12:21 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Screening Test For CSS > Screening Test > Screening Test Guide

Old Wednesday, June 12, 2013

Ainuddin Kibzai is just really niceAinuddin Kibzai is just really niceAinuddin Kibzai is just really niceAinuddin Kibzai is just really nice
Red face Screening Test --- No More A Myth

SCREENING TEST

Assalam-u-Alaikum Dear Aspirants.
I would start this article with the name of Allah Rabb-ul-Izzat who is the Merciful and The Gracious.
I am writing down this detailed document which will comprise the pattern and preparation of the newly announced SCREENING TEST for the CSS aspirants. There is just NO need to worry about this test whatsoever. You just need to keep it simple and play smartly. This is actually based on the pattern adopted by NTS for GAT, GRE and even NAT. Let me proceed step-by-step.

NOTE: THERE IS NO NEED TO PANIC AT ALL. JUST CHALK OUT YOUR TIME MANAGEMENT AND KEEP THINGS SIMPLE ALONG WITH FOLLOWING THE BASICS.
Part-I: English (weightage = 20%)
Vocabulary, Grammar usage, Comprehension

Vocabulary: Well, I have been taking NTS classes for almost a year now and am accustomed to such types of test. Nobody can claim to have a complete command over Vocabulary at all. Therefore, instead of cramming a whole lot of words, I suggest and teach learning the skill of LEXICOGRAPHY. It enables you to understand the formation and meaning of words. There are 7-8 very simple techniques of Lexicography which I’ll definitely share with you all.
Grammar usage: The Grammar portion also comprises the basics of grammar that are not difficult whatsoever. I’ll be rendering my services in this regard. InshaAllah.
Comprehension: The Comprehension portion simply comprises the paragraph given. It has five questions and each question contains 5 options. You just have to select the right option. There are certain technical methods for attempting this question too. I’ll share every bit of stuff I have for it.

Part-II: General Abilities (weightage = 20%)
a) Basic Arithmetic, Algebra and Geometry, (SSC Level)
b) Logical Reasoning and Analytical Ability
c) General Mental Ability

Well, this portion has been something quite alarming for the aspirants. Well, you don’t have to worry at all. You just have to go through the Mathematics of 5th and 8th standard. Keep it in mind that this very portion of Mathematics contains hardly 10 marks out of the paper of 200. Therefore, give it the time and value of 10 marks ONLY.

This is the most interesting of all portions of NTS and my most favorite one too. There are hardly 25 to 30 TIPS for attempting this portion. It merely requires a delicate touch of IQ level along with good sense tinge of Common Sense. I’ll definitely share the TIPS and also the MCQ’s for this portion as well.

Well, this is another portion that basically requires a good IQ level along with a good Common Sense. This is just like the Command Task given in the ISSB. For this, I’ll share the TIPS along with the MCQ’s type test for the aspirants.

Part-III: General Knowledge (weightage 15x3 = 45%)
a) Everyday Science (15%)
b) Current Affairs (15%)
c) Pakistan Affairs (15%)

Well, there should be no ambiguity regarding this portion whatsoever. You just need to go through more and more and more MCQ’s.
DURATION:
Numerous aspirants are found wondering as to how much time the preparation for the Screening Test generally takes.
Well, preparation for Screening Test is merely a game of study of 3 months in total and 6 hours a day. Therefore, PLANNING is something that matters the most.
Well, let us sort it out in the simplest of manners without complicating the matter.
Total hours = 6
Sessions = 3
Each session = 2 hours

FIRST 30 DAYS:
Session # 1 = Everyday Science / Current Affairs
Session # 2 = Pak. Affairs
Session # 3 = Islamiyat

Next 30 DAYS:
Session # 2 = Vocabulary, Grammar usage, Comprehension
Session # 3 = a) Basic Arithmetic, Algebra and Geometry, (SSC Level)

Next 30 DAYS:
Session # 1 = Current Affairs / Everyday Science
b) General Mental Ability

Total Duration : 90 days ( 3 months )
Abdullah khan (Thursday, June 13, 2013), abdulsalam88 (Wednesday, June 12, 2013), alihashmatkhoso (Wednesday, June 12, 2013), Austere (Saturday, June 22, 2013), azure (Monday, June 17, 2013), bl chughtai (Wednesday, June 19, 2013), Channafaheem (Wednesday, June 19, 2013), Danyal Dareshani (Sunday, June 16, 2013), dilkhurramwaqas (Monday, July 01, 2013), Dream Catcher (Wednesday, June 12, 2013), Hifsa Iqbal (Monday, June 17, 2013), iman fahad (Wednesday, June 26, 2013), Iram ashiq (Wednesday, June 12, 2013), iranibilly (Monday, June 17, 2013), khAdijAA (Sunday, June 16, 2013), Maidah shaikh (Monday, June 24, 2013), Maina Malik (Saturday, June 22, 2013), Mamoona Zaidi (Monday, June 17, 2013), maryam masood (Monday, June 17, 2013), misbah62 (Wednesday, June 12, 2013), momo rami (Thursday, June 13, 2013), morningcloud (Thursday, June 20, 2013), Palwa (Tuesday, July 09, 2013), parwarsha (Tuesday, June 18, 2013), praying mantis (Monday, July 01, 2013), Qasim Mahmood (Wednesday, June 12, 2013), Romana baig (Wednesday, June 12, 2013), rukhsi (Thursday, June 20, 2013), Sadia Shah (Wednesday, July 10, 2013), SAMEYA AROOJ (Wednesday, June 12, 2013), Sanambaloch (Wednesday, June 12, 2013), saniam (Thursday, June 20, 2013), searching (Thursday, June 13, 2013), Shariq (Sunday, June 30, 2013), sobia jaffar (Saturday, June 29, 2013), sweet smile (Thursday, June 13, 2013), SyedAliDanishBukhari (Friday, June 28, 2013), tanker (Friday, June 21, 2013), Traveller (Thursday, June 20, 2013), Urma Waqar (Wednesday, June 19, 2013), Wajahat Ali Rajput (Monday, June 17, 2013), WaqasBaig (Thursday, June 13, 2013), zarraar (Friday, June 14, 2013), zary (Thursday, July 11, 2013), Zoya Mansoor (Thursday, July 04, 2013)

JAVED JOYIA is on a distinguished road

thanks for Altruism.. can u suggest books for grammer and eds?

Imaan Khan is on a distinguished road

3 months? isn't that a very long duration for studying for the screening test? bcz already there isnt much time left for the exam preparation

misbah62 is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Ainuddin Kibzai View Post
SCREENING TEST

I would start this article with the name of Allah Rabb-ul-Izzat who is the Merciful and The Gracious.
I am writing down this detailed document which will comprise the pattern and preparation of the newly announced SCREENING TEST for the CSS aspirants. There is just NO need to worry about this test whatsoever. You just need to keep it simple and play smartly. This is actually based on the pattern adopted by NTS for GAT, GRE and even NAT. Let me proceed step-by-step.

NOTE: THERE IS NO NEED TO PANIC AT ALL. JUST CHALK OUT YOUR TIME MANAGEMENT AND KEEP THINGS SIMPLE ALONG WITH FOLLOWING THE BASICS.

Vocabulary: Well, I have been taking NTS classes for almost a year now and am accustomed to such types of test. Nobody can claim to have a complete command over Vocabulary at all. Therefore, instead of cramming a whole lot of words, I suggest and teach learning the skill of LEXICOGRAPHY. It enables you to understand the formation and meaning of words. There are 7-8 very simple techniques of Lexicography which I’ll definitely share with you all.
Grammar usage: The Grammar portion also comprises the basics of grammar that are not difficult whatsoever. I’ll be rendering my services in this regard. InshaAllah.
Comprehension: The Comprehension portion simply comprises the paragraph given. It has five questions and each question contains 5 options. You just have to select the right option. There are certain technical methods for attempting this question too. I’ll share every bit of stuff I have for it.

Well, this portion has been something quite alarming for the aspirants. Well, you don’t have to worry at all. You just have to go through the Mathematics of 5th and 8th standard. Keep it in mind that this very portion of Mathematics contains hardly 10 marks out of the paper of 200. Therefore, give it the time and value of 10 marks ONLY.

This is the most interesting of all portions of NTS and my most favorite one too. There are hardly 25 to 30 TIPS for attempting this portion. It merely requires a delicate touch of IQ level along with good sense tinge of Common Sense. I’ll definitely share the TIPS and also the MCQ’s for this portion as well.

Well, this is another portion that basically requires a good IQ level along with a good Common Sense. This is just like the Command Task given in the ISSB. For this, I’ll share the TIPS along with the MCQ’s type test for the aspirants.

b) Current Affairs (15%)

Well, there should be no ambiguity regarding this portion whatsoever. You just need to go through more and more and more MCQ’s.
DURATION:
Numerous aspirants are found wondering as to how much time the preparation for the Screening Test generally takes.
Well, preparation for Screening Test is merely a game of study of 3 months in total and 6 hours a day. Therefore, PLANNING is something that matters the most.
Well, let us sort it out in the simplest of manners without complicating the matter.
Total hours = 6
Sessions = 3
Each session = 2 hours

FIRST 30 DAYS:
Session # 3 = Islamiyat

Next 30 DAYS:

please tell us that in daily session how to tackle the subjects means how to prepare them because if we focus only on objective then after three months we have short time for subjective portion. but if we focus on subjective paper then MCQ'S will prepare automatically but please clarify how to manage two hours for one subject if we know nothing about subject. please give a sample of daily plain.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to misbah62 For This Useful Post:
Hifsa Iqbal (Monday, June 17, 2013), SAMEYA AROOJ (Sunday, June 16, 2013)
PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: PMS -  Merti 5

kal3m will become famous soon enoughkal3m will become famous soon enough

Thanks a lot brother for your detailed elaboration. I am looking forward for your tips and tricks to solve the arithmetic, analytic and grammar portion especially I am curious about understanding the art of lexicography.
Ainuddin Kibzai (Thursday, June 13, 2013), Hifsa Iqbal (Monday, June 17, 2013), shanimba1 (Thursday, June 13, 2013)

Sanambaloch is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Ainuddin Kibzai View Post
SCREENING TEST

b) Current Affairs (15%)

DURATION:
Total hours = 6
Sessions = 3
Each session = 2 hours

FIRST 30 DAYS:
Session # 3 = Islamiyat

Next 30 DAYS:

Kindly suggest books for
Basic Arithmetic, Algebra and Geometry,Vocabulary, Grammar usage, Comprehension and
Logical Reasoning and Analytical Ability
The Following User Says Thank You to Sanambaloch For This Useful Post:
Hifsa Iqbal (Monday, June 17, 2013)

Tehmina Ahmed is on a distinguished road

your outline is great but could you tell me if preparing from GAT test book is a good idea or not?
and how and where too study the maths part from?
The Following User Says Thank You to Tehmina Ahmed For This Useful Post:
Hifsa Iqbal (Monday, June 17, 2013)

falconfly is on a distinguished road

A.O.A please guide me i have chosen chemistry, European history and law as my optional subjects for css exams are they correct. i will be very thankful to you.

Hiba Arshad is on a distinguished road

Thank you so much for clearing some fears regarding this screening test.... God bless you loads.... will be waiting for some recommendations regarding which books to use for mcqs

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Hiba Arshad For This Useful Post:
Ainuddin Kibzai (Thursday, June 13, 2013), Hifsa Iqbal (Monday, June 17, 2013)

Amn Ihtisham is on a distinguished road

Thankyou for this post, as quite some people were worried about this screening test, including me... Ive a question...as we arent left with much time for CSS examination itself, how can we possibly dedicate the precious 3 months to this 200 marks test and not the 1200 marks BIGGG exam....Please tell us a way to cover it up along with our usual studies..
SAMEYA AROOJ (Sunday, June 16, 2013)