-   Arena of Golden Tips (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/tips-experience-sharing/arena-golden-tips/)
-   -   The journey of my success (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/tips-experience-sharing/arena-golden-tips/65772-journey-my-success.html)

mano g Monday, July 16, 2012 12:31 PM

The journey of my success

[B][U]The journey of my success: Exclusively for the aspirants who need motivation[/U][/B]

[I]In this thread I will try to explain some tricks for passing css examination in the form of chain posts covering different aspects and angles of css that are highly crucial, as after going through the whole process twice, I have realized that css is not about knowledge, but the management and presentation of knowledge in a coherent, comprehensive, impressive and unique way.[/I]

I started my css journey back in 2008, when I just did my Bsc (Zoology, Botany, Chemistry). I was totally fed up with science subjects and decided to do something different, instead of taking admission in Msc, I joined an academy for css preparation. The competitive environment of academy provided me an opportunity to know my abilities. I started taking highest marks in the class tests and assessments, I started taking my first attempt light, I thought that it is my first attempt and just a trial, as many people suggested me to appear in exam after Masters. In this confusion and double mindedness, I appeared in CE-2008. I gave my papers without proper preparation and even at that time, I was 100% sure that I will not be able to pass any paper, but when DMC came, I was happy as I got 661 marks with 37 in Precis and composition.
I was the turning point in fact, when I came to know my potential that I can make it if I put some hard work. I took admission in Msc Mass communication with an aim in mind that I would have to appear in css exam again after completing my studies, so as per my planning, I appeared in CE-2011 with consistent work of 4 months, which proved to be successful by the grace of Allah Almighty.

[B]Merit No: 51
Marks in written: 698
Marks in viva: 198[/B]

I believe that still there were some loopholes due to which I couldn’t get higher merit number, that mistakes I will highlight in my coming posts, so that you could avoid them. But I am thankful to Allah Almighty that I have got DMG, the group of my choice.

mano g Monday, July 16, 2012 12:44 PM

Marks comparison in both attempts:

[B]2011/2008[/B]
[B]
Compulsory:[/B]

Essay: 40/56
Composition: 52/37
EDS: 62/61
Current Affairs: 50/40
Pakistan Affairs: 40/40
Islamiat: 55/61

[B]Optionals[/B]

Sociology 66/55
Journalism: 76/75
Islamic History and culture: 130/120
Psychology: 127/116

mano g Monday, July 16, 2012 12:57 PM

Factors involve in success

[B]Following factors are involved in success of css examination:[/B]

1. Hard work
2. Understanding the nature of this exam
3. Consistency and dedication
4. Fate and prayers
5. Common sense
6. Selection of subjects
7. Using own mind, instead of following others blindly
8. Self-analysis/ intrapersonal communication at each stage
9. Past papers
10.Writing practice
11.Not generalizing individual experiences as everyone has a different story, way, abilities, strengths and weaknesses.
12. Assessing the things from examination point of view.
13. Deciding right time to appear

pearlyS Monday, July 16, 2012 01:23 PM

salam

mano g its nice that someone after getting success takes care of those who still are lurking in the middle to find their place. :)) what to say,my first attempt was a huge bunch of mistakes. had i not committed those blunders i could have made it in first attempt :blink: but now it is what i cant undo. :wacko: Now, eager to know your strategy that nudged you to your destination & mistakes that came out as your detractors in first attempt. looking forward to chain posts of this useful post of thine.

stay blessed

Codename Hijazi Monday, July 16, 2012 01:26 PM

Congratulation sister, Please share more tips to guide the aspirants...

Have you done masters? Or you are still Graduate?

thrilled student Monday, July 16, 2012 03:12 PM

madam congragulations!!!

& thanks for your guidance. please do tell us how to attempt paper.

idrees khan Monday, July 16, 2012 03:41 PM

Thanks alot sis,congrats on your brilliant success . your post is very inspirational for all of us.Hopefully you will share some other important stuffs with us, last but not the least, I have given my BA exam and waiting for the result what will be the humble advice and suggestion for me, what shall I do in these 3,4 months relating to CSS?????.Its for all the respected seniors.

mano g Monday, July 16, 2012 03:54 PM

General misconceptions regarding css in the minds of aspirants

• CSS is such a difficult exam which can’t be passed by an ordinary student
• CSS process is not transparent and some references work particularly in interview or allocation
• Many misconceptions exist regarding subject selection, specifically scoring-non scoring phenomenon
• At least one year is required for the preparation of css
• It is impossible in first attempt
• 14-16 hours continuous studies is required
• Multiple views exist about joining/not joining academies
• Isolation is required to concentrate

The above mentioned thoughts generally exist in the minds of beginners, but the reality things are different.

• There are many examples of csps who remained ordinary students in their academic career. It is a different exam in which different abilities are assessed, which can be present in an ordinary student.
• As per my personal experience, I know many students including myself who don’t have strong references even to get into a government job, but they qualify this exam. No reference work at any stage during the whole process, everything is systematic, though a few inefficiencies do exist as far as speed is concern, but otherwise this is a transparent process.
• Always follow your heart and mind while selecting subjects, but after thorough analysis. Prefer your interest level, background studies, ability to focus on particular subject, Ability to write effectively in a subject you are selecting, so that if any general question comes in the paper, you would be able to reproduce a reasonable answer. As far as scoring/non-scoring trend is concerned, it is a psychological factor that a less-scoring subject can’t be opted easily but this is something uncontrollable, so focus should remain on the aspects that are handy.
• The duration of preparation varies from person to person, few do it in 1 month, others may take 2 years to prepare, but for an average student, css is doable in 5-6 months (If one starts from scratch).
• Css is practical and manageable in the first attempt easily, many people say that one should give first attempt for getting an idea and then should appear as a serious candidate, but no one should waste any of the attempts in this process.
• Study hours can’t be generalized, as some students have sharp mind and they get the things quickly, others are slow learners, so always set your study hours according to your own way, relaxation hours are also crucial for having a balanced schedule.
• Academies play an important role as they provide a competitive environment, motivation, assessments are helpful for knowing one’s abilities, you meet with csps and get an ideal to follow, they tell you the importance of passing this exam including inspirational lectures, so if one gets opportunity, he/she must join academies, but on the other hand, it shouldn’t be assumed that without academies, success is not possible. Use forums, meet csps, experts, who can play the role of academies, but never rely on unauthentic sources of information. Taking guidance is very important to plan your strategy.
• Isolation is not required at all; you have to consult people, with everyday conversations even you learn so many things, so never assume that closed-door studies will help alone. Plan everything systematically, try to meet people from whom you will get some knowledge this kind of indirect/secondary knowledge will help you a lot while attempting paper and during interviews.

mano g Monday, July 16, 2012 04:04 PM

@Sarwar Khokhar!

I have completed my Msc mass communication with gold medal.

@ Thrilled student!

Soon I will post the techniques specific to attempting paper.

@ Idrees Khan!

I would suggest all the aspirants to complete studies first, because it will automatically create a maturity in your writing style and it will give you more exposure as well. As you have time of a few months with you, focus on language, writing abilities, current affairs and increasing general knowledge, newspapers are repositories of knowledge, try to develop habit of extensive reading.

Codename Hijazi Monday, July 16, 2012 05:15 PM

Thank you sister for getting back - please share the experience of Essay Paper, and your strategy for that Paper?

How one should attempt that? Your Suggestions?

sikander marri Monday, July 16, 2012 08:59 PM

Mano G First of all congratulation on your success..:vic

I have a question in my mind..

Most of the candidate i know and i saw in the forum are either gold medalist or Topper in their student life, but its true that some were not high achievers..
dont you think those candidates who havent got any distinction in there life were lucky in passing the css exam?

Pearl013 Monday, July 16, 2012 09:22 PM

Mano g accept my heartiest congratulations on ur success:clap:clap.
Dear Mano i need ur favour.i am also planning to have psychology for Css 2013.First of all i want to know that would it be right to opt.as many people in this forum are saying that for many years psychology is scoring one so the trend might get changed in upcoming years. secondly can u share ur strategy and study plan to study this subject.

enchanted Monday, July 16, 2012 10:57 PM

heartiest congrats to you mano g.. sister you said you appeared in 2008 it means you cleared css in 2years...shall i take it like this that it took 2 years to prepare for css..??

Alpha One Tuesday, July 17, 2012 01:12 AM

I like the points you mentioned regarding study hours and taking advice of others.

I know one of my batchmates and few other junior female CSP's who use exaggeration of highest level to showoff their hard work. One of them, few years ago, in her speech to young aspirants, in a seminar of an academy said,"..........I studied 30 hours a day......"

Regarding advice, I have seen many aspirants seeking guidance and advice from every psudo expert on CSS, they come across. Becoming confused and frightened/frustrated. Not every CSP in the academies is sincere to students. Many are there for money and are mouthpiece of the academy.

sonu87 Tuesday, July 17, 2012 02:37 AM

Motivating and inspiring

[B]First of all SISTER MANO,.ALLAH Mubarak karay apko apki kaamyabee..[/B]
its one of the inspirational story for me,and i got some motivation from your story.Becoming DMG officer is ultimate dream of mine as well.What i know is that luck matters alot in css exam as well as interview,and hard work is for sure needed to succeed.
[B]english is creating problem for me because i know essay will give me hard time,otherwise i feel really safe and happy in other subjects while i study previous papers,[/B]i cant do more than 6 hours study,but what i know is my 6 hours study will be far more better others,.this is also a motivating factor for me,that i pick up all subjects easily than english.
as far as study is concerned,i think 6 months study will be enough,but only specific study being sticked to syllabus and course.
[B][I]just guide me properly how can i improve my english writing skills,as i have knowledge but i cant express my knowledge,and sometimes my grammar is also wrong..do tell me what shall i read for learning english essay as DAWN is helping me a little,[/I][/B]and when i went academy,i felt that they r just wasting time,thats y i left academy after three days,but nobody is properly guiding me,i met many officers and other friends who have given exam,all have different opinions.,some say do read recommended books for CSS,some say do read notes,others say notes will damage u,some say that enhance your opinion and analysing skill coz CSS needs no RATTA but analysis nd opinion making about what is asked???
[I][B]ALL have dragged me to confusing state,but now i started study a week ago by my own,by reading some recommended books,and will read notes after dat..but one thing will for sure kick me in first attempt,and that is my english![/B][/I]!!i have myriad vocabulary but i dont know how accurately and precisely i will use it according to thye situtaion... [U][I][B][COLOR="blue"]please do guide me regarding my questions!!! i will be thankful to you..[/COLOR][/B][/I][/U]

mano g Tuesday, July 17, 2012 10:44 AM

Response to your queries!

First of all, I would request all of you to have some passions as I have decided to move systematically in this thread, I will share each and everything with you which I think, should be told to the aspirants. I also understand that you all have many queries in your minds so I would try to answer them here, before posting further tips.

@Sarwar khokhar!

I will tell you the tips regarding attempting essay and other papers soon, after completing the first phase of general tips.

@Sikander marri!

Those who get success despite being an ordinary student, are hard working people and instead of calling them lucky, dedicated would be the appropriate word, well no doubt luck factor is very important and many people get success due to their good luck, but it doesn’t mean that luck alone is responsible for their achievement.

One thing which is extremely crucial for css is ‘understanding its importance and then working with commitment to achieve it in any way’. The factor of luck is though very important but it is out of one’s control so aspirants should try to grasp those aspects which are controllable.

@Pearl013!

Psychology is one of the most interesting, scoring and easy-to-understand subject. It covers most of the aspects of our daily life so you will find it interesting, yes, it is easier for science students but non-science students also opt it and get good marks. The ‘study plan’ thing is needed to be addressed separately but for the time being, I would just say that make your own study plan instead of following the ready-made plans as everyone make it according to him/her. Though some similarities can be followed, which I will post in detail, the general steps of making study plan, hope it will help.

@enchanted!

I gave first attempt and then forgot it completely as my focus shifted towards my masters, again I started css preparation after completing my degree, so the gap was only due to my studies, otherwise I would have appeared in 2009, because consecutive attempts are better.

@Alpha one!

30 hours study? This is my purpose of starting this thread that don’t believe in every guide and every tip, many will be there to misguide you, so use your own mind.

Sonu 87!

You have truly represented the state of mind of a typical css aspirant and your questions are genuine too. Your questions need a separate post to respond, but one word answer of your every question is here,

1. Luck matters but uncontrollable factor so just pray and leave rest to Allah Almighty.
2. Essay is difficult paper, but with extensive practice and technique can be passed.
3. Expressing knowledge is the key of success, try to present the ideas in your own way after knowing what is being asked, directly hit the target.
4. English skills don’t need heavy vocabulary or verbosity in expression at all, try to use simple sentences which should be grammatically correct.
5. Don’t follow everyone; make your own short notes.
6. Get the required contents and tips from academies and then study according to your own way.
7. Css is a combination of RATTA and analytical skills, of course you can’t analyze facts and figures so they must be crammed.

Fakhar Balouch Tuesday, July 17, 2012 10:53 AM

@ mano g
Congratz sis for this higher achievement , my question is that i am a chemical engineer and doing job , my job timing is 9 to 5 , would it possible for me to prepare css with this job??

Please Reply

mano g Tuesday, July 17, 2012 10:58 AM

[QUOTE=Fakhar Balouch;454715]@ mano g
Congratz sis for this higher achievement , my question is that i am a chemical engineer and doing job , my job timing is 9 to 5 , would it possible for me to prepare css with this job??

Please Reply[/QUOTE]

Yes, everything is possible, if one has commitment, there are many examples where aspirants qualify along with doing job, I myself was doing job during interview preparation, you learn so many things from job as well,so don't take it as a difficulty, manage your time properly, you can do it even with job. best of luck!

Pearl013 Tuesday, July 17, 2012 02:42 PM

@Pearl013!

Psychology is one of the most interesting, scoring and easy-to-understand subject. It covers most of the aspects of our daily life so you will find it interesting, yes, it is easier for science students but non-science students also opt it and get good marks. The ‘study plan’ thing is needed to be addressed separately but for the time being, I would just say that make your own study plan instead of following the ready-made plans as everyone make it according to him/her. Though some similarities can be followed, which I will post in detail, the general steps of making study plan, hope it will help.

thanks alot sister mano g:angle:).i am anxiously waiting for ur help& tips to cover this subject.kindly share the books u have studied for this subject?

mano g Tuesday, July 17, 2012 03:58 PM

Reasons of failure in css exam

• Over/under confidence
• Inappropriate strategy of preparation
• Not giving equal time and attention to all the subjects
• Poor subject selection
• Focus on hard work instead of planning
• Improper way of attempting paper (During exam, time management is crucial, I myself did mistake in some papers, I gave too much time to 1st and 2nd question and then was left with only 40 minutes for the remaining two questions. All questions have equal marks i.e. 20, so all of them should be given equal time)
• Attempting question without reading and understanding properly (Half of the answer is always present in the question itself)
• Handling answers in wrong way; be systematic while giving answer to a question for the ease of examiner and your own self.
• Lack of rest during exam days, as proper sleep is very important for appearing in two consecutive papers a day.
• Mostly essay paper becomes a threat for the candidates and it is true to a great extent as percentage of failure in this paper is quite large, people generally think that they need to use difficult words for impressing examiner; this is not the case in reality. They check following aspects of essay,

1. Relevance of content with the topic
2. Language (sentences with correct grammar, so it is always preferred to write short sentences, as there will be less chance of mistakes in this way)
3. Handwriting; should be clear, neat and visible as paper’s cosmetic value is also has its own place.
4. Argumentation
5. Additional/ Supplementary content including examples, verses, quotes, facts and figures if needed (particularly in factual essays), make your essay unique with these colours.
6. Introduction should be the best, as the examiner will judge your essay and make an impression in the very beginning, directly hit the topic without going into the irrelevant details.
7. Essay should be well-arranged, all the content should be presented in a sequence, for example background can’t come prior to examples or solutions, logical coherence and arrangement of facts is necessary.

mano g Tuesday, July 17, 2012 04:05 PM

[QUOTE=Pearl013;454815]thanks alot sister mano g:angle:).i am anxiously waiting for ur help& tips to cover this subject.kindly share the books u have studied for this subject?[/QUOTE]

I studied Shehar Bano's books for this paper along with consulting Feldsman's book for a few topics.

Asi01 Tuesday, July 17, 2012 04:46 PM

[QUOTE=mano g;454310][B]2011/2008[/B]
[

[B]Optionals[/B]

Sociology 66/55

Congratulations for allocation in the royal group of Civil Services.

I have some queries as you have above four optionals which i have also opted.
Mano g! I have appeared twice in CE in 2011 n 2012. I still have a chance n waiting for my result (Plz Pray for my Success in 2012).

My marks were in optionals!
Islamic History n Culture: 103
Journalism : 54
Sociology : 46

Please suggest me some books which you exploited to get excellent marks n also suggest me the strategy to attempt optional papers.
Is it necessary to make detailed notes or bullet notes will do?
How can an aspirant memorise the names n dates in Islamic History?
Please mention the sources which you used for prep of these papers?

Asif Nawaz Abro

Sara Arshad Tuesday, July 17, 2012 05:53 PM

Congratulations Amna, may Allah bless you with success always. your story is so motivating, thank you so much for writing it down for us all.
I will appear in css 2014 inshALLAH. but i have started preparing for it now. you have written in your story that its not very easy to get allocated in the first attempt, and normally people have to appear again. but i want to get allocated in my first attempt, i don't want to appear again. so i want your guidance that what should be my study plan to get some good position.

dms664 Tuesday, July 17, 2012 06:47 PM

Very happy to see you around.
Golden tips shared by you.

Sent from my HTC One V using Tapatalk 2

Nazi Orakzai Tuesday, July 17, 2012 07:05 PM

:.....

The only reason,as per my view,why miss mano got allocated with merely 3 months preparation ...............could be her decent english presentation style.........English,no doubt,could prove an 'atomic bomb'with any devoted css aspirant..so,start work from 'now' and start enrichment of uranium in the shape of practice... ......... Miss, congrats from our side also.....always stay blessed.

ZAKARIYAN01 Wednesday, July 18, 2012 12:15 AM

welcome back

[B]welcome back,,,,,,,,,,it's really nice to see you here,,,,,,,,,,your success story is a source of inspiration and motivation for all the css aspirants,,,,,,,,,,,please suggest reading material subject wise,,,,,,, [/B]

Miss Ayaz Wednesday, July 18, 2012 12:48 AM

kindly suggest books for compulsory subjects...

asmarrz Wednesday, July 18, 2012 01:12 AM

Thanks sister

Nice to see you back :)

thanks for guiding and giving outstanding tips . I belong to a poor family. I can't afford academy charges even a well reputed academy charges near about 80000 (45000 for tuition, 35000 for hostel ) for outside Lahore and Islamabad residents... How can a girl afford it! Although I wanted to join but academy charges are very high :(

I don't have words all I can pray for the kindness of you to Allah Almighty.

could you guide how to prepare psychology and suggest good book as well?

Second how to answer a particular question? example : by making outlines, simple paragraph or by headings etc? with respect to your way of answering mass communication and sociology papers 2011...

Third can a person from scratch start preparing psychology or Islamic History and score high marks?

mano g Wednesday, July 18, 2012 11:44 AM

[QUOTE=Asi01;454868][QUOTE=mano g;454310][B]2011/2008[/B]
[

[B]Optionals[/B]

Sociology 66/55

Congratulations for allocation in the royal group of Civil Services.

I have some queries as you have above four optionals which i have also opted.
Mano g! I have appeared twice in CE in 2011 n 2012. I still have a chance n waiting for my result (Plz Pray for my Success in 2012).

My marks were in optionals!
Islamic History n Culture: 103
Journalism : 54
Sociology : 46

Please suggest me some books which you exploited to get excellent marks n also suggest me the strategy to attempt optional papers.
Is it necessary to make detailed notes or bullet notes will do?
How can an aspirant memorise the names n dates in Islamic History?
Please mention the sources which you used for prep of these papers?

Asif Nawaz Abro[/QUOTE]

Best wishes for you. For optional papers, select the areas first based on past papers, in this way you will have a list of topics you need to prepare, then make your notes in which there must be outlines, bullet points, important facts and figures etc, remember make such notes as are readable during exams/easily revise able. For Islamic History our teacher used to say that always notice and remember that the no. of non-Muslim army in the battles would be around 1,20,0000 and that of Muslims would be around 20,000 :D so try to learn these tricks for remembering dates. Your marks in the optionals are less as all these subjects remained scoring this year, in these subjects try to focus on general topics and make your answer unique.focus on objectives.....books were the same that i used but way of expression makes the difference.

[B][I]sociology:j.j Baloch
Journalism:Abid Tehami (it was my own subject so i had background knowledge for it)
islamic history:M.Arshad's book (you will find it with difficulty though)[/I][/B]

[QUOTE=Sara Arshad;454899]Congratulations Amna, may Allah bless you with success always. your story is so motivating, thank you so much for writing it down for us all.
I will appear in css 2014 inshALLAH. but i have started preparing for it now. you have written in your story that its not very easy to get allocated in the first attempt, and normally people have to appear again. but i want to get allocated in my first attempt, i don't want to appear again. so i want your guidance that what should be my study plan to get some good position.[/QUOTE]

Thank you, many people get the group of their choice in the first attempt so follow a strategic path, will tell you in detail the way of setting study plan.

[QUOTE=Miss Ayaz;455091]kindly suggest books for compulsory subjects...[/QUOTE]

[B]English[/B]: Exploring the world of English+Wren n Martin's book of higher English grammer
[B]Islamiyat:[/B] Prof.Khurshid's Islami Nazriya-e-hayaat
[B]Pak Affiars: [/B]Trek to PAKISTAN, Ikram Rabbani's book also easy to understand
[B]Current affairs:[/B]For current affairs never consult a single book or source, explore the knowledge through newspapers, internet, magazines, discussions, talk shows...[url]www.zemtv.com[/url] contain archives of all talk shows
[B]EDS:[/B]Kashmiri's book is good one but soliving past papers for this particular paper would be a good exercise, use internet for the topics like pesticides, Solar system, genetic engineering so that you get recent facts.

[QUOTE=asmarrz;455096]Nice to see you back :)

thanks for guiding and giving outstanding tips . I belong to a poor family. I can't afford academy charges even a well reputed academy charges near about 80000 (45000 for tuition, 35000 for hostel ) for outside Lahore and Islamabad residents... How can a girl afford it! Although I wanted to join but academy charges are very high :(

Second how to answer a particular question? example : by making outlines, simple paragraph or by headings etc? with respect to your way of answering mass communication and sociology papers 2011...

Third can a person from scratch start preparing psychology or Islamic History and score high marks?[/QUOTE]

I have given the answer regarding psychology and Islamic history in previous posts:)For giving answer to a question, break the question in parts that what are the points being asked,then make an outline and follow it while answering, through outline examiner can judge your knowledge and presentation well.

mano g Thursday, July 19, 2012 05:38 PM

How to make study plan and schedule

There will be many ready-made study plans available to you, but ‘’remember’’ that there is no alternate of the one that you made yourself to carry out studies in an orderly manner; same is the case with schedule.

[B]Steps to follow while making study plan:[/B]

• Keep syllabus and past papers of the subject in front of you

• Make a list of topics based on these two sources

• Divide the topics in portions, according to the areas/major sub heading and note down the frequency of occurrence in past papers and in this way set up the topics in descending order of their priority.

[For example for Pakistan Affairs paper, there will be key areas i.e, pre-independence and post- independent era. In pre-independence portion, Reformist movements will be sub divided into religious, educational, social movements, then Muslim struggle for independence, events e.g formation of Muslim league, partition of Bengol, Lucknow pact…….in post-independence era starting from initial problems till date, make a sequential list of topics]

• Make a list of general questions that don’t fall under the category of any topic, but similar questions can be asked in the paper.

[For example how to improve education system, problems of Pakistan their solution-(2011), move in a systematic way so that you can easily link together your knowledge]

• Never start any subject haphazardly, it will help in better understanding, now once you have a systematic sketch of topics in front of you, you will be able to start preparing them in a proper way

• Now decide the days for a particular subject and divide topics to cover each day, in this way you will be able to cover each major area in 2-3 days, provided with the condition that you have one subject for preparation in the schedule you have made.

[B]How to make schedule
[/B]

• There are two options for making schedule,

1. One subject for a specific time period
2. Multiple subject option

• The aspirants who don’t have the ability to concentrate on multiple things and can only give attention to one subject at a time should select the 1st option, as in this way they would be able to prepare in the best way, but the short coming of this schedule format is that, student start thinking that all other subjects are neglected because psychological traumas will keep bothering you till the examination day. The solutions is to shift the subjects on weekly basis, i.e. start one subject, cover some portion of it and in the next week give time to the other subject. In this way you can prepare all the subjects side by side.
• Keep English writing practice in the schedule on the daily basis, you will not need to spare separate time for English then and daily practice will make it more accurate as well.
• 2nd option is simple and self-explanatory, 2 or more subjects at a time, it is difficult to manage and more suitable when exams are near. Once you have gone through all the subjects then make this one, as it will be better option for revising the subjects.
• Make bullet point notes if time is less, if it is abundant then making detailed notes is feasible option.

Saqlain Gilani Friday, July 20, 2012 09:05 AM

Hi thanx for your such an informative post. i've recently completed my degree of Mcs( Masters in computer science) want to appear in Css Exam, need your guidance and help thank you very much!

Samina Malik Friday, July 20, 2012 02:42 PM

[QUOTE=mano g;454302][B][U]The journey of my success: Exclusively for the aspirants who need motivation[/U][/B]

[I]In this thread I will try to explain some tricks for passing css examination in the form of chain posts covering different aspects and angles of css that are highly crucial, as after going through the whole process twice, I have realized that css is not about knowledge, but the management and presentation of knowledge in a coherent, comprehensive, impressive and unique way.[/I]

I started my css journey back in 2008, when I just did my Bsc (Zoology, Botany, Chemistry). I was totally fed up with science subjects and decided to do something different, instead of taking admission in Msc, I joined an academy for css preparation. The competitive environment of academy provided me an opportunity to know my abilities. I started taking highest marks in the class tests and assessments, I started taking my first attempt light, I thought that it is my first attempt and just a trial, as many people suggested me to appear in exam after Masters. In this confusion and double mindedness, I appeared in CE-2008. I gave my papers without proper preparation and even at that time, I was 100% sure that I will not be able to pass any paper, but when DMC came, I was happy as I got 661 marks with 37 in Precis and composition.
I was the turning point in fact, when I came to know my potential that I can make it if I put some hard work. I took admission in Msc Mass communication with an aim in mind that I would have to appear in css exam again after completing my studies, so as per my planning, I appeared in CE-2011 with consistent work of 4 months, which proved to be successful by the grace of Allah Almighty.

[B]Merit No: 51
Marks in written: 698
Marks in viva: 198[/B]

I believe that still there were some loopholes due to which I couldn’t get higher merit number, that mistakes I will highlight in my coming posts, so that you could avoid them. But I am thankful to Allah Almighty that I have got DMG, the group of my choice.[/QUOTE]

[FONT="Comic Sans MS"][SIZE="5"][COLOR="DarkGreen"][B]Your character,composure,focus and courage has earned you this success and glory.Congratulations and let the spirit never fade away.[/B][/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]

aamirsahim Friday, July 20, 2012 05:29 PM

about academy in islambad

you are saying that you had joined the css preparation academy so i want to ask that which one academy is the best in Islamabad ???? and is it good for me to opt psychology having zero background of it.

waiting for ur reply mano g.

mano g Friday, July 20, 2012 05:44 PM

[QUOTE=Saqlain Gilani;455948]Hi thanx for your such an informative post. i've recently completed my degree of Mcs( Masters in computer science) want to appear in Css Exam, need your guidance and help thank you very much![/QUOTE]

your query?

[QUOTE=aamirsahim;456166]you are saying that you had joined the css preparation academy so i want to ask that which one academy is the best in Islamabad ???? and is it good for me to opt psychology having zero background of it.

waiting for ur reply mano g.[/QUOTE]

I joined NOVA academy near G-10 markaz, better than many other academies.....academy is good for guidance but never rely more than 30% on academy....psychology is interesting and easy to learn except a few topics...for science students it is best subject to opt but others can learn it with ease, secondly it has remained always a scoring subject so better to opt.

Ahmed Faisal Friday, July 20, 2012 07:40 PM

Mano g kindly tell us how to prepare essay and what was your strategy in this regards. had you been giving time on daily basis or otherwise?
My second question is that How much time should be given to Current affair and dawn etc, because it is the only subject which takes too much time, especially Dawn paper.

Fakhar Balouch Friday, July 20, 2012 08:36 PM

[QUOTE=mano g;456171]your query?

I joined NOVA academy near G-10 markaz, better than many other academies.....academy is good for guidance but never rely more than 30% on academy....psychology is interesting and easy to learn except a few topics...for science students it is best subject to opt but others can learn it with ease, secondly it has remained always a scoring subject so better to opt.[/QUOTE]

is this academy near G 10 mor ???

mano g Friday, July 20, 2012 08:41 PM

[QUOTE=asmarrz;455096]Nice to see you back :)

Third can a person from scratch start preparing psychology or Islamic History and score high marks?[/QUOTE]

sorry to skip your first query regarding joining the academy, in Pakistan, i believe css is the cheapest way to get a prestigious job....1000-1500 examination fee and some expenditures of books, for books, even libraraies are helpful and available, you can get notes from friends who have joined academies, css forum is another good source so don't worry dear about academy, you can prepare this exam even without joining academy, most of the academies are just for commercial purposes alone and that's why they charge high, be confident and start with the name of Allah:))

[QUOTE=Ahmed Faisal;456214]Mano g kindly tell us how to prepare essay and what was your strategy in this regards. had you been giving time on daily basis or otherwise?
My second question is that How much time should be given to Current affair and dawn etc, because it is the only subject which takes too much time, especially Dawn paper.[/QUOTE]

For essay tips please see post no.17 of this thread, i gave time to essay on daily basis initially and then i used to attempt 2-3 essays a week for practice, current affairs is also needed to be prepared on the daily basis....initially it will take time to read newspapers but when you will get used to of it, scanning newspapers daily will really be an easy and less time-consuming job.

@ Farrukh Baloch!

Yes, it is the first one if you will come from markaz side!

aamirsahim Saturday, July 21, 2012 11:56 AM

about academy

I am a villager man and also not so much better in my English essay and also having some problems in my current affairs. so should i go for academy or not ?????

waiting for reply mano g

amna rafiq Sunday, July 22, 2012 01:00 PM

Huge conratulations Amna... It's really impressive the way you are responding our queries & your tips are quite helpful...Do share remaining things..!!
Stay blessed!

mano g Monday, July 23, 2012 11:49 AM

How to solve a question

Before solving any question in the css exam, selection of question itself is very crucial, in css examination, there is abundance of choice but even then we see a great difference in the marks of candidates so there are some important decisions that are needed to be taken on the spot,

[B]Selection of question:[/B]

• Decide area of your interest (some people can write well on factual topics, others who are poor in cramming prefer general questions, so it is always better to understand your own strengths and weaknesses )
• Nature of question from examiner’s point of view : Factual vs general: Although css examiners are unbiased, expert, experienced and neutral but still there are some human limitations and biases which has an impact on marking system, examiner will try his/her best to assess your skills and abilities on the basis of question you have solved [B]BUT[/B] general questions are always better to select, because through a general question you can better provide your insight, analytical skills, uniqueness in your answer because in css exam you have to provide an out of the box thinking to create your individual impact, examiner will judge you from your writing because you will not present in front of examiner when he/she will be marking your paper so try to be as different and impressive as possible.

For example in the question of Quaid-e-Azam’s 14 points you don’t have much room for giving your inputs, you have to cram 14 points in any case and then you can get some additional marks if you will analyze these points well in the given context, but for a totally non-bookish question like ‘’how to improve political instability in Pakistan/how to bring reforms in education system:’’ you will have to provide your opinion, so it has more chances of impressing examiner.

[B]NOTE:[/B] If you are 100% sure that you can solve a factual question well, then without a second thought go for it, as you will have grip on that particular topic.

• Don’t waste too much time on selecting the questions, be vigilant but prudent.
• Once you have selected the questions start from the one you know the best (just like we use to do in our school/college/university exams)
• Decide the time you have to give to each question, but on the average following should be the sequence:
[B]1st question: 45 minutes
2nd question: 40 minutes
3rd question: 35 minutes
4th question: 30 minutes
Objective part: 30 minutes[/B]

Sometimes you will be able to complete objective part in 20 minutes or even less, in that case set the time accordingly.

[B]Solving question:[/B]

• Break the question in parts,
Following are the two example, these are the questions in Islamiyat paper 2011:

[B]Q. it is necessary to establish priority of law for the development of society. What is your point of view that today Islamic punishments are regarded as Savagery? While discussing the Islamic philosophy of the reward and punishment also describe the basic characteristic of Islamic concept of punishments.[/B]

Following are the requirements of this question, that examiner has in his/her mind.

1. Importance of establishing priority of law for the development of society (in one paragraph)
2. What is your point of view that today Islamic punishments are regarded as Savagery? Give your clear cut stance first in yes or know or if you have neutral opinion
3. Discuss Islamic philosophy of reward and punishment
4. Explain basic characteristics of Islamic concept of punishments

You are supposed to divide 20 marks in these sub-divisions and the give answer accordingly to each part according to their marks. People often do mistake of focusing one part extensively leaving behind the rest of the parts of question and get less marks.

[B]Q.To follow an ideal is very necessary for the progress of nation. In your view what are basic characteristic of ideal and how Islamic ideology of life affects the individual and communal life with reference to basic characteristic of Islamic ideology? Elucidate.
[/B]

[B]Requirements:[/B]

1. Explain a bit “ideal is very necessary for the progress of nation’’
2. What are basic characteristic of ideal
3. How Islamic ideology of life affects the individual and communal life with reference to basic characteristic of Islamic ideology.

• After this breakage, it will be easy to explain each part and first make outline at the back of answer sheet (rough page) the shift it on the actual page of answer.
• Start writing according to outline, it will be systematic, well-managed and comprehensive answer. It is time taking process, but will pay you, remember practice is from now then you will be expert on the actual day of exam.
• Take care of handwriting, it definitely has an impact.

Essential parts of your answer/general ingredients of outline
• Introduction
• Body (including the broken parts of question)
• Examples
• Arguments
• Justification of your stance
• Flow sheet/ Graphical or diagrammatic demonstration if any (additional impact)
• Real life situations
• Comparisons
• Problems
• Solutions
• Positive and negative aspects of a given situation
• Conclusion

This is a general sketch you can mould it according to the question and situation. If you remember some point at some later stage don’t be panic and adjust it anywhere in the answer tactfully.

06:26 AM (GMT +5)