Sunday, May 05, 2024
06:47 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing > Arena of Golden Tips

Old Tuesday, October 01, 2013

satalpur is on a distinguished road

Asslam 0 Alaikum Sir first of all Best Wishes for you and thanks for the help of beginners like us.
Sir i have 2 Questions.
1st: i select the physics(200), Sindhi Literature(100) and journalism(100) remaining 200 marks which best for me.
2nd: what you suggest about Essay Writing practice, when i read the article or Essay its easy for me but When i writing them i face the many problems sir please help me iF you can. Thanks Alot
Old Wednesday, October 02, 2013

M Abdullah Azam is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by ArifAwan View Post
If you are unemployed, its better for you to take CSS 2014. It will help you in interview preparation incase you pass the written part of 2013. Moreover, CSS selection process is way too long and you might not have the same energy after a year to commit yourself again. If not allocated to a group of choice, you won't get a chance to appear in CSS 2015 as taking exams during CTP is not allowed. Then you would either be deferring your CTP or else waiting for 2016. So go ahead for 2014.
Jazak Allah Sir for your kind guidance.
May Allah bless you with peace, prosperity & progress.
Ameen.
The Following User Says Thank You to M Abdullah Azam For This Useful Post:
ArifAwan (Wednesday, October 02, 2013)
Old Wednesday, October 02, 2013

Jaffer Zaidi is on a distinguished road
Default Congractulations sir in getting a group of your choice

Sir,i want to know that how to get prepare for css exams is there any specific coaching center or any academy for the prepration of css or have to do on your own and also tell me which group is better dmg or customs and also tell me that what is the take home salary and what vehicle is given to the 17 grade dmg officer plz sir reply.

Again congrats on your selection
Old Saturday, October 05, 2013
E M P O W E R

Gotam is a jewel in the roughGotam is a jewel in the roughGotam is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by Jaffer Zaidi View Post
Sir,i want to know that how to get prepare for css exams is there any specific coaching center or any academy for the prepration of css or have to do on your own and also tell me which group is better dmg or customs and also tell me that what is the take home salary and what vehicle is given to the 17 grade dmg officer plz sir reply.

Again congrats on your selection

Read all posts of the thread, answers are there in them. You will learn even more than you have asked so give them a read. Do not create new posts on what already has been explained. Avoid Netspeak.
Old Saturday, October 19, 2013

lums is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by ArifAwan View Post
1.Essay:
Honestly speaking, I haven't solved a single essay during my preparation but had to consult economic survey of Pakistan for various Facts and figures that help in writing a good essay. So I would suggest you to get hold of Economic Survey of Pakistan's hard copy or else read it on-line. Values like literacy rate, demographics, social statistics Etc. will be of considerable help for you. As one goes through the material of compulsory and optional subjects, one gets hold of plenty of knowledge to write essays over various topics. Moreover, it important to make outlines and practice their accuracy, add quotations, definitions and Hadith. The best thing would be to write outlines of essays over; Social, Political, Technical, Religious and Literature topics.

2.Precis:
I barely solved last 5 years papers for Precis practice after getting guidelines from Saadat Ali Shah"s "Exploring the world of English". But as they say, practice makes a man perfect,m the more one practices, the more one gets to know. Solving past papers regularly side by side with other subjects will help reduce the burden. For pair of words, idioms and phrases and all other MCQ's, consult with css forums threads;

Solved Pair of words of Past Papers
http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compu...71-2011-a.html

Solved Idioms of Past Papers
http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compu...71-2010-a.html

3.Current Affairs
There were two types of issues for study;
a. Conventional Issues e.g. Palestine, Kashmir, Nuclearization of Asia (Iran and PK with special focus), Rise and Fall in Pak-US partnership etc.
b. Contemporary Issues

For conventional issues, DSS, ISS, SASSI's websites contain seminar reports and research papers which should be studied along with some old contemporary affairs books while maintaining separate file for such issues. Accumulation of various books should be avoided at best. Mastering Pak-US relations will be the best thing to do for preparing current affairs as this has the largest purview among all the topics and helps one understand relations with India, and Pak's relations with the Muslim world as well. The compilation of a separate file for such issues helps one in saving time and revising these topics more than once.

For the contemporary issues, one may buy yearly review of dawn or any other magazine that will give an insight of the whole year's events. Reading newspapers will create ease in MCQ's. For instance a link that I used in preparation is shared here for your information;

Shahid Javed Burki's Articles
http://www.cssforum.com.pk/general/n...i-article.html

4. EDS
I consulted a local book (by Muhammad Tariq Afridi) with short questions and MCQs, Akram Kashmiri's book and Matriculation books for Human physiology and some other basic concepts. During the paper, I made sure to make a figure/diagram for every question and appropriate labeling. I solved past 15 years papers of CSS and PMS and it worked for mein both exams. Make sure to solve as much MCQs as you can. Imtiaz shahid's MCQs book contains solved MCQs.

5. Pakistan Affairs

Pakistan Affairs subject has some overlapping areas with Current Affairs so those over lapping areas such as the Socioeconomic, demographics, indigenous politics etc. should be studied from various sources like sociology books, Ikram Rabbani's book and some features of newspapers. whereas, for the per-partition topics, "Struggle for Pakistan" by IH Qureshi or "trek to Pakistan" or "Making of Pakistan" are suitable books.

6. Islamiat
Islamiat has proved to be a great challenge for CSS aspirants and has been haunting the candidates since 2007. Contemporary issues have replaced the simple translations and basic concepts. Therefore, many of the topics of Islamiat are in fact Current Affairs topics and a good command over CA can help getting through in Islamiat. For the Ijtehad/Sources of Shariah topics consult Islamic Jurisprudence book whereas for the basic pillars of Islam and other Systems of Islamic society like Judicial, financial, political etc. , Sadruddin Islahi's book can suffice. Dogar Unique's book can be used for MCQs and Comparitive relgions. Since Muslim history was one of my optional subjects, Personality of Muhammad S.A.W and topics like last sermon, social reforms, Sulah e hudaibiya etc. were easily covered. The Ahadith in Matriculation and Fsc books were re-studied and they helped a lot in refrences at appropriate places in Islamiat paper. some of the links from css forum, that were consulted are;

Solved MCQ's of Islamiat past papers
http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compu...st-papers.html

Dawn's Friday Feature
http://www.cssforum.com.pk/general/n...ures-dawn.html

MY OPTIONAL SUBJECTS

Sociology: Sociology and Social Problems by Prof. Abdul Hameed Taga (for social problems, social interactions and social concepts)An Introduction to Sociology by JJ Baloch (Summary and headings of all important topics including Sociologists and their contributions)Sociology by Schaffer and lamm or Hortun and hunt (social research methods, Max weber's theory of bureaucrats, sociological perspectives) Past MCQs

Islamic History: A short history of Islam by K.Ali ( This book can cover all aspects briefly except ottoman part)A Short history of the Saracens by Syed Ameer Ali ( for Muslim Spain)Muslim history by Sohail bhatti (its a bulky book and hence only for Ottoman part such as Muhammad the conqueror, Solomon (Suleman) the Magnificent, Ottoman Tanzimaat)Past MCQs

Pushto: Pohanna book Past MCQs at the end of pohanna book and a good pamphlet for pushto matals and folk culture.

International Law: OH Agarwal (all topics with relevant cases) some prefer Tandon and KapoorEmporium series ( for general questions like recommendations to improve the role of UN)

Forestry: Masood A A Qureshi Forests and Foretry in Pakistan by MI Sheikh (forestry statistics)Environment Chapter of Economic Survey of Pakistan Past MCQs

I believe wise use of cssforum is mandatory for short span of preparation. I didn't do hard work precisely due to shortage of time , but relied on smart work which means study based on past repeated questions but made sure to read the whole of syllabus at least once for MCQs preparation. Take good care of your self.

Keep praying.
Brother : does the book of K.Ali covers both papers?
Old Monday, October 28, 2013
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 16Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

ArifAwan is a splendid one to beholdArifAwan is a splendid one to beholdArifAwan is a splendid one to beholdArifAwan is a splendid one to beholdArifAwan is a splendid one to beholdArifAwan is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by lums View Post
Brother : does the book of K.Ali covers both papers?
K. Ali does not cover Muslim spain sufficiently well so if you wanted to study in detail then i will recommend "A short history of the saracens" by Syed ameer ali for the spain part or a dedicated book by Mazhar ul Haq on Spain. Apart from Sapin, the ottoman part is also missing which can be studied (3 major questions from this part) from Sohail Bhatti's book. Or may cover these three questions from Top Twenty series.
Old Saturday, November 02, 2013

Rashidaligujjar is on a distinguished road

Aoa! i was very happy to read about you, because i was confused that the css preparatiohn can not be done in short span of time like three months but now you give me a lot of inspiration for the attempt of 2013. thanx.......
The Following User Says Thank You to Rashidaligujjar For This Useful Post:
ArifAwan (Sunday, November 03, 2013)
Old Friday, December 27, 2013

zunaira javed is on a distinguished road

AOA Sir I really impressed I was topper since my childhood I am not intelligent but hardworking I have done BCOM MCOMon scholarship IN 2012 oct till today Iam searching for some good job but nothing I want to start css kindly guide me regarding best subject selection and preparation as well good books daily study hours and WE CAN SCORE GOOD EVEN WITH JOB ? WITHOUT TUTOR IS IT POSSIBLE??
Old Saturday, December 28, 2013
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 16Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

ArifAwan is a splendid one to beholdArifAwan is a splendid one to beholdArifAwan is a splendid one to beholdArifAwan is a splendid one to beholdArifAwan is a splendid one to beholdArifAwan is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by zunaira javed View Post
AOA Sir I really impressed I was topper since my childhood I am not intelligent but hardworking I have done BCOM MCOMon scholarship IN 2012 oct till today Iam searching for some good job but nothing I want to start css kindly guide me regarding best subject selection and preparation as well good books daily study hours and WE CAN SCORE GOOD EVEN WITH JOB ? WITHOUT TUTOR IS IT POSSIBLE??
For a hard worker, CSS prep shouldn't be a problem if there is sufficient proficiency in English. And yes, its possible to qualify this exam without tutor. You can use this forum for guidance. As for the study hours, that depends upon your convenience. Chalk out a program that can help you in covering the course material twice in the preparatory period.
Aman Rashid (Tuesday, July 29, 2014), zunaira javed (Tuesday, December 31, 2013)
Old Saturday, December 28, 2013

jawad rocker is on a distinguished road

That's great bro,
What was your strategy during Islamic history and culture preparations?