08:20 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Frequently Asked Questions > Subject Selection

Old Friday, June 30, 2017

Laiq Zad is on a distinguished road
Default Please help me out.

dear seniors,
i have no idea about least scoring and high scoring subjects. i am a students of computer science so my first optional subject from Group-I is CS.
i am confused in remaining subject selection so please guide me.

1: should i choose public administration or governance & public policies.
my choice is Public Administration.

2: from group-IV, selection is "History of Pakistan & India"

3: from Group-VI, i am confused which subject to be choosed.
either International Law or Criminology

4: since pashto is my regional language so i opted pashto from group-VII..

also need your kind opinion about best academy in ISB/ LHR.

Moderator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason:

mrarsalankhan is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Laiq Zad View Post
dear seniors,
i have no idea about least scoring and high scoring subjects. i am a students of computer science so my first optional subject from Group-I is CS.
i am confused in remaining subject selection so please guide me.

1: should i choose public administration or governance & public policies.
my choice is Public Administration.

2: from group-IV, selection is "History of Pakistan & India"

3: from Group-VI, i am confused which subject to be choosed.
either International Law or Criminology

4: since pashto is my regional language so i opted pashto from group-VII..

also need your kind opinion about best academy in ISB/ LHR.

Public administration would be a good option among two.
I think you should replace Indo-pak history with US history.
Criminology and I.Law are almost same in nature and very easy to prepare.
I further suggest you to go through the syllabus and past papers before finalizing your optional.

Some well reputed academies are Kips in Lahore and National office academy in Islamabad.

Sent from my ALE-L21 using Tapatalk

Last edited by mrarsalankhan; Friday, June 30, 2017 at 09:35 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to mrarsalankhan For This Useful Post:
Laiq Zad (Friday, June 30, 2017)

MoizAhmed786 is on a distinguished road

Being a computer science graduate myself, I have taken these subjects in CE-2017.
1.Computer Science
2.Indo Pak History
3.Environmental Science
4.International Law
5.Sociology
Besides computer science, I haven't faced any trouble in preparation of other subjects.
Indo Pak History related to the history of indian subcontinent, if you read pakistan studies in your bachelors course it will be an easy subject to tackle. However, since it start from 712 AD till present, you have to remember a lot of dates and events.
Environmental science is a blessing for those who loves nature, there are lot of materials and videos on youtube which you can easily grasp, beside that you already know about different terms(Air Pollution, Ozone Depletion. Greenhouse effects etc) and have to learn alot in General Science and Ability's environmental science portion.
I Law is a tricky subject but there's material on youtube, so once you grasp the terminologies you can easily handle this subject.
Sociology is way to easy in my opinion, will not take more than a month to cover all the topic as they are inter-related to each other. Also there are more chances of questions repeated in I Law and Sociology.
Apart from the above selections, you can also take Gender studies, Geography, Town Planning which are easy for beginners to handle!
Now the choice is yours!
Old Saturday, July 01, 2017

mmawaqar is on a distinguished road

Dear,

There are certain papers that complement each other in preparation, for example: History of Pak India helps in Pak studies & US history helps in CA as well as in IR etc. Choose your optional in such a way that will help in lessening your burden.

Moreover, there are some papers that gives you good score on average, such as regional language, environmental sciences, criminology etc.

As far as P.ad is concerned, it will require a bit more effort from your end. You will have to cover the syllabus from multiple sources, focusing on two broad categories: International as well as Pakistani Administration.

I.law's paper and especially it's objective portion was more like applied I.law. It complements IR 2.

In Lahore, there is world times academy, KIPS, Officers etc. I will suggest you to find a private tutor and prepare your own notes. It'll help you a lot in the long run.
Old Friday, July 07, 2017

Zulmanan is on a distinguished road

Seniors, kindly guide me in selecting optional from Group-II. I'm confused regarding marks. I mean can i select only 100 marks from Group-II i.e. Applied Mathematics?
Old Sunday, July 09, 2017

Farhan Saleh Zada is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Zulmanan View Post
Seniors, kindly guide me in selecting optional from Group-II. I'm confused regarding marks. I mean can i select only 100 marks from Group-II i.e. Applied Mathematics?
It's not necessary to select a Subject from group 2 and if your not so good in science Subjects it would be better to avoid that group

Sent from my CHM-U01 using Tapatalk