Wednesday, May 29, 2024
07:56 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > CSS Competitive Examination

CSS Competitive Examination The Central Superior Services Examination is conducted every year for induction to Group 17 of the Civil Services

Old Monday, July 27, 2015

usamazee is on a distinguished road
Default Confused aspirant needs help...

Well, I had the passion to join the aspired Civil Service for quite sometime and now that I have completed my Engineering I am thinking of starting my preparation. Quite frankly I even have bought all the books and have even started studying them, but I have some confusions that are hindering my progress and are keeping me from fully diving into preparation mode. These are: is there enough time left to prepare from scratch, How to tackle answers and what is ideal length of an answer, How much cramming in necessary and last but not the least is my English good enough to appear in the exam. I am very motivated but these question are bugging me very much. I would be very humbled and indebted to you experts if you could answer and erase my confusions plus if some CSP would be kind enough to answer me that would be something life changing.

P.S: My Optional Subjects are Town Planning, Psychology, Philosophy, Computer Science and Gender Studies.

Monk will become famous soon enoughMonk will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by usamazee View Post
Well, I had the passion to join the aspired Civil Service for quite sometime and now that I have completed my Engineering I am thinking of starting my preparation. Quite frankly I even have bought all the books and have even started studying them, but I have some confusions that are hindering my progress and are keeping me from fully diving into preparation mode. These are: is there enough time left to prepare from scratch, How to tackle answers and what is ideal length of an answer, How much cramming in necessary and last but not the least is my English good enough to appear in the exam. I am very motivated but these question are bugging me very much. I would be very humbled and indebted to you experts if you could answer and erase my confusions plus if some CSP would be kind enough to answer me that would be something life changing.

P.S: My Optional Subjects are Town Planning, Psychology, Philosophy, Computer Science and Gender Studies.

1: 6 months are more than enough for an engineer to crack the Exam.

2: An ideal answer contains 700 to the point words with proper introduction, explanation and conclusion

3: cramming is generally discouraged but relevant quotes and facts may beg you some extra points

4:Most Css aspirant need a tutor to know the intricacies of English language for competitive examination

Finally, which books have you bought for your compulsory subjects?
The Following User Says Thank You to Monk For This Useful Post:
usamazee (Monday, July 27, 2015)
Excursionist
Moderator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason: Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,478 Times in 754 Posts
Man Jaanbazam has a spectacular aura aboutMan Jaanbazam has a spectacular aura aboutMan Jaanbazam has a spectacular aura about

1. Is there enough time left to prepare from scratch?
Yes, you have to be very dedicated and committed to study. Make routine, plan things, do smart study and leave everything aside. Pray to ALLAH. Insha ALLAH you will make it.

2.How to tackle answers and what is ideal length of an answer?
It depends upon the subject and type of question. However be very precise and to the point. Make headings and subheadings. Only answer what is asked. Quote references, facts and figures where necessary. Three (3) to Four (4) pages are enough for an ideal answer. It should include all necessary details asked in question.

3. How much cramming in necessary?
It depends on you that how much you can reproduce in paper. You should have necessary general knowledge of things and you should be creative also that you can write answers on your own behalf also If needed. You have to came only facts and figures and important events. However it again depends upon the subject.

4.Is my English good enough to appear in the exam?
Do continuous reading and writing practice. Enhance your vocabulary and the foremost thing is to learn grammar. With continuous effort you will make it. Get your material checked by some good teacher. Know your pitfalls and prepare accordingly.

Good Luck !
usamazee (Monday, July 27, 2015)

usamazee is on a distinguished road

Pakistan Affairs: The making of Pakistan (K.K Aziz), Pakistan Affairs (M. Ikram Rabaani)
Current Affairs: The Advance Contemporary Affairs (Imtiaz Shaid), Pakistans Foreign Policy (Abdual Sattar)
General Science: General Science (Advance Publications)
Islamiat: Introduction to Islam (M. Hamidullah)
English: GRE and Oxford Practice grammar
Philosophy: History Of Western Philosophy (Russell), Philosophy(advance prep)
Psychology: Psychology(jhangir publications)
Gender Studies: Gender Studies(Advance publications)
Town Planning: Town Planning(advance publications)
Computer Science: Old Engineering Notes

Please kindly guide me if I can improve my reading list in any way and I am very confused that if I have bought the correct reading material or not. I am specially confused about town planning, gender studies, philosophy and psychology.
Old Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Abdul Mateen Sindhu is on a distinguished road

Pakistan Affairs: The making of Pakistan (K.K Aziz), Pakistan Affairs (M. Ikram Rabaani)
Current Affairs: The Advance Contemporary Affairs (Imtiaz Shaid), Pakistans Foreign Policy (Abdual Sattar)
General Science: General Science (Advance Publications)
Islamiat: Introduction to Islam (M. Hamidullah)
English: GRE and Oxford Practice grammar
Philosophy: History Of Western Philosophy (Russell), Philosophy(advance prep)
Psychology: Psychology(jhangir publications)
Gender Studies: Gender Studies(Advance publications)
Town Planning: Town Planning(advance publications)
Computer Science: Old Engineering Notes

Please kindly guide me if I can improve my reading list in any way and I am very confused that if I have bought the correct reading material or not. I am specially confused about town planning, gender studies, philosophy and psychology.
Also consult Mian Shafiq's GSA and Jahangir's Gender Studies as both were written by specialists on the subjects. Get latest edition of Abdul Sattar's book and also read issues in Pakistan's economy. Daily read different articles and try to expand your taste regarding study i.e; study different things which may help to improve your english expressions.