umar (May Allah be pleased with them) reported: Messenger of Allah (PBUH) took hold of my shoulders and said, "Be in the world like a stranger or a wayfarer.'' Ibn `Umar (May Allah be pleased with them) used to say: When you survive till the evening do not expect to live until the morning; and when you survive till the morning do not expect to live until the evening. While in good health (do good deeds) before you fall sick; and while you are alive (do good deeds) before death strikes.
[Al-Bukhari].

If we just follow this hadith in letter in spirit,Our all actions will be in right direction.

May Allah show us right path(Aameen)[/B]

Artemis Thursday, August 26, 2010 10:59 PM

I remember Irfan ul Haq on this topic. He said , [B]"Ager ap ke namaz ap ko burion se roktai hai to wo qabol ho gae". [/B]
Like namaz parhana aik act hai aur ye us ka result hai. ager result nahi milta tou namaz main kahien kami thi..

09:19 AM (GMT +5)