Wednesday, May 01, 2024
04:43 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > English (Precis & Composition) > Precis

Old Thursday, January 21, 2010
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: Css 2010 - Roll no

KAWISH will become famous soon enough
Exclamation pls help me in precis!

aoa my dear respected fellow members,seniors n juniors,pls help me in precis.im trying to make my own but having an expert's specimen i would be able to do much better.i request pls make precis f the following para for me

If then a practical end must be assigned to a University course, I say it is that of training good members of a society. Its art is the art of social life, and its end is fitness for the world. It neither confines its views to particular professions on the one hand, nor creates heroes or inspires genius on the other. Works indeed of genius fall under no art; heroic minds come under no rule; a university is not a birth place of poets or of immortals authors, of founders of schools, leaders of colonies, or conquerors of nations. It does not promise a generation of Aristotle or Newtons of Napoleon or Washingtons of Raphaels or Shakespeares though such miracles of nature it has before now contained within its precincts. Nor is it content on the other hand with forming the critic or the experimentalist, the economist or the engineer, through such too it includes within its scope. But University training is the great ordinary means to a great ordinary end; it aims at raising the intellectual tone of society, at cultivating the public mind, at purifying the national taste, at supplying true principles to popular aspirations. It is the education which gives a man a clear conscious view of his own opinions and judgments, a truth in developing them, an eloquence in expressing them and a force in urging them. It teaches him to see things as they are, to go right to the point, to disentangle a skein of thought, to detect what is sophistical and to discard what is irrelevant. It prepares him to fill any post with credit and to master any subject with facility. (John H. Newman)

thnx.Regards
Old Thursday, January 21, 2010

Sabah Hunzai is on a distinguished road
Default my first attempt.

Paragraph:
If then a practical end must be assigned to a University course, I say it is that of training good members of a society. Its art is the art of social life, and its end is fitness for the world. It neither confines its views to particular professions on the one hand, nor creates heroes or inspires genius on the other. Works indeed of genius fall under no art; heroic minds come under no rule; a university is not a birth place of poets or of immortals authors, of founders of schools, leaders of colonies, or conquerors of nations. It does not promise a generation of Aristotle or Newtons of Napoleon or Washingtons of Raphaels or Shakespeares though such miracles of nature it has before now contained within its precincts. Nor is it content on the other hand with forming the critic or the experimentalist, the economist or the engineer, through such too it includes within its scope. But University training is the great ordinary means to a great ordinary end; it aims at raising the intellectual tone of society, at cultivating the public mind, at purifying the national taste, at supplying true principles to popular aspirations. It is the education which gives a man a clear conscious view of his own opinions and judgments, a truth in developing them, an eloquence in expressing them and a force in urging them. It teaches him to see things as they are, to go right to the point, to disentangle a skein of thought, to detect what is sophistical and to discard what is irrelevant. It prepares him to fill any post with credit and to master any subject with facility. (John H. Newman)

kawish you have posted a really difficult para,

I am attempting it in haste, cuz light is about to say bye bye. (Pakistan Zindabad) seniors please guide me through the agony of prcise.

Education aimes at crafting a man fit for a society. With its holistic approach it cannot be confined to a particular profession. A university had neither produced great men not it promises for it. History had witnessed all revolutionery giants emerged outside the domain of education. Education sets the cognitive, emotive and pychomotive tone of a soceity. it gives to a man the social conscience. It enables him to adopt, and study, any profession.

Title; Aim of education

please all sort of comments are welcomed.

Last edited by Andrew Dufresne; Thursday, January 21, 2010 at 11:47 PM. Reason: Kindly avoid using red color
Old Friday, January 22, 2010
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: Css 2010 - Roll no

aoa sabah hunzai i really appriciate ur help and that too at such short notice.
pls check my precis in the other relevent thread as well. ur valueable comments will surely help to ease out at least some agony of precis for me

Sabah Hunzai is on a distinguished road
Default needs comments

@Kawish
dear I am not in a position to help you out. as myself is a beginer in precise writings. I need comments.

also brings your prcise to this thread please.

the precis is under the head f MY FIRST PRECIS.thnx
41st CTP (PAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit 186, CE 2015 - Merit 9

out of place is on a distinguished road

how abt this!

Universities do not produce heroes or geniuses nor do they only exist to make professionals in a particular field. The broader aim of university, however, is to make good citizens and responsible social beings. It aims at raising the level of consciousness in society. It nurtures individual’s mind and provide clarity, reason and strength to his ideas. It builds his personal capacity to distinguish between important and absurd and qualifies him for any position or subject.

New Student has a spectacular aura aboutNew Student has a spectacular aura about

@Sabah Hunzai

You have attempted a good precis. Some comments:

You said "A university had neither produced great men not it promises for it. History had witnessed all revolutionery giants emerged outside the domain of education"

In the original passage this is not said. It goes "It does not promise a generation of Aristotle or Newtons of Napoleon or Washingtons of Raphaels or Shakespeares though such miracles of nature it has before now contained within its precincts."

Passage says that universities does not promise a generation of such men. It does not say that revolutionary giants came outside the domain of education. So make precis of what is in the contents. Also passage is about universities not about education. As we can get education from other sources too. So dont mix different things. Also try to avoid dense jargon like "cognitive, emotive and pychomotive". (Examiner english ka professor hota hay, ziada technical cheezain ho sakta hay na samaj paye).

@Out of Place

Nice try. But try to start your precis in positive tone not the negative one. It would sound better if you interchange first and second sentence. Baki its fine.

The Following User Says Thank You to New Student For This Useful Post:
Sabah Hunzai (Friday, January 22, 2010)

its my try.there must be some defects in it,looking for ur guidence!

uni’s are to coach the society members the art of social life. Neither it is for producing professionals, heroes or intellectuals nor they can be produced,nonetheless some did emanated from here. the simplest object of uni is polishing and sharpening the social wisdom and nationalism and authenticating the common pursuit. Education develops self confidence, validating its pursuit. it makes him realistic, straight , judicious and fit for any course and job. 80/340

New Student has a spectacular aura aboutNew Student has a spectacular aura about

@Kawish

Good try but please try to write full words. Some comments:

1. You said "Education develops self confidence, validating its pursuit." It means that education develops self confidence as well validates the pursuit of self confidence. Is that given in original content?

2. In the next sentence you said "it makes him realistic, straight .....". Education is making "who" the realistic and straight? You could have said " Education makes one realistic .....". By the way what you mean by the word "straight"? Please avoid using this word as it makes little sense in that sentence.

Hope you wont mind as I am much frank in criticism.

Originally Posted by newstudent View Post
@Kawish

Hope you wont mind as I am much frank in criticism.

im here to learn.criticism teaches one most.i alwaz appriciate n welcome productive criticism.i ll definatly follow ur advice.thnx u.