-   SPSC (CCE) (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/sindh-public-service-commission/spsc-cce/)
-   -   CCE-18 Preparation Guidelines (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/sindh-public-service-commission/spsc-cce/119046-cce-18-preparation-guidelines.html)

Ali Mallah Monday, February 19, 2018 08:28 PM

CCE-18 Preparation Guidelines

Its a great opportunity for talented youth to participate in Combined Competitive Exam CCE/PCS-2018. SPSC has kept the same pattern of PCS/CCE intact. If you need to discuss anything related to CCE, you can drop your querry in this thread, I'll try to respond and guide fresh aspirants.

[U]Step-1:[/U] Conduct of Screening test.

[B]Syllabus as per previous CCE:
[/B]
English............. 25 %
EDS................. 15 %
Current affairs... 20%
Pak Affairs........ 20%
Islamiat............ 20%

[U]Step-2:[/U] Written part of CCE consists of 8 paper:

[B][COLOR="Blue"]Compulsory subjects:[/COLOR][/B]

01. English.............100 Marks
02. English Essay.....50 Marks
03. Essay in Urdu/Sindhi..50 Marks
04. General Paper in Urdu/Sindh.....100 Marks
05. General Knowledge including EDS.... 150 Marks

[B]Optional subjects:[/B] You can opt 03 optional subjects of 150 marks each.

[U]Step-3:[/U] Viva Voce of 250 Marks

waleedrana Monday, February 19, 2018 08:39 PM

I am not seeing journalism in optionals... it was also not present in CCE 2103 syllabus bit i have chosen it ...

SYusraZRizvi Monday, February 19, 2018 11:26 PM

Can we opt two subjects from the same group, or its just as CSS only one subject from a group?

Sent from my SM-J700H using Tapatalk

MoizAhmed786 Tuesday, February 20, 2018 12:21 AM

Please guide about optionals, how to opt optionals and how many from each group!

Sent from my Redmi 4 using Tapatalk

saimabaloch Tuesday, February 20, 2018 12:30 AM

[QUOTE=Ali Mallah;1058671]Its a great opportunity for talented youth to participate in Combined Competitive Exam CCE/PCS-2018. SPSC has kept the same pattern of PCS/CCE intact. If you need to discuss anything related to CCE, you can drop your querry in this thread, I'll try to respond and guide fresh aspirants.

[/B]
Current affairs... 20%
Pak Affairs........ 20%
Islamiat............ 20%

[U]Step-3:[/U] Viva Voce of 250 Marks[/QUOTE]

good step brother ali if iam not wrong you were selected as section officer in 2013 pervious result.well come back to the css forum after very very long time

saimabaloch Tuesday, February 20, 2018 12:34 AM

[QUOTE=MoizAhmed786;1058701]Please guide about optionals, how to opt optionals and how many from each group!

Sent from my Redmi 4 using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]

while filling online forum there is option for optional subjects you can choose subjects in which you have interest and somewhat grip on it then get print out form and submit it along with documents finally dispatched them to spsc head office

saimabaloch Tuesday, February 20, 2018 12:34 AM

[QUOTE=SYusraZRizvi;1058696]Can we opt two subjects from the same group, or its just as CSS only one subject from a group?

Sent from my SM-J700H using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]

you can

saimabaloch Tuesday, February 20, 2018 12:35 AM

[QUOTE=waleedrana;1058679]I am not seeing journalism in optionals... it was also not present in CCE 2103 syllabus bit i have chosen it ...[/QUOTE]

journalism is no more optional subject

Ali Mallah Tuesday, February 20, 2018 12:48 AM

[QUOTE=waleedrana;1058679]I am not seeing journalism in optionals... it was also not present in CCE 2103 syllabus bit i have chosen it ...[/QUOTE]

It is still an optional subject. mistakenly ommitted from SPSC sylabus, you can opt it.

[QUOTE=SYusraZRizvi;1058696]Can we opt two subjects from the same group, or its just as CSS only one subject from a group?

Yes you can opt 02 subjects from 1 group

[QUOTE=MoizAhmed786;1058701]Please guide about optionals, how to opt optionals and how many from each group!

Sent from my Redmi 4 using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]

03 optionals are to be taken. you can take from any group. maximum of two optionals can be opted from any group.

[QUOTE=saimabaloch;1058702]good step brother ali if iam not wrong you were selected as section officer in 2013 pervious result.well come back to the css forum after very very long time[/QUOTE]

Thanks, i was allocated as ETO.

Aqazaansari Tuesday, February 20, 2018 02:41 AM

Is it confirmed that we choose 2 subjects from 1 group?

Sent from my Redmi 3S using Tapatalk

Khizar Ashfaq Tuesday, February 20, 2018 02:52 AM

I am a little confused regarding the screen test. Please guide what will the aspirants be assessed on in the screen test?

humayonpervaiz Tuesday, February 20, 2018 10:41 AM

Book Suggestion

[QUOTE]Originally Posted by Ali Mallah:
Its a great opportunity for talented youth to participate in Combined Competitive Exam CCE/PCS-2018. SPSC has kept the same pattern of PCS/CCE intact. If you need to discuss anything related to CCE, you can drop your querry in this thread, I'll try to respond and guide fresh aspirants.

Step-1: Conduct of Screening test.

Syllabus as per previous CCE:

Current affairs... 20%
Pak Affairs........ 20%
Islamiat............ 20%
[/QUOTE]

Suggest the book please. Till today, I read and refresh my general knowledge from the book- GK MCQs by Choudhary Najib. Suggest, if it is sufficient, please. Also, guide regarding Book Selection for Compulsory Subjects.

ayeshaf Tuesday, February 20, 2018 01:30 PM

Kindly guide about books for sindhi and islamic history . And guide about screening test

98oramaS Tuesday, February 20, 2018 02:20 PM

Can you please share your experience about screening test? Like what was the difficulty level of this test? Also, I read somewhere about some stupid questions being asked in screening test like 'On what date David Cameron visited Pakistan?' What was the cutoff score to make it through to main exams?

Slasher Tuesday, February 20, 2018 03:12 PM

What about applying for multiple post?

[QUOTE=Ali Mallah;1058671]Its a great opportunity for talented youth to participate in Combined Competitive Exam CCE/PCS-2018. SPSC has kept the same pattern of PCS/CCE intact. If you need to discuss anything related to CCE, you can drop your querry in this thread, I'll try to respond and guide fresh aspirants.

[/B]
Current affairs... 20%
Pak Affairs........ 20%
Islamiat............ 20%

What about applying for multiple post?

Perfectionist Tuesday, February 20, 2018 04:13 PM

Can I opt Islamiat, Islamic History I and Indian History II?

SYusraZRizvi Tuesday, February 20, 2018 04:25 PM

[QUOTE=Ali Mallah;1058709]It is still an optional subject. mistakenly ommitted from SPSC sylabus, you can opt it.

Yes you can opt 02 subjects from 1 group

03 optionals are to be taken. you can take from any group. maximum of two optionals can be opted from any group.

Thanks, i was allocated as ETO.[/QUOTE]Thanks for info, plz elaborate that is it difficult to move from Provincial services towards Federal; I mean any issue arises regarding the NOC ?

Sent from my SM-J700H using Tapatalk

Ali Mallah Tuesday, February 20, 2018 04:35 PM

[QUOTE=Aqazaansari;1058716]Is it confirmed that we choose 2 subjects from 1 group?

Sent from my Redmi 3S using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]

Yes its confirmed according to instructions.

[QUOTE=Khizar Ashfaq;1058717]I am a little confused regarding the screen test. Please guide what will the aspirants be assessed on in the screen test?[/QUOTE]

The initial general knowlege of the candidates will be assessed and the candidates will be screened for written/descriptive part. The syllabus for screening test has been mentioned in my 1st post.

[QUOTE=humayonpervaiz;1058727]Suggest the book please. Till today, I read and refresh my general knowledge from the book- GK MCQs by Choudhary Najib. Suggest, if it is sufficient, please. Also, guide regarding Book Selection for Compulsory Subjects.[/QUOTE]

Any good book for general knowledge can be referred, Encyclopedia of General Knowledge by carvan, Ilmi Capsule, Who is who what is what by carvan or any other.

[QUOTE=98oramaS;1058784]Can you please share your experience about screening test? Like what was the difficulty level of this test? Also, I read somewhere about some stupid questions being asked in screening test like 'On what date David Cameron visited Pakistan?' What was the cutoff score to make it through to main exams?[/QUOTE]

Well the level of test is difficult but the positive thing is that it requires only 50 marks to qualify for next step. The screening test covers variety of subjects.

[QUOTE=SYusraZRizvi;1058838]Thanks for info, plz elaborate that is it difficult to move from Provincial services towards Federal; I mean any issue arises regarding the NOC ?

CCE is a provincial exam, so need to move in federal govt. If a person is not on contract, can get NOC from parent department easily.

Perfectionist Tuesday, February 20, 2018 04:45 PM

I am on contract as Govt employee. Is it mandatory to get NOC? Or I may apply just mentioned with the current job in applying without NOC?

Ali Mallah Tuesday, February 20, 2018 04:49 PM

[QUOTE=ayeshaf;1058757]Kindly guide about books for sindhi and islamic history . And guide about screening test[/QUOTE]

Sindhi adab jo mukhtasir jaizo by Akbar Laghari
Sindhi General by Mukhtiar Mallah by faridi publishers
sindhi General by Gunj Bakhsh/kathiawar bookstore

[QUOTE=Slasher;1058806]What about applying for multiple post?[/QUOTE]

You you can apply for all posts in one application, you need to select posts in order of priority.

[QUOTE=Perfectionist;1058834]Can I opt Islamiat, Islamic History I and Indian History II?[/QUOTE]

Yes you can opt it.

RizwanAbro Tuesday, February 20, 2018 04:51 PM

[QUOTE=Perfectionist;1058847]I am on contract as Govt employee. Is it mandatory to get NOC? Or I may apply just mentioned with the current job in applying without NOC?[/QUOTE]If you mention your current job while filling up the form then you need to provide NOC

Sent from my RNE-L21 using Tapatalk

98oramaS Tuesday, February 20, 2018 04:59 PM

Dear brother Ali Mallah,

I am opting IR and Islamiat as two of my optional subjects but am not sure about third one. Given the similarity of content with Islamiat, would it be wise to chose either of Islamic History subjects? Also, please recommend books for Islamiat subjects. Really appreciate your work here in this thread.:clap Thank you.

Perfectionist Tuesday, February 20, 2018 05:03 PM

[url=https://ibb.co/jNeidH][img]https://preview.ibb.co/kONQsc/Screenshot_20180220_170031.png[/img][/url]

Ali Mallah and other friends Do we have to read all in Mass Communication? Zara syllabus to dekhen!

Ye lagta he SPSC ne khud ka subject ejad kiya hai? Ek to spelling mistakes hen or upar se Math, Environment Sc or pata nahi kaha kaha se copy paste mar ke apna naya subject ejad karlya he SPSC ne? Hahaha

Danyal Tariq Tuesday, February 20, 2018 05:05 PM

[QUOTE=ayeshaf;1058757]Kindly guide about books for sindhi and islamic history . And guide about screening test[/QUOTE]
For Sindhi, you can read Akbar Lagahri's Sindhi Adab Jo Mukhtasir Jaizo OR Dr Abdul Jabbar Junejo's Sindhi Adab Ji Muktasir Tareekh. I am not sure whether you are asking for Sindhi General which is compulsory in CCE or History of Sindhi literature which is an optional paper.
For Islamic History, go through Mazar-ul-Haq's book. It is a good book if you have Islamic History paper 1 as optional.

As far as screening test is concerned prepare your mcqs from different sources i.e., books, internet and newpapers.

Husein Tuesday, February 20, 2018 07:46 PM

Salaam thanks for the valuable information. I want to know more about these two compulsory subjects ?

''03. Essay in Urdu/Sindhi..50 Marks
04. General Paper in Urdu/Sindh.....100 Marks''
-
Q1) are there any option other than Sindhi or Urdu for General Paper and Essay ? can i opt Balochi for Essay and General Paper, instead of Sindhi or Urdu?
-
Q2)do we need to submit an extra form for the screening test or we just have to submit the CCE form online only and they'll dispatch the admission letter/certificate for the screening test via post?

Amicable Tuesday, February 20, 2018 08:15 PM

[/B]
Current affairs... 20%
Pak Affairs........ 20%
Islamiat............ 20%

Loudable efforts Ali Bhai... I also appeared in the last screening test and the same paper is now in my hand but the paper consists of 35 questions from English and remaining 65 from G.K including EDS and some Pak Affairs questions but the same does not include Islamiat, so do we have to read islamiat too? Secondly, I want to ask that does like CSS there is scoring trend of subjects that is to say are there subjects which should and shouldn't be opted? awaiting your response

sadanaqvi Tuesday, February 20, 2018 09:34 PM

[/B]
Current affairs... 20%
Pak Affairs........ 20%
Islamiat............ 20%

Ali Bhai, can you please tell how many marks are required to pass screening test?

Amicable Tuesday, February 20, 2018 09:49 PM

[quote=sadanaqvi;1058924]ali bhai, can you please tell how many marks are required to pass screening test?[/quote]

50%

Jeeay Bhutto Wednesday, February 21, 2018 01:19 AM

Aoa, brother. If you have the last year's screening test paper, then do share it in the forum. Thanks.

pcswarrior Wednesday, February 21, 2018 09:25 AM

Ali Mallah Bhai,

I am faraz Qureshi, Can I choose European history as my optional subject?

Perfectionist Wednesday, February 21, 2018 10:09 AM

[QUOTE=pcswarrior;1058957]Ali Mallah Bhai,

I am faraz Qureshi, Can I choose European history as my optional subject?[/QUOTE]

Yes you may opt. Which subjects have you decided the rest? Can you please share your previous DMC as you cracked this exam and became AC?

Zohaib Islam Kalwar Wednesday, February 21, 2018 12:00 PM

Check my optional subject

Sir, I am thinking of opting following subjects as optional: Islamic history 1 and 2 plus Physics.

How is the combination? Can you suggest books for these?

pcswarrior Wednesday, February 21, 2018 12:16 PM

[QUOTE=Perfectionist;1058959]Yes you may opt. Which subjects have you decided the rest? Can you please share your previous DMC as you cracked this exam and became AC?[/QUOTE]

Lolz. You know me. Any how, I opted Journalism, IR and European History. 50 percent of course outline of IR and European History is similar and in addition both subjects were opted by few fellows. So a little endeavor is needed to get some good marks. Like I got 108 in IR and 124 in European History.

azainahmed Wednesday, February 21, 2018 12:24 PM

Brother can you tell from where did you study IR. book name etc

azainahmed Wednesday, February 21, 2018 12:25 PM

[QUOTE=pcswarrior;1058977]Lolz. You know me. Any how, I opted Journalism, IR and European History. 50 percent of course outline of IR and European History is similar and in addition both subjects were opted by few fellows. So a little endeavor is needed to get some good marks. Like I got 108 in IR and 124 in European History.[/QUOTE]
Brother can you tell from where did you study IR. book name etc

waleedrana Wednesday, February 21, 2018 12:27 PM

[QUOTE=pcswarrior;1058977]Lolz. You know me. Any how, I opted Journalism, IR and European History. 50 percent of course outline of IR and European History is similar and in addition both subjects were opted by few fellows. So a little endeavor is needed to get some good marks. Like I got 108 in IR and 124 in European History.[/QUOTE]

can you plz guide about European history the books you followed.. and syllabus one needs to cover..!!

Zulfiqarfpsc Wednesday, February 21, 2018 12:55 PM

Dear seniors, is it necessary to submit examination fee in Sindh? . It is mentioned in SPSC guidelines that fee may be submitted in any branch NBP/SBP in Sindh.

Perfectionist Wednesday, February 21, 2018 01:18 PM

Hehehe How do I know you? Your European History is a good but IR is not that good.

I hope to see you again as an AC in CCE-2013. All the best.

pcswarrior Wednesday, February 21, 2018 01:40 PM

[QUOTE=azainahmed;1058980]Brother can you tell from where did you study IR. book name etc[/QUOTE]

I made notes of IR from Chandar Prakash and JWT book of safdar mahmood and current affairs topics from newspapers. You have to understand the whole course (Theories, traditional course outline, cold war events, after cold war events plus current events) before jumping into the subject.

pcswarrior Wednesday, February 21, 2018 01:43 PM

[QUOTE=waleedrana;1058982]can you plz guide about European history the books you followed.. and syllabus one needs to cover..!![/QUOTE]

OUTLINE OF EUROPEAN HISTORY

1. French Revolution of 1789.
I. Causes of French Revolution
II. Events of French Revolution (1789 - 91)
III. Work of National Assembly
IV. Legislative Assembly & National Convention (1791 - 1795)
V. The Directory (1795 - 1799)
VI. The Consulate
VII. Napoleon As Emperor
VIII. Civil Work of Napoleon Bonaparte
IX. Causes of Dawn fall of Napoleon.
X. Political Clubs in France
XI. Personalities of French Revolution.
XII. Effects of French Revolution in Europe.

2. Congress of Vienna.
3. Concert of Europe.
4. Age of Metternich/ Metternich as Personality.
5. Revolution of 1830 (July Revolution).
6. Revolution of 1848 (February Revolution).
7. Difference Between Revolution of 1830 & 1848.
8. Eastern Question.
9. Unification of Italy and Personalities.
10. Unification of Germany & Bismarck.
11. Bismarck as Imperial Chancellor.
12. Causes of World War-I and Secret Alliances.
13. Treaty of Versailles.
14. Woodrow Wilson 14 Points & League of Nations.
15. Germany Between Two World Wars.
16. Italy Between Two World Wars.
17. Russian Revolution 1917.
18. Causes of World War-II.
19. Post War Settlements & Post War Europe.
20. Creation of European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) and European Economic Community (EEC).
21. Creation of European Union.
22. Challenges to European Union.
23. Cold War and Europe.
24. Disintegration of USSR and Creation of New States
25. Balkan Crisis.

23. Forces of Continuity and Change in Europe (1815 - 1914)
a. Nationalism in Europe.
b. Industrialization in Europe.
c. Liberalism in Europe.
d. Socialism in Europe.
e. Colonialism and Decolonialisation.
f. Balance of Power.

That is my course outline I followed in CSS and PCS. I have my own notes that I made it from VD Mahajin's and Peacock's book. Only 22 people opted European History in last PCS so it is really a scoring subject.

08:34 PM (GMT +5)