07:38 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > Current Affairs

Old Thursday, December 02, 2010

galaxy queen is on a distinguished road
Question Seeking guidance regarding CA preparation

Salam everyone on the forum.

I really appreciate ur efforts to help out each otherm a new member n have recently started my preperation for CSS 2012.Being a beginner i dont have a v good background of current affairs,these days m reading dawn daily n also working on everyday science.plz guide me how much time shd i give to current affairs at this stage.Also advise me what approach shd i consider during preperation?

I ll b really thankful to ur kind assistance.
Old Thursday, December 02, 2010
38th CTP (CTG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit  170

MUHAMMAD IJAZ GILL will become famous soon enough

@galaxy queen

There is no need to have any background for current affairs. First u sort out hot issues of current affairs, then collect background of those issues. Make a register and update these issues regularly from newspaper. U read only those news from newspaper which r related to these issues. If u learnt the technique then 1 to 2 hours r suffient for current affairs daily for good scoring.

U purchase previous solved papers of current affairs of any publisher and study them to know the art of attempting a question.

For high scoring in any subject, Following points should b kept in mind.

1. Selection of material according to requirement of paper.

2. Make files of ur notes. Ur material should b in photocopy form not in book form. The reason behind this is that it will help u in revising material in a very short time before and during exam.
As during papres, there is no gap between papers. If sb cram his material very efficiently during his prepration and he remained unable to revise it near and during exam. That person can not achieve maxmum fruit of his efficient prepration. So planned his material in a managed way to revise it in short time.

3.Make diagram, graphics whereevere it is possible.

4. Write statistics where it is possible

5. Use headings and sub- headings

6. Use pen instead of ballpoint in paper.

7.Writing of headings and sub-headings should b different from main stuff.

8. Give some space between Heading and start of paragraph. e.g;

SOCIAL PROBLEMS:

There are many social problems in the society........................................... .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. .......................................

U start and finish the paragraph in any paper in this way.

9. u should cram objectives of all papers. Take objective question very seriously. Only objective question will raise ur score from 40 to 50 marks. It is essential to gain at least 16 marks out of 20 marks.

In EDS, u should score 40 out of 50 marks in objective question.

10. Now u follow this technique:

u see papers of all subjects from 1971 to date.

u should form 3 bundles of questions.

1: Most repeated 20 questions

2: FIve most repeated questions

3: Five most repeated questions

First bundle 20 questions will cover 80% paper

2nd bundle alongwith first will cover 88% paper

3rd bundle alongwith above two will cover upto 93% paper INSHALLAH.

Now first prepare first bundle, then 2nd. If u find time then prepare 3rd one.
ur al material should b in the form of files not in book shape. Each question photocopy should b separated from other that wil create easiness in revising material near and during exam. Wen u prepared one question, also prepare its short key. Also make files of keys of each subject.

Formation of keys is vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvery important.

11. U should give proper time to each question in paper. Divide the time according to each question. Let say there r 4 subjective questions and one objective.

U divide the time in this way;
Total time 180 mints

Time to select questions which u solve 10 mints
Time to revise paper at the end 5 mints

Time for objective 30 mints

Time for each subjective question 33 mints

So time for one subjective question is 33 mints. U futher divide this time in this way, 28 + 5

U make a short outline just like essay paper at the end of answer sheet for each question. 5 mints time u will give to make this short outline. By doing this ur hand and nerves will take a short rest during making short outline.

U have only 28 mints to write. During this time u can only write planned material.

Write relevant material. B careful in this regard. IF u took 17 marks in one question, 10 in 2nd, 8 in 3rd and 6 marks in 4th question. In final u got 41 marks. It is not a good approach.

U follow this technique,
U took 15 marks in first one, 13 in 2nd, 11 in 3rd and 10 in 4th one, u got 49 marks. So dont give time of one question to other
For essay, current affairs, pakistan affairs, u should study DAWN newspaper regularly. Purchase book of CSS Guide by doger unique and study solved papers of current affairs and pakistan affirs and try to observe the technique how the answer was given.

U should kept in mind

What is relevent and what is irrelevent. U try to write only relevent things, avoid irrelevent things.

For composition and essay u should take coaching from a good teacher.

For EDS

U should cram book of Dr Akram Kashmiri. If u find more time u can study Faraidi encyclopaedia of EDS. U purchase 2 to 3 books of any publisher for objective portion.

Method for prepration of ISLAMIAT

Now pattern of question paper is changed. Paper is current affairs based. sir Zahoor ul Haq prepare a few questions relating to current affairs based that r really helpful. I purchased all notes due to these questions.

study following books;

1. CSS solved papers By Asif Malik, This book is available in lahore.

2. Top 20 questions by jahangir by Afshan manzoor CSP

3. CSS Guide By Doger Unique

4. Notes of Sir Zahoor

Method of prepration;

Now it is ur techniques which help u in high scoring.
No need to study all books. U prepare according to syllabus.
U should separate questions of each category.
Make files of each category. Also make short keys. These will b very helpful in revision.

Make headings sub headings. Color of heading should b different from main stuff.

U make files like;

1. Basic Beliefs

2. Pillers of islam

3. Social system

4. Political system

and other questions

I will share u more tips relating to islamiat.

First u prepare material. Then u will b in better position to follow tips.

U follow these technique, If u find any problem then discuss wid me;

Last edited by MUHAMMAD IJAZ GILL; Thursday, December 02, 2010 at 09:16 PM.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to MUHAMMAD IJAZ GILL For This Useful Post:
baazigar (Friday, December 03, 2010), Call for Change (Monday, December 06, 2010), Eager (Sunday, December 05, 2010), Saqib Riaz (Saturday, December 04, 2010)
Old Friday, December 03, 2010

Exclamation @ Mr Ijaz Gill

Salam

As per ur directions in response to my yesterdays thread i have made a list of important current affair topics.As a result i ended up with almost 85 important topics including national,international and topics of perpetual nature.Bt m perplexed how to develop proper background for them since all of them are so extensive.

Kindly give ur valuable suggestions.
Old Sunday, December 05, 2010
38th CTP (CTG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit  170

@glaxy queen

30 topics r more than sufficent for current affairs. U shold mak a list of 30 topics and share with usto add or remove topics from ur list.
The Following User Says Thank You to MUHAMMAD IJAZ GILL For This Useful Post:
galaxy queen (Monday, December 06, 2010)
Old Monday, December 06, 2010

Default topics list

@ M Ijaz Gill......thanx alot for ur concer once again dats really v nice of u

after rechecking the list i have selected the following topics
1Kashmir
2-Palestine
3-education
4-UNO
5-economy of pak
6-war on terrorism
7-muslim world n west
8-centeral Asian republics n their resources
9-drone attacks
10-corruption
11-revelitions of wikileaks n pak politics
12-18th amendment
13-constitutional development of pak
14-power n water crisis in pak
15-centre n balochistan
16-korean peninsula
17-Iran-Pak-US
18-US-AFG-Pak
19-global warming
20-India's emerging economy
21-US n world
22-US vs China
23-China economy n strategy
24-Nato
25-US role in Iraq
26-Pak-China 6 decades of relations
27-pak relations with WTO ,EU
28-law n order situation in pak
29-OIC
30-poverty alliviation
31-pak India relations

any suggestions by u ppl r most welcomed
Old Tuesday, December 07, 2010
38th CTP (CTG)

Originally Posted by galaxy queen View Post
@ M Ijaz Gill......thanx alot for ur concer once again dats really v nice of u

after rechecking the list i have selected the following topics
1Kashmir
2-Palestine
3-education
4-UNO
5-economy of pak
6-war on terrorism
7-muslim world n west
8-centeral Asian republics n their resources
9-drone attacks
10-corruption
11-revelitions of wikileaks n pak politics
12-18th amendment
13-constitutional development of pak
14-power n water crisis in pak
15-centre n balochistan
16-korean peninsula
17-Iran-Pak-US
18-US-AFG-Pak
19-global warming
20-India's emerging economy
21-US n world
22-US vs China
23-China economy n strategy
24-Nato
25-US role in Iraq
26-Pak-China 6 decades of relations
27-pak relations with WTO ,EU
28-law n order situation in pak
29-OIC
30-poverty alliviation
31-pak India relations

any suggestions by u ppl r most welcomed
@ glaxy queen

u make list in this way;

1. Foreign relations of pakistan

2. National issues

3. International issues

4. Organizations

Remove korean peninsula. EU, India economy. Nato,

Prepare 3 aspects of Pak economy;

agriculture, Industry, Education

U also add SAARC, ASEAN, ECO and other organizations in current affairs.
Pak relations wid muslim world

At this stage u prepare optional, EDS, ESSAY, CMPOSITION

Dont take tention about current afairs at this stage,

If u prepare all such topics, u can secure 70% marks in current affairs. this prepration wil also help in essay pakistan affairs, islamiat aaaand some optional papers
galaxy queen (Tuesday, December 07, 2010)
Old Tuesday, December 07, 2010

I will surely follow ur valuable suggestion

shd i prepare these topics related to current affairs from material available on internet or there is some more suitable souce as well?

Once again thanks alot for taking time to solve my quary.May Allah bless u
Old Wednesday, December 08, 2010
38th CTP (CTG)

@Galaxy queen

U can collect material from any source, may b internet, books as feasible for u.

The most important thing is that material should b according to the requirement of paper.In current affair paper, u have only 28 mints to write answer for one question. So u manage ur material in such away that u can write in limited time.

U took history of any issue from any book or internet. For current situation DAWN newspaper is sufficent.

I already mentioned, At this stage u dont worry about current affairs. Prepare other subjects. Give 1 to 2 hours daily to dawn newspaper for current affair prepration
galaxy queen (Thursday, December 09, 2010)