09:44 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > English (Precis & Composition) > Precis

Old Monday, September 12, 2005
38th CTP (FSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit  48

Muqeet Asim will become famous soon enough
Default Some tips for precis-writing and a short test

Dear forum members!!!
Salam
You must have heard about precis-writing. This is not only important regarding the competitive examinations but also has practical applications. It teaches us to express ourselves clearly, briefly and effectively. This is also a very helpful exercise in reading. It teaches us to critically and quickly analyze a passage and grasp its core issue. It is also helpful to write one’s thoughts clearly, effectively and without being bore and wordy. Habits of vague thinking, diffuse and wordy writing are corrected by precis-writing.
So by precis-writing we can help ourselves in scoring good in competitive examination and improve our capabilities of reading, writing, speaking and above all thinking. Because I personally acknowledge…
“Words are like leaves and where they most abound,
Much fruit of sense beneath is rarely found”
So dear fellows so for as my humble knowledge serves I will like to give you following suggestions regarding precis-writing;
1- Precis must be in continuous way i.e. disjointed sentences should be avoided.
2- All the important ideas (leading thoughts) should be expressed.
3- All the unimportant material should be excluded.
4- A precis must be clear i.e. clinging to the original substance of the passage. One should refrain from expressing his own views or ideas and avoid any sort of personal judgments.
5- Grasp the main idea as quickly as possible and this can be done by reading first few lines of the passage more carefully as compared to other parts. This part usually contains the main theme and it can also help to find out the heading of your precis.
6- Avoid borrowing sentences from the original passage. Cling to your own style of writing and express the original passage in your words.
7- Be brief as much as possible without killing the true soul of the passage. To do this “Make a quick analysis of the no. of words which can be in a passage divide them on three and your precis should have words near about the calculated value.”
8- Examples, stories, illustrations etc of the original passage should not be included unless it does not kill the original purpose.

Dear friends these are my suggestions for improving the precis-writing and now I would like you people to please write the precise of the following passage and submit to me. But please remember you have only fifteen minutes (after you start reading, the countdown begins) and precis should not exceed eighty words. I will try my best to rate your precis according to my limited knowledge and will try to give you further suggestions if I could.
FI AMAN ALLAH

ORIGINAL PASSAGE:

Says Cowper in his poem, "The Task":
"Variety is the spice of life
That gives it all its flavor."
Variety might have been termed by the poet, not the "spice of life," but the life itself; for where is life manifest that it is not characterized by a variety that is simply interminable—whether it be the life of the firmament or of the sea, whether it be on the earth or under the earth. In life seen or life unseen variety is all and in all. Indeed we have the thought that it is not only by variety that life is possible, but that by it success in the field of its operation is also only possible. That variety greatly furthers and hastens success is perfectly demonstrable. Referring to the variety of agencies alluded to by the prophet (Isa 62:10) to make possible the return of Israel from Babylon, and not only possible, but expeditious, Rawlinson says: "The speaker returns to the period of the exile, and exhorts the people to pass forth from Babylon and speed on their way homeward. Some of them are to clear away obstacles, others are to bring materials and construct a highway along which the stream of emigrants may march, while a third body removes such stones as might cause stumbling, and a fourth lifts up a standard to direct the march."

Wish you all best of luck. FI AMAN ALLAH

I am and remain
Yours sincerely

Muqeet Asim
Adnan Jamil (Monday, November 30, 2009)
Old Thursday, November 24, 2005

Azeem Zulfiqar is on a distinguished road
Default precis of the given para.

Note:
Well i m writing the precis of the given para for the first time..Please guide me if i m wrong: :

The above paragraph depicts the importance of variety in the life.The writer has used the word spice for the variety ,which means flavour.One can experience different flavours of life by introducing new things in life rather one should say exploring new world.One may encounter many difficulties while trying new things but the flavour or variety of life cannot be enjoyed otherwise.So life is variety and variety is life.

P.S This precis might be informal way...please guide me in this regard
Old Friday, October 24, 2008

Shagufta Shafiq is on a distinguished road
Default Precis test

Hey where have you been lost after launching such a nice thread?????

i am posting my first ever Precie, kindly check it guide me to improve it.

Précis
Variety is the source of spice in life, it makes life to grow and develop in every sphere of life regardless of where you are and what you are. It makes us to establish and refine the old fashioned techniques, and to form new ways of thinking, utilizing our capabilities to cater new challenges. Change is the symbol of life; we can never enjoy the full flavor of life without experiencing new things. (73 words)