05:32 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Cadres and Training Programmes > Common Training Programme (CTP)

Old Wednesday, April 12, 2006
34th Commons
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: 45 1011 ARQAM TARIQ PUNJAB

Arqam is on a distinguished road
Default DMG or PSP

Plz Tell Me Wht Is Better .....psp Or Dmg?

Can U Plz Tell,which Is Best.
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 120

Adil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really nice

Salaam,

For PSP: Police Order 2002 has sliced the service into two parts, investigation and operations. It has reduced the charm of the services.

For DMG: The notorious Devolution Plan has eliminated the office of Deputy Commissioner (The king) and replaced it with a stupid nazim and small kids like EDO,DO, DDO etc. with diluted powers. None knows what to do.

For further information, read an article in dawn (on 9th April, Sunday)named "Imperatives of Good Governance" by former Chief Secretary of Punjab, Mr. AZK Sherdil. He has explained things well.

If you like forces, go for PSP. DMG is quite attractive in 19+ grades.

Adil Memon
Police Service of Pakistan (P.S.P)
37th Common Training Program

Last edited by Adil Memon; Wednesday, April 12, 2006 at 01:27 PM.
34th Commons
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: 45 1011 ARQAM TARIQ PUNJAB

Salam:

I got 45th position in CE 2005,my first option was PSP and 2nd was DMG,but now i will get DMG inshallah as the things stand out,it was my first attempt, now im thinking should i try to improve again for PSP or not,im taking different ppls point of view,some are suggesting that DMG is equally good while others are suggesting i should try once more for PSP,now im totally confused becoz DMG has lost most of its powers at the district level,yes DMG is attractive at the 19+ grades,but that will take minimum of 12 yrs to reach me there which is a long period.There are following pros and cons of both:

Promotion is better in DMG than PSP,in DMG u get grade 19 four yrs earlier than PSPs.
DMGs will get gymkhana membership once STP(Specialized Training Prog) Starts but PSPs wont get it b4 they become SSPs.
In DMG there is "sakoon" and relaxation,which is not the case in PSP,life is very hectic in PSP,life is at risk and PSP is a 24 hrs job.
In G.O.R. only two houses are for PSPs and the rest all for DMGs.

I really want to make a decision that should i try again or not as soon as possible becoz its the matter of my career and dont want to have regretts afterwards in life,plz reply to this and suggest me wht shud i do.

thx
Arqam Tariq
34th Commons
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: selected n css 2005,pakistan merit #70,NWFP 7Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

aamerkhattak will become famous soon enough
Default dear brother

salam dear arqam,
hope u would b enj life,ist of all congrts for ur achievemnt.n my opinion DMG is better thn psp coz u will have vast horizontal mobilitiy u can be deputed n projects wid lot of facilities and handsm pay.after all DMG life is relax as compare to psp.altho psp was also my ist choice but i cant get it nowafter result i realizd tht it was all due to our society and surroundings tht forced me for psp.in DMG U WOULD C how they build ur peronality u will b changed argamafter STP.i have also one chance but if i get DMG will never go for it.if u fall n either of ist four grps psp,DMG,customs,fsp then i thnk no need for imprvmt also its very tough to imprv as pannel will c u
any news about allocation letters?can i hv some info about total seats and their break up plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz?

again congrts arqam wish to c u n CSA.
THNKS

AAMER KHATTAK
Abdullah

@ brother arqam : dear brother i would advise you to join PSP without any haste and if you get DMG even that would be a nice thing , and one more thing the topper of 31st commons was initially there in PSP but then latter on he swaped his group with a DMG officer and he was a nephew of Tariq Aziz ( priciple secretary to the president), so i think DMG hasn't lost its charm as it apparently seems, but i would also say if you like PSP, then you should also go for improvement for PSP is the best occupational group so far

@ brother Aamer Khatak: brother i have heard that the delay in final allocation is due to some ongoig case in Supereme court over some controversy in allocation,,,but its only the problem of some single candidate, which would definitley be solved within next few days

Last edited by Abdullah; Wednesday, April 12, 2006 at 09:26 AM.
34th Commons
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: selected n css 2005,pakistan merit #70,NWFP 7Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

aamerkhattak will become famous soon enough
Default thnks a lot.

salam dear,
thnks for ur info.but i would like to say if a person z going for somthng thts not according to his personality if a person z just going to hv tht group for sack of othersthen is it goooooooooooood?
i thnk one shoudl go for grp which is acording to nature of his/her.

thnks
aamer khattak
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 120

Adil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really nice

Salaam,

Congratulations on your success.

As people have already pointed out, life in DMG is quite easy and relaxing. PSP demands a lot of work.

DMG hasn't lost its charm at all. Even today, the DMG people are given more respect at the CSA than those of PSP (news from seniors).

It's really easy to earn some bribe in DMG and the methods aren't that pathetic. For making up some cash in PSP, you need to harrass people and it is highly unlikely that your conscience would allow you to degrade yourself to that extent.

PSP is a force. Its scope has diminished after the police order, that I have mentioned. Now the officials of the investigation and operation wings are often seen having conflicts. They are frequently summoned to the high courts , which is a kind of inherent harrassment. (Because the protective shield of the DCs have been removed).

In grade 17 and 18, you'll be appointed at DDO, DO or EDO (or at any other designation in various departments). To be frank, life isn't that charming in these levels. But, once you're appointed in grade 19, preferrably DCO, you'll be satisfied to your heart's content.

It is also my personal belief that the vacuum that has been created after removing the magistrates will be filled up in future. And even if this devolution plan isn't reversed, the magistracy powers will be restored.

Promotions in DMG are faster than in PSP.

PSP gives you a lot of power. You can set people straight in just a single phone-call (DMG waalon ko aaj kal aik SHO bhi thanney per bitah deta hai ). So if you're power crazy, you can go for this one.

PSP offers you opportunities to have some excursions (like UN Peace Missions in foreign countries). It is also a risk of life, but you know, life is always unsure.

I am personally targetting at PSP just because I have DMGs in my family, not PSP. DMG will be my second option.

Adil Memon
Police Service of Pakistan (P.S.P)
37th Common Training Program
34th Commons
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: Qualified css-2005 n secure over all 21 position

Waheed khattak is on a distinguished road

Dear Arqam,
congrats for success.Though i'm now PSP ( topped N.W.F.P) but personally i think DMG is better for general masses.its a decent n peacfull job in which BANDA APNAY KAM SAY KAM RAKTA HAY.u will get enough opportunities of pesonality grooming n development.i'm not cntradicting myself by opting PSP first but actually i'm having Intelligence background.Aamer khattak is my Kaliwal(garaien) n i suppose DMG is quite beffiting for him.he appears to be happy .
imoprtant most is,always trust in ways of ALLAH, i think watevr He does MUST be right.so there must be somthing good for u.Believ me
Dear Adil, it is not just to criticize PSP only b/c there is no one on ur family in the group

Last edited by Waheed khattak; Wednesday, April 12, 2006 at 05:07 PM.
34th Commons

Default Seats this yr are as follows:

Police 18
DMG 36
Customs 10
Foreign Service 24
Income Tax 30
Audit 30
Commerce 0
Info 10
Railways 3
Postal 8
Total=169

Barech is on a distinguished road
Default Congrats

first of all let me take opportunity here to congratulate you on your splendid and awesome achievement I wish you all the best for your prosperous future.With reference to the saying of waheed khan (lala) that PSP is better then DMG so I totally agree with him i strongly suggest that you should go for psp because a cousin of mine is psp and you cant even imagine what a life of a psp is ! you are always surrounded by power people show your more respect and a greater degree of understanding and according to my point of view its the most socially recognized job in our society so I suggest that you should go for it if psp would have been so unpopular and unwanted why the two guys who topped Css 2005 wants to go for it I hope you will understand what I am tryin to explain to you anyways keep up the good work and go for what suits you and your personality.

Awesome choice Waheed khan (lala) I am sure you will prove a great psp and I am very much sure this will suits you and your personality as you are in intelligence field and onething is for sure life of a psp surely is glamourous I wish you all the best and do keep us up to date with the progress made with your allocation.
Keep in touch.
Salam.