10:32 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Datesheets and Results > Previous CSS Results and Datesheets > CSS 2012 Exam

Old Wednesday, October 10, 2012
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Roll no 5951

hassanshariq is on a distinguished road
Default Petition by Failed in CE 2012

Dear Fellows

This year the paper of English( P&C) has witnessed a ridiculously low scoring trend. People have been awarded as low as 10-12 marks. A large number of candidates have been within 30s, and failed just because of this subject.

I scored 34 marks in it whereas in 2010 and 2011 i scored 59 and 46.

I personally know few others who have scored very well in other subjects but failed in this subject. A glance at the DMCs suggests that this subject was deliberately targeted. It has also been rumored that marks deduction policy has been applied on this paper to decrease the number of written qualifiers. This means that many of us who have failed this paper were awarded better marks by the examiner, but later on a certain amount of marks were deducted.

It was my last attempt and i believe there will be many others like me, who performed pretty well in this attempt on the whole but lost it all just due to this policy.

I wish to gather a pool of such candidates who feel they have been a victim of the same and together we will raise our voice in every legal way that we can. We can move our case in the court that our papers be reviewed and it should be ensured that no further deduction was carried out from the marks that were originally awarded to us by the examiner.

Need support from you people. Lets us raise our voice and fight for our right.
Angel k (Wednesday, October 10, 2012), Desire (Thursday, October 11, 2012), humma khan (Tuesday, October 16, 2012), Mamoona Batool (Wednesday, October 17, 2012), ouneeb (Wednesday, October 17, 2012), silenttears (Friday, October 12, 2012)
Old Thursday, October 11, 2012
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,339 Times in 1,259 Posts
Maha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud of

Dear,its useless.its a competitve exam where most competent persons compete with one another.examiners cannot pass all the students.i know a girl,who was on 109 position in CE 2009 but result changed after two days,so her position was also..(below 375 or so)..Therefore, she couldnot get allocation in any group.She appeared in CE 2011 and got 712 marks in written but failed in English Essay 26.She filed a writ against Fpsc after CE 09 but still there is no developement in this regard.Anyhow,my prayers are with you.

Last edited by Arain007; Thursday, October 11, 2012 at 10:16 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Maha Khan For This Useful Post:
Desire (Thursday, October 11, 2012)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Roll no 5951

Dear Maha

We cannot challenge the marks awarded by the examiner, but it is being told that FPSC has used the marks deduction policy on this paper. If that has happened then it means that many of us were awarded higher marks by the examiner and as per the criteria of FPSC we were supposed to be in the written qualifiers. The petition will only challenge the transparency of the marking by FPSC. This year people have been awarded scores as low as 10-15 in this paper. Doesnt this seem ridiculous that people sitting in such a competitive exam and with good preparation are not even able to score more than 20 in this exam.

There are good grounds to believe that -x(marks) policy has been applied by FPSC on this paper to reduce the number of written qualifiers. It is this unfair act that will be challenged in the court.
Desire (Thursday, October 11, 2012), Mamoona Batool (Wednesday, October 17, 2012), Sana Shoaib (Wednesday, October 17, 2012), silenttears (Friday, October 12, 2012)
40th CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 58

soloflyer has a spectacular aura aboutsoloflyer has a spectacular aura about

Aoa Shariq,
I completely understand what you are going through. but the reality is that your petition will not be beneficial for any of the aspirants including yourself. since you have consumed your three chances i suggest you to give up CSS, since it is a game of luck and gamble, and move on with your life. i am sure there are many other professions in which you can excel. even if there has been mark deduction policy , i do not think that you will be able to prove it.
consider it as a brotherly advice
The Following User Says Thank You to soloflyer For This Useful Post:
silenttears (Friday, October 12, 2012)

Ahmad Moughees is on a distinguished road
Default I feel tha same...I would have accepted failure in anyother subject but not this one.

English (Composition)= 20 (out of 100)

Horrible!!!!!
I am shocked...

I failed in a subject in which I was expecting at least 70+ marks... Out of 12 papers this was the one I was dead-sure about...

Had I failed in any of other subject, with even lesser score, I might not have got the shock of this magnitude...But about this one paper I was sure of good score....

20 me se 18 to me MCQs theek thy...jin k bary me me 100% sure tha......how can I get such a low score....its beyond my understanding... beyond my comprehension...

Its not that I was sure about extraordinary results over-all...I knew that I was never going to make it this time... I had not performed up to the mark... but I was expecting failure in some other subject...not this one...

kisi b or subject me fail ho jata to shayed itna dukh or shock na hota... par ye paper to mera sab se acha hoa tha...

Other papers are general... for example: If I had got even 02 marks in essay..it would not have been surprising... as marks of essay, or for that matter any other general subject, are awarded arbitrarily...according to whims of examiner... you can not challenge or make any estimate... but papers like EDS or English (Composition).... such papers have very pet marks... you can make a safe estimate the moment you step out of the exam hall....Failing in such a subject does not make any sense to me...

I ask you all people... what could have gone wrong....???

On my side, I suspect I forgot to write my roll number on the subjective paper...I feel marks of subjective part are missing... because 20 to objective part k thy... and I was dead sure about at-least 18 of them....

Please comment... and also guide me... should I request for review of this particular paper...??..And also what is the review policy/process/procedure..??
The Following User Says Thank You to Ahmad Moughees For This Useful Post:
dms664 (Friday, October 12, 2012)

Abdul Musawwer is on a distinguished road

It was my second but last attempt 28 yrs.
got 676 including 35 composition from Sindh (R).
I think, it is useless to file petition.
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Roll no 551

Desire is on a distinguished road
Post @Hassanshariq

Originally Posted by hassanshariq View Post
Dear Fellows

This year the paper of English( P&C) has witnessed a ridiculously low scoring trend. People have been awarded as low as 10-12 marks. A large number of candidates have been within 30s, and failed just because of this subject.

I scored 34 marks in it whereas in 2010 and 2011 i scored 59 and 46.

I personally know few others who have scored very well in other subjects but failed in this subject. A glance at the DMCs suggests that this subject was deliberately targeted. It has also been rumored that marks deduction policy has been applied on this paper to decrease the number of written qualifiers. This means that many of us who have failed this paper were awarded better marks by the examiner, but later on a certain amount of marks were deducted.

It was my last attempt and i believe there will be many others like me, who performed pretty well in this attempt on the whole but lost it all just due to this policy.

I wish to gather a pool of such candidates who feel they have been a victim of the same and together we will raise our voice in every legal way that we can. We can move our case in the court that our papers be reviewed and it should be ensured that no further deduction was carried out from the marks that were originally awarded to us by the examiner.

Need support from you people. Lets us raise our voice and fight for our right.
Dear Brother, i am working on it. for further details, kindly contact me through my email i.e given in my profile. thank you

@abdulmusawer

It was our last attempt and there is good reason to believe that FPSC has targeted this paper specifically. By filing the petition we are only using our legal right and we must. I would request that you become a part of this as well and hopefully we can earn our right

prosetheus is on a distinguished road
Default A game of chance?

I see a lot of people on these forums repeatedly using the phrase that CSS is a 'game of chance' but what baffles me is that it is described this way because English is not our native tongue and we do not use words properly or either are unaware of the concept of 'chance' and probability.

A lottery is a 'game of chance', gambling is also a mixture of chance, probability and some varying levels of skill.

The CSS examinations are used to select people to be inducted into bureaucracy to manage the affairs of the state. No, they DO NOT require the 'best of the best', they only require people that fulfill the minimum criteria for satisfactory performance and for the sake of maintaining transparency, the process is conducted through examinations.

I think that there are problems on both ends.

There is far too much of an interest in these papers that leads to a humongous amount of candidates appearing in these exams, in a system that was simply not designed for this purpose. The exams purpose is to eliminate unsuitable candidates, NOT to choose the best of the best (there is a subtle yet very crucial difference in these two approaches, such as CSS vs. GRE/GMAT)

We all know that the capabilities of the students vary greatly, and this is obviously reflected in their examination as well. However, due to the fact that the FPSC must minimize the number of examiners to maintain a fixed 'standard' as well as to control costs, each examiner is burdened with greater number of papers this way.

What happens next is simple. Any examiner that checks all papers thoroughly is either an honest man or a fool, hence rare. The practical solution is that the examiner simply selects the 'best looking' (aesthetically speaking) papers aside and once he has passed just enough students to meet an arbitrary criteria that would save him from scrutiny, can haphazardly fail students as he pleases.

The simple truth is that there is no way to get papers rechecked or any sort of external checks on the process, and also that the commission get their required number of candidates easily means that there is no reason why this process will be changed or improved, because, it is still doing what it was supposed to do.

Long story short, if any one wishes for their to be a 'fairer' (subjectively speaking) approach to avoiding extremely unpleasant outcomes at the end of years of hard work, struggle and sacrifice; petition/protest/lobby to get the commission to hold a GMAT/GRE style analytical reasoning and english MCQ test PRIOR to these lengthy written examinations. They can set a minimum acceptable criteria for marks from the objective exams for candidates to be eligible to sit for further examinations.

Ideally, they can simply hold interviews of top candidates right after the MCQ exams (which will obviously be checked by computers, eliminating human error)

This will decrease those soldiers of fortune that waste considerable amounts of theirs and others time by throwing off the grading curve.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to prosetheus For This Useful Post:
Ahmad Moughees (Friday, October 12, 2012), BALOCHISTAN (Monday, October 15, 2012), dms664 (Friday, October 12, 2012), Faisal86 (Friday, October 12, 2012), ouneeb (Wednesday, October 17, 2012), Workaholic (Friday, October 12, 2012)
Old Friday, October 12, 2012

farhanmushtaq is on a distinguished road

@Hassan Shariq
Bro i truly believe you are right and whatever you're thinking to do is correct i failed with 31 marks.I believed that i had passed it but now the result turns me down. My marks are 672 and please contact me if you want to file a petition in the court. Although it was my first attempt but i cannot say OK i'll try again why shall i try again if i have passed it but haven't been awarded. My conatct no.******

I shall raise voice along with you and don't worry about any expenses arising out of this.Don't listen to those who are letting you down in this cause. Please do let me know your number. thanks

Last edited by Arain007; Friday, October 12, 2012 at 09:55 AM. Reason: share contact info through profile only
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to farhanmushtaq For This Useful Post:
dms664 (Friday, October 12, 2012), hassanshariq (Friday, October 12, 2012), Mamoona Batool (Wednesday, October 17, 2012)