-   Essay (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/essay/)
-   -   Is colonial mentality impeding Pakistan's progress (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/essay/114276-colonial-mentality-impeding-pakistans-progress.html)

wasxxm Saturday, February 18, 2017 07:47 PM

Is colonial mentality impeding Pakistan's progress

I ended up with the following outline in the Essay. My introduction was not that impressive, however, I believe I justified my points well based on general observations. Any chance of getting through the exam with such a short outline? :blink:

Title: Is colonial mentality impeding Pakistan’s Progress?

Outline:

- Introduction

- Genesis of colonial mentality in Pakistan

- Manifestations of colonial mentality

- Factors impeding Pakistan’s progress

- Colonial mentality in the political sphere[INDENT]o Divide and rule policy – an impediment to national integration
o No culture of freedom of expression in political parties
o Landlords and feudal consider political rule their birth-right – a legacy of colonial mindset[/INDENT]- Administrative sector and the colonial mentality[INDENT]o Bureaucratic red-tapism – adherence to colonial rules and procedures
o Culture of elite corps among public administrators – inherited from colonial era
o Reluctance to change – modernization[/INDENT]- Colonial mentality impeding progress in social sphere[INDENT]o Supremacy of English language – causing rift in national unity
o Resistance to adopt anything foreign considering at detrimental to cultural norms[/INDENT]- Judiciary and police – still stuck in the colonial rules and acts
- Conclusion

PartyPooper Saturday, February 18, 2017 08:31 PM

What was your thesis statement?

First points (genesis manifestations) are irrelevant. And if you failed to accurately define colonial mentality in genesis, you kind of committed essay-suicide. Because your lower portion will also be ignored due to that blunder. Aik to irrelevant, aur ooper se ho bhi ghalat. Nobody tolerates that. Khayr tell your thesis statement for a more complete assessmemt.

PartyPooper Saturday, February 18, 2017 08:35 PM

Btw, defining colonial mentality is difficult. Even those who have attempted the essay don't know what is technically meant by the term (I also didn't have a full concept till after the exam, when I researched it). And this might prove fatal for us who have attempted this essay.

Almost all of the candidates who wrote on this interpreted it as a kind of superiority complex left by British in minds of bureaucrats, politicians and feudals. While what it actually means is an inferiority comolex in the minds of general people which makes them hate everything local and revere everything that comes/came from colonial masters.

infinite optimism Saturday, February 18, 2017 08:50 PM

[QUOTE=PartyPooper;1003691]Btw, defining colonial mentality is difficult. Even those who have attempted the essay don't know what is technically meant by the term (I also didn't have a full concept till after the exam, when I researched it). And this might prove fatal for us who have attempted this essay.

Almost all of the candidates who wrote on this interpreted it as a kind of superiority complex left by British in minds of bureaucrats, politicians and feudals. While what it actually means is an inferiority comolex in the minds of general people which makes them hate everything local and revere everything that comes/came from colonial masters.[/QUOTE]

Ideas should matter,not robots like qualities.In my view, they should not fail a person because he/she forgets a single definition.

infinite optimism Saturday, February 18, 2017 08:52 PM

[QUOTE=wasxxm;1003677]I ended up with the following outline in the Essay. My introduction was not that impressive, however, I believe I justified my points well based on general observations. Any chance of getting through the exam with such a short outline? :blink:

Title: Is colonial mentality impeding Pakistan’s Progress?

Outline:

- Introduction

- Genesis of colonial mentality in Pakistan

- Manifestations of colonial mentality

- Factors impeding Pakistan’s progress

- Colonial mentality in the political sphere[INDENT]o Divide and rule policy – an impediment to national integration
o No culture of freedom of expression in political parties
o Landlords and feudal consider political rule their birth-right – a legacy of colonial mindset[/INDENT]- Administrative sector and the colonial mentality[INDENT]o Bureaucratic red-tapism – adherence to colonial rules and procedures
o Culture of elite corps among public administrators – inherited from colonial era
o Reluctance to change – modernization[/INDENT]- Colonial mentality impeding progress in social sphere[INDENT]o Supremacy of English language – causing rift in national unity
o Resistance to adopt anything foreign considering at detrimental to cultural norms[/INDENT]- Judiciary and police – still stuck in the colonial rules and acts
- Conclusion[/QUOTE]

I think its relevant and good overall,but you could have suggested ways to extirpate colonial hangover.

wasxxm Saturday, February 18, 2017 08:58 PM

I have a slow writing speed; ran out of time to include suggestions for remedy of the colonial mentality.

And thanks you made me feel good for the rest of the exams. :)

PartyPooper Saturday, February 18, 2017 09:08 PM

[QUOTE=infinite optimism;1003704]Ideas should matter,not robots like qualities.In my view, they should not fail a person because he/she forgets a single definition.[/QUOTE]
It does not matter what you think they should do. The only thing that matters is what they actually do.

And they do fail if candidates do not grasp what the topic asked. If you don't know what a topic is, don't choose it. If they ask you to write an essay on Fatima Jinnah and you write about Muhammad Ali Jinnah, and later say that only ideas should matter, that won't be a very rational excuse. If you say both sounded like Jinnah, even then the excuse will be dumb. Sorry to be harsh. But I give you facts. I have wasted many a precious years of my life running after this. I know stuff (ghaat ghaat ka paani pia hai bhai)

I admire your name though. Like your optimism regarding the world in general and FPSC examiners in particular.

infinite optimism Saturday, February 18, 2017 09:15 PM

[QUOTE=PartyPooper;1003712]It does not matter what you think they should do. The only thing that matters is what they actually do.

And they do fail if candidates do not grasp what the topic asked. If you don't know what a topic is, don't choose it. If they ask you to write an essay on Fatima Jinnah and you write about Muhammad Ali Jinnah, and later say that only ideas should matter, that won't be a very rational excuse. If you say both sounded like Jinnah, even then the excuse will be dumb. Sorry to be harsh. But I give you facts. I have wasted many a precious years of my life running after this. I know stuff (ghaat ghaat ka paani pia hai bhai)

I admire your name though. Like your optimism regarding the world in general and FPSC examiners in particular.[/QUOTE]

OK,been-that-done-that brother.I am just trying to say that that they might not expect a candidate to know each and every thing about a topic,like a definition.What should matter is the bigger picture.

PartyPooper Saturday, February 18, 2017 09:19 PM

[QUOTE=infinite optimism;1003713]OK,been-that-done-that brother.I am just trying to say that that they might not expect a candidate to know each and every thing about a topic,like a definition.What should matter is the bigger picture.[/QUOTE]
What you think is wrong (ridiculous was the word tha came to mind originally). They expect that a student who is writing a 100 marks essay on a topic will at least know its friggin definition!! Lol come on!!! :D
My infinitely optimist simpleton brother/or sister. Jo b ho ap.

sheikh87 Saturday, February 18, 2017 11:15 PM

[QUOTE=PartyPooper;1003691]Btw, defining colonial mentality is difficult. Even those who have attempted the essay don't know what is technically meant by the term (I also didn't have a full concept till after the exam, when I researched it). And this might prove fatal for us who have attempted this essay.

Almost all of the candidates who wrote on this interpreted it as a kind of superiority complex left by British in minds of bureaucrats, politicians and feudals. While what it actually means is an inferiority comolex in the minds of general people which makes them hate everything local and revere everything that comes/came from colonial masters.[/QUOTE]

Wikipedia has used his own interpretation of the term 'colonial mentality', however, in academic sense, colonial mentality is the exploitation of the citizens with sole focus on revenue collection, and law and order; and no focus on development. As its not a dictionary term, one can rationally come up with his own way of defining the term.

08:06 PM (GMT +5)