07:38 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > CSS Competitive Examination

CSS Competitive Examination The Central Superior Services Examination is conducted every year for induction to Group 17 of the Civil Services

Old Saturday, January 21, 2012

Zaree is on a distinguished road
Default request to all senior member

Actually I am the new one in the css forums and wants guid line on belove points.

1- I belongs a very back word area so my English is very weak how can I improve English which is enough for css.
2- Tell me the shortcuts about in selecting the notes, books, websites, articles for all compulsorily subjects, I have seen a lot of candidates which gave their suggestion for notes and books on css forum so for me its difficult that which will be most suitable for every subject.
3- How can prepare for essay and how can keep up to date for current affair, pak affair.
4- How can I get solve MCQs or sold papers of all past paper of the compulsorily subjects.
5- Can you tell me the subjects which are relevant to each other in Optional subjects, coz if the subjects of compulsory and optional are similar then it would save the time and would be easy to understand.

Actually I want to appear in the 2013 Css exam thats why I want to set up the strategy for study from now so I would be highly thankful for you seniors.

ABDUL JABBAR KATIAR has a spectacular aura aboutABDUL JABBAR KATIAR has a spectacular aura about

u can get a lot of guidance about essays, english grammer, current affairs, pak affairs and other subjects from this forum website. for improving english read daily dawn and select and note new words from dawn on ur register and use them in ur own sentences, u can also improve knowledge of current affairs, pak affairs and islamiat by using daily dawn. for islamiat friday feature dawn is very important. besides this u can refer jahangir's world times magazine monthly for current affairs on domestic and international level and u can also get other type of general knowlege from this magazine. gre book for english vocabulary is also very useful. a lot of information placed on this forum.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ABDUL JABBAR KATIAR For This Useful Post:
anastasia (Sunday, January 22, 2012), naseerulqasimi (Sunday, May 27, 2012)

mjkhan is a name known to allmjkhan is a name known to allmjkhan is a name known to allmjkhan is a name known to allmjkhan is a name known to allmjkhan is a name known to all

Originally Posted by Zaree View Post
Actually I am the new one in the css forums and wants guid line on belove points.

1- I belongs a very back word area so my English is very weak how can I improve English which is enough for css.
2- Tell me the shortcuts about in selecting the notes, books, websites, articles for all compulsorily subjects, I have seen a lot of candidates which gave their suggestion for notes and books on css forum so for me its difficult that which will be most suitable for every subject.
3- How can prepare for essay and how can keep up to date for current affair, pak affair.
4- How can I get solve MCQs or sold papers of all past paper of the compulsorily subjects.
5- Can you tell me the subjects which are relevant to each other in Optional subjects, coz if the subjects of compulsory and optional are similar then it would save the time and would be easy to understand.

Actually I want to appear in the 2013 Css exam thats why I want to set up the strategy for study from now so I would be highly thankful for you seniors.
AOA Zaree.

Hope you are in the best of your health and spirit.I will try to answer each of your question in the best possible way i could.

1.To have a sound grip on English is the backbone/rule no.1/compulsory to pass css with flying colours.
As you said that your command on english is a bit weak.So here is what i would like to suggest you.

Divide your learning process in four segments.(As you have ample time to prepare)

1.Vocabulary:This can be increased by a lot of reading and the best thing to read for improving your english vocabulary is newspaper as it will also keep you updated with the current affairs.Alternatively you can resort to cramming the words.Below is the link where you can find a lot of words and expert opinion for improving your vocab.

http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compu...word-list.html

Oops something came up.Got to go for now.I will post rest of the answer later tonight Inshallah.

Note:i am not an expert nor even i have ever attempted css.
anastasia (Sunday, January 22, 2012), naseerulqasimi (Sunday, May 27, 2012)

mjkhan is a name known to allmjkhan is a name known to allmjkhan is a name known to allmjkhan is a name known to allmjkhan is a name known to allmjkhan is a name known to all

b.)Grammar:The second area of focus should be the correct use of grammar.Like all other segments this area also holds immense significance.Poor grammar can very well prove to be the reason of failure in any of the two papers of english.

There are a number of options available for correcting your grammar.A wide range of books starting from very basic level to a highly advanced level are easily available in the market.The most renowned desi book to start with is "Tenses made easy".
Reading a lot of stuff in english automatically improve your grammar.Watching english movies,english news channels develop in you the sense of using english.I dont the rules of english grammar and still my english is satisfactory.Thanks to Hollywood.For more advanced books please have a look at tthe following link.

http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners...ubjects-3.html

c.)Expression:This area of focus is what makes the difference between two persons with same level of knowledge and can be very vital in making you prominent among all.Sometimes people with more knowledge could not make it through because of their poor expression and others do it easily with a little knowledge but strong expression and organistaion of the facts and figures using the best terminology for describing a particular situation.

To improve your performance in this area you do not need to do anything special provided you stick to the advise given in vocabulary section i.e to read newspaper and other stuff like books etc.So in short you need to read a lot for developing a sound expression.Idioms,quotations etc also helps in giving an impressive outlook to your writings.

d.)Active/Passive and Direct/Indirect.

Although this also falls in the grammar section but i would treat this section especially as a separate area.Though this section represents a very small number of points in the paper but my assumption is that you are looking for the number 1 position in CCE 2013 and you should because you can.

Same advise for this section as was for grammar section.But this section cannot be improved by just reading.You need to know the rule.Its technical.Active/Passive made easy and Direct/indirect made easy are the desi books to start with.And follow the link in the grammar section for advanced level books.

Lastly explore css forum.You will get a lot of help.

Now coming to the second question...

You have a lot of time at your disposal so it is best to prepare your own notes.Still if you want to get notes etc then thats not a problem notes can be taken from a variety of different sources like academies etc.Many members on this forum can also help you in getting notes,in fact a lot of members on this forum have made their own notes and you can request them for it.Notes on different subjects are already available on the forum.All the academies in Lahore provides notes.

Coming to your next question

I would personally recommend you to join some classes or private tuition for this area if you feel that your english is not upto the mark.Practice is the key to getting success in this subject.You should have a broad spectrum of thinking.You should have extensive knowldge and your thinking should not be limited,biased and your mind should be open to things.This is all because if you have to write on some unpracticed or unexpected topic then you need to invent and organise the material in your mind to be presented on the paper in no more than three hours.Read a lot on different social,cultural,scientific topics including current affairs.There are also some evergreen topics on this subject like Women empowerment etc which can be found by exploring the Essay forum.

You can update yourself with current affairs through monthly or quarterly journals,Newspapers,internet etc.If you are making your own notes then thats best otherwise notes of different academies also helps a lot for preparing current affairs.

Answer no. 4

First you need to have a grip on your compulsory and optional subjects then you can go for solving past papers.You will be automatically able to solve past papers once you are fully prepared.Past papers can be solved by making a group with friends or otherwise starting a thread on css forum and inviting others to participate in solving the papers.You can also find some solved past papers on css forum.

Answer no.5

There are a lot of optional papers which complement the compulsories like
IndoPAK helps in PAK AFFAIRS.Geography helps in everyday science.International Relations helps in Current affairs etc.
But subjects should be chosen by keeping in view your previous studies plus your interest and aptitude.(its my view you can differ).

Why you want to know the subjects which save the time and are easy?Sir you have enough time.Dont make "saving time" your criteria.However Sociology,Journalism,Public administration etc are subjecs which are considered time saving and easy.A subject is easy or not also depends on your previous qualification and interest.

Thats it from my side.Hope you will get what you were looking for.
Again i am no expert.
naseerulqasimi (Sunday, May 27, 2012)