-   PCS / PMS (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/punjab-public-service-commission/pcs-pms/)
-   -   Duties of Tehsildar Punjab (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/punjab-public-service-commission/pcs-pms/63007-duties-tehsildar-punjab.html)

Islaw Khan Saturday, May 12, 2012 09:09 PM

[QUOTE=Saleeqa Batool;428724]I am not confirmed , but i think in Province of Punjab Charge of Sub-Registrar rests with Assistant Commissioner(formerly DDO(R).[/QUOTE]

You are absolutely right, in punjab DDOR acts as sub registrar, but here in KP there an independent post for sub registrar at Tehsil level, in some tehsils like that of mine where there is no sanction post of SR we the Tehsildars also perform that duty, while the DOR is our district registrar.

[QUOTE=fatima3k;429012]AOA

Dear Members.

I am in a quandry. Many of my colleagues have started post-graduation
training in teaching hospitals. Punjab government gives them monthly
pay of 45 thousand.They advise me to do the same.
However I have been preparing for PMS exam 2012 and Tehsildar Exam

Kindly tell me what is usual monthly income of a tehsildar (salary + other income).

This will help me in making up my mind.

Thanking in advance.

Fatima Ahmad[/QUOTE]

Fatima I am still confused how the govt of punjab introduced the posts of Tehsildars for Female. As these posts are meant for male only from the beggening of this profession centuries ago till now. I have never seen a female Tehsildar. The main reason I think is that its a field post and Tehsildar have to visit every Patwar halqa of his tehsil in a month and do mostly the work of public nature, sitting among the elders of the villages and perform many works. I think it would be very difficult though not impossible for a female to perform these functions.
And the pay of tehsildar is that of a BS-16 officer. But there are other allownces relted to his duties.

orangeemperor25 Tuesday, May 15, 2012 09:31 PM

Tehsildar is a very important and powerful post and he has direct contact with the notables of the area which makes him even more influential than the divisional commissioner i am giving the names of prominent politicians of Pakistan who once served as Tehsildars first of all Pirzada Abdul Sattar chief minister of Sindh was a Tehsildar then Aslam Khattak C.M of N.W.F.P and later federal interior minister was a Tehsildar then Rao Sikander Iqbal Defence minister of Musharraf era was tehsildar and then we have Anwar Cheema who served as tehsildar when my father was deputy commissioner Sargodha he holds the record of winning the election 7 times unparalleled in Pakistan history and is present federal minister and above all former president of Pakistan Ghulam Ishaq khan started his career as tehsildar in N.W.F.P so in the light of above mentioned facts you can well imagine how much a tehsildar can earn from "other sources" because for contesting elections you need millions although i must clarify that Ghulam Ishaq and Aslam Khattak were very honest people and they only made it to the top through their hard work

Islaw Khan Wednesday, May 16, 2012 10:04 PM

[QUOTE=orangeemperor25;430594]Tehsildar is a very important and powerful post and he has direct contact with the notables of the area which makes him even more influential than the divisional commissioner i am giving the names of prominent politicians of Pakistan who once served as Tehsildars first of all Pirzada Abdul Sattar chief minister of Sindh was a Tehsildar then Aslam Khattak C.M of N.W.F.P and later federal interior minister was a Tehsildar then Rao Sikander Iqbal Defence minister of Musharraf era was tehsildar and then we have Anwar Cheema who served as tehsildar when my father was deputy commissioner Sargodha he holds the record of winning the election 7 times unparalleled in Pakistan history and is present federal minister and above all former president of Pakistan Ghulam Ishaq khan started his career as tehsildar in N.W.F.P so in the light of above mentioned facts you can well imagine how much a tehsildar can earn from "other sources" because for contesting elections you need millions although i must clarify that Ghulam Ishaq and Aslam Khattak were very honest people and they only made it to the top through their hard work[/QUOTE]

Wow Orangeempror, nice facts, I am feeling myself in pakistani politics in the future..lol.
Well I was just aware of Ghulam Ishaq khan who started his career as Tehsildar, rest of the people you mentioned are well known also.
You are right, because of direct contacts with the people/elites of the jurisdiction a Tehsildar is very influential. I was not aware of the ABC of tehsildar when I applied foe the post, but now in service I realise the importance and influnence of this post.

fatima3k Saturday, May 19, 2012 07:33 PM

Kindly tell me in what manner, tehsildar may exert control over the land-owners? what is the source of his power, if any?

Islaw Khan Thursday, May 24, 2012 12:42 AM

[QUOTE=fatima3k;432026]Kindly tell me in what manner, tehsildar may exert control over the land-owners? what is the source of his power, if any?[/QUOTE]

Through different ways, the most important one is Recovery of Land Taxes, Income Tax etc, then through Attestation of mutations, crop inspection or Girdawri, also Tehsildar is the Presiding Officer of his court where he decide the Partition cases among land owners, and there are other means also through which a Tehsildar excecise control over land owners.

fatima3k Saturday, May 26, 2012 02:26 PM

[QUOTE=Islaw Khan;433564]Through different ways, the most important one is Recovery of Land Taxes, Income Tax etc, then through Attestation of mutations, crop inspection or Girdawri, also Tehsildar is the Presiding Officer of his court where he decide the Partition cases among land owners, and there are other means also through which a Tehsildar excecise control over land owners.[/QUOTE]

What is the difference between "Power of sub-registrar" and "power of attestation of mutations"?

Islaw Khan Sunday, May 27, 2012 09:48 PM

[QUOTE=fatima3k;434232]What is the difference between "Power of sub-registrar" and "power of attestation of mutations"?[/QUOTE]

Sub registrar exercise the powers of registration of documents including transfer of property. That transfer of property through registry is then sent to Tehsildar and Patwari for entering mutation or INTEQAL, for changes in the land record.

Tehsildar attest mutation directly without registry,
Sub registrar duty is limited only towards registration of some documents while that of Tehsildar is vast, from mutation and land record to Administration of his Tehsil jurisdiction. Also a Tehsildar can go for deputation to other departments like, in NHA, FHA as Asstt. Collector, in NAB as Assisst Director, Anti corruption as Assistant director, Wapda, SNGPL and many NGOs. But mostly Tehsildars don't like to go for deputation but to remain in revenue for some lucrative reasons.

fatima3k Monday, May 28, 2012 11:31 AM

[QUOTE=Islaw Khan;434595]Sub registrar exercise the powers of registration of documents including transfer of property. That transfer of property through registry is then sent to Tehsildar and Patwari for entering mutation or INTEQAL, for changes in the land record.

Tehsildar attest mutation directly without registry,
Sub registrar duty is limited only towards registration of some documents while that of Tehsildar is vast, from mutation and land record to Administration of his Tehsil jurisdiction. Also a Tehsildar can go for deputation to other departments like, in NHA, FHA as Asstt. Collector, in NAB as Assisst Director, Anti corruption as Assistant director, Wapda, SNGPL and many NGOs. But mostly Tehsildars don't like to go for deputation but to remain in revenue for some lucrative reasons.[/QUOTE]

Thank you Islah bhai for your detailed elaboration. You have mentioned the word of " lucrative reasons". By this word , I think that you mean that some tehsildars get RISHWAT which is so unfortunate.No one should risk his/her career and hereafter (Akhrut) for a few thousands rupees per month.On the other hand, I have learned that some unethical Tehsildars commit tyranny by collecting Rs 2-3 lacs per month by Rishwat. This is so condemnable. Please tell me is it true that some Tehsildars get Rs 2-3 lacs per month by Rishwat ??

Islaw Khan Tuesday, May 29, 2012 12:17 AM

[QUOTE=fatima3k;434703]Thank you Islah bhai for your detailed elaboration. You have mentioned the word of " lucrative reasons". By this word , I think that you mean that some tehsildars get RISHWAT which is so unfortunate.No one should risk his/her career and hereafter (Akhrut) for a few thousands rupees per month.On the other hand, I have learned that some unethical Tehsildars commit tyranny by collecting Rs 2-3 lacs per month by Rishwat. This is so condemnable. Please tell me is it true that some Tehsildars get Rs 2-3 lacs per month by Rishwat ??[/QUOTE]

Hmmm you are right nobody want to do corruption, but there are many reasons for doing so in the post of Tehsildar and I ll say that govt is responsible for all this, I am in this profession for the last 3 years and I have made a great deal of research in the money involved in this but it ll lead to a big discussion. You are saying 2-3 lakh per month, this amount one can have from a small station, there are stations from where one can get around Rs 10 lakh perday. Khair who will clean and make right these posts? Ofcourse this young generation. I pray ki aisa ho jay otherwise this Nation is corrupt from the base and I don't see any future for them. Bus Allah rehm kary ham p.

fatima3k Tuesday, May 29, 2012 09:35 AM

Thank you Islah Bhai for this informative post.

Punjab government has created the posts of AD Land Record. The job description of AD Land Record is
[url]http://www.ppsc.gop.pk/Syllabus%5CJob%20Description%28pdf%20Files%29/Job%20Description_ADLR.pdf[/url]

I want to to know who will approve Mutations -Tehsildar or AD Land Record ??:blink

12:28 AM (GMT +5)