-   Grammar-Section (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/english-precis-composition/grammar-section/)
-   -   Can anyone correct these sentences? (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/english-precis-composition/grammar-section/45214-can-anyone-correct-these-sentences.html)

Shahid Shakoor Monday, February 21, 2011 06:08 PM

Brother haza blunders

[QUOTE=mhmmdkashif;268991]Im not an expert at this, but I only know a rule, and that is never change the meaning and vocab in the correction and stick to adjusting grammatical mistakes only (like you did [B]no should be ommitted [/B]or replace [B]show [/B]with [B]introduced[/B], it will change the entire meaning of the phrase in question)

here is my try:
[LIST=1][*]someone showed the visitors to the room. (to the room)[*]it is wrong to be devoted to lying and cheating. (take out very :D, dont change any original words)[*]Until you remain idle you shall make no progress (the sentence is assertive so replace "will" with "shall", i guess)[/LIST]
P.S.: Please guide me with these things, cuz I am no good at English and I need to learn a few things before exam :cry[/QUOTE]

someone showed the visitors to the room(dear it does nt make any sense)
Someone saw the visitors in the room(correct) i consult it with teacher

it is wrong to be devoted [B]to lying and cheating[/B]. (take out very :D, dont change any original words)
i think to k sath first form ati ha so [B]to lie and cheat[/B]

Until you remain idle you shall make no progress (the sentence is assertive so replace "will" with "shall", i guess)

your guess is not right because it is clear cut chown by sentence that its arrangement is required to be changed

you will make no progress until you remain idle.(correct)

xaara~hussain Monday, February 21, 2011 06:30 PM

[QUOTE=Shahid Shakoor;268972]1.Passing through ten different cities, Karachi is the most active city

2.He laid up for six weeks with two broken ribs.

3.Someone saw the visitors in the room

4.you will make no progress until you remain idle.

5.It is very wrong to be devoted to lie and cheat.(:roll:roll)

7.The house stood up dull in the street because of its red door.

8.He brought articles to the market which he wanted to sell.

regrds[/QUOTE]
lol m quite dumb at correcting sentences, but one thing I am sure k door wala sentence theek nahi kia ap ne cos red color can't make something Dull. :D

mhmmdkashif Monday, February 21, 2011 06:38 PM

[QUOTE=Shahid Shakoor;268996]

Until you remain idle you shall make no progress (the sentence is assertive so replace "will" with "shall", i guess)

your guess is not right because it is clear cut chown by sentence that its arrangement is required to be changed

you will make no progress until you remain idle.(correct)[/QUOTE]

you know what, when you are not sure about the right thing, you should always go with the first guess, once you give it a second thought and you will make mistakes :D.

[QUOTE=Shahid Shakoor;268996]someone showed the visitors to the room(dear it does nt make any sense)
Someone saw the visitors in the room(correct) i consult it with teacher

it is wrong to be devoted [B]to lying and cheating[/B]. (take out very :D, dont change any original words)
i think to k sath first form ati ha so [B]to lie and cheat[/B]

[/QUOTE]

I am not sure, but I get a feeling you have mistaken there :sad

show to the room means guide the way to the room, the correction you made changes the entire meaning.
[B]to lie and cheat [/B] is used in different contexts where lie and cheat are used as verbs, here [B]lying [/B]and [B]cheating [/B]are serving as [B]nouns[/B], not [B]verbs[/B].

Shahid Shakoor Monday, February 21, 2011 07:09 PM

sister jiiii

[QUOTE=xaara~hussain;269005]lol m quite dumb at correcting sentences, but one thing I am sure k door wala sentence theek nahi kia ap ne cos red color can't make something Dull. :D[/QUOTE]

Behna,,,,
is question pr phly bhi bht bahs ho chuki ha...please check this link

[url]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/english-precis-composition/grammar-section/22288-lets-correct-incorrect-sentences-past-papers-16.html[/url]

Shahid Shakoor Monday, February 21, 2011 07:12 PM

[QUOTE=mhmmdkashif;269008]I am not sure, but I get a feeling you have mistaken there :sad

show to the room means guide the way to the room, the correction you made changes the entire meaning.
[B]to lie and cheat [/B] is used in different contexts where lie and cheat are used as verbs, here [B]lying [/B]and [B]cheating [/B]are serving as [B]nouns[/B], not [B]verbs[/B].[/QUOTE]

room wali correction k bary ma i am dead sure that it is right

but about [B]To lie and cheat[/B] me too in doubt

Can any one tell me the meaning of "Got up to kill" and its use in sentence...i am unable to find his meaning:sad

mhmmdkashif Monday, February 21, 2011 07:30 PM

[QUOTE=Shahid Shakoor;269018]Can any one tell me the meaning of "Got up to kill" and its use in sentence...i am unable to find his meaning:sad

regards[/QUOTE]

[COLOR=black]got up to kill - very well-dressed[/COLOR]

faizasoomro Monday, February 21, 2011 08:04 PM

it seems all correct but there are some mistakes in some sentrences
i will tell u

xaara~hussain Monday, February 21, 2011 08:15 PM

[QUOTE=Shahid Shakoor;269015]Behna,,,,
is question pr phly bhi bht bahs ho chuki ha...please check this link

[url]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/english-precis-composition/grammar-section/22288-lets-correct-incorrect-sentences-past-papers-16.html[/url]

regards[/QUOTE]
ji, so the sentence is correct the way i did it! u cannot change the meaning of sentence in correcting it!

bhattee Monday, February 21, 2011 08:15 PM

He has visited as many historic places as one has or can visit.

Arain007 Monday, February 21, 2011 09:19 PM

[QUOTE=bhattee;269048]He has visited as many historic places as one has or can visit.[/QUOTE]
[B]
He has visited as many historic places as one can have or could visit.[/B]

07:01 AM (GMT +5)