11:26 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > CSS Competitive Examination

CSS Competitive Examination The Central Superior Services Examination is conducted every year for induction to Group 17 of the Civil Services

Old Thursday, March 22, 2012

Arslan Shaukat is on a distinguished road
Default New trend in CSS Exams.

CSS Exams. have always been famous for its verstality. But CE-2012 opened new horizons. The crammers and selective-study doctiners got serious jolts this time round. Objective type questions in almost all the papers were not taken from past papers. Theoratical questions also had conceptual theme.

It appears to me that this is due to large number of failures in FPOE of the commoners. So what FPSC wants to impress upon all the aspiramts is that one should not reply upon guide books and develp clear in in depth knowledge on the subject matter.
TheUniter (Thursday, March 22, 2012)
42nd CTP (PAAS)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2013 - Merit 66

sabahatbhutta is a splendid one to beholdsabahatbhutta is a splendid one to beholdsabahatbhutta is a splendid one to beholdsabahatbhutta is a splendid one to beholdsabahatbhutta is a splendid one to beholdsabahatbhutta is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by Arslan Shaukat View Post
CSS Exams. have always been famous for its verstality. But CE-2012 opened new horizons. The crammers and selective-study doctiners got serious jolts this time round. Objective type questions in almost all the papers were not taken from past papers. Theoratical questions also had conceptual theme.

It appears to me that this is due to large number of failures in FPOE of the commoners. So what FPSC wants to impress upon all the aspiramts is that one should not reply upon guide books and develp clear in in depth knowledge on the subject matter.
I second you Arslan, it was my first attempt but from the day one I had in my mind that conventional methods of passing the exams can not be helpful in CSS.
I am personally against the mindset of using pakka pakkaya halwa of notes and the so-called CSS preparation academies.
Only self study with ample guidance and one's own strived knowledge can serve the purpose.

Last edited by Shooting Star; Thursday, March 22, 2012 at 05:46 PM. Reason: avoid red
The Following User Says Thank You to sabahatbhutta For This Useful Post:
Ainuddin Kibzai (Tuesday, May 08, 2012)

Hamidullah Gul will become famous soon enough

Yes you are right, this was my first attempt and went really good only because most of the papers were made not to check the Memory of the aspirants but the overall understanding and know how of the subjects. i have always been a critic of the conventional method because there was a room for cramming, but now we hope that only people with actual and real abilities will get through.
The Following User Says Thank You to Hamidullah Gul For This Useful Post:
seemasheikh (Sunday, April 01, 2012)
Old Monday, May 07, 2012

shezzdp is on a distinguished road

I think its true and please seniors what strategy can help for aspirants of 2013 in this scenario?
Old Tuesday, May 08, 2012

Ainuddin Kibzai is just really niceAinuddin Kibzai is just really niceAinuddin Kibzai is just really niceAinuddin Kibzai is just really nice

Originally Posted by sabahatbhutta View Post
I second you Arslan, it was my first attempt but from the day one I had in my mind that conventional methods of passing the exams can not be helpful in CSS.
I am personally against the mindset of using pakka pakkaya halwa of notes and the so-called CSS preparation academies.
Only self study with ample guidance and one's own strived knowledge can serve the purpose.
One word.
AGREED.

I had written a detailed article relating the change in paper-pattern in CE-2012.
The thread is on http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners...w-pattern.html

Last edited by Shooting Star; Tuesday, May 08, 2012 at 12:35 AM. Reason: merged
Old Tuesday, May 08, 2012

Thanked 1,122 Times in 674 Posts
mhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud of

Originally Posted by sabahatbhutta View Post
Nopes , don't make the mistake I made, written CSS requires a mixture of ratta, knowledge and luck (pretty much the same like other conventional exams).. to gain knowledge do self study of various topics when you have time in exam (something called free run ), when exams are near (4 to 5 months) take past papers, get notes and start "ratta"; and start praying whatever you have crammed comes in the paper when exams are very very close . Give proper attention to MCQz and essay writing. Have healthy discussions with learned fellows. And that is it . Asal main baat yeh hai ke paper setter kaa mind question banate waqt jo bhi ho, paper checkers wohi bookish answers ko ziada pasand karte hain , to aap ke answers main jitne ziada bookish references honge aur bookish lingo hogi utne marks ziada milenge. aur jitna ziada aap apni understanding apni lingo main kam references ke saath dikhayen ge utni marks kam milen gee, chahe aap kee understanding accurate philosophical level kee ho
Faisal86 (Tuesday, May 08, 2012), sarfaraz shami (Tuesday, May 08, 2012), shezzdp (Tuesday, May 08, 2012)